Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Snake River™ II Water Short

Columbia Men's Snake River™ II Water Short

Classic lines and classic taste serve up our newest batch of color offerings in this Columbia staple. Our patented Omni-Shade helps beat the heat in a UPF 50 package. These quick dry shorts have an interior mesh brief and expandable waist.
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
10
17 out of 30(57%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Review 1 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Versatile

PostedAugust 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: AZ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Versatile short. Not just for being in the water. I wore these on a 5 mile hike and felt fine, no irritation at all. Bought these on sale and they're a great value! Not as loose in the seat and thighs as I'd like, but I was still comfortable in my size and had good range of motion.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJune 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Rio Rancho, NM, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have several pairs of Columbia shorts dating back 10-12 years. Each time I have purchased a new pair the quality has been less. This last pair did not impress at all. They fit small and I'm not sure how long they would last. Poor effort on your part Columbia sports wear. What happen to mom and her testing procedures?
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not what I expected.

PostedMay 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Oak Lawn,Il
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
the quality of the shorts is pretty good. My complaint would be that the pockets are too small especially the cargo pockets.Colombia's previous version of the shorts was much better and if they ever come back to that I would definitely buy them. let's hope the people at Columbia get the message.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What a disappointment

PostedMay 8, 2015
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
I have been wearing your old style Snake River shorts for years. I loved them, I say loved because the new version is really a disaster.
No room, no good pockets, no style. I bought 2 pairs hoping they would work despite my reservations. They were so subpar that I returned them. Please bring the old style back and if you have to jack the price, I will be happy to pay it. Otherwise, you've lost a customer.
I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ditto!!

PostedApril 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
I agree with so many reviews comparing the old model Snake River Shorts to the new model. The old model was much much better for all of the reasons already stated by others. The cargo pockets were deeper and there were more of them. I carry a check book type wallet that would easily fit in one of the sippered side pockets. Not any more. I also had my iphone come out of the valcro closing side pocket on the new model and break. On the old version it would have been in the zippered pocket and stayed safe and sound. It seems that those that did not have the old model are satisfied so I would still recommend them but I am personally looking for a replacement.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

These weren't broke, why fix them?

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Jackson Hole, WY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The older version of these shorts were so much better! Nice, relaxed fit, deep side pockets, lots of mobility, great for rafting or fishing. This new version is sub par at best. I'm a big guy, about 250, with a 38-40 inch waist and I couldnt even fit into a XXL! They have absolutely no room in the seat and thigh. The side pockets are smaller and pretty much useless. The material is flimsy and will prob blow out in no time. Please bring back the old version!!
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shorts That Stay Up & Will Last A Long Time

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Studio City CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a kayak instructor and someone who owns an African Safari Company I live in my water shorts. I recently got these as I had worn out a previous pair of Columbia water shorts after many years of use. I like these shorts a lot because I carry a lot of stuff in my pockets and others tend to start to sag and fall down because of the weight. I like the belt on these because when you pull it tight it stays tight. If I had one critique I wish it had a belt loop to stick the tail of the belt into. They are comfortable, look good (I sometimes "dress" them up with a safari bush shirt instead of t-shirt if I am headed out to happy hour after a day of paddling) and know that because of Columbia's fit and quality they will last me a long time. Need a good pair of water shorts. These are the one.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Water Shorts!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Martinsburg WV
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had mine two seasons now and they are just as serviceable as when I bought them. They work well in the ocean or a pool. I even wear them to the gym and for casual wear. I have the orange ones. Sizing is good and construction is good.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Water Shorts

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: South Texas Coast
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well built with lots of pockets. shorts keep you cool and dry fast when you get out of the water. they fit perfect and I would recommend them to anyone.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Columbia designed version "II" on the cheap

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: San Jose, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I created an account on this site for the sole purpose of writting this review.
I owned the original Men's Snake River™ short for years and loved it, however Columbia clearly took steps to cut corners in this redesigned:
- The sizing is almost 2 full sizes smaller than the original
- The material is flimsy
- Some pocket types have been eliminated, the rest
shrank
It's a shame because the original Men's Snake River™ II was a great short.
I do not recommend this product.
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byTasty
San Francisco
 
Please wait while more information about Tasty is loaded.
Additional information about Tasty could not be loaded.
Columbia designed version "II" on the cheap!
onNovember 22, 2014
Yes, I too owned the original for many years and LOVED it also!
As stated:
- The sizing is almost 2 full sizes smaller than the original, with a more "restricted" profile
- The material is definitely comparatively flimsy
- Some pocket types have been eliminated; specifically, the rear pocket is a cheap velcro closure rather that the previous zippered closure.
It's a shame because the original Men's Snake River™ II *was* a great short.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bySorelyDisappointed
USA
 
