Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat

Bring on the extreme cold— these tall and rugged performers can take it. The Bugaboot Plus XTM is a weather-busting winter boot, engineered with advanced technical materials for severe cold weather protection.
Overall rating:
4.276 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
24 out of 28(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Review 1 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

uncomfortable boots

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Customer avatar
snapper
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i just bought a pair of your boots. @ first they were soar around the ankle area, i figured they have to break in a bit. ive worn them every day for 2 weeks now and they still hurt. they pinch me around the ankle area, where the two thick peices seperate, theres a little space in between and they pinch my ankles. i cant afford to buy a different pair so im just going to have to put up with it. next time i will have to try something different i will NEVER buy this perticulare pair ever again.
Activities: Climbing, Hiking/Trekking
Conditions: Sunny, Rainy
I do not recommend this product.
-4points
8of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A sponge for water

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Spurlock
Location: Palmer Alaska
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought a pair for myself and son and have used on a few hunts the latest in Prince William Sound Esther Island Alaska. Feet were soaked the tounge does not hold water out and snow gets impacted and melts contributing to the water soaked feet. We had spare boots thankfully as these literally poured water out after 1 hour in the rain and snow. We stand by Columbia products like my 13 year old jacket that works perfectly still today. These boots were a huge disappointment coming from columbia.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very warm & uncomfortable

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Saber2469
Location: Phila, PA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This boot looks great, it is very warm. However I had to put a gel insert in them. Without the insert it was painful to stand for long with these boots. I am also experiencing some pain on my Achilles heel from my left boot. It doesn't matter what I do with my left boot the painful pressure on my left ankle persists. I have tried a thicker hiking wool sock. I have tried tying the boot loosely. I have been using them for 2 weeks now the pain is still there.
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Waterproof ?

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
dirtnick
Location: Nevada
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This boot is not waterproof. Water will get inside the boot from the lace/tongue area. Mine are going back to be evaluated. Mine have gotten past the one year warranty for refund. So if you are going to buy them, and count on them to keep your feet dry, test them out at home first before you go out.
Activities: Camping, Other
Conditions: Rainy, Cement/Asphalt
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bugaboot

PostedMay 13, 2013
Customer avatar
mseely007
Location: Ridgefield,WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good looking boot and well constructed. I am a boot nut and own way more pair of hikeing/hunting boots that I could ever wear out in 10 life times.
This pair however hurt my feet the minute I put them on (never had this happen before). I was a bit shocked.
I adjusted the tightness a couple of times and went out for a 3 mile walk. Half way through they felt a bit better. I have not had to break in any other boots I own to have them feel good out of the box.
Bottom line...great price at $75.00 employee price, well constructed, however the jury is still out on comfort.
If you are standing around....great, if you are putting in miles.....be careful........
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs thicker insulation

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Customer avatar
hunt101447
Location: McMurdo Station Antarctica
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I'm working 800 miles from the South Pole. The coldest I've been out in these boots is -10F. I ordered these boots one size up only because I knew I was going to be wearing the thick wooly socks with them.
Pros: Lightweight for such a big boot (size 13). Great traction on the ice and snow. Excellent waterproofing too, I had to walk through some ankle deep slush and my feet remained dry. Also, after wearing these boots all day long (mostly indoors) my feet are dry so these boots breathe well. If you're going to be outside in the cold for short periods, these boots work ok. However, if you're going to be outside in them for a while...well, read below
Cons: Even though the boots have the Omni heat liner, they need more insulation. LOTS More After less than an hour working in the snow and ice while wearing these boots my feet got cold. I had to shift over to my Extreme Cold Weather (ECW) boots (big heavy clunky boots) that were issued to me to wear when I came to Antarctica. So you guys might want to reconsider that -65F icon that you put on the box that these boots came in.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Sunny, Snowy, Freezing, Muddy, Other, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byhunt101447
McMurdo Station Antarctica
 
Please wait while more information about hunt101447 is loaded.
Additional information about hunt101447 could not be loaded.
Not so happy with these boots now
onJanuary 28, 2012
Last week one of the eyelets gave out. The fourth eyelet down from the top. The one just below the speed lacing hooks. Yesterday I made a trip to the geographic South Pole. The temp there was -25F. Knowing how these boots performed at -10F I opted not to wear them at the South Pole at all.
The Mountain Monster Gloves on the other hand (no pun intended) those worked great! I'll post a review over on the gloves.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, I'm happy with this boot

