Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Headwall™ II Pant

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Headwall™ II Pant

This super-stretching softshell pant is an ideal partner for bushwacking through the wet underbrush or chasing away the chill in the shadow of the headwall.
Overall rating:
4.765 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
16 out of 17(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Review 1 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad sizing

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
renee13
Location: amarillo, texas
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i have two pair of the headwall pants the original. i ordered the same size in the headwall II and they were so about two sizes smaller than the size ordered. i think they were sized wrong instead of a 36 they were a 32. i was strange because i ordered two pair and both were the same way
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best cool weather pants ever!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
WildsideNT
Location: Yardley, PA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these pants just before leading a photo workshop in the Grand Tetons. The weather there in June can be very variable and I really put them to the test in all conditions!
During the workshop week we had temperatures ranging from the mid-30's to the low 80's and I was never uncomfortable in them! The stretchiness of the fabric lent well to nature photography, as did the water repellency, as I am often kneeling or laying on the ground in all conditions to "get the shot."
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SUPERBAD--THE BEST!

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer avatar
JDJO
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally, after searching for years, I found what I needed! NO COMPETITOR CAN TOUCH THESE for lower-body protection and warmth in extreme (cold/terrain) conditions. These are like an Ascender Softshell in pants form--an ultra-high evolution of the previous Headwall model(s). They are thick and rugged--but don't let that fool you. When you put them on they weigh close to nothing. Internally, they wrap you in fluffy fleece--gone are the days of base layers! Externally, they are flexible but tough, slightly "rough" to the touch, which is perfect for me because scrub and scree scrapes right on by without getting hold or causing damage. These things laugh at rocks/gravel. The construction is phenomenal--gusseted crotch, articulated knees, and enough stretch to accommodate any/all activities. Water bounces off, and if you do manage to soak them the fleece continues to insulate you like wool--but without the weight. Normally a 34W-32L, I find I always have to purchase a 36W-32L from Columbia, and these fit as this size always does: all-around comfort and room to move/breathe. I would not wear these in temps above 40-45F if you are going to be stationary--you will get super-hot super quick. THANK YOU COLUMBIA!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most comfortable active pants I own!

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Customer avatar
skipatroller
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The pants are AWESOME! I am 6'4", and have a hard time finding pants that fit. I am typically a 34x34, but most active pants come up slightly short in my size. These are made of a heavy weight material that has an elastic quality to them, allowing them to hang nicely and flex with your movement so the legs stay down (they even have a small hook inside the pant leg on the front that you can hook to your laces if you need to - nice touch!). The insides are soft fleece, so they are perfect for cool weather activities, although you would probably overheat doing anything it temps over 50-60 degrees. All pockets zip closed, and they are water resistant. Great styling as well! I would definitely recommend.
Activities: Trail, Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Snowboarding, Vacation
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprised but Not disappointed!

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Geoff
Location: Missoula, MT
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received the Columbia Headwall pant in November 2011 and have worn them now for about four winter months here in western Montana.
I had ordered these pants looking for a technical nylon/softshell type of pant for fall and winter hiking or walking. I was expecting to wear a base layer under these pants on cold days. When I received the Columbia Headwall pant, I was surprised to find they are lined with a light micro fleece. This fleece and the softshell feature makes these pants very warm on cold days. That being said, I believe that there is a time and place for them. Here in Montana our winter can vary from below zero to 50 degree days. I've worn these pants on most of my outings this winter. My experience and suggestion is to wear them when the temperature is at least 40 degrees and below. Any warmer and a person could easily overheat with activity. Also, choose your color wisely, I chose the Major (brown/taupe), the black color could get warm very quickly on a sunny day even if the temperature is quite low. I've found that the ideal temperature for the these pants is about 35 degrees and below. The benefit is that they're very warm and windproof. A great winter pant!
Features:
The ankle draw chord is great for cinching the pants around your boots.
There is also a hook to attach the pant to your boot lace to keep the leg from rising up over the top of your boot. (This can eliminate the use of gators in most cases.)
The pockets are very roomy. All pockets are zippered to keep gear secure.
The built in belt is very helpful. The plastic buckle is a little touchy. Not easy to undo with gloves.
Suggestions:
This pant, in my opinion, could use a zippered vent on the thighs, just in case you're to get caught in an exerting activity and over heat. Snowshoeing or crosscountry skiing are a perfect example of where side vents would be very helpful.
Better quick release belt buckle.
Overall, Columbia has made a great pant! Very nice material, stretchy and comfortable for hiking and winter exploring!
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Snowshoeing
Conditions: Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new go to pants for cold weather climbing.

