Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size

Columbia Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size

Offered in an array of dark, versatile neutral colors, this cozy jacket utilizes Omni-Heat® thermal reflective and insulation to provide superior warmth – it’s beautiful baffling makes it as perfect for everyday as it is for staying warm during cold-weather adventures in the outdoors.
Overall rating:
4.368 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 87 reviews
5 Stars
53
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
6
1 Star
2
76 out of 84(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Review 1 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Overall an ok coat for 2XL

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good things include the colors are great (inside and outside) and it does keep you very warm. Bad things include the fabric is very weak and the mid section is large. Per my knitting instructor I am average in the shoulders so the sizing is off. The cut could come in more to give a hourglass shape as it looks for the smaller sizes. I bought the coat almost a month ago and there is one snag and other forming. For this price I expect it to hold up better. Also found it on sale a few days later.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight and warm

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hate wearing a big bulky coat in the winter, so I was thrilled when I got my Kaliedaslope jacket. The Omni-Heat really works to capture your body heat and keep you feeling toasty, while allowing for less bulk and more ease of movement. The design and darting is incredibly flattering, which can be difficult to find in larger sizes like mine. (It IS possible to look feminine and be warm!)
My only critique is that the outer fabric is very thin. I can't wear this while working or venturing off-trail, as the blackberry and multi-flora rose snags would be horrible. A great product for casual or everyday use, but not for off-trail or deep woods exploring!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm without being Bulky

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Lincoln, NE, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you like a nice light coat that blocks the wind this is the one you are after. I hate to even call it light because it is a warm winter coat without the bulk! I am outside at work everyday walking from hangar to hangar and it can be cold and breezy. I really love this coat!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Goodbye, Bulky!

PostedDecember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Wilmington, DE
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yessss! A large winter jacket that looks feminine (on me, at least). The fit is good and I'm glad I ordered a size larger. It's very toasty without the bulk so don't be fooled by its appearance. The ease of movement, while wearing it, is akin to wearing a sweatshirt. It's functional and it looks great on me!
I'm so pleased with this purchase.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedFebruary 25, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Norton, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight, yet so warm, really comfortable and stylish. I would like one in every color. Love the inside collar it is so soft
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I typically wear a size 18 and I'm glad that I followed the recommendations and ordered a size up. The jacket fits perfectly and is not "poofy". It is very warm and that's what I needed for Wisconsin winters. It's lightweight which I like because most winter jackets I've had are SO heavy. Overall, this is a winner.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the fit

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE this jacket. Is't supper warm, fits great and has a "girly" look....not a boy jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Chest area large

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Ontario, Canada
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered a size larger due to people saying it runs small. I think I would have been okay going with my regular size. The coat has lots of room in the chest area for those with an ample bust - which is not me hahaha!
The colour is beautiful! Much prettier than it shows online. Despite the fact it's a little big it doesn't bother me enough to return it. I will wear it all winter.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved this jacket-bought 2!

PostedOctober 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Toledo, OH, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this coat last year and bought another one this year. Love the thumb hole which eliminates drafts up your arms. Very flattering for a voluptuous figure. The Omni heat is amazing. Helps keep you warm without a bulky fill. This jacket is GREAT! Can't recommend it enough.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Heartbroken!

PostedDecember 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Kitty Hawk, NC, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
I was so excited for this jacket but that was short lived. Fabric is EXTREMELY fragile!!!! I would not call it "ripstop". Only had it on for less than half an hour when I barely brushed up against a wooden porch railing and it ripped. I do not understand how a company who encourages you to get outside can offer a product that is so fragile! I should have saved my hard earned money and shopped at Walmart!! So devastated to have this as my first and possibly last experience w/Columbia products!
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedFebruary 10, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Horicon, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I live in Wisconsin and yesterday it was 10 out so I thought I'd wear my new jacket and I was not impressed. I was cold and it didn't keep the wind out. I have a jacket from J C Penney for half the price and it's much warmer. I will not recommend this jacket to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent buy

PostedFebruary 28, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Newton, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a must have for anyone who's cold! I get wows and complements on this jacket all the time while staying warm without the bulk
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Depends

