Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket

Columbia Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket

Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall rating:
4.397 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(141 reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 141 reviews
5 Stars
89
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
8
1 Star
3
127 out of 136(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievably warm!!!

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Boone, NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love, love, love this jacket! It is incredibly warm yet flattering. The omni-heat system is truly unbelievable. Within minutes of putting it on I can feel that I am generating my own heat. Bring on the cold weather...... I'm actually excited to be outside during the winter in this jacket!
The only minor complaint I have is the double zipper. Sometimes I have difficulty getting it started. However, maybe I just don't have the hang of it yet.
Overall, I am extremely impressed with this jacket and I think it was a great purchase.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Northern IN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket because I was tired of being cold. Everything is excellent with this jacket. It is windproof, waterproof, warm and washable. I don't mind that the hood doesn't tie, the back of it tightens up and stays on. It looks great and I usually get compliments when I wear it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful coat!

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Saint Cloud, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is very functional and stylish. The knee-length style adds extra warmth and protection from the elements, and the Omni-heat feature lives up to advertisements; it adds a ton of warmth without extra bulk or weight!
I wore this coat in northern Alaska, and it kept me toasty warm on some very cold days, without feeling bulky or heavy. The wind-proof and water-proof features are also very good on this coat, and add to its practicality.
The hourglass shape of the coat is also very flattering, and makes it very versatile. It is sometimes difficult to find parkas that are warm enough and stylish enough to wear on a regular basis, but this jacket does both. I am on the taller side (5'9"), and this coat came right to my knees, and the sleeves were plenty long. While the hood does not cinch tighter, it is plenty deep, and is comfortable to wear over a hat.
Overall, I cannot say enough positive things about this jacket. Great for warmth, very stylish, and a reasonable price.
I would recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This coat is worth the money you pay

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Toronto
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very fits. Comfort, Warm, stylish, not puffy. Knee high long. Need one size bigger. Some $600-$800 coat is not better than this one. Worth your money.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worht it's Weight in Gold

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great coat. The fact that it keeps me warm unlike any coat I've had before makes it worth it's weight in gold.
Fit: I ordered this in a large and it fits, but a little more tight at the waist than I had expected (I'm more straight than curvy, though). It has plenty of room in the hips for sitting/driving/walking. It has excellent shoulder room (I have broad-ish shoulders) and the arms are long (which I like).
Warmth: It is very warm, and in a way I didn't expect. I wore this in 30F temps, and I didn't feel a thing. I wore it in below zero temperatures and was comfortable (it paid for itself that day).
I also wore it while I was grocery shopping and wasn't sweating. It didn't OVER heat me. That was a nice surprise.
Hood: A few reviews mentioned the hood was an issue. If you want a hood with full coverage, but are dead set against wearing faux fur, I would not recommend this coat. Without the fur, the hood is just about useless.
Typically, I don't really like fur because of the shedding, however, I found that I feel significantly warmer with the fur included. I made an exception and found it doesn't really shed that much. Just a hair here or there.
The only thing I have yet to see is how long this coat lasts.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

disappointing

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: NH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I took a big gulp before deciding to spend over $200 on a coat, but really needed something that would keep me warm in the most extreme weather AND keep me dry in the snow. I love the fit, the arms are nice and long, and the features on the body of the jacket seem good except that the pocket openings are narrow, which I can live with. HOWEVER... the hood ruins it all. With the fur on, all it does it tickle your face and impede your vision. With the fur off, the hood no longer reaches out beyond your face because the depatchable part with the fur also removes almost 4 inches of the front part of the hood itself, the part that should be there to shield your face from any falling snow, etc. But worst of all, there is no way at all to snug up the hood opening! It just sits on your head loosely, ready to blow off with the slightest breeze. This hood is just about useless. It is ironic that my short Columbia jacket which cost less than $100 has an awesome hood with great detachable fur but fur only AND effective drawstring things to snug the hood around your face. The hood is a deal breaker for me, and I am sad about it because I really think that the rest of the coat is very nice. FYI -- the color is not black, this a gray coat with black arm cuffs and collar lining. I like the gray, but it is definitely NOT black as advertised.
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome coat!

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Loved it! It fits great! Your body looks good with this coat instead of those puffy ones. It keeps me warm. The water resistance is 100%.. I've used it with rain already! I recommend this 100%... only thing I didn't like that after I bought it.. hasn't even been 3 weeks and they lowered the price by a lot! ;( Good for everyone else whose trying to buy it!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm Jacket

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket! Warm as heck!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very Awkward Coat

PostedNovember 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just received this coat today, tried it on, and am immediately returning it. It looks ridiculous. I read the previous reviews about the hip/mid thigh area being a little large and looking somewhat like a bell, but not all of the reviews seemed to find that to be an issue. Trust me: it's an issue. The hip/thigh area is VERY disproportionate to the waist area.
To give you an idea (using the medium sized coat), measuring the outside of the coat in inches, the circumference of the waist area is about 35 inches & the circumference of the thigh area is about 47 inches.
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A gem of a jacket

PostedDecember 31, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Chico, CA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket for a Scandinavian trip. This jacket far succeeded my expectations. It's warm and comfortable. I backpacked Scandinavia wearing this jacket and was almost too hot-- it was perfect. I've also worn it in the snow while snowmobiling. It did a fabulous job at blocking the wind and insulating me from the wind and snow. I would definitely buy this jacket again. I'm 5'4 and about 125 pounds-- went with a small and it fit perfectly. All my other Columbia gear is a small so I feel as though it was pretty true to size.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm coat for commuting in the cold

