Customer reviews for Columbia Southern Mist™ Trench

Columbia Southern Mist™ Trench

Southern Mist™ Trench
Overall rating:
4.636 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Southern Mist™ Trench
Review 1 for Southern Mist™ Trench
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

wonderful against rain, wind and cold!

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
jmk28
Location: NewYork, NY
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used it for some rainy days in Toronto at the end of October. It was very useful against the rain, the wind and the cold. It is big enough to enable some layering even though it was not necessary. The only down side is that the sleeves are too long. I guess that will be nice when I start wearing gloves. For now, I keep them folded.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Southern Mist™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this coat!

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
AdminGirl
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a warm rain coat to wear for my walk to work and this coat is the ticket. I love that the pockets are lined with fleece, and the light fill makes it perfect fall and there is enough space that I can layer in winter if needed. It fits well, is figure flattering, and the length is perfect over slacks or skirts; sleeves are longer than average but I like that in a coat, no cuffs peeking out here! I only wish it came in Black so I could buy another!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Southern Mist™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coat

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Portland Or
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a beautiful coat. It is the right weight for Portland rain and the hood is large enough to stay in place and cover my face without covering my eyes.
My only complaint would be that the belt is placed a little high on my torso... when buttoned and belted my chest looks huge because the belt makes it look like an empire waist. I have taken to buttoning up but tying the belt in the back, it still looks cute and a little less formal that way. The sleeves are a little long but I like this since my arms are long and I usually end up tugging on my sleeves if I can't buy the "long" or "tall" fit.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Southern Mist™ Trench
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Columbia gear is always worth my buy

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
BSoltis
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket a head of the winter season while it was on sale. I love jackets with both a zipper and buttons because I think it keeps the cold out better. Columbia always makes a great product. I have yet to buy an article of clothing that hasn't lasted years and not functioned properly.
This is a stylish, warm, and sensible buy for the colder and wetter months. Runs a little large, but that works out better for layering if needed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Southern Mist™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Got this Raincoat for a trip to Norway

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lalacutieface
Location: Atlanta, GA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My boyfriend bought this raincoat for me for our trip to Norway in a few weeks. However I was able to take it for a test run since it has been so rainy here at home in Atlanta (and on the cool side). I'm always weird about buying clothes online, especially coats because I am such a small little lady (5'2", 110 lbs), and I've been wearing Columbia coats since I was a little girl, and they have never let me down. I love this raincoat! I got an XS in the black, and I am glad I did because it's a bit roomy on my petite frame (but not so much that it swallows me). This is great because it allows me to layer a bit underneath for colder weather. The coat length is great, comes down an inch or two above my knees. The coat does has some insulation, so it's not just a thin shell like a lot of raincoats are. Also, its repels water and wind very well. The hood covers my entire head (I have a huge head). However the sleeves are long like some reviews online say. But I think that's fine, I like my coat sleeves long. They do have zippers on the side, so you are able to roll them up if needed. The pockets are nice and deep, and on the inside right side of the jacket is a pocket for your ipod and a little hole for speakers. The pockets on the breasts are real (not decorative). The quality is great, as always. So overall, fantastic raincoat. I have no doubts this coat will handle the elements of Norway. Can't wait!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Southern Mist™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful trench coat

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Berlin
Location: NJ
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The coat is very pretty and looks like it would keep me very warm during wintertime (it's now the middle of summer so I will not yet wear it outside of the AC..). The only problem I have with it is the length of the sleeves. They are a good couple of inches too long and I will have to fold them or get them shortened, which would be a shame. Other than that, it is pretty awesome.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Southern Mist™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice all around Coat

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
didizz
Location: Mpls, MN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just received this coat really like the fit other than the sleeves are very long and this is coming from a gal with long arms! I haven't actually had a chance to try coat out yet but it sure looks like it will preform great and plenty of room underneath to lay with. Like the longer length hard to find in a weight coat like this.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Southern Mist™ Trench
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

A disappointing feature in an otherwise nice product

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
margaret325
Location: belgrade lakes, Maine
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The coat is well made but the sleeves are about 2 inches too long.Otherwise the fit was as expected. I have not had it out in the rain yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Southern Mist™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very convenient

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andreus68
Location: Elizabeth, NJ
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very convenient, I feel protected, excellent goods. The size corresponds to the declared. Always I loved Columbia and I will continue to love. To all I advise.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Southern Mist™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful and functional. Worth the investment.

PostedJune 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
dmgpdx
Location: Portland, Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great town jacket. Attractive cut and fit, stylish, but does not skimp on functionality. Nice deep hood to keep off the rain and keep out the wind.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Southern Mist™ Trench
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Right.....

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
OLLY
Location: NJ
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect traveling coat. It's light enough to pack but keeps you warm. I suggest ordering it one size bigger if you like to layer your clothes. I like the belt so it doesn't look too bulky. Buy a pair of rain pants and your are completely covered.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.