Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket

Columbia Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket

Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 78 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
73 out of 77(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chicago Winters

PostedSeptember 1, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this as a gift for my first Chicago winter. This coat has lasted two brutal Chicago winters thus far and has kept me VERY warm. The coat at times can keep you too warm. I only use it when it's windy and the temperatures drop below 20 degrees. Otherwise, I get really hot wearing it around.
Minor Cons: the hood as everyone has stated is pretty useless. I would have liked it to tie or keep up. The wind knocks it right down. The jacket is also pretty heavy. Wearing it doesn't feel so bad but when you take it off and have to carry it around shopping/running errands, it's very heavy and kind of a pain.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nearly perfect

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was looking at this coat for a while & decided to purchase it at Thanksgiving while it was on sale. I read the reviews and thought I probably should size up since many of them say fits slightly small. (I am generally a solid 8 with my pants, 130lbs, 5.4) The Large was to big, I was swimming in it.. so I sent it back but had to wait for the Medium to come back in stock (then purchased at full retail amount) So far, I have got many compliments. It seems to be very warm and not let the wind cut through. There are two things that I think could be a little different in the design, that would be to have the neck just a bit shorter, & and to have snaps all the way up instead of Velcro. Otherwise, I am really happy with this coat, I like that the black is more of a dark gray & not quilted like many other down coats. I feel prepared for our harsh MI winters now.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty warm in the Windy City

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am extremely happy with this purchase! All of the features of this coat are true and work well- including the waterproof technology, omni-heat, breathability and comfort cuffs. It keeps me warm during freezing temperatures. I was a little skeptical at first but there is no comparison to just any other coat. The down feels like I'm sitting on a fluffy pillow or cloud :) The only downside is that this coat is not meant for temperatures above 45-50 degrees. I get really hot, but that is obviously why it's a great winter coat not fall. Since Chicago has winter temps for more than half the year I consider this a great investment for years to come.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The absolute warmest jacket ever

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Winnipeg Manitoba and spend a lot of time in Minneapolis. I walk to 25 min to school even when its -40 (and in Winnipeg, it's -40 A LOT). I am never ever cold in this jacket, it is the absolute warmest thing I have ever owned. Like the other reviews said, the hood can fall down in the wind, but I find since I have my face pointing down when it's windy it doesn't happen as often as I thought. And the black is definitely more of a dark grey, but I actually like it because everyone wears black jackets in this style, I've even gotten a lot of compliments on it. It has a sinch in the back around the waist to make you have a little shape instead of being a giant marshmallow. I love this jacket, the quality is incredible, it is so worth the price and I'm glad I bought it.
For size reference I got a small and I am 5'8, 120 lbs and it fits as I expected. As a tall girl, it goes to my knees and none of the other 3/4 jackets I tried came close.
I even have my boyfriend buying a similar one in mens its so good!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very warm :)

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: London, ON, Canada
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been wearing this coat for a week now and it is very warm.
The only problem I have is that I wish it was about 5 inches longer and kept my legs warm. And there is just a little too much fur on the hood. It's the warmest coat I have ever owned, and I'm waiting to really test it out in the minus 25 winter temps.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm jacket...strange shape

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I haven't put this jacket to the test with bitter cold temps yet but I can definitely tell it will be super warm. The wind will not blow thru like other down jackets due to the waterproof exterior. It's a really nice coat, well made, and the omni heat lining is super warm & insulated.
BUT - the shape is very strange. When I put it on my first thought was I look like a bell!! Like the previous review mentioned, if you don't have hips the fit is very strange - it definitely flares out way too much at my hips. It also feels a bit confining - not sure if I could do well wearing this coat, lugging around two small children & doing grocery shopping... It's a big bulky.
I'm not sure if I'll be keeping this jacket. I really did a lot of research before finding this one, and when I'm at the bus stop the wind blows thru many of the down jackets I tried - this one I'm sure will be warm. Just looks kind of strange on me so I'm not sure it's worth the $$ then.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Speechless!

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been living in Chicago for past 15 yrs and hated every single minute and day in winter. The windy days are killer. I felt like hibernating all winter, I tried several outerwear brands except Columbia so far. I am glad I tried, this is my first long coat with a hood, its been 2 months since I have started using this, I have been wearing this on harsh winter days in Chicago, as it keeps me really warm. I thought I could retire my old jacket, but still had it keep it around as when it is 30+ in Chicago, this jacket cannot be worn as it will get you sweating badly. It was totally worth the investment as I dont have cold chills in my back bone and neck anymore, I dont fear Chicago winter anymore. Thank you Columbia, now I just hope this will last forever:). I got the one in grey,as I dont like standing out. I thought the red would be too bright and too much, but I ran into someone with same jacket in red at a mall the other day and I felt it didnt look good. But I like being low key, so grey is still not bad, I would have preferred this even over black.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hip region strange - but overall great coat

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: New England
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I researched several coats before buying this one. It hasn't been too cold where I live yet so I have only worn it a few times, however I can already tell that it is very warm. Unfortunately, the first thing I noticed about this coat is that it is fitted for someone who has hips. The bottom portion of the coat has extra fabric for where your hips should be. However, I'm fairly tall and thin (5'8" and 135lbs) with a lack of hips, so it looks a bit silly on me. I LOVE the jacket but I can't get over that it looks strange on someone with my body type. I may return it, I haven't decided yet. Overall, I highly recommend it, just know that if you are tall and thin like me, it may look a little funny around the hip area. I did get a medium, so I'm unsure if perhaps the small would be better fitted around the hips.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cozy and Comfy in the Cold

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Northwest Indiana
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would highly recommend this coat especially if you're accustomed to frigid winters. The coat is stylishly fitted and keeps me incredibly warm. My only minor complaint would be the velcro closures because I prefer snap button closures.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I really wanted to keep this coat.

