Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket

Columbia Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket

Icy currents are no match for the incredibly cozy Omni-Heat Wading Jacket. The shiny thermal reflective liner retains your own body heat with the same kind of technology that makes space blankets true life-savers in the wilderness. Waterproof-breathable and fully seam-sealed, it locks out the elements so you can focus on your catch.
Overall rating:
4.429 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
20 out of 21(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

almost made it through the day

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer avatar
RickCM
Location: Seattle, Washington
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
All in all it is a great jacket. The Omni-heat lining lived up to its name. A base layer and the jacket were enough to keep warm on a 50° day. The waterproof-breathable fabric lasted 5 of the 7 hours that day. It was mainly the elbows to the cuffs that the waterproofing gave way.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outlasted 2 sets of waders and 4 seasons.

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Hood
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I just ordered another one, after having the first series w/o the silver dots. It is starting to get worn, but is still fully functional. The broke in odor of fish and egg cure does get me all excited at first whiff and the dog goes nuts when I pull it out, knowing it means were going for a tear. I live right between the Clack and the Sandy and fish 2-3 times a week, year round. This jacket is my go to period. Sunny day? It's wadded up in my pack, otherwise it's always on. As for the small sizing, it is supposed to be that way. I like the lack of extra material for casting and the occasional dip doesn't yank me down river like a sea anchor. Only reason I bought another is because Columbia will get the wise idea from a designer that needs to keep his job, that it needs "improvements", and will ruin it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible jacket!

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
projectguy
Location: Farmington, NM
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I previously owned a Columbia jacket that was huge on me, so I ordered this in a small. Unfortunately, this jacket is true to size, so I gave my small away and got the medium. Perfect fit.
This morning, it was zero degrees, and this jacket was all I used. The foil dots are amazing. People like the looks, I love the fit and the warmth without all the bulk and weight of traditional jackets. The hood was also one reason I wanted this, but the cap part is rather tight. I can live with that for a bit of time.
This jacket is the best investment for my warmth and comfort that I have purchased.
Plus, Columbia stands behind their products 100%, as I have had 3 prior Columbia jackets. Great customer satisfaction, great products.
Thank you, Columbia, for caring about your customers.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's good, but not great

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I fish every day. I put my gear through sun, shade, rain and snow here in the pacific northwest. I used this jacket hard in all of it.
Pros:
The fit is good, I like how it is short enough to keep out of the water at your waist, and hold snug around your waist to protect the inside. It's a warm jacket for how lightweight it is, and makes a couple layers left at home a cinch. The neoprene cuffs are awesome, when cinched down on the wrist, you can plunge your hand straight down in the water for a good while without wetting your forearms, and it keeps the rain out when you put your arms up. The zippers are in good places, and the velcro double closure helps keep wind out. I really enjoy the hood, it has a nice bill on it to keep the rain from dripping into your face.
Cons: The DWR doesn't last. After couple of outings the finish started to wet out a little and lose its water repellency. After about the same time again, it was gone, and although water proof still, it wets out after a minimal exposure to rain. The ripstop fabric is too lightweight to function adequately without it, it just feels heavy and wet. The front pockets are a little bit cumbersome, they are too big for my dry fly boxes, too small for a good sized streamer box or your average sized gear box. I find myself sticking stuff in it without a box and having to rummage through the deeper pockets to find what I need. The extra little gear things don't really fit any of my stuff or tools, so they often go unused.
In all, the fit, sizing and workmanship is great, good zippers and everything you'd expect from a Columbia jacket, but the limited lifetime of the DWR, lightweight fabric and clunky pocket sizes keep it from being a five star jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Winter wading jacket

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
StinkyPantsFishing
Location: Boerne, TX
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket to wade the coast in the winter in search of trophy trout. I was very happy with the fit and quality of the jacket. I am confident that this product will keep me both dry and warm on the long wades of the Texas coast.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite jacket

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Torstein
Location: Minneapolis
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just bought this jacket for winter trout fishing in the driftless region and spring steelhead fishing on the North Shore of Lake Superior. I haven't been on a stream with it yet but have worn it in rainy 40 degree weather and love it. I'm 5'11" and about 185 and the large fits very nicely over a couple of layers. The quality is great and I like all the pockets - and it even has a loop on the back for my net. You can tell it was designed by people who fly fish. This is going to be my go-to jacket for a long time. Thanks Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer avatar
grashopr
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this for the purpose of summer and winter steelheading ... and trout fishing in the lovely rains / monsoons of the PNW. I recently test drove this and was impressed by the supple material, its lightweight but warm feel, and its general design. Seems like a great jacket. I'm 5'10 and 185. I pressed myself to go to the XL based on previous small sizing in similar garments through other vendors. I'm pleased I did so. XL allowed for me to wear a vest underneath and have plenty of mobility for casting, etc. I'd recommend one size above whatever your "normal" sizing is. My two bits.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fishing jacket

