Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size

Columbia Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size

Beautiful geometric baffling, flattering seam details and a long silhouette lend a feminine feeling to this hooded jacket while the Omni-Heat thermal reflective lining and insulation keep you warm when the wind-chill drops; two-way front zipper facilitates mobility.
Overall rating:
4.328 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(137 reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 137 reviews
5 Stars
86
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
3
1 Star
7
120 out of 134(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Review 1 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This coat is okay

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Texas, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this coat to wear when I travel to North Dakota in a few weeks. I wanted something long that would keep me warm in very cold temperatures. I am 5'0" tall and I normally wear a size 18. I had been reading the reviews that the size ran small so I initially ordered a 3X. It was huge on me so I returned it for a 2X. This was a good fit and I would have been able to do some layering underneath if I wanted too. My complaint with the coat is that it was a little too lightweight. I wore it outside here in Texas when it was just a little chilly with the wind blowing and I felt like it did not keep me warm. Also, the arms were too long. I really liked the thumb hole feature in the sleeves. If the sleeves fit right that would have been perfect for keeping my wrists warm after putting on gloves. The pockets were too low for me as well. With my short arms only my fingers fit inside the pockets when I was standing up. I ended up returning the 2X as well.
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the lenght

PostedSeptember 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Lockport, NY 14094, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Soft, light weight and movable material lets you drive a car without removing your jacket. Great on cold buffalo days with the use of the hood.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as warm as I'd hoped

PostedDecember 13, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Anchorage, AK
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love the look and fit of this jacket. However it is not as warm as I'd hoped it would be. It would be great if Columbia returned to rating jackets, or at least giving an estimate rating. The wind can cut through and I can feel a bit chilled at times. Also, it would be nice if the hood had a way to hold it taut to the face.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I ordered too large!

PostedDecember 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am an outdoor person daily who walks my dog. After reading reviews I ordered one size up as suggested, and found the coat to be too big. I live in Upper Michigan on Lake Superior and often layer under winter jackets, so I definitely will have room for that. The hood is large too, even with a hat underneath it, so I found it blowing off my head in the wind. Because the overall weight of the coat is light- I was skeptical about it's ability to be warm. And, honestly, the first time I wore this coat I did not warm up quickly while walking my dog. However after some activity I did warm up. The length is nice and covers my bum and legs, so that helped with keeping warm, also. I will use this coat for milder days, reserving my "heavy duty, heavy weighted" coat for the days outside that are really frigid.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great jacket

PostedJanuary 26, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Do you drive a car? Then this jacket is a must for you to have. It is very warm and comfortable to wear. A soft jacket. I love the bottom zipper you can pull up to increase your leg movement while driving. I know you will be very happy to add this jacket to your collection. It has great style and can be also worn to dress up or in sports attire.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this jacket!!!

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Oakland
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had the shorter version but it was stolen...and thank goodness, I love this longer length and fit so much more!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!!

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Upper Peninsula, MI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this jacket for about two weeks now and I LOVE IT!! It is so comfy that I find myself wearing it all the time. Not bulky at all but still very warm. I really like this jacket because when I wear it, I don't get overly warm in it. It helps just regulate my normal body temp. I also really like thumb holes in the cuffs. Overall a great buy!!!!
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2X Black

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i'm 5'3" 200 lbs all belly. Some of the other long coats made me even more round... this was a perfect 2X for me. It has plenty of room for an extra sweater, but i'm fine without one. It's not the warmest coat for our cold Chicago Winters but for me it's perfect since I already own Columbia's short puffer coat which is easier to drive!!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Overall amazing coat

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a bigger girl and I love that I could actually find a longer coat to fit me. It's light weight but does a great job of keeping me warm. I'm located in Michigan so it's functions well in our up and down temperatures of winter this far.
I'm happy with the product over all, however the built in hand cuffs with the thumb holes I wish were removable. They're thin enough fabric that I push them back into my sleeves and wear my own gloves. Great coat and love the two way zipper!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lightweight and Warm

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Minnesota, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used this coat as an everyday coat since it arrived and am glad I purchased it. The coat runs small so order 1 size up, however the arms are long. I am about 5' 8 and normally wear a 2x but after trying on in the store I knew to order the 3x. My first impression of the extended cuff with thumb loops was that I would hate them and they would be in my way all the time. However, I am actually enjoying them. They keep out the wind and cold and help keep the hands warm on days when you don't have your gloves. I have worn the coat in the 40's and not been too hot in it even wearing it when running into the grocery store, and worn it in the 10's and still been comfortably warm. It is very lightweight and I love that. I cannot drive in a coat that is bulky and this has been perfect. My one complaint would be that the hood will not stay on if there is any wind at all, unless you zip the zipper all the way up. Overall, this is a great lightweight but warm coat and I am happy with my purchase.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved this coat!