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Bklyn, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely loved the style of the coat and it was very warm. I ordered an XL and was sad that it fit oddly. The sleeves at VERY long and the shoulders were too big. The chest fit a little loose. The bottom of the coat was like a big bell. I went to the store to exchange it for a large and was disappointed because the chest was extremely tight. I'm not sure who these jackets are made for but was really sad so I couldn't keep it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket for the Winter!

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is great! Especially in the color red. It fits beautifully...doesn't make you look too bulky and still gives you a nice shape. I bought this during the black friday weekend for 210+tax...great deal! I've worn it a handful of times now in Chicago since I commute into the city for work. This jacket keeps you super warm and even though the hood does not have any strings or buttons to tie it snug around your face I haven't had problems of it blowing off my head. I'm sure once it gets REALLY windy the hat may be an issue...I do wish they added some sort of drawstring or button to make the hat stay put but that's the only downside I can think of with this jacket. Bring on the polar vortex!!! (if anybody is wondering about sizing I am 5'6ish and 160 pounds and the xl fit great with extra room for me to add a sweater underneath and even if I didn't I think the jacket is still flattering especially since it has a little belt at the back to tighten the jacket a bit)
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazingly warm

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I never write reviews, but I spent so much time researching which coat to buy that I figured I might as well help others. This was definitely the right choice. I wavered between a S and M based on reviews and am very glad I went with the S. I'm 5'4, 124 pounds, and it fits very nicely--lots of room in the shoulders and arms. The waist is somewhat fitted, which I like (still room for a sweater), but someone with different proportions might want to size up. It's a heavy coat but it doesn't feel too stiff or uncomfortable, and it keeps out all weather.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty!

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Illinois, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Overall I am very happy with this coat as it is keeping me warm on my walk to work but isn't too bulky. It does run small! I am 5'5'', 120 lbs and the medium fits me well. It might be a bit tight for someone who is hippy. The jacket falls just above my knees. A thin sweater is comfortable underneath but could not wear a bulky one. I agree with the other reviewers about the hood - it isn't very deep and doesn't stay on well.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So warm!!!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: New Windsor, NY, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is so warm, there is no need for layering! It runs just a little small but since you don't have to layer, its fine. Good length and wore it in the rain and was completely dry, definitely waterproof....Totally worth the price!!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm Jacket

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket! Warm as heck!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love love love it

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i love this coat. im 5ft2 and 125..the medium fits me perfectly. i like the charcoal black color. i do wish the pockets were a little deeper and that there was a drawstring on the hood but those things dont take away from the coat for me. i live in the city and its perfect for walking to work. its great that its waterproof and it keeps me so warm(and im one of those always cold ppl) i would 100% recommend this coat. i have loved showing it off to friends and family and they are all jealous!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost perfect

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This coat is great! Super warm, breathable, and comfy! I wear it to run errands, walk around the city, commute to work, etc.
Its a great everyday coat.
I have a size Small, and it fits great. I am about 5'6, 34D/36C, and about 125 lbs
It keeps me warm while waiting outside for the bus/ walking to work, but also breathes, so I don't sweat to death on my morning commute; regardless of what I am wearing!
I've worn a short sleeve silk top on, and was still warm and toasty, and I've also worn thick sweaters/ lots of layers, and wasn't too hot! (which is HUGE!!!) Nothing worse than the usual winter cycle of freezing outside, then sweating once you're on the bus, then freezing when you're back outside, then sweating again when you walk into the office.
I love the comfort cuffs! And they are great/comfortable even if you don't put your thumbs through the thumb holes.
There is one problem I have found, and that is with the hood.
I wish the hood has a drawstring or some way to keep it tight on your head.
I've had a few times where it doesn't stay up. (even with earmuffs on)
It happens when I walk into strong winds, (or I'm walking near one of the wind tunnels between the buildings)..regardless, it's annoying to have to stop and pull your hood back up to have it blow off again.
When it gets cold out/windier come later this Winter, I am going to try and wrap my scarf around the outside of the of the hood and hope that does the trick! (fingers crossed) :)
The only other minor thing I've noticed is that the bottom zipper sometimes unzips (an inch or so) when I walk a lot... but that's more or less me nitpicking.
Over all, this coat is great! Warm, Breathable, cute and comfy!I get compliments on it every time I wear it!
If you're looking for a good winter coat that will keep you warm regardless of the temperature outside, and regardless of what you have on underneath it, I recommend this one.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome coat!

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Loved it! It fits great! Your body looks good with this coat instead of those puffy ones. It keeps me warm. The water resistance is 100%.. I've used it with rain already! I recommend this 100%... only thing I didn't like that after I bought it.. hasn't even been 3 weeks and they lowered the price by a lot! ;( Good for everyone else whose trying to buy it!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Practical

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Portand
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very warm! little snug in the hip region but other than that I love it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love from MN

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat had kept me extremely warm. It's beautiful- a great mix of casual and "dressy". I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone living in the northern Midwest or northeast. This coat will keep you warm.
Only thing I don't like are the Velcro on the front. Hopefully Columbia changes that and outs snaps all the way up (as there are 2 snaps on the bottom- having these go all the way up would be great). This is a minor detail when looking at the coat as a whole though.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 Next>>