Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket

Columbia Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket

Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall rating:
4.482 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
52 out of 55(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not just a little on the small size.

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
snodive
Location: Nome, Alaska
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a lovely coat, even if the ruff on the hood is sparse. I normally wear a medium, but I ordered a large after reading the reviews. I should have ordered an extra large. When I returned it, I was disappointed to find I had to pay an additional $20 to return this coat. I have not re-ordered it, although it appeared to be the perfect coat for me...except for the size.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A coat worthy of a Polar Vortex!

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Houseplant
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After having my trusty, well-loved coat give out during last winter's Chicago Polar Vortex, I began my search for the perfect replacement coat. Unable to get this coat last year (all sold out), I ordered it this fall. I am 5'3", 130#, curvey, and usually wear a 8-10 petite. The medium was too tight to fit a blazer underneath, and there was also no room for the "snowpants" that I wear when I have to shovel snow when there's a -30 degree windchill. I returned it for the large and it will allow for the blazer and snowpants (not worn at the same time!). I wanted a coat that didn't require layers, and the Onmiheat makes that possible. I was out in -6 windchill with just a long-sleeve t-shirt and was perfectly warm. The sleeves are a little long, but the comfort cuff keeps that from being problematic. I get lots of compliments on it's looks and I love how warm it is.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So warm

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
cahr
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is excellent. It is very warm - and, I am always cold. I highly recommend it - I feel surprisingly warm in this coat - warmer than any coat I have ever had.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing wiinter coat!

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
anon19
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My bust measurement is 37", my waist is 29" and I am 5'4". i usually wear size 6/8. I purchased the medium and it fits great, I adjusted the waist strap so it looks more flattering.
This is the warmest coat I've ever had, we've had very cold and very snowy weather in the great lakes area lately and it has kept me completely warm. I even wore the coat to a very cold football game and I didn't feel cold once. The coat falls right above my knee, but it doesn't look too long.
The hood is a little weird, but if you wear a beanie or winter had under the hood, it looks normal.
Overall, great coat and we'll worth the price.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worht it's Weight in Gold

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
reidling
Location: Ohio
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great coat. The fact that it keeps me warm unlike any coat I've had before makes it worth it's weight in gold.
Fit: I ordered this in a large and it fits, but a little more tight at the waist than I had expected (I'm more straight than curvy, though). It has plenty of room in the hips for sitting/driving/walking. It has excellent shoulder room (I have broad-ish shoulders) and the arms are long (which I like).
Warmth: It is very warm, and in a way I didn't expect. I wore this in 30F temps, and I didn't feel a thing. I wore it in below zero temperatures and was comfortable (it paid for itself that day).
I also wore it while I was grocery shopping and wasn't sweating. It didn't OVER heat me. That was a nice surprise.
Hood: A few reviews mentioned the hood was an issue. If you want a hood with full coverage, but are dead set against wearing faux fur, I would not recommend this coat. Without the fur, the hood is just about useless.
Typically, I don't really like fur because of the shedding, however, I found that I feel significantly warmer with the fur included. I made an exception and found it doesn't really shed that much. Just a hair here or there.
The only thing I have yet to see is how long this coat lasts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Beautiful Coat

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Mitz1024
Location: Long Island, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was so excited when my new coat arrived. I ordered the coat in black coal. It is beautiful.
Unfortunately, this coat is very form fitting and was quite snug for me. I am a woman in my fifties. It is most likely perfect for a younger woman.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love everything but the hood

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Mafern
Location: New York, NY, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the coat, keeps me really warm here in NYC. The only problem I have is that the hood does not stay in place, specially if is windy. If it had drawstrings it would work as intended.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional and flattering

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
kennedy1
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am 5'2", 115lbs and the SX fits perfectly. I live in Chicago and need a really warm coat that will stand up to negative degree wind chills. I have been wearing this coat for the past two weeks and already I can tell that it was a great choice. Not only is it really warm, it doesn't look too bulky like some winter coats do. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a new winter coat this year!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Outdoor

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
mlastome
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It´s a great outdoor clothes.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Standing up well to the cold!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
JulieY
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I did a substantial amount of research before shelling out ~$300 for a winter coat. I compared several similar jackets at this price point (North Face, Marmot, Patagonia, Arcteryx, etc.) and finally settled on the Columbia jacket.
I wanted a flattering jacket that would stand up to the brutal Chicago weather. Several other jackets didn't have windbreaker fabric and felt too thin or fragile. In the end, I was stuck between the North Face Arctic Parka and the Columbia. I ultimately decided against the Arctic Parka because the Columbia beat it in almost every aspect.
1. The North Face does not have a cinching belt at the waist. The Columbia gives you an option to expand it out to accommodate for layers, or to cinch to give a more flattering silhouette.
2. The North Face's pockets only had fleece lining for the top of the hand. What gives?
3. The North Face was just slightly shorter than the Columbia.
4. The North Face had 550 Fill compared to Columbia's 650 Fill + Omni-Heat.
6. The Columbia sleeves have thumb holes which arguably is a bit of a gimmick, but still nice to keep out the wind!
The only thing where the North Face won out against the Columbia (and has been brought up several times) is that the Columbia hood does NOT cinch. That said, I plan on wearing a balaclava underneath it for the coldest months so I don't expect it to be an issue.
I excitedly tested out the jacket today. In Chicago it was 30 degrees, with 21 degrees windchill. I stood outside for a solid 20 minutes while waiting for food from a food truck. Everyone else was shivering and I was absolutely content.
As for sizing, I found that it fit very true to size. I am 5'6" and 125 pounds. I normally wear a Small. I was planning on sizing up to a Medium for layering, but it just ended up being too bulky. With a small, I am able to comfortably wear a shirt, a cardigan, and a thin jacket underneath.
I would recommend this product.
+30points
31of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very long and bulky

