Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket

Columbia Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket

Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall rating:
4.397 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(141 reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 141 reviews
5 Stars
89
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
8
1 Star
3
127 out of 136(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Apres Arson Long Down Jacket

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Oak Park, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Runs small so order a size up. Beautifully made. Does not look "puffy.' There is the ability to adjust the waist to make it even more form fitting. It looks very warm. Can't wait to wear it this winter.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

same issue with hood

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: colorado
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is a great jacket. I'm keeping it only because it's wind and waterproof. It seems warmer than a north face jacket I bought for comparison. However, the hood is absurd. It really, really needs cinch straps as the other reviewer noted. It's pretty useless as is.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Ottawa , Ontario
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a warm down jacket without being really puffy. It has a nice cinched waist that gives you a hourglass shape. Wish the hood had a toggle or tie .
I would recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very warm

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: colorado
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've never been warmer in a coat. When I'm warm I'm happy, and I'm happy!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good product

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I closely compared this jacket to North Face's Arctic Parka before buying. I ultimately chose this one because of the inclusion of fabric that hooks around the thumb and keeps the sleeves down (also prevents the gap between the sleeve and your gloves.) As noted in other's reviews, there isn't any way to cinch the hood, which is a bit annoying, but the coat won me over with the extra sleeve. I also felt that this coat was less bulky as compared to the Arctic Parka. It's very warm and I would recommend it.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat!

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love this coat! I'm almost 6' so it's hard to find coat not designated as "tall" that is a decent length and has sleeves which are long enough. This coat satisfies that criteria. I tested it out this past weekend, when the high temp in Chicago was 20F. Putting it on over a thin hoodie and tank kept me warm when outside. I was looking at other Patagonia and North Face coats which were $100 more, but I'm glad that I settled on this and saved some money! Great & stylish fit!!! The only negative is that the hood does not have a cinch to tighten it (haven't had any issues with it blowing off yet, but in winter storms it might pose an issue).
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect winter jacket for the Northwest!

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was so excited to find this jacket. Living in the Northwest, the issue is finding a warm waterproof jacket that is long. This has a nice form fit with the adjustable back belt. I love the big fluffy hood! The only thing that I would change is to offer an interchangeable hood for the more intense rainy season. I like that you can detach the fur, but without it, the hood barely covers your head, and if there is heavy rain, that could be an issue. If there was an attachable hood/with a small bill to cover more of your head with the rain, that would have been ideal. But I really love this jacket!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm AND Cute!

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I feel like it's so hard to find a winter coat that keeps you warm but doesn't make you look like a shapeless blob. The back adjustment band actually makes me look like I have a waist! It's great!
It does run a little small. I typically wear a medium (5'6", size 8-10, 34DD) in most things, but I bought a large in this coat after reading the reviews. Definitely the right choice. The large is a little long in the sleeves and bigger in the shoulders, but it's nice to be able to fit a sweater and a scarf under your jacket. It does hit me right at the knees, but it isn't a problem walking around like that.
As far as the hood goes, yes, it would be nice if it had a drawstring cord. However, I haven't had a problem with it staying on my head, even in Chicago winds. Maybe I have a big head. Either way, I like it.
Note: I bought this coat in black/coal. I don't know why I was expecting it to be a little darker, but I was. This is definitely more of a dark gray as opposed to black, but the picture does it justice.
The quality is exceptional and my, oh my, is this puppy warm! Definitely worth the money and the guarantee.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat for all ages

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Selected this coat for my 79 year old grandma who is always on the go in this busy city we live in. She needed more arm room which is why we selected this size. The coat fits perfectly with some extra space and the coat doesn't look big. I originally ordered the coat for myself but she's outdoors more than i am. Ideal coat if you are outdoors alot.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm, comfy, and functional

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Madison, WI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really am happy with this coat! It very warm and cozy. Plus, all the little extra details really make it great- like the two way zipper, the comfort cuffs, and the removeable hood. I'm glad I ordered the large over the medium-- usually larges are a bit too big and mediums are just right, but this large just fits on me and a little snug around the hips (making the two way zipper extra helpful).
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Way Too Small

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Aiken, SV
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The coat is wonderful, but runs VERY small.
I normally wear an 8 -10. A medium "should" fit even if it is on the small side. But this is VERY small and tight. I am returning it today for the large.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievably warm!!!

