Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket

Columbia Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket

Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall rating:
4.451 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
66 out of 70(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hip region strange - but overall great coat

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Jenn152
Location: New England
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I researched several coats before buying this one. It hasn't been too cold where I live yet so I have only worn it a few times, however I can already tell that it is very warm. Unfortunately, the first thing I noticed about this coat is that it is fitted for someone who has hips. The bottom portion of the coat has extra fabric for where your hips should be. However, I'm fairly tall and thin (5'8" and 135lbs) with a lack of hips, so it looks a bit silly on me. I LOVE the jacket but I can't get over that it looks strange on someone with my body type. I may return it, I haven't decided yet. Overall, I highly recommend it, just know that if you are tall and thin like me, it may look a little funny around the hip area. I did get a medium, so I'm unsure if perhaps the small would be better fitted around the hips.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cozy and Comfy in the Cold

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Berner
Location: Northwest Indiana
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would highly recommend this coat especially if you're accustomed to frigid winters. The coat is stylishly fitted and keeps me incredibly warm. My only minor complaint would be the velcro closures because I prefer snap button closures.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I really wanted to keep this coat.

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
BrooklynLB
Location: Bklyn, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely loved the style of the coat and it was very warm. I ordered an XL and was sad that it fit oddly. The sleeves at VERY long and the shoulders were too big. The chest fit a little loose. The bottom of the coat was like a big bell. I went to the store to exchange it for a large and was disappointed because the chest was extremely tight. I'm not sure who these jackets are made for but was really sad so I couldn't keep it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket for the Winter!

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Sandy540
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is great! Especially in the color red. It fits beautifully...doesn't make you look too bulky and still gives you a nice shape. I bought this during the black friday weekend for 210+tax...great deal! I've worn it a handful of times now in Chicago since I commute into the city for work. This jacket keeps you super warm and even though the hood does not have any strings or buttons to tie it snug around your face I haven't had problems of it blowing off my head. I'm sure once it gets REALLY windy the hat may be an issue...I do wish they added some sort of drawstring or button to make the hat stay put but that's the only downside I can think of with this jacket. Bring on the polar vortex!!! (if anybody is wondering about sizing I am 5'6ish and 160 pounds and the xl fit great with extra room for me to add a sweater underneath and even if I didn't I think the jacket is still flattering especially since it has a little belt at the back to tighten the jacket a bit)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazingly warm

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Kate37
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I never write reviews, but I spent so much time researching which coat to buy that I figured I might as well help others. This was definitely the right choice. I wavered between a S and M based on reviews and am very glad I went with the S. I'm 5'4, 124 pounds, and it fits very nicely--lots of room in the shoulders and arms. The waist is somewhat fitted, which I like (still room for a sweater), but someone with different proportions might want to size up. It's a heavy coat but it doesn't feel too stiff or uncomfortable, and it keeps out all weather.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty!

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Cricky
Location: Illinois, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Overall I am very happy with this coat as it is keeping me warm on my walk to work but isn't too bulky. It does run small! I am 5'5'', 120 lbs and the medium fits me well. It might be a bit tight for someone who is hippy. The jacket falls just above my knees. A thin sweater is comfortable underneath but could not wear a bulky one. I agree with the other reviewers about the hood - it isn't very deep and doesn't stay on well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So warm!!!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
soccermom1
Location: New Windsor, NY, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is so warm, there is no need for layering! It runs just a little small but since you don't have to layer, its fine. Good length and wore it in the rain and was completely dry, definitely waterproof....Totally worth the price!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm Jacket

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
CaptFrank
Location: New York, NY, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket! Warm as heck!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love love love it

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
katephl
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i love this coat. im 5ft2 and 125..the medium fits me perfectly. i like the charcoal black color. i do wish the pockets were a little deeper and that there was a drawstring on the hood but those things dont take away from the coat for me. i live in the city and its perfect for walking to work. its great that its waterproof and it keeps me so warm(and im one of those always cold ppl) i would 100% recommend this coat. i have loved showing it off to friends and family and they are all jealous!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost perfect

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
ChiGirlLP
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This coat is great! Super warm, breathable, and comfy! I wear it to run errands, walk around the city, commute to work, etc.
Its a great everyday coat.
I have a size Small, and it fits great. I am about 5'6, 34D/36C, and about 125 lbs
It keeps me warm while waiting outside for the bus/ walking to work, but also breathes, so I don't sweat to death on my morning commute; regardless of what I am wearing!
I've worn a short sleeve silk top on, and was still warm and toasty, and I've also worn thick sweaters/ lots of layers, and wasn't too hot! (which is HUGE!!!) Nothing worse than the usual winter cycle of freezing outside, then sweating once you're on the bus, then freezing when you're back outside, then sweating again when you walk into the office.
I love the comfort cuffs! And they are great/comfortable even if you don't put your thumbs through the thumb holes.
There is one problem I have found, and that is with the hood.
I wish the hood has a drawstring or some way to keep it tight on your head.
I've had a few times where it doesn't stay up. (even with earmuffs on)
It happens when I walk into strong winds, (or I'm walking near one of the wind tunnels between the buildings)..regardless, it's annoying to have to stop and pull your hood back up to have it blow off again.
When it gets cold out/windier come later this Winter, I am going to try and wrap my scarf around the outside of the of the hood and hope that does the trick! (fingers crossed) :)
The only other minor thing I've noticed is that the bottom zipper sometimes unzips (an inch or so) when I walk a lot... but that's more or less me nitpicking.
Over all, this coat is great! Warm, Breathable, cute and comfy!I get compliments on it every time I wear it!
If you're looking for a good winter coat that will keep you warm regardless of the temperature outside, and regardless of what you have on underneath it, I recommend this one.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome coat!