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Customer avatar
ratherbnCO
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took these out for three days in temps from 25-50 degrees and they kept me toasty warm. I was very hard on these pants too, and they came out the other side lookinglike I just pulled them from the box. Columbia is really making quality gear these days. By the way, I'm 6'2" 187lbs and the 34x34 fit great. A little loose in the waist after about 24 miles, but what do you expect after a long day of bushwhacking?!
Activities: Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Mountaineering
Conditions: Sweaty, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Muddy, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent All Around Winter Pant

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Alaska80
Location: Delta Junction, Alaska
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I spend most of my professional and personal time in the backcountry of the Alaskan interior and have used these pants on multiple occasions in various settings. Recently I completed a 12 mile trek through 4 feet of snow at -25 F; and with no baselayer on my legs they never got cold. On another occasion I remained sedentary for approximately 2 hours in -10 F, again with no baselayer and was comfortable. Flexibility and range of motion are great when mountaineering; all around they are an excellent pant.
Activities: Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Mountaineering, Camping, Snowshoeing
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants!

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Chris2838
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These pants were awesome during a recent winter trip to the Tetons and Jackson, WY. The temps ranged from 0 to 30 degrees but the lower body never got cold. They are incredibly comfortable and the material allows for comfortable movement. Used them for hiking, snowshoeing, skiing and just walking around town. They run a little big but the attached belt cinches them up nicely without bunching them up in front.
Activities: Skiing, Hiking/Trekking, Snowshoeing, Vacation
Conditions: Sunny, Snowy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pants

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
ontopofmountmansfield
Location: Vermont
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just received these pants the other day and I'm very impressed with them. They're very stretchy, but not to the point where you feel like you're wearing spandex. I haven't gotten to use them yet in cold weather, but I do a lot of hiking out in the mountains of Vermont in the Winter and I'm confident that they will hold up well.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Snowshoeing
Conditions: Snowy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great pants for cold days

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Rado
Location: New York
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was looking for warm pants, that i dont need wear bottom thermals. These are excellent, feel really nice in touch. Look a little like for snowboarding and catch dirt easly, but strong material and high quality job. Almost waterproof - in the rain i started feeling on some wet spots, but, just in connection spots.
Activities: Other, Commuting
Conditions: City, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent functionality

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
mingy
Location: san diego
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good product, used in on hikes to idylwild, san jacinto in winter, will take it to mt.chimborazo
Activities: Trail, Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Mountaineering, Snowshoeing, Mountain Biking
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Is light and warm pants.

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
011ha
Location: ny
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:Yes
  • Employee
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Is light and warm pants.
Usually wear when hiking or stroll.
Enough to be utilized to satisfy a lot of pockets.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Camping
Conditions: City, White Water, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Headwall Pants

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
JMac1
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect pant for cold weather golf! I bought a second pair after wearing the first pair.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Rainy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My snowshoeing Pants

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
DizzynDenver
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I snowshoe with these in the middle of winter with a heavyweight baselayer. Into late Winter and early spring I just wear the pants. I can't say enough. I use these in the high country snowshoeing in Colorado. I've been anywhere from -5 to snow storms in these and have not had any problems.
Activities: Snowshoeing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great expirience overall

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Moluseli
Location: Baltimore
Did not have any problems ordering online, the pants were delivered in a timely fashion and I had free shipping in my order
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pants!

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Erik87
Location: Kodiak, Alaska
  • Expert
these are awesome pants! they are sturdy and warm, and i love that they cinch at the bottom cuffs. very comfortable weather your summiting a local peak or out on the town.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Headwall™ II Pant
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome fall/winter hiking pants

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
trentthehikerbiker
Location: Madison, WI
These do the job for cold mornings on the trail, and am looking forward to using these with a baselayer for winter snowshoeing!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.