Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size

Columbia Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size

Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall rating:
4.628 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(94 reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 94 reviews
5 Stars
66
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
88 out of 90(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Review 1 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love my Coat

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the perfect winter coat. It keeps you warm and is not too bulky or heavy. I love the part that goes over your hands and I also love the fact the the fur lining is detachable. Great product, worth every penny!!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byMari1281
 
Please wait while more information about Mari1281 is loaded.
Additional information about Mari1281 could not be loaded.
Sizing
onDecember 12, 2013
Hi Ricka! Just wondering about the sizing that you ordered. I have a very large bust (48in) and I was wondering if I should go by the size chart exactly or not.
Thanks!
Marilus
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I loved the coat--wish it had fit me!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat met my expectations for warmth, length, quality of fabric, color, and ease of zipping. Unfortunately the sleeves were too tight when I wore even a light weight sweater under it. My arms are big, so it might fit someone else fine. I was very disappointed it was too tight for me. I loved the coat!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best parka ever

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: providence, ri
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rugged, warm and easy to wear! and it's waterproof! very pleased. I am in sales so as a "professional thrill seeker" it's every day in the working world outside. need something you can't kill. this is it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Après Arson coat

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago illinois
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ran a bit small for my comfort. Got an easy exchange by calling customer service and LOVE the new coat! I work downtown and have to walk several blocks everyday this coat will be awesome for keeping me warm and dry!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Burlington, Vermont
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After looking for a new parka and reading many, many reviews I took my chance and ordered this while it was on sale for Cyber Monday.
Let me tell you, what a deal and what an amazing jacket! This will be great for being out all winter. I have tested it with -0 weather and I love it. Also, it is slimming.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Brooklyn
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not heavy. I was surprised by the foil appearance on the inside, but I absolutely love it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great as Advertised!

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is everything I wanted it to be and more. It's helping me beat this dreadful Chicago winter. It definitely blocks the wind. The hood protects from the falling snow. It's great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Toasty warm with great features!

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Beverly, MA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this coat to stay warm while waiting for the train on a cold, windy platform, and it really does the job. Not only is the body of the coat toasty warm, but several design features have made it my new favorite. First, the well-insulated collar zips up comfortably close to the neck so even if I choose not to use the (also warm) hood, I don't need a scarf to keep the wind out and my neck warm. Second, the cuffs are outfitted with a comfortable knit thing-y that fits neatly over my hand up to the base of the finger, and securely loops over the thumb. The fabric is light enough to fit pretty easily under all but the most fitted gloved, and eliminates any gap between sleeve and glove. Finally, if the hood's pretty faux fur trim isn't to your, taste, it can be zipped off.
The one small negative (for me) is the hood is generously sized, and my neck relatively short, so it tends not to stay on if there's a breeze. A drawstring to tighten the hood opening would be a nice design addition, but I'm knitting a headband to add height (and friction) to my head to resolve this issue.
On the otherhand, longer-necked gals or those with thicker hair may find this a plus.
Overall, A+.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the coat

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the coat. It is lush and warm. However, it bothers me that so many of the products run on the small size. I have had to return several items due to sizing. Somehow, the company needs to get this corrected. Otherwise, the quality is wonderful.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmest Coat ever Owned - Fits 5'10 Tall Plus

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: NJ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful comfort without tremendous bulk. Warm as can be. Room for a vest, yet not uncomfortable. Best part is I am tall (5'10') needing very long sleeve length, and this coat fits perfectly! Sizing is exactly the same as my other Columbia ski jacket. Can't wait to wear it on vacation in Lake Tahoe, CA in the bitter cold, knowing I will stay warm. Also, next football season -- will be warm to sit on the cold bleachers! Color varies widely from PC to laptop to iPad --- the black is more gray/charcoal than true black - that's my only negative.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Coat

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Haddonfield N J
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
long enough to cover bottom and thighs yet not too long to impede getting in and out of the car. Hood on or off is a great feature. Warm, LIGHTweight,stylish,PERFECT!!! Well done.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: NYC
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been contemplating getting a serious winter coat for a while. I read good things about some other brands but they didn't come in "extended sizes." I'm a busty girl, and since most of these coats run small I didn't want to take a chance and be disappointed. Well I wasn't with this coat. ITS AMAZING!
I'm 5'7, VERY busty, and normally wear an xl-xxl (16/18) top. When I read the reviews that this coat runs small I ordered the 2x, and it was a prefect fit. When it arrived I tried it on with just a tee-shirt and it fit great with plenty of room for a thick sweater.
This morning (1/7/2014) when I left for work the temp was 3 and with the windchill it felt like -13. So needless to say I was putting this jacket through its paces today. With a good base layer, a light sweater, and a pull over fleece I was toasty warm. Don't get me wrong, when that wind picks up you would need to be a polar bear to not feel it, but as long as you are moving its not too bad. Those little reflective dots were really doing thier job today.
I love the lined collar. It's prefect! I can zip it all the way up and its not uncomfortable. I do agree with the other reviews in wishing the hood was adjustable but I didn't have too much of a problem of it flying off when I put a hat on. I guess I have a big head. lol The hand warmer thingy are a great little feature on the coat as well.
All in all I would highly recommended this coat. It was by far worth the money that I spent on it.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Coat Ever.