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Nenamipa
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Loved it! It fits great! Your body looks good with this coat instead of those puffy ones. It keeps me warm. The water resistance is 100%.. I've used it with rain already! I recommend this 100%... only thing I didn't like that after I bought it.. hasn't even been 3 weeks and they lowered the price by a lot! ;( Good for everyone else whose trying to buy it!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Practical

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Lizjac
Location: Portand
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very warm! little snug in the hip region but other than that I love it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love from MN

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Maia
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat had kept me extremely warm. It's beautiful- a great mix of casual and "dressy". I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone living in the northern Midwest or northeast. This coat will keep you warm.
Only thing I don't like are the Velcro on the front. Hopefully Columbia changes that and outs snaps all the way up (as there are 2 snaps on the bottom- having these go all the way up would be great). This is a minor detail when looking at the coat as a whole though.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
AnnaChicago
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very warm, windproof and waterproof. Perfect for the Chicago's weather. I would recommend it 100%!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

disappointing

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
ddrm
Location: NH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I took a big gulp before deciding to spend over $200 on a coat, but really needed something that would keep me warm in the most extreme weather AND keep me dry in the snow. I love the fit, the arms are nice and long, and the features on the body of the jacket seem good except that the pocket openings are narrow, which I can live with. HOWEVER... the hood ruins it all. With the fur on, all it does it tickle your face and impede your vision. With the fur off, the hood no longer reaches out beyond your face because the depatchable part with the fur also removes almost 4 inches of the front part of the hood itself, the part that should be there to shield your face from any falling snow, etc. But worst of all, there is no way at all to snug up the hood opening! It just sits on your head loosely, ready to blow off with the slightest breeze. This hood is just about useless. It is ironic that my short Columbia jacket which cost less than $100 has an awesome hood with great detachable fur but fur only AND effective drawstring things to snug the hood around your face. The hood is a deal breaker for me, and I am sad about it because I really think that the rest of the coat is very nice. FYI -- the color is not black, this a gray coat with black arm cuffs and collar lining. I like the gray, but it is definitely NOT black as advertised.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not just a little on the small size.

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
snodive
Location: Nome, Alaska
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a lovely coat, even if the ruff on the hood is sparse. I normally wear a medium, but I ordered a large after reading the reviews. I should have ordered an extra large. When I returned it, I was disappointed to find I had to pay an additional $20 to return this coat. I have not re-ordered it, although it appeared to be the perfect coat for me...except for the size.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A coat worthy of a Polar Vortex!

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Houseplant
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After having my trusty, well-loved coat give out during last winter's Chicago Polar Vortex, I began my search for the perfect replacement coat. Unable to get this coat last year (all sold out), I ordered it this fall. I am 5'3", 130#, curvey, and usually wear a 8-10 petite. The medium was too tight to fit a blazer underneath, and there was also no room for the "snowpants" that I wear when I have to shovel snow when there's a -30 degree windchill. I returned it for the large and it will allow for the blazer and snowpants (not worn at the same time!). I wanted a coat that didn't require layers, and the Onmiheat makes that possible. I was out in -6 windchill with just a long-sleeve t-shirt and was perfectly warm. The sleeves are a little long, but the comfort cuff keeps that from being problematic. I get lots of compliments on it's looks and I love how warm it is.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So warm

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
cahr
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is excellent. It is very warm - and, I am always cold. I highly recommend it - I feel surprisingly warm in this coat - warmer than any coat I have ever had.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing wiinter coat!

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
anon19
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My bust measurement is 37", my waist is 29" and I am 5'4". i usually wear size 6/8. I purchased the medium and it fits great, I adjusted the waist strap so it looks more flattering.
This is the warmest coat I've ever had, we've had very cold and very snowy weather in the great lakes area lately and it has kept me completely warm. I even wore the coat to a very cold football game and I didn't feel cold once. The coat falls right above my knee, but it doesn't look too long.
The hood is a little weird, but if you wear a beanie or winter had under the hood, it looks normal.
Overall, great coat and we'll worth the price.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worht it's Weight in Gold

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
reidling
Location: Ohio
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great coat. The fact that it keeps me warm unlike any coat I've had before makes it worth it's weight in gold.
Fit: I ordered this in a large and it fits, but a little more tight at the waist than I had expected (I'm more straight than curvy, though). It has plenty of room in the hips for sitting/driving/walking. It has excellent shoulder room (I have broad-ish shoulders) and the arms are long (which I like).
Warmth: It is very warm, and in a way I didn't expect. I wore this in 30F temps, and I didn't feel a thing. I wore it in below zero temperatures and was comfortable (it paid for itself that day).
I also wore it while I was grocery shopping and wasn't sweating. It didn't OVER heat me. That was a nice surprise.
Hood: A few reviews mentioned the hood was an issue. If you want a hood with full coverage, but are dead set against wearing faux fur, I would not recommend this coat. Without the fur, the hood is just about useless.
Typically, I don't really like fur because of the shedding, however, I found that I feel significantly warmer with the fur included. I made an exception and found it doesn't really shed that much. Just a hair here or there.
The only thing I have yet to see is how long this coat lasts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 Next>>