Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size

Columbia Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size

Beautiful geometric baffling, flattering seam details and a long silhouette lend a feminine feeling to this hooded jacket while the Omni-Heat thermal reflective lining and insulation keep you warm when the wind-chill drops; two-way front zipper facilitates mobility.
Overall rating:
4.389 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
33 out of 36(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Review 1 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slim fit and warm

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
CindiCC
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had all 3 plus sizes to try on. I am between size 18 and 20 but even with a thick sweater, the 1X fit well through the body and shoulders. While I generally find sleeves long on me, these aren't so the sleeve extension cuts into my hands a bit. Overall very happen with this coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lightweight and Warm

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
GopherLover
Location: Minnesota, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used this coat as an everyday coat since it arrived and am glad I purchased it. The coat runs small so order 1 size up, however the arms are long. I am about 5' 8 and normally wear a 2x but after trying on in the store I knew to order the 3x. My first impression of the extended cuff with thumb loops was that I would hate them and they would be in my way all the time. However, I am actually enjoying them. They keep out the wind and cold and help keep the hands warm on days when you don't have your gloves. I have worn the coat in the 40's and not been too hot in it even wearing it when running into the grocery store, and worn it in the 10's and still been comfortably warm. It is very lightweight and I love that. I cannot drive in a coat that is bulky and this has been perfect. My one complaint would be that the hood will not stay on if there is any wind at all, unless you zip the zipper all the way up. Overall, this is a great lightweight but warm coat and I am happy with my purchase.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight and warm

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Jackiem515
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It does exactly what it is supposed to and is super comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Jacket

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Anggbfan
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is amazing! It fits with enough room to layer If need be and I can do my errands while staying really warm and not feeling bulky. At first I thought it was too thin but I was wrong lol. It keeps real warm. I love the hood and thumb holes and the stitching designs. I have received many compliments. I live in Indiana so it can get pretty cold but I love new jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Lightweight Warm Winter Coat

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
mkhmn
Location: IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am tired of the big, bulky and HEAVY winter parkas that I've been wearing - you know, the kind of coat that immediately overheats you when you go into a store, to the point you have to take it off. ARGH. I have been on the hunt for a lightweight yet warm winter coat for a couple of years. Nothing has been what I wanted. So this year I did a google search and was led right to this coat.
I can't say enough good about this coat. The lack of weight is amazing for a knee length winter coat. The inside has the Omni-heat lining that is reflective material that uses your own body heat to warm you but still allows the coat to be incredibly light.
The arms have a cuff that includes a thumb hole at the end which I imagine is handy for some people. I'm not one of those people, but it is not necessary to use the thumb holes at all. The cuff is stretchy enough to stay pretty tight around your wrist and prevents wind from moving up the arm hole.
The coat is attractive, too. I bought black and I get nothing but compliments on it. The only problem with the coat is the hood, which is not able to be made tighter. It's still a good hood, but it is not something to keep the ears as warm as it could with the somewhat loose hood.
I love this coat so much that when Black Friday came around (two weeks after I bought the coat) I ordered another one in another color for myself. I'm a person that falls in love with a shoe or a product and then if I don't buy another, they usually get discontinued and I'm out of luck. Not this time - I will be more than ready for a bunch of long winters in these coats.
As far as sizing, I can wear an XL or a 1X in most everything but I followed other reviewers advice and got the next size up. It fits perfectly and I still have some room in case I wear a sweater or something more bulky on top.
Love the coat - it gets the highest of recommends from me.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Kiyala8
Location: BX NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love that it's light weight and keeps me warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

warm so far

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
designr1005
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this in a 2x based on the reviews which said it ran small, it was to big. I normally wear a 1x so I say it runs true to size. I have only worn it for 2 days and they were both in the 30's it did seem to keep me warm and toasty. I always look for a thin but warm coat since the Chicago winters are cold and hopefully this will fit the bill.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Amysunshine
Location: Shoreview, MN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is so very light weight. It is like a miracle space suit! It is SO warm. I put it to the true test looking at property in Northern Minnesota when the wind chills were -30. I was not cold at all with NO layering under the jacket. I wore it shopping in Minneapolis which was a bad move because I got very over heated in the stores. I love the look of this jacket and it is super warm.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall amazing coat

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
MittenMissy
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a bigger girl and I love that I could actually find a longer coat to fit me. It's light weight but does a great job of keeping me warm. I'm located in Michigan so it's functions well in our up and down temperatures of winter this far.
I'm happy with the product over all, however the built in hand cuffs with the thumb holes I wish were removable. They're thin enough fabric that I push them back into my sleeves and wear my own gloves. Great coat and love the two way zipper!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2X Black

