Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Snake River™ II Water Short

Columbia Men's Snake River™ II Water Short

Classic lines and classic taste serve up our newest batch of color offerings in this Columbia staple. Our patented Omni-Shade helps beat the heat in a UPF 50 package. These quick dry shorts have an interior mesh brief and expandable waist.
Overall rating:
3.154 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
8
15 out of 24(62%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Review 1 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shorts That Stay Up & Will Last A Long Time

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer avatar
InfiniteSafari
Location: Studio City CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a kayak instructor and someone who owns an African Safari Company I live in my water shorts. I recently got these as I had worn out a previous pair of Columbia water shorts after many years of use. I like these shorts a lot because I carry a lot of stuff in my pockets and others tend to start to sag and fall down because of the weight. I like the belt on these because when you pull it tight it stays tight. If I had one critique I wish it had a belt loop to stick the tail of the belt into. They are comfortable, look good (I sometimes "dress" them up with a safari bush shirt instead of t-shirt if I am headed out to happy hour after a day of paddling) and know that because of Columbia's fit and quality they will last me a long time. Need a good pair of water shorts. These are the one.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Water Shorts!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
moosaki
Location: Martinsburg WV
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had mine two seasons now and they are just as serviceable as when I bought them. They work well in the ocean or a pool. I even wear them to the gym and for casual wear. I have the orange ones. Sizing is good and construction is good.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Water Shorts

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer avatar
trout
Location: South Texas Coast
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well built with lots of pockets. shorts keep you cool and dry fast when you get out of the water. they fit perfect and I would recommend them to anyone.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Columbia designed version "II" on the cheap

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
George2015
Location: San Jose, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I created an account on this site for the sole purpose of writting this review.
I owned the original Men's Snake River™ short for years and loved it, however Columbia clearly took steps to cut corners in this redesigned:
- The sizing is almost 2 full sizes smaller than the original
- The material is flimsy
- Some pocket types have been eliminated, the rest
shrank
It's a shame because the original Men's Snake River™ II was a great short.
I do not recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bySorelyDisappointed
USA
 
Please wait while more information about SorelyDisappointed is loaded.
Additional information about SorelyDisappointed could not be loaded.
Original Men's Snake River Short was much better
onJuly 10, 2014
I agree with George2015. While I'm OK with the change to a zippered pocket, as I have had to modify the hook and loop (Velcro) closures on the pockets of my original Men's Snake River Shorts to keep the pockets closed, I think the other changes have definitely downgraded the quality of the shorts. The elastic in the waist band is very week, the fabric is flimsy, and the fit has changed for the worse. Please bring back the original.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Runs small

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
trichel124
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product but runs small
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

They ruined a perfect short

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
yoviny
Location: Danville, Ca
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been wearing the original model for many years, and I wear shorts every day! I bought several pairs of the SN2 and have just about given up on them. If the company really reads these reviews they should go back to the old model design before they lose more customers.
I do not recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2nd best...

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Lilredmule
Location: TX Hill Country, New Mexico and Colorado...
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These water shorts can best be described as 2nd only to skin...
I acquired a pair 3 summers ago in Moab for a river trip with the oldest son, a guide for Navtec. I needed a pair to replace some older and really worn out water shorts. I found these in a clearance bin on Main St. after a huge evening meal and was unsure about the fit, go figure! The next morning I grabbed these and prepared for the days rafting adventures. Got to the river and changed in the Porta Potty, always a great adventure in itself, and was surprised at the fit, the comfort and the feel next to the skin. All around a great addition to the gear bag! This pair is a replacement for the now fading original pair, I hope they don't quit making 'em...thanks Columbia for another great product!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bring back the original!

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer avatar
steveinftc
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Was a big fan of the original design, but the II version is so bad I will have to look for a non-Columbia option. Pockets not useful, material is flimsy, and the fit is ridiculously small. C'mon Columbia, everything else you make is great!
I do not recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

used to be great

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Randoman
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've gone through 4-5 pairs of these shorts in the past 10 years. They used to be the best, and at a reasonable price; two LARGE zippered cargo pockets, a zippered back pocket, two mesh hand pockets in front; a stretchy belt that locked down with a ladder-lock buckle- these shorts never came off once, surfing, swimming, hiking, rivers, never. They also had a comfortable, stretch mesh liner.
Now there's ONE zippered cargo pocket and it's too small to put anything in, the rest of the pockets "close" with the smallest piece of velcro you've ever seen, you couldn't put anything valuable in them. Worst of all, they're cut too tight and the mesh liner is so tight and non-stretchy now that, if you're a man, your junk feels like it's getting squished in a vice. I have to cut the liner out of mine to wear them, and I can only wear them walking the dog; I'm afraid if I wear them to a movie my keys and change will fall out as soon as I sit down
I do not recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Snake River Shorts