PostedNovember 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this coat when I found out I was moving to Edmonton, AB. I've worn it regularly in temperatures that were 40° below zero, and I was never cold. The only drawback is that the hood is large and doesn't cinch well. But I wore a ski hat underneath anyway so that wasn't a big deal for me. Overall, this coat exceeded my expectations and I am online now about to order my second coat as my current coat is now three years old. (By the way it's still in great shape despite having been worn seven months per year for the past three years; I'm just ready for a new color.) The coat does run a little small; I would recommend ordering up one size, especially if you're planning to layer sweaters underneath.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FINALLY! A PERFECT PLUS SIZE COAT!

PostedDecember 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Watford City, ND
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is a plus size woman's dream come true! I am a size 20-22 so I ordered the 2XL. And it fits to a T! It is thin but EXTREMELY warm! Perfect length to keep the thighs warm too. It has a double zipper which is awesome for when sitting as far in the car. Unzip the bottom part and it gives you room around your bottom half. Hood is great size and a hat will fit nicely in it. I am sure a sweater or hoodie will fit underneath but I do not see myself needing an extra layer as the coat is enough on its own.
I LOVE THIS COAT! Hope this helps another lady make the great decision in buying it!
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not Another Jacket

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Washington, DC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gearing up for cold temps at my bus stop and Metrorail. The design is innovative as Omni-tech that I can anticipate to stay toasty and dry.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything about this jacket is perfect. The description is exactly what it is so there were no surprises when I received it.its functional comfortable and even fashionable as I wear it with career clothes as well as casual jeans and boots. I love the quill color and the length is perfect. With the omni heat lining it is amazingly warm without the bulk and I absolutely love that feature.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Jacket is awesome, hood...not so much

PostedDecember 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this jacket. I bought it a few weeks ago and I love it. Its lightweight and easy for any day. I live in Chicago and I have no doubt that it will work through our tough winter! Only suggestion I could make is if you get hot easily dont over layer. It truly reflects your body heat back because I've been burning up a few times (I get hot easily) and it's definitely using my body heat against me sometimes! Also I am almost 5'10 and it's nice to have something that actually long enough for me.
The other drawback is the hood! There's no way to fit it to your head so if there is wind it will just blow right off. Not the greatest thought in that design and is actually a fairly big thing to consider when living in the windy city.
Now, does anyone know how to wash these?
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byCbro3
Frederick, MD
 
Please wait while more information about Cbro3 is loaded.
Additional information about Cbro3 could not be loaded.
Fit is funny
onJanuary 12, 2016
It's a decent coat, but fits weird. I ordered a size up (2x) due to the reviews. It fits perfect in my arms. Chest/hips a bit loose, but the worst part is how it bells out at the bottom and looks ridiculous. Would be nice if they added some type of drawstring or something to pull it tighter. The sleeves are just a tad short, but still doable. I was going to send it back and try the 1x, but they are out of stock and besides I think the arms would be too tight and sleeves too short in the 1x. It is very comfortable and very warm for being so thin. I'm sick of looking for that perfect coat so I have settled on it and will not be returning. I have said for years that Columbia needs to redo their sizing!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJanuary 20, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Centennial, CO, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I really wanted this jacket to work but I ended up returning it based on a couple different features.
I ordered a 2x based on reviews that the jacket ran a little small. The fit was perfect through the shoulders and bust area but was too large through the hips and below. The weight of the jacket was perfect, great for the fluctuating winter temps in Colorado.
I would have liked a drawstring for the hood as well as around the bottom so those features could be cinched in on colder/windier days.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfectly long

PostedJanuary 22, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Blacksburg, VA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have another 1X jacket that fits very nicely so I got a 1X in this one as well. It is a bit bigger though. Not too much, but noticeable. I like it though b/c I can wear my heavy sweaters underneath! I wish I had a picture though b/ there are 4 of us at my work and we all have the same jacket in different colors!!! I do wish it had a little drawstring in the hood though.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very warm, light weight

PostedFebruary 10, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: North Carolina
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this coat. It is light weight and packs really well and is also warm. I can move freely in it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Warmth - Soft as a Bunny !!

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Mobile, AL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This jacket is the very best !! I ordered the 3x in Quill and it is delightful and met my every expectation. The quality is exceptional. It is soft when you put it on, there is no "crackly" feel or sound to the polyester, it is like the down filled jackets. Very lightweight. The package was so light I didn't think a jacket was in there. It feels just as light when you wear it. The purple is a deep rich dark purple, not cheap looking or too bright. It is a perfect 3x, runs true to size. Sleeves fit well. The zipper works from the top and the bottom. The hood is ok, I wish it laid down a little flatter, but I think it will with time. Nice secret inside pocket on the left big enough for cell phone or keys. Fleece lined hand pockets also. It is so lightweight that it does not restrict your arms when driving or loading groceries in the car. Very flexible and soft. You can feel the Omni Heat working. I love it. If you are trying to decide, should I buy it or not, the answer is YES, you should get it !! You will love it. I am excited about winter now !!
I would recommend this product.
+42points
47of 52voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket - Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm but sizing is a little off

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Round Lake, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great coat, will definitely keep you warm. Only issue I had was the sizing. I purchased the 3X so that I could wear bulky sweaters, for the most part the fit was ok, but the arms were tight & just made it uncomfortable to wear. Ended up returning & going with a different brand. If there were a 4X, I might have exchanged.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next>>