PostedJanuary 11, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I live in Minneapolis and this coat keeps me warm over a sweater even when waiting for the bus in below freezing temps and wind chill. I usually wear an XS but found that this coat runs a little big, especially in the arms and hips. That said, I'm quite pear shaped (36" hips) and find that the slight bell silhouette is not only flattering, but ensures the coat is comfortable when sitting down on the bus. I don't think sizing would be an issue unless you are very, very slim. Also, the slightly bigger arms allow for sweaters to fit nicely underneath. The zippered pockets and adjustable hood make this coat very functional. At this price point, I do wish that some of the materials were a bit higher quality; for example, I wish that the velcro closures were button snaps and that the arms were lined with a thicker material, like the men's Barlow Pass coat. Despite that one complaint, this coat in gorgeous, well made, and is great for protecting from severe cold and wind chill. I'd highly recommend it, especially if you can get it on sale! Love the lighter tan-grey color, too.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what I expected from Columbia

PostedFebruary 12, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased this coat in January because I was in desperate need of a winter coat. I tired it on in store and was very satisfied. After buying it I then wore it out of the store! Now, after about a month of wear, I have decided that it was NOT worth the money! Being 5'6" this coat makes me look short! The coat is heavy,bulky and isn't all that warm.The detachable faux fur already looks ratty and makes my hair frizz. I would take it off but doing that makes the hood shorter. Even with the fur attached the hood doesn't stay on my head. Without the fur the hood is pointless. The plastic double zipper is the worst feature! It's hard to zip and not worth my time. Overall I'd say the coat was poorly designed and is way over priced. I'm very disappointed and would've returned it knowingly.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very stylish and warm

PostedFebruary 24, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Love this coat and was happy I bought it. Very stylish and warm but runs small. I bought a XL and it a little snug, I should of got the 1x. I would recommend it to everyone.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hood doesn't pull tight

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Beautiful waterproof coat, except it's useless without a functioning hood. The hood itself is warm, but lacks pull cords. That means you can't keep it tight around your face, so any wind gust will get right in there, and maybe even knock the hood off your head. I am disappointed in you, Columbia. What a waste - such an easy thing to put in.
I do not recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

same issue with hood

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: colorado
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is a great jacket. I'm keeping it only because it's wind and waterproof. It seems warmer than a north face jacket I bought for comparison. However, the hood is absurd. It really, really needs cinch straps as the other reviewer noted. It's pretty useless as is.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good product

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I closely compared this jacket to North Face's Arctic Parka before buying. I ultimately chose this one because of the inclusion of fabric that hooks around the thumb and keeps the sleeves down (also prevents the gap between the sleeve and your gloves.) As noted in other's reviews, there isn't any way to cinch the hood, which is a bit annoying, but the coat won me over with the extra sleeve. I also felt that this coat was less bulky as compared to the Arctic Parka. It's very warm and I would recommend it.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this coat

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Indiana
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best coat I have ever owned. It fits well, looks good, and most importantly keeps me warm. Amazingly, it's comfortable to wear even when it's not super cold (i.e., I don't burn up if I wear it when it's 40-ish degrees) but it still keeps me warm even when it is way below-freezing.
I'm 5'4", 125 pounds and the small fits perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT coat!!!

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Boston
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is perfect for a New England winter. It's warm but not too bulky, and so comfortable. I'm very happy with the purchase and highly recommend the coat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing wiinter coat!

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My bust measurement is 37", my waist is 29" and I am 5'4". i usually wear size 6/8. I purchased the medium and it fits great, I adjusted the waist strap so it looks more flattering.
This is the warmest coat I've ever had, we've had very cold and very snowy weather in the great lakes area lately and it has kept me completely warm. I even wore the coat to a very cold football game and I didn't feel cold once. The coat falls right above my knee, but it doesn't look too long.
The hood is a little weird, but if you wear a beanie or winter had under the hood, it looks normal.
Overall, great coat and we'll worth the price.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Apres Arson™ Long Down Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost perfect

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This coat is great! Super warm, breathable, and comfy! I wear it to run errands, walk around the city, commute to work, etc.
Its a great everyday coat.
I have a size Small, and it fits great. I am about 5'6, 34D/36C, and about 125 lbs
It keeps me warm while waiting outside for the bus/ walking to work, but also breathes, so I don't sweat to death on my morning commute; regardless of what I am wearing!
I've worn a short sleeve silk top on, and was still warm and toasty, and I've also worn thick sweaters/ lots of layers, and wasn't too hot! (which is HUGE!!!) Nothing worse than the usual winter cycle of freezing outside, then sweating once you're on the bus, then freezing when you're back outside, then sweating again when you walk into the office.
I love the comfort cuffs! And they are great/comfortable even if you don't put your thumbs through the thumb holes.
There is one problem I have found, and that is with the hood.
I wish the hood has a drawstring or some way to keep it tight on your head.
I've had a few times where it doesn't stay up. (even with earmuffs on)
It happens when I walk into strong winds, (or I'm walking near one of the wind tunnels between the buildings)..regardless, it's annoying to have to stop and pull your hood back up to have it blow off again.
When it gets cold out/windier come later this Winter, I am going to try and wrap my scarf around the outside of the of the hood and hope that does the trick! (fingers crossed) :)
The only other minor thing I've noticed is that the bottom zipper sometimes unzips (an inch or so) when I walk a lot... but that's more or less me nitpicking.
Over all, this coat is great! Warm, Breathable, cute and comfy!I get compliments on it every time I wear it!
If you're looking for a good winter coat that will keep you warm regardless of the temperature outside, and regardless of what you have on underneath it, I recommend this one.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next>>