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Water2013
Location: Fish Creek, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
They run small. In previous versions I wore a L. Had to go to XL in the new product. I like the fabric and the elastic waist of the older models much better. But, I still like the new model as well.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sizing error on Snake River Shorts

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer avatar
PepperDaddy
Location: Greenville, SC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered extra large because the write up inclouded a comment that this item runs small. Well even extra large was super tight. Unfortunately I had removed the tags, so I get to give these away to some one else. Love the features and the quality. Can't believe a Columbia product is so miss-sized. Am afraid to order XXL because I don't want to wear a circus tent.
Please get the size right next season and keep the quality and features.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

They're a versitle design, but not what quite I expected

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer avatar
FredInOH
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A few things to be aware of when selecting these shorts, especially if it's been a while since you bought your last ones:
They run much slimmer than before, so size accordingly and use the longer inseam. There's no drawstring, so plunging headfirst into the water is dicey. Any belt excess just "hangs" there without any place to tuck it in - looks a bit sloppy. Material is thinner than years past, so be prepared to wear through them more quickly. Don't plan on packing much in the pockets; not built for that.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits well

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Active1
Location: Carlisle, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit for us trim guys.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bring back the 11" inseam!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer avatar
OK3000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Ok, I have a few pair of these shorts that are great bathing suits! As I have tried to replace them I find out that the longest inseam is only 9" now. Not cool at all. Columbia, please bring back the longer inseam, or I will have to go elsewhere. If your sales fall off on this product I can tell you why! Oh yea, and the new buckle comes apart too easily. The old buckle was just a slider, not a slider and latch.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

9 in Snake River Water short

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
whipperscd
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A good water short for the $--a little tight in the pockets, crotch but very serviable and nice looking.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

More Tailored and Slimmer than the Snake River I shorts!

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Olaf
Location: Westchester County, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have three pairs of Snake River I (SR1) shorts and I am 5'9" 150 lbs/33" waist and a Small/11"inseam in the SR1 fit me perfectly which wasn't cool since I normally wear a medium in every other brand.
This year with the Snake River 2 (SR2) Columbia shortened the inseam to 9 inches and made the sizes more tailored to fit how they ARE SUPPOSED TO FIT. So now with the SR2 shorts I wear a Medium/9"inseam and they actually fit perfectly. In fact the SR2's Medium fits slimmer than the SR1's small.
So diehard SR1 folks may want to size up when buying SR2 shorts-also the tags on the SR2 clearly says 'Slimmer Fit' in big bold print to let you know to try them on before ripping all the tags off.
Columbia made the fabric and stitched-seams thinner on the SR2 so it dries much quicker than the SR1. Because I also use my SR shorts for hiking and rock climbing I quickly realized the SR2's are not as durable as the SR1's but if you are buying these mainly for water sports or the beach then they will be fine for that.
My biggest gripe with the SR2 is pockets. All of them are smaller than the SR1. Except the back pocket which is actually bigger/deeper but my gripe here is the back pocket is no longer a zippered pocket. It has a flimsy patch of Velcro barely keeping it closed so you can no longer keep valuables in there. The SR2 no longer has the hidden coin/key pocket inside the mesh lining that the SR1 had.
Over all I like the SR2 shorts for the better color options, fit and lighter fabric but I will definitely be keeping and wearing my SR1 shorts whenever I can.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Water Shorts

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Customer avatar
DRW123
Location: Mississippi
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been wearing water shorts instead of swim trunks for years now. This product has nice deep pockets and they dry really fast. I worn them at the beach all week and they were very comfortable. I will be wearing them on the river on weekend. I do wish the inseam was a little shorter but they fit very well . I am glad I followed the advise on the size and order one size up.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Why did you change the product

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Customer avatar
1949DEM
Location: seattle, Washington
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1) the pockets are about 3 inches shorter than the previous years of production, and they are slanted to the front of the pant, 2) the pockets are sewn so they are attached to the smaller side pockets, 3) the legs are not as large in circumference as the older style.
The pockets and the angle are the most frustrating part of this water short, they belong on the side as they used to be, for comfort and practicality, it doesn't work for me. Second please allow the pocket to fall freely, and put it back to the original size, so it moves when a person walks in them, release it from the small side pocket. thirdly having less free movement in the leg with the tighter circumference doesn't make for comfort.
I have bought this very water short for years and this is the first time I can say I am unhappy with your product.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs Work

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Regork
Location: Beaverton, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The sew job holding in the zipper on both of my shorts (side pocket) began to shred after a few months (on my other shorts of the same make and style). The shorts are OK and the only ones with a built-in underpants lining, hence the only available. I preferred the shorts (khaki) Columbia sold five or six years ago better. But these will do.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not like The Original

PostedJune 22, 2013
Customer avatar
LARRYM
Location: Naples, FL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Runs smaller than the Snake River I. Very disappointing.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>