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
lapapa
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i'm 5'3" 200 lbs all belly. Some of the other long coats made me even more round... this was a perfect 2X for me. It has plenty of room for an extra sweater, but i'm fine without one. It's not the warmest coat for our cold Chicago Winters but for me it's perfect since I already own Columbia's short puffer coat which is easier to drive!!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm but sizing is a little off

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
EM77
Location: Round Lake, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great coat, will definitely keep you warm. Only issue I had was the sizing. I purchased the 3X so that I could wear bulky sweaters, for the most part the fit was ok, but the arms were tight & just made it uncomfortable to wear. Ended up returning & going with a different brand. If there were a 4X, I might have exchanged.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the length!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Jane321
Location: Ohio, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just got this in the mail today. I have been anticipating it all week, and based on reviews I didn't know if it would work or not.
1) very lightweight
2) I can move easily in it
3) I took my measurements and could have actually gone down a size. It's a little big but not worth returning
4) of course it was snowing last week and now it's 40 degrees but so far it's been great- true test will come later I'm sure
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Nancy60
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything about this jacket is perfect. The description is exactly what it is so there were no surprises when I received it.its functional comfortable and even fashionable as I wear it with career clothes as well as casual jeans and boots. I love the quill color and the length is perfect. With the omni heat lining it is amazingly warm without the bulk and I absolutely love that feature.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Over Promised and Under Delivered

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
carolanne
Location: Denver, CO, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this coat based on reviews and the fact it is supposed to keep warm. I walk my dogs twice a day, every day, winter, summer, spring, fall, no matter how cold.
Let me start by saying I'm in the midst of menopause and I've got plenty of body heat. I don't even sleep with blankets half the time.
I felt like I was walking around naked and afraid.
There was no heat to be had, no protection from the wind or cold.
The only good thing about this coat are the thumb holes so I didn't have zero degree winds blowing up my arms.
I think about the only time of year this coat would be good might be early spring.
I wouldn't recommend this coat if you're trying to stay warm. Even with layers, it's not going to do the trick.
It will be returned tomorrow.
I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Has what it takes!

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Kris68
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was not sure this coat would be warm enough for a Minnesota winter, but since it came early I found out! Love this coat. The length was what hooked me but I find it plenty warm too. I agree with another review that it helps to wear the coat a couple minutes before you go out. I am getting compliments on the fit too!
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK coat if you're not in super cold climate

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
RWinWI
Location: Madison, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I like the way this jacket fits, except for the hood. It fills up with wind and blows off. It would be great if it had an adjustable cord inside. We haven't had too many days below 30 yet, but I suspect this jacket won't do me much good under 20, especially if it is windy. Columbia didn't offer any temperature range with this product so I took a chance. I will still enjoy this jacket for a few months of the year, and maybe when I'm skiing or snowshoeing, but I will need to find something warmer for everyday wear December-February.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

good concept, needs some tweaks

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
awindyday
Location: south dakota
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Wear a 16-18. purchased the 2x based upon reviews saying runs small (I found otherwise). I was going to return for smaller size. Then, gave test: In very unsheltered area, 27 degrees w 30mph consistent wind, while wearing light shirt... I felt wind come right through the jacket. I think it may be better with a wool sweater or something. But, for this price I would expect it should handle a bitter fall day. Not quite! Size: Top area, shoulders above chest fit ok despite being much larger than my size. But the waist and hips bell way out. So, maybe runs small up high and true to size (way too big for me) down further (and I have a gut). Was going to return for smaller size but, after stood in wind... feeling disappointed. It would not handle below zero without really good bottome layer(s). Loose Hood has no adjustment mechanism. So is more for over other hats scarves. Blows off. The lightweight fabric and breathable concept is great! So it's sad to part with because it was exactly what I thought I had been looking for (and still am) breathable,hood, not too short. in plus size.
I do not recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Cold in MN

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
sarkro
Location: MN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this jacket based on reviews that were from customers that live in cold states. I am from MN and after reading positive comments I thought this was the jacket for me. However, I was greatly disappointed after only wearing this jacked once on a 38 degree day with wind that made the temperature feel like 28 degrees this should not be considered a winter jacket for cold regions of the United States. I could feel the wind blowing through the jacket. Luckily I brought along a fleece jacket and changed and I was much warmer wearing just a fleece than the supposed winter jacket. If this jacket does not keep you warm on a 38 degree day, I am not sure how it would do on a -38 degree day that we have in MN.
I do not recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this coat

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Marie27
Location: NY
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm so happy that I found the coat that I like it so warm and comfortable I'll be ordering some more stuff soon
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!!!

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
BendOR
Location: Bend, oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was stressed this jacket wouldn't fit after reading reviews,but I found it was true to size. I could even fit layers under it. This jacket is so warm, and it's not super bulky and heavy. I am obsessed with it and can't wait to wear it more. Thanks so much for making a quality plus size jacket!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>