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
tallJP
Location: Walla Walla WA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I do flagging all day in the cold, rain and snow. While I've only had the boot for a week, so fare I am impressed. Glad I bought a size larger than I normally ware as it was needed for sure.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not a bad Boot

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Ron454454
Location: Alaska
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased two pair of these boots last winter for my son and I. I live in Alaska. We used them from everything to walks with the dogs after dinner to icefishing. I wouldn't rate them to -65 without I was doing something very active. I would rate them to about -10 when it comes to doing lighter activites outside. They are very confortable and easy to get on and off. I wear a thicker sock with them for comfort and to wick away the sweat from my feet and they still fit good. I wear a 10 and I purchased a 10. They are a true fit. I think they are over priced, but I am a cheapo when it comes to spending money. Good Luck!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not the best for ice fishing

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
icefisher1
Location: NE PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i used these boots ice fishing, i do not think they will hold out in -65 like they say, my feet got cold cold from standing on the ice, especially the bottoms, maybe they should put some of that omni shield on the bottoms to better help insulate the bottoms. Otherwise they are a very comfortable, light boot.
Activities: Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good boot but not for long exposure to Antartic ice

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
OpDeepfreeze
Location: Antarctica
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These boots are great for working/hiking in pretty severe conditions. I do find that after standing on sea ice for a couple hours my feet do get chilly. Usually walking for a bit gets circulation going enough to warm me up again. Not sure how they will perform sitting in a tree stand but looking forward to the experiance. If I am in the U.S. for next deer season I will write another review.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bugaboot Footwear Rules

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
Rockeye
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As an archaeological field surveyor, I spend hundreds of hours on my feet, much of it on difficult and often wet terrain. My choice in footwear while in the field can mean the difference between a punishing day with wet, cold feet. That is why I choose Columbia footwear and the Bugaboot series. I wore and earlier version of this boot for years, and for cold, wet and miserable weather, especially if one has to walk all day, there is simply no substitute for this boot. The new Bugaboot is even better!!! Comfortable right out of the box, this boot just makes your feet laugh!!!! <<<<Bruce>>>>
Activities: Other
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Freezing, Muddy, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

one tuff cookie

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
hollow
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tuff built and very warm. cant wait to try this out on snow!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

XTM

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Bochy
Location: Clarence, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boot, great fit, great price
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Winter Boots

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Eric950
Location: Mesa, AZ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These boots along with simple wool liner socks kept my feet warm down to 30's - 40's temp. They are definitely water proof. I haven't taken them out in any snow yet but I am confident they will perform just fine in the snow as well. These boots are great. They seem to be made with very good materials that will last a long time.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cold Weather Boot

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Shiker
Location: Denver, CO
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super comfortable and warm and amazingly lightweight! First time wearing them was on a three mile snowshoe hike and they were great. Great value.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top of the line!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Brian59
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can only tell you I wear nothing, but Columbia boots!
They are the most comfortable, lightweight and warm boot I have ever owned. My last pair I kept for 12 years and it broke my heart to throw them out. I recommend Columbia to all of my family and friends. I have to tell you that I recently walked in to a local store to look at the Columbia boots and his reply was "We don't carry them". My reply to him was "I only buy Columbia so I won't be buying here". He tried in vain to have me look at others, but I know what I want and I know quality when I see it and wear it. I purchased directly from you and was very happy. Thank you for being there for me!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Boots

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer avatar
CDphotos
Location: West yellowstone, Mt
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Though i have not worn these yet because they are for guiding snowmobiles this winter. This is my second pair and they are pretty bombproof. I wore my last pair for 6 years until they started splitting and leaking a little but thats was after many MANY miles of hiking, moving snow and guiding hundreds of snowmobile trips. Great boots..
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love These Boots

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer avatar
PatW
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these boots. The light weight coupled with the heat reflective material should be great in the mountains elk hunting this fall while in the snow.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Sailnsouth
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought these for a ski trip to do some side hiking. They do run a size small. They are very warm at 28deg, great to walk in and good traction. They wouldn't do the -65 rating but buy large and throw a extra pair of socks and I bet they will do fine around -10. Great boot!!
Activities: Trail
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Muddy, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just A Great All Around Boot

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
CRICTCRAFT46
Location: CHICAGO/ SEATTLE
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best boot out there, good for dress and fun. I'll probably order one more pair, one for just walking around and another to beat the heck out of. The color , height and weight is perfect and I like showing them off!! THANK YOU FOR A GREAT PAIR OF BOOTS.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Commuting
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>