Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket

Columbia Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket

Maximize warmth and protection without sacrificing style. The Apres Arson is a waterproof-breathable, seam-sealed long down jacket with thermal reflective lining for added warmth.
Overall rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
39 out of 41(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Are You Cold?

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Cheche
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Get this coat. You need this coat if you are still cold.
I should preface: I was always cold; I am 5'5 and 115 lbs, 32 chest, with low blood pressure and long arms, and I live in Chicago. I tried a NorthFace parka, LLBean, and LandsEnd. I came across this Columbia coat in Rocket Red with the adjustable snap buttons on the back (I use them to make the small smaller.) I can't believe how warm, toasty, and happier I am wearing this coat in winter. The arms are long enough at this size, the thumb holes in the cuff sleeves help keep cold air out, it's waterproof, the cut is stylish, and it is so worth the money.
As for the hood: I just wrap a scarf on around the hood and neck and it stays on beautifully.
I am paid compliments on how warm and cute I look in this coat and I tell each person to get one too.
I would recommend this product.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Warm and Stylish Too

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Jan2514
Location: Canton, MS
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great parka for my trips up north! Got the XL so I could easily wear a turtleneck and suit jacket under it. I'm 5'7" and 145 lbs. I normally buy Large, but after reading the reviews I realized XL would best meet my needs. XL is perfect! Like this longer parka; now my rear is fully covered. I selected black, but it is actually a coal color. Stylish design. Have received compliments. Wish I could tighten the hood though. I definitely recommend buying this coat even though it does cost a lot. It will probably last my lifetime!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
nutritiondiva
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was thrilled to get the coat. The fit was good, but when I went outside, I found my arms were cold through the sleeves. Any down coat I own must have a hood since I don't use hats. As there is no drawstromg. my ears were left uncovered and cold. Also, as I don't like the look of faux fur, I removed it by unzipping it from the base of the hood. Then the hood was not deep enough and the cold got right in.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This will keep me warm

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Liz23
Location: Los Angeles
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am very interested in this new technology that will keep me naturally warm….it is just a bit "stiff" right now. I hope it will relax a bit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looking for warmth...get this coat!

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
bluebunnyicecream
Location: Nebraska
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was looking for months for a WARM coat. Very, very happy with this coat. All other down coats I've looked at are all paper thin and not warm at all. This coat delivers warmth in subzero temperatures and wind chills in NE. Wish the hood had a drawstring to close it so the wind doesn't blow it off. The flint grey kettle is a very nice color! Glad it wasn't a true grey color!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome winter coat!

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Katie123
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow I really love this coat. I was comparing it to TNF's Arctic Parka and it is so much more flattering. The Columbia Apres Arson coat is really warm and flattering and the silver lining looks cool when you take it off. I've gotten lots of compliments while wearing it!
Pros:
1. It fits a pear shaped curvy figure very well. I am 5'4" and 135 lbs and I always have trouble getting long coats to fit - if they fit my upper body, I can't zip them around my hips. The columbia coat fits perfectly, not too tight, not too loose and the adjustable waist makes it so flattering.
2 It's waterproof! Basically the only waterproof coat that is flattering that I found.
3. The grey color is very nice and has a slight herringbone pattern to it.
4. I like the thumb-hole sleeves. They really keep the wind out.
Cons:
1. If you zip it up all the way, the neck is a slightly tight.
2. It does shed some feathers - nothing extreme. Every time I wear it I find 2 or 3 feathers on me afterwards.
3. The hood, while lacking a cord like the other reviews stated, hasn't given me any trouble, especially if I wear a hat underneath it. With that being said, I will probably install a cinch cord myself since I know a little about sewing (you need a couple of grommets). You could probably have a tailor do it for you if you don't know how to sew.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stylishly warm and great details.

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
soulsister1
Location: Bismarck, ND
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I recently purchased the North Face Alekzia and the Columbia Apres in a size small. The Columbia was about $100 less expensive, and felt much warmer and more comfortable, without sacrificing style. I kept the Apres.
The inner cuffs and zippers seem to be great quality and the stylish back belt is very slimming for such a warm down jacket.
As previous reviewers mentioned, the hood is not very functional----no drawstring. I also would have preferred an inside zipper and maybe a chest zipper for extra storage.
I purchased the flint grey because it was the only color available in my size. I would have preferred the deep red, although the grey is very neutral and matches everything.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

WARM!

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
SSedro
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased. I grew up in MN but now work in Singapore. Knew it was going to be really cold while I was home (-15 to 1 F). Coat has kept me warm. Hood is loose. I wear a stand alone hood most days and only pull up the coat's hood when it gets windy. That is a really warm combo. I like the inner sleeves that act as half gloves. However, I can't check my watch since they cover it and it is tricky to pull my gloves over it. Even so, I love that there is no gap at my wrist for the cold to slip in. Pockets are small but they do zip so items stay in them. As others have mentioned, the zipper is tough to get started. I like that the fur trim is removable from the hood. The fur is long and so it looked like it was wearing me.
Based on other reviews I ordered a large. In most clothes and brands I always take a medium but this large is a good fit over multiple layers of clothes. I am 5'1" and I love that it comes down to mid-calf. So much warmer than my car coat.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this coat!

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Rhonda75
Location: North metro, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Born and raised in MN and always cold. Lived in AZ for 10 years then moved back. Needless to say I needed something special to keep me warm. I bought a vest with omni-heat that I wore camping in the higher elevations and was always warm. I decided to get this cot and I absolutely love it! I don't have to start my car early when going somewhere. It keeps me warm when walking outside-even when it's well below zero. The longer length keeps my legs warm too. I didn't want to spend the money for the coat (couldn't find it on sale) but I'm glad I did.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this coat!

