Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes

Columbia Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes

Durable ripstop nylon repels stains and rain while the Omni-Heat thermal reflective lining give this super lightweight insulated jacket points in the warmth department. Offered in a rainbow of colors from conservative to super bright, the Shimmer Flash is a sure favorite of those who like conquer cold conditions in style.
Overall rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Review 1 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shimmer Flash Jacket

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Commonmix
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
With the minus 10 degrees that we've been having here in Michigan, I love the jacket. But the size does run small as stated.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved It!!!

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Christmas2013
Location: West Sunbury, PA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket for my daughter. She was looking for something light weight, yet warm. This jacket is the real deal! She absolutely loves it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This coat is super deluxe

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rocky23
Location: Utah
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this coat for Christmas and I absolutely love it. It is comfy and functional and keeps me nice and warm and dry. My only complaint is that it is a little short and I have a long torso, but otherwise it is a beautiful, quality coat and I would recommend it to everyone!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket!

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
SDGirl
Location: SD
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered it a little bigger because of what other people have wrote in their reviews, and I am glad I did.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great jacket but slightly small

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Culverrl
Location: PA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas gift from my husband. I haven't been able to wear it in super cold weather yet so I can't give a review on how well it works in low temps but the size is a little small. I don't usually wear a 2x but in this jacket I do. And even so the arms are a little small so I am not sure if I will be able to wear a sweatshirt or sweater under it. Overall a nice jacket, just be careful with sizing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!!!

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Linda74
Location: Natick, MA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is excellent in style, quality & function! Light weight and very warm with excellent protection against the wind. It does run a bit small like other things I have purchased from Columbia but don't let that stop you from buying this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Satisfied So Far

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
NikkiS
Location: Upstate NY
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Ok, so I have not worn it outside, but I can tell it will suit me fine as far as warmth.
According to the size chart I was between a 2x and 3x. I ordered the size up. It is a little large on me. I am an apple shape with a large bust and large stomach. I can definitely wear a sweater underneath this.
Seems like a nice coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Fit, Light Weight

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Katchy
Location: Georgetown, MA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is stylish, fits just right if you want a sweater underneath, keeps you warm without any bulky weight. Light as a feather! I love the thumb/hand/wrist bands! Best winter snow jacket that I have ever bought.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The absolutely perfect jacket.

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
lisaxx
Location: Finger Lakes, NY
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So I literally purchased/looked at at least three jackets before finding this jacket back in stock. It is perfect. Seriously perfect. When I received it, I was slightly concerned as it seems very thin, and light. BUT. I'm glad I gave it a chance. I've worn it in just about 0º weather, and in wind, and I was plenty warm and the coat protected me from the windchill. The thumb hole feature is awesome on this jacket, and the hood functions perfectly. I can't express my love enough. People have also commented on the jacket. And, the inside lining is 'pretty'.
As far as fit goes, I have 61" hips, and the 3x fits perfectly. The fit of this jacket is also spot on, in my opinion.
All in all- BUY this jacket! It's so worth the money, and a great quality, warm, fantastic coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome jacket...but

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
EMedina32
Location: Delaware
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was so excited to see Columbia had these jackets in extended sizes. I ordered one size up just in case and it fits me perfectly...except in the arms. The arms are too small, so I have no idea how I'm going to wear a sweater or shirt underneath, so that was a bummer.
On the other hand, this jacket is comfortable and not bulky at all which is an overall plus!! Looks great and it keeps me warms. I will be buying another one soon.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jacket

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
SweetE13
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the lightest and warmest jacket I have ever worn. If you wear a lot of layers, this jacket is not for you. I usually wear a 2x, but after reading the reviews I ordered a 3x. I am glad I did. I was concerned about how it would fit in the arms and the shoulders. I think the 2x would've been too tight in both areas.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SweetE13
Wisconsin
 
Please wait while more information about SweetE13 is loaded.
Additional information about SweetE13 could not be loaded.
Tested in below 0 weather
Posted January 6, 2014
Just an update: I have been wearing this in the below 0 weather we are having at this time and -50 wind chills. I have only worn a long sleeve t shirt under it and have not been cold at all! I absolutely LOVE this jacket!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
denwin
Location: ohio
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this coat! My daughter had to get one too! It's soft and warm and comfortable!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
DBrooks
Location: seattle, wa
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is amazing - I can go from the freezing cold to inside a mall and I don't have to take off my jacket. It feels like a nice warm blanket wrapped around.
I may have bought it a little to big but it's going to get down into the teens this week so I might have to layer
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this jacket!

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
jblatts
Location: Rochester, MN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is now the best jacket in my closet. It really cuts down on the Minnesota winter wind. And the thumb slots are amazing. Thank you!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice jacket, impossible to fit

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rozsea
Location: OH
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I originally tried this in a regular XL, but it was too small across the chest and shoulders. I decided to try a plus size, but it was way too big. So, even though I loved the style and features, I cannot find a version of this jacket that fits me.
I've found that Columbia sizing is all over the place. I have other Columbia jackets in a regular large that fit perfectly, but have found many that do not fit at all in an XL. Make sure you can try this on before buying, or be prepared to return it!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
shopper2727
Location: wi
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
if your a size 2x then order a size 3x, it will save you the 10.00 out of your own pocket shipping it back for an exchange. I wont wear this walking through the woods or any activity were a tear could happen, the material seems like it would snag/ rip easily. but i dont really know how durable the material is but just from the looks and feel of it. i would order another one. its NOT super poofy at all , its thin but keeps me warm in this WI weather.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Shimmer Flash™ Jacket – Extended Sizes
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This is a great jacket but it is not true to size

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cust
Location: NJ
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits smaller than most jackets I have purchased from Columbia. very disheartening because I love the jacket
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.