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Boone, NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love, love, love this jacket! It is incredibly warm yet flattering. The omni-heat system is truly unbelievable. Within minutes of putting it on I can feel that I am generating my own heat. Bring on the cold weather...... I'm actually excited to be outside during the winter in this jacket!
The only minor complaint I have is the double zipper. Sometimes I have difficulty getting it started. However, maybe I just don't have the hang of it yet.
Overall, I am extremely impressed with this jacket and I think it was a great purchase.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good everyday jacket

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: South Bend, Indiana
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I order this jacket for every day use. I really wanted something very warm and stylish too, in which I could cope with the chilly winter. The jacket fits my expectations. It is really warm and longer than I expected. I wanted to be able to wear a dress underneath and have a knee length jacket and a pair of high boots to protect myself against the chill.
I was a little worried about the size. I am 5,2' and 110 pounds and my measurements were leading me towards an XS. I first hesitated, because the other comments were claiming that the jacket runs small. Finally I ordered and XS, which fits just fine.
No big problems with the hood either. I usually wrap a scarf above my mouth and nose and above the hood, which protects my face against the chilly air. That keeps the hood up also. I have also wore the jacket several times without the scarf and the hood stood in place without any problems.
The only small disadvantage is that I have to open the staples downwards when I bike. But I suppose that is perfectly normal with any knee length jacket.
Overall, I think the jacket is great.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Long Jacket!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Baltimore, MD
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love this jacket. I am 6' tall and it comes just above my knee. The charcoal color is great and I love the built in wrist warmers. It keeps me nice and warm and I've received so many compliments on it!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Northern IN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket because I was tired of being cold. Everything is excellent with this jacket. It is windproof, waterproof, warm and washable. I don't mind that the hood doesn't tie, the back of it tightens up and stays on. It looks great and I usually get compliments when I wear it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great investment

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just moved to New England from the south and was told how important it is to have a good jacket. This is my first purchase for a "real" coat and I am so happy i did it! I have to walk about a mile everyday for my commute… so it really keeps me warm (whether I am waiting for a bus or if I am walking to a train station) I would definitely recommend it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT coat!!!

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Boston
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is perfect for a New England winter. It's warm but not too bulky, and so comfortable. I'm very happy with the purchase and highly recommend the coat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fashionable, Warm Winter Coat

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When I saw this coat, I loved the simple yet flattering lines. This coat is the perfect mix of fashion and sport. I wear this coat everyday now - here in the minneapolis winters. I wear dresses to work a lot so I LOVE the longer length of this coat. I got the grey color, and I like that it's not too dark - it's the perfect shade of grey. Its super warm, I've been wearing it on days that are down to -12 and I stay toasty warm. I also LOVE the long cuffs, with the thumb hole. I don't always have to wear gloves because they keep my hands pretty warm.
The only negative is that I wish the cuffs were adjustable with some velcro or something - because the cuffs on my mittens are longer they are hard to shove down into the cuff of the coat and get bunched up and become uncomfortable sometimes.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Windy City

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am spending my first winter in Chicago and decided it was time to invest in a good jacket. After some research I decided I wanted one that was both down for warmth and my friends had said good things about the omni heat reflective. I saw from other reviews that it ran small, so I ordered an XL which fits perfectly. Love the thumbhole sleeves. It's warm, water and wind proof and comes down to my knees which helps keep the winter cold out. The hood is a little big, but I wear an ear band anyways so that doesnt bother me much as far as function. Love the red color too!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Can't wait to use it all winter!

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Prescott, Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm 5'7", 175 lb so per measurements I ordered a Lg. It comes to just above my knees. Fits like a glove, but may not be roomy enough to wear a heavier sweater, etc. under it. I did try it out with just a T-shirt and with a hooded sweatshirt when the temp outside was 10 degrees with strong winds. I was feeling the coolness on my arms with just the T, but with the sweatshirt I was comfy. I didn't wear it for a prolonged period of time as I'm still on the fence about exchanging for an XL because I like to wear sweaters in the winter.
I also agree with the other reviews about the hood :(
The coat looks great, form fitting. I love the adjustable back so hopefully when I shed some post pregnancy weight I can snap it in. I ordered the Rocket, Red Element and love the color. Not a fan of the fur on the hood so will be removing it. All in all very happy with the coat. Can't wait to put it to use for a full winter in Wisconsin.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next>>