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
MichelleOttawa
Location: Skippack, PA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this coat in a size Large upon reading other reviews. I am 5' 6" and 138 lbs and normally wear a Medium but wanted to size up so I could wear sweatshirts underneath this jacket. The quality and function are great, I really loved the jacket but when I tried it on it was just too long and bulky feeling. I went to the store hoping to try on a Medium but they didn't carry this jacket. I am thinking the Medium would have fit better but it still would have been too long and I may not have been able to layer underneath.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Mmln7d
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Great look and feel! I've been looking for a jacket for the Chicago winter and this is definitely the best one out there. Doesn't fit bulky like other parkas.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than NF Arctic Parka

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Allie75
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was at the North Face store planning on getting their Arctic Parka but I found it to be too tight in the sleeves (and I'm a size 2), so I decided to keep looking. Walked into the Columbia store and was immediately drawn to the long down jacket. It just felt warmer and better made. Since I purchased it, I had a chance to wear it a couple of times and even though I still think it's better than the competition, I think it can be improved with a few tweaks:
1. The velcro, though convenient, gets filled with yarn from my scarf, and it looks bad, hard to clean. I prefer snaps.
2. The opening of the pockets felt an inch or two too small. Couldn't fit with my gloves on.
3. It would be nice to add a couple more pockets on the inside.
4. When I wear my hair up, the hood feels too tight/short. I think it needs to be a bit looser.
5. It was almost impossible to button the neck collar. It is too tight when I do. Needs some more space there.
6. Would recommend a way to adjust the cuffs because I couldn't fit my gloves under.
7. The fabric of the thumb holes is way too flimsy. Perhaps something more fleecy?
I got the Dark Gray color but really wanted something more fresh. The red I thought was too Burgundy, too muted. Would love to see brighter, fresher colors.
I would recommend this product.
+34points
35of 36voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great winter coat

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Marijke
Location: Beaverton, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Attractive and highly functional
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Are You Cold?

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Cheche
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Get this coat. You need this coat if you are still cold.
I should preface: I was always cold; I am 5'5 and 115 lbs, 32 chest, with low blood pressure and long arms, and I live in Chicago. I tried a NorthFace parka, LLBean, and LandsEnd. I came across this Columbia coat in Rocket Red with the adjustable snap buttons on the back (I use them to make the small smaller.) I can't believe how warm, toasty, and happier I am wearing this coat in winter. The arms are long enough at this size, the thumb holes in the cuff sleeves help keep cold air out, it's waterproof, the cut is stylish, and it is so worth the money.
As for the hood: I just wrap a scarf on around the hood and neck and it stays on beautifully.
I am paid compliments on how warm and cute I look in this coat and I tell each person to get one too.
I would recommend this product.
+42points
43of 44voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Warm and Stylish Too

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Jan2514
Location: Canton, MS
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great parka for my trips up north! Got the XL so I could easily wear a turtleneck and suit jacket under it. I'm 5'7" and 145 lbs. I normally buy Large, but after reading the reviews I realized XL would best meet my needs. XL is perfect! Like this longer parka; now my rear is fully covered. I selected black, but it is actually a coal color. Stylish design. Have received compliments. Wish I could tighten the hood though. I definitely recommend buying this coat even though it does cost a lot. It will probably last my lifetime!
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
nutritiondiva
Location: Scarsdale, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was thrilled to get the coat. The fit was good, but when I went outside, I found my arms were cold through the sleeves. Any down coat I own must have a hood since I don't use hats. As there is no drawstromg. my ears were left uncovered and cold. Also, as I don't like the look of faux fur, I removed it by unzipping it from the base of the hood. Then the hood was not deep enough and the cold got right in.
I do not recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This will keep me warm

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Liz23
Location: Los Angeles
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am very interested in this new technology that will keep me naturally warm….it is just a bit "stiff" right now. I hope it will relax a bit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looking for warmth...get this coat!

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
bluebunnyicecream
Location: Nebraska
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was looking for months for a WARM coat. Very, very happy with this coat. All other down coats I've looked at are all paper thin and not warm at all. This coat delivers warmth in subzero temperatures and wind chills in NE. Wish the hood had a drawstring to close it so the wind doesn't blow it off. The flint grey kettle is a very nice color! Glad it wasn't a true grey color!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome winter coat!

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Katie123
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow I really love this coat. I was comparing it to TNF's Arctic Parka and it is so much more flattering. The Columbia Apres Arson coat is really warm and flattering and the silver lining looks cool when you take it off. I've gotten lots of compliments while wearing it!
Pros:
1. It fits a pear shaped curvy figure very well. I am 5'4" and 135 lbs and I always have trouble getting long coats to fit - if they fit my upper body, I can't zip them around my hips. The columbia coat fits perfectly, not too tight, not too loose and the adjustable waist makes it so flattering.
2 It's waterproof! Basically the only waterproof coat that is flattering that I found.
3. The grey color is very nice and has a slight herringbone pattern to it.
4. I like the thumb-hole sleeves. They really keep the wind out.
Cons:
1. If you zip it up all the way, the neck is a slightly tight.
2. It does shed some feathers - nothing extreme. Every time I wear it I find 2 or 3 feathers on me afterwards.
3. The hood, while lacking a cord like the other reviews stated, hasn't given me any trouble, especially if I wear a hat underneath it. With that being said, I will probably install a cinch cord myself since I know a little about sewing (you need a couple of grommets). You could probably have a tailor do it for you if you don't know how to sew.
I would recommend this product.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>