Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size

Armed with clean lines, a flattering silhouette and Omni-Shield® advanced repellency, this sleek softshell protects from showers and stains alike so you stay comfortable and protected during activities in cool, unpredictable weather.
Overall rating:
4.71 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
38 out of 38(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Review 1 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Washington
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very light weight, comfortable, warm and great for chilly, windy, rainy days/nights!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is even great for those days that are sunny, but still chilly, it keeps you both warm and refreshed!
Activities: Other
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

waterproof and breathable

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore this lightweight jacket on a recent trip to the Pacific Northwest. It withstood the rain and was extremely breathable when hiking around. The hood is really great despite the lack of a drawstring and is big enough to wear over a warm cap. Combined with some good insulation layered underneath, it's perfect! I enjoy wearing this soft jacket so much more than another not so breathable brand rain jacket I already bought this season.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this jacket

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: western North Carolina
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First, I'm trilled that I found a jacket that fits properly. As a plus size woman, I often resorted to the men's deptment to find outdoor clothes but not any more. I bought a 2x based on the measurments listed online and its a little big but I think that will be ok since I plan to layer it in fall and winter. The only improvement I would like would be to line it. I often catch the seams on my watch or ring. Other than this, it is an excellent jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Miami Lakes, FL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a light weight jacket that was slightly warm for my upcoming trip to Alaska but light enough for Florida weather. Its not a heavy jacket and its not light either. I am currently 5 months pregnant and was worried about the fit. Fits great with room to layer and grow. I probably could have ordered a smaller size but with an expanding belly I wanted to be sure I had the extra room.
Definitely recommend.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good when the temps are in the 50s

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've worn this jacket during my daily commute and I've worn it on vacation in Europe. For me, it has a very specific temperature range, i.e., in the 50s. If it's warmer than that, the jacket is superfluous. If it's colder, you will need a light layer beneath. My favorite things are the lined pockets for a little extra warmth for your hands, and the elastic wrists so that it's easy to push the sleeves up. Like my two other Columbia jackets, the zipper tends to stick a bit at the bottom. I haven't worn it in heavy rain, but it did well in a light drizzle.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE!

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Bloomington, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I adore this jacket. The fit is perfect. Thank you Columbia for offering more plus sizes and for making them true plus sizes versus just adding inches to a size 10 shaped article of clothing...or calling a size 16 a 3x. The cut is incredibly flattering and the material has enough give to ensure a good fit without being so stretchy that it shows all your flaws. Its not lined so this is definitely a fall or spring jacket best for temps in the 50s but could go into the 40s with layering underneath and has stood up to rain well so far. After years of having my only option for "active wear" style jackets being boxy men's coats with sleeves that are too long this coat makes me very happy (and I've gotten a lot of compliments on it).
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jacket

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Vinita Oklahoma
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE LOVE LOVE this jacket, it is great fit and perfect when running
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best jacket I have ever had.

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket! It makes me feel and look slim! Again, I love this jacket! I wear it ery day!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features.

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Wantagh, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall, a very comfortable, warm, breathable and complimenting jacket.
I ordered a size up so I could layer it when necessary. The fit is perfect by sizing up one size to accommodate layering.
The only recommendation I have is that I would have liked this jacket to be slightly longer so it would cover the under layer fleece sweaters that I sometimes use when needed.
I plan to order this jacket in a different color. I bought the black one and love it but because the jacket is so functional and looks so nice on, I would love to have the same one in a brighter color also. I love the attached hood! It gives the jacket an additional function without the added bulk of a removable hood. Very smart looking!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hooray! A summer jacket for me!

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Washington State
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thank you Columbia for making jackets for women in extended sizes! I ordered the Sweet As Softshell, which arrived today. I'm thrilled with the fit and design of the jacket. It is light weight, has stretchy panels and looks fashionable! It will be used frequently as I hike and kayak this summer.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost but no quite

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Shoreview, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was looking for a Jacket that I could put on in almost warm and rainy weather. This style was too short for me.
The clothes that I wear are cut longer and the Jacket did not cover.
It is a beautiful jacket that If it would have fit, I would have kept but unfortunately, I had to send it back.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality and feels great on, but recomend ordering a larger size.

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I read the reviews and ordered a size larger than normal and fits perfectly. Love this jacket.
Activities: Other, Vacation, Commuting
Conditions: Sunny, Rainy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Jacket

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: North Texas
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect. I love the fit, material, and comfortableness. I have utilized this jacket for hiking in the WV hills in temperatures ranging from 50-60 degrees and it functions extremely well as my outer layer. Definitely resists light rain and mist and provides some warmth. LOVE it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket for Chilly Spring Weather

PostedMay 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Park Hills, KY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took this jacket to London and Paris in early to mid-May and it was spectacular! Weather was between 40s and 60s both weeks very windy most of the time with occasional rain. With a 3/4 length sleeve tee and Columbia fleece vest underneath I was always toasty warm -- even at the top of the Eiffel Tower.
Fit was perfect. Arms were a tad long, but being that it's a 1x and I have short arms it was easy enough to roll the sleeves up an inch with no discernible difference. Dries quickly after a shower. Great product!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

comfortable multi purpose jacket

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Pleasant Springs, WI
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love this jacket in the light blue! The fabric feels very good. Very comfortable and perfect for my needs. I was disappointed that it did not repel rain as much as I would have liked. The shoulders of my top were a bit damp after wearing this jacket in the rain--clearly an umbrella is still needed. Overall, I am satisfied by my purchase.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Women's Sweet As Softshell-Extended Size

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Happy Valley, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off, I would like to thank you for providing quality outdoor clothing for extended size women. This shell fits true to size. It is a looser fit, so I can wear something warm underneath, if I need to. The hood has trim around the edges, so it doesn't fall off your head easily. I really like the zipped pockets, plus internal pockets to hold larger items. The jacket is lightweight to shed rain and block wind.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Westport, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love this jacket. Perfect light top layer for spring/summer hiking & walking. I grab it when there's a chance of showers but it's too hot for a raincoat. Haven't been out with it yet but plan on taking it boating because it would block just enough wind. Fit is contoured but not tight. Designed for a base layer underneath. The hood is shaped to fit too which is a nice detail. The sleeves taper to your wrist with just a little stretch so you don't get gaping. Generous pockets for dog leashes, camera, phone, etc...I love, love, love the orange with blue piping! For those of you who are specific about color its more like a tomato orange with a purplish blue I call periwinkle. Buy it, it you won't regret it!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sweet As Honey

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Pacific Northwest
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This softshell runs large, but I actually prefer it that way. I can wear my Benton Springs Hoodie underneath and it works perfectly for those clod drizzly early summer days in Washington. I bought it in blue and green and I love the color. This Softshell is an essential in my wardrobe now.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally a rain jacket that is flattering and REALLY functional for bigger gals

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Kansas
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a 30 something on the bigger size of 22/24 and I have been looking for a GOOD rain jacket that isn't too "old lady" and bulky. I have FINALLY found it in this jacket. I'm 5'5" with average torso length with big hips and this jacket is long enough for me, covers what I need it to cover and isn't tight to my body for air flow. I highly recommend this jacket for us BBW (big, beautiful, women). THANK YOU COLUMBIA!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell - Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT MULTIPURPOSE JACKET

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Greenwood, SC
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is great for anything. Comfortable? Yes!!! Made well? Yes!!! Cute? Yes!!! Columbia did this one right.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>