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
caitdes
Location: Rhode Island
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is exactly what I was looking for in a coat: stylish and still functional for northeast winters. I love that it gives you a silhouette instead of making you look like a shapeless blob. The inner sleeves with the thumbholes are a nice plus and I like that the collar goes up high enough to cover the lower half of my face. Definitely blocks the wind and cold.
It would be nice if the hood had a drawstring but it doesn't really bother me. The hood is plenty deep enough with the fur, although it does seem like it would be a little shallow with the fur removed (haven't actually removed it yet).
I was hesitant about ordering a small since the reviews said the coat runs small; the size guide indicated I would be between a small and a medium. It ended up fitting perfectly--a little room for layering but not too roomy (I'm 5'1" 125 lbs). The bottom hits around my knees and the sleeves are a good length.
Overall, great investment! Just wish the red hadn't been out of stock!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket, but wrong color

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Toni66
Location: New Jersey
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was pretty disappointed about the color black, charcoal. I saw the Jacket in the store, tried it on in the light gray and asked if they had it in black. Thus the salesperson ordered it online. Online - without zooming in it looked dark. When the jacket arrived it turned out to be a darker gray. More disappointing: Colombia doesn't pay for the delivery back! I had to go to a store to return it. Which wasn't convenient at all. What makes it so disappointing is - that it is great jacket with a great slim fit look. Loved it. Warm and comfy. You just need to like the color.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful coat

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Mare21
Location: Ottawa, ON
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been looking for a coat for a long time that has style, warmth (without the bulk), knee length and one that has extra long sleeves for my long arms. I'm 5'10" so I was having difficulty finding the right length & this coat falls right above my knee. I also love the long sleeve length with extra long cuffs.
I feel great wearing this coat plus it's very cozy & warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for the windy city

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
sage22
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chicago is a very windy city and in the winter it can be unbearable. This coat has been great in preventing wind from getting through the coat while keeping me very warm.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

stylish and warm!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
snarfette
Location: Syracuse, NY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this coat to walk around campus in windy, snowy Syracuse. It is super warm, waterproof and windproof! The sleeves keep my wrists and hands warm and yes, the hood could be better but I prefer wearing a beanie anyway. The adjustable (and flattering) waist really makes the coat. I have received many compliments on it from women of all ages. I'm 5'6, 130lbs 36C and the medium fits beautifully.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coat!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
door34
Location: Bloomington, IN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat was definitely worth the price I paid for it. It looks great and is super warm. I got it because I needed a warmer and longer coat for walking to class, and it's been great! It's also easy to move in if you're outdoors or playing with your dog. I'm 5'3" and it goes to my knees on me. I have long arms but the sleeves are long enough! I also love the hood and adjustable waist. Great coat! I got it in red and I love the color! I would recommend this coat to anyone looking for a warm, long, water resistant coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Can't wait to use it all winter!

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
KDDN
Location: Prescott, Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm 5'7", 175 lb so per measurements I ordered a Lg. It comes to just above my knees. Fits like a glove, but may not be roomy enough to wear a heavier sweater, etc. under it. I did try it out with just a T-shirt and with a hooded sweatshirt when the temp outside was 10 degrees with strong winds. I was feeling the coolness on my arms with just the T, but with the sweatshirt I was comfy. I didn't wear it for a prolonged period of time as I'm still on the fence about exchanging for an XL because I like to wear sweaters in the winter.
I also agree with the other reviews about the hood :(
The coat looks great, form fitting. I love the adjustable back so hopefully when I shed some post pregnancy weight I can snap it in. I ordered the Rocket, Red Element and love the color. Not a fan of the fur on the hood so will be removing it. All in all very happy with the coat. Can't wait to put it to use for a full winter in Wisconsin.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Windy City

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
cflen
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am spending my first winter in Chicago and decided it was time to invest in a good jacket. After some research I decided I wanted one that was both down for warmth and my friends had said good things about the omni heat reflective. I saw from other reviews that it ran small, so I ordered an XL which fits perfectly. Love the thumbhole sleeves. It's warm, water and wind proof and comes down to my knees which helps keep the winter cold out. The hood is a little big, but I wear an ear band anyways so that doesnt bother me much as far as function. Love the red color too!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fashionable, Warm Winter Coat

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
keegan84
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When I saw this coat, I loved the simple yet flattering lines. This coat is the perfect mix of fashion and sport. I wear this coat everyday now - here in the minneapolis winters. I wear dresses to work a lot so I LOVE the longer length of this coat. I got the grey color, and I like that it's not too dark - it's the perfect shade of grey. Its super warm, I've been wearing it on days that are down to -12 and I stay toasty warm. I also LOVE the long cuffs, with the thumb hole. I don't always have to wear gloves because they keep my hands pretty warm.
The only negative is that I wish the cuffs were adjustable with some velcro or something - because the cuffs on my mittens are longer they are hard to shove down into the cuff of the coat and get bunched up and become uncomfortable sometimes.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT coat!!!

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
BRRRR
Location: Boston
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is perfect for a New England winter. It's warm but not too bulky, and so comfortable. I'm very happy with the purchase and highly recommend the coat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great investment

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
jesslaura13
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just moved to New England from the south and was told how important it is to have a good jacket. This is my first purchase for a "real" coat and I am so happy i did it! I have to walk about a mile everyday for my commute… so it really keeps me warm (whether I am waiting for a bus or if I am walking to a train station) I would definitely recommend it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>