Please wait while more information about SorelyDisappointed is loaded.
Additional information about SorelyDisappointed could not be loaded.
Original Men's Snake River Short was much better
onJuly 10, 2014
I agree with George2015. While I'm OK with the change to a zippered pocket, as I have had to modify the hook and loop (Velcro) closures on the pockets of my original Men's Snake River Shorts to keep the pockets closed, I think the other changes have definitely downgraded the quality of the shorts. The elastic in the waist band is very week, the fabric is flimsy, and the fit has changed for the worse. Please bring back the original.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 11 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Runs small

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product but runs small
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

They ruined a perfect short

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Danville, Ca
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have been wearing the original model for many years, and I wear shorts every day! I bought several pairs of the SN2 and have just about given up on them. If the company really reads these reviews they should go back to the old model design before they lose more customers.
I do not recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2nd best...

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: TX Hill Country, New Mexico and Colorado...
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These water shorts can best be described as 2nd only to skin...
I acquired a pair 3 summers ago in Moab for a river trip with the oldest son, a guide for Navtec. I needed a pair to replace some older and really worn out water shorts. I found these in a clearance bin on Main St. after a huge evening meal and was unsure about the fit, go figure! The next morning I grabbed these and prepared for the days rafting adventures. Got to the river and changed in the Porta Potty, always a great adventure in itself, and was surprised at the fit, the comfort and the feel next to the skin. All around a great addition to the gear bag! This pair is a replacement for the now fading original pair, I hope they don't quit making 'em...thanks Columbia for another great product!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bring back the original!

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Was a big fan of the original design, but the II version is so bad I will have to look for a non-Columbia option. Pockets not useful, material is flimsy, and the fit is ridiculously small. C'mon Columbia, everything else you make is great!
I do not recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

used to be great

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've gone through 4-5 pairs of these shorts in the past 10 years. They used to be the best, and at a reasonable price; two LARGE zippered cargo pockets, a zippered back pocket, two mesh hand pockets in front; a stretchy belt that locked down with a ladder-lock buckle- these shorts never came off once, surfing, swimming, hiking, rivers, never. They also had a comfortable, stretch mesh liner.
Now there's ONE zippered cargo pocket and it's too small to put anything in, the rest of the pockets "close" with the smallest piece of velcro you've ever seen, you couldn't put anything valuable in them. Worst of all, they're cut too tight and the mesh liner is so tight and non-stretchy now that, if you're a man, your junk feels like it's getting squished in a vice. I have to cut the liner out of mine to wear them, and I can only wear them walking the dog; I'm afraid if I wear them to a movie my keys and change will fall out as soon as I sit down
I do not recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Snake River Shorts

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Fish Creek, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
They run small. In previous versions I wore a L. Had to go to XL in the new product. I like the fabric and the elastic waist of the older models much better. But, I still like the new model as well.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sizing error on Snake River Shorts

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Greenville, SC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered extra large because the write up inclouded a comment that this item runs small. Well even extra large was super tight. Unfortunately I had removed the tags, so I get to give these away to some one else. Love the features and the quality. Can't believe a Columbia product is so miss-sized. Am afraid to order XXL because I don't want to wear a circus tent.
Please get the size right next season and keep the quality and features.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

They're a versitle design, but not what quite I expected

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A few things to be aware of when selecting these shorts, especially if it's been a while since you bought your last ones:
They run much slimmer than before, so size accordingly and use the longer inseam. There's no drawstring, so plunging headfirst into the water is dicey. Any belt excess just "hangs" there without any place to tuck it in - looks a bit sloppy. Material is thinner than years past, so be prepared to wear through them more quickly. Don't plan on packing much in the pockets; not built for that.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits well

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Carlisle, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fit for us trim guys.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Snake River™ II Water Short
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bring back the 11" inseam!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Atlanta, GA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Ok, I have a few pair of these shorts that are great bathing suits! As I have tried to replace them I find out that the longest inseam is only 9" now. Not cool at all. Columbia, please bring back the longer inseam, or I will have to go elsewhere. If your sales fall off on this product I can tell you why! Oh yea, and the new buckle comes apart too easily. The old buckle was just a slider, not a slider and latch.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>