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fishing4me
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the Omni-Heat lining, it is light weight and warm. The jacket is waterproof and fits very comfortably over a long sleeve shirt and vest.
I rate this jacket at a "TEN"
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fit not right

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Hundredweight
Location: Portland, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:Yes
  • Employee
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm 6', 180 pounds and bought the jacket is size XL to wear over several layers in the winter. It probably would be warm enough to eliminate one layer (but hot in the summer).
The fit was not right, being on the short side. Especiall, the hood fit was tight and did not cover the bill of a baseball camp. A size XL Tall , if it was available, may be right.
I returned the jacket to the Columbia flagship store in Portland
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wading Jacket

PostedMay 13, 2012
Customer avatar
tigger2
Location: Byram NJ
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
comfort warm and very dry - one of the best wading jackets I have even tried on, or owned.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wading Jacket review.

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Rodger
Location: oregon city oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
worked great fishing in the rain kept warm, dry. had to submerge my hand about mid forearm deep landing fish neoprene cuffs seemed to absorb water and held water like a sponge. glad it was spring fishing not winter
has it would make for some really cold hands.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Waterproof Jacket

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer avatar
HiddenLake
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used the jacket for two years and found it to meet my needs for winter steelhead in Idaho, summer showers in Utah and very hard rain and strong winds in Chile. It keeps the rain out. The hood works well and fits over a capl when needed. I just bought the version with Omni-Heat and it seems a step up in warmth from the original. The pockets are useful - I only use the jacket when steelhead fishing or you can wear a vest over it. I good foul weather solution.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect for the avid fisherman

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Customer avatar
rkudile
Location: Hackettstown, New Jersey
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This has been the best jacket i have owned to date. Big pockets,comfortable,and can take a full day of rain. Great for walking long distances on warm rainy days, you will not sweat. Winter steelheading or nasty striper surf fishing this jacket is an asset that any hardcore fisherman can rely on for comfort.
Activities: Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Customer avatar
fishntexas
Location: Rockport, TX
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
you can nwear this jacket in weather from 48-75 degrees...awesome jacket, very light and waterproof!
Activities: Trail, Canoeing, Hiking/Trekking, Fishing - Flats Fishing, Camping, Boating, Fishing - Deep Sea, Vacation, Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: Sunny, Rainy, Windy, Humid, Open Ocean, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Omni-Heat Wading Jacket

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Customer avatar
waiolama
Location: Washington State
This jacket provides rain protection without the weight due to water retention of other types of waterproof fabrics. Convenient pockets and D-rings featured.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

wrist cuffs leak, hood tight

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Customer avatar
tallpedro
Location: Protland Oregon
My buddy and I have the same jacket, we were both in a typical Oregon monsoon steelhead fishing in rain for 7 hours. Both of us had soaked arm sleeves. The cuff design did not keep water out no matter how tight we pulled the cuffs.Also I'm tall 6'4, 225lbs, and got the X large tall jacket, but the length from shoulders to the top of hood was too short, always pulling down on my the head. gets tiring after a while. I'm considering returning it after the leaking cuffs. Peter in Portland
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lightweight and dry

PostedMay 24, 2011
Customer avatar
CaddisChaser
Location: Ft Smith, MT
My favorite feature of this jacket is the built in hat in the hood. Other jackets I've had just give you the option to cinch it down. The elastic band in the hat kept in on my head in wind gusts but still gave me the ability to look around and stay dry.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not happy about the size

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Customer avatar
supermom
Location: new york new york
jacket fits like a small not a medium
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Takes a Beating!

PostedMarch 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Wingmaster50
Location: Portland, Or
I just came back from an Steel Head fishing expedition where everything that could happen did. This coat took torrential downpours, wet snow storms, full emersion dunkings and zero degree weather in stride. It did not leak and only let in water where the zipper was unzipped. The cut is generous enough to allow for cold weather layers and yet can be cool enough to wear in the summer. The pockets are large enough to account for gear and personal devices.
I am going to buy this coat as gifts for friends and family.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Omni-Heat™ Wading Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Nateflyguy
Location: Great Lakes ,Wi
Great light weight wading jacket,that feels like your wearing a big bulky one.That Omni-heat is like having a heater in your jacket.User beware don't over dress under your layers you will be shedding them.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>