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: New England
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After ignoring how cold it can really get in New England I decided it was time to buy a REAL coat for the winter. I read all the other reviews attached to this coat and I agree with all of them! This coat is fabulous if you are walking or merely standing out in the cold. I don't feel like I can't move my arms or body when driving to work so although it feels heavy when you hang it up or move it from place to place I don't feel like I'm being weighed down by fabric. I probably could've purchased a 1x as opposed to a 2x but I don't feel swallowed up by the coat either. I purchased about 1 size larger due to the other reviews and I tried on an XL similar coat in store and I couldn't move my arms enough so I figured I should listen to review and get the larger coat. The hood feels a little strange as it jets out either side of my head to make a triangular shape but it stays up and keeps me warm. The inner lining that allows you to hook over your thumb is my favorite part! I was hesitant to purchase a jacket for so much $$ but it is well worth the purchase and I plan to have this coat forever!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this coat!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this coat since I'm going on a dog sledding trip in northern Michigan and I needed something warmer. I'm a pear shape that normally wears a women's 18/20 so I ordered the 2x after reading reviews of other jackets that others also rounded up on their sizes. It was a perfect fit even in the arms which are sometimes too short. This coat was a bit of a splurge but definitely worth the money. It got down to below zero here in Indiana the day it arrived and I couldn't be happier.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would Buy This Coat Again

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The length provides good coverage. It’s no problem to wear this coat while I’m driving and it doesn’t get in the way of moving about, bending over, etc. The coat was warm enough for the coldest day of the season so far (-3 degrees, wind chill -9 degrees), although I was only outdoors for about 30 minutes at any given time. I love the adjustable hood and the ability to remove the fur from the hood, or remove the hood altogether. I ordered the black, but the color is more of a medium gray, and even looks more grayish-green, depending on lighting. The stretchy “comfort cuffs” have thumb holes, which can get in the way when putting on the coat. I found the arm length a bit long, so I folded back the sleeves up to where the Omni heat reflective material starts, and then wrapped the comfort cuffs back over the sleeves. This resolved the pesky thumb hole issue and also protects the edge of the sleeves. Actually, adjustable length sleeves would be a great feature. I also found the two way zipper a bit of a bother to get started. I would also like the Velcro closures to be more substantial so I could forego the zipper when I’m in a hurry. When I use just the Velcro to close up the coat and I move at all, the coat comes open. Also, instead of the snaps at the neck, I’d like some Velcro or just an easier way to close the coat up at the neck, especially with gloves on. Overall, I’m pleased with the coat and I would definitely buy this coat again.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and beautiful

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, Il
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the first time I have ordered a coat online . This one was perfect. It does run small so I went a size up from what I normally get and it was good . It is extremely warm .perfect for Chicago winters. I love the deep pockets . The red coat I purchased is beautiful and I get loads of compliments . Definitely worth the price
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat!

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat has kept me so warm in the cold Chicago winter! I had read the other reviews about the coat running smaller in size and it is a little tight through the waist, but it is still very comfortable. I love the hood, and the coat covers my face well if it is zipped up all the way.
I was out last night in 5 degree weather and I didn't feel cold at all!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest Investment Ever!!!

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: North, AL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Coat is so awesome!!! Columbia got it right!!! I life in the Deep South and with all the crazy cold weather we have been getting this coat has kept me completely warm. I couldn't ask for anything better except one: That Columbia make one that is not so heavy, for the South it can get a little to warm (in 30 degree weather) but for the temps in the "teens" its awesome!!!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat, but purchasing experience was meh

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: new york
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The coat is great. Having taken my measurements, I ordered the perfect size. My color (red) is unusual and cheery. Everywhere I get compliments. Worth every penny, and frankly, I'm pretty frugal.
My only negative comment is that for these prices, I think shipping should be included. In 2014, to pay the extra $6 to ship it felt like a combination of arrogance and extortion. I know its only $6, but it really is the principle. Columbia should invest in some good will and ship free.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Apres Arson Long Down Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: ND
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it. Very warm, long.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 Next>>