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Illinois
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
This jacket is ok. WAY too hot for me and I wish I could have tested it before taking off tags and getting rid of the paperwork to return it. Having said that......the coat is very well made. The fit is poor. The sleeves are far too tight. If you are wearing anything of bulk they are too tight. Bulk includes a t shirt!
So for a bigger gal you are screwed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light but Cozy

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket!
After reading the other reviews I chose to order one size up from my normal size and I'm very glad that I did. The sizes are a little small especially for making allowances of extra layers under a cold-weather jacket.
That aside, this jacket is wonderful. Really light but extra cozy. Living in the mountains of Colorado gets cold but this jacket keeps the chill out. The length in the back is great for me. I also love the little thumb hole thingies for keeping the sleeve extensions down over the hands - especially useful for when wearing gloves and there's no gap between the top of the gloves and the end of the sleeves.
I am extremely pleased with this purchase and would be happy to recommend it to anyone considering buying the same jacket. Also like the "fur" inside the collar - helps keep you warm and also provides something nice and soft against skin.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super light weight, but really warm

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Bergenfield, NJ
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would have given this 5 stars, but had a little issue witht he sleeves. Overall love the jacket. Needed a jacket to wear to the Macy's Day Parade since it was going to be pretty cold and we would be outside for several hours. It was hard to believe that it would be warm enough considering how light it was, but it kept me very warm. I only wore a light thermal and a light fleece under it.
My only complaint is that the sleeve were tight. I ordered a size bigger than I normally would just so that I could put several layers under it. The body of the jacket had more than enough room, and as far as the body of the jacket my regular size would have been fine, but the sleeves would have been way too tight. As it was, the sleeves in the larger size were even tight with really not much underneath. Probably equivilent to a heavy sweater. The cut of the sleeves were not in portion to the body. Other than that loved the jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket, TRUE TO SIZE

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I originally bought a size up because everyone had mentioned how this ran small. When it arrived, it was VERY LARGE. I would recommend ordering the size you usually wear to avoid having to return/exchange.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Women's Kaleidaslope ll jacket

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Springfield, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket it's light weight and keeps me warm from the wind and cold. Just LOVE IT!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shorter then expected

PostedDecember 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: North Plains, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Being a 22-24size female I expected this coat to not fit at all but ordered the 3X and hoped. It fits great around the bust ( 48 DD) and waist... extra room even and great Range of motion with sholders. But it is SHORT in the arms and length of the coat --sits just above my waist.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDarlaF
Idaho
 
Please wait while more information about DarlaF is loaded.
Additional information about DarlaF could not be loaded.
FINALLY SUCCESS
onJanuary 13, 2016
Finally!!! A jacket that fits in the shoulders and has free motion for my arms!!! I've bought at least 10 coats and jackets this year and sent them all back!! Everyone was too tight in the shoulders and kept me from reaching forward with my arms. The fact that it creates a nice shape, doesn't add bulk and is a gorgeous color??!! Who could ask for more. I hope it keeps me as warm as they say it will. Either way I'm going back for another color!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great coat!

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Erie, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this coat this year after losing weight and needing to replace my Bugaboo that was way too big. My Bugaboo was a 3XL, and after reading reviews of this jacket on both this webpage and another page, I decided to upsize my Kaleidaslope to a 2XL...Boy am I glad I did! This jacket definitely runs small compared to all the other Columbia items I have. I also have a zip up fleece and a Glacial fleece in 2XL and both are quite baggy on me. The Kaleidaslope fits perfectly, but not with enough room for a heavy sweater or anything bulky underneath. However, I don't anticipate needing to wear too many sweaters with the Omni-Heat...this is an amazingly warm technology! At any rate, I have had many many compliments on this coat, the cut, the style, oh, and the color - which I have to say, I searched high and low to order one of last year's colors, the Blue Forest/Teal color, as this year's colors are pretty basic and boring! So, if you continue to make this coat, I would suggest bringing back some nice colors that will go with anything!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the features

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Tupper Lake, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased as a Christmas gift for my daughter. I had her try it on and she loves it. Perfect fit and high quality workmanship.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 Next>>