Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size

Columbia Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size

Offered in an array of dark, versatile neutral colors, this cozy jacket utilizes Omni-Heat® thermal reflective and insulation to provide superior warmth – it’s beautiful baffling makes it as perfect for everyday as it is for staying warm during cold-weather adventures in the outdoors.
Overall rating:
4.367 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
43 out of 48(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Review 1 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm, but very lightweight

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
MrsVandy
Location: Texas
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:Yes
  • Employee
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like this jacket. It seems to add considerable warmth while still being thin and comfortable. I'm glad I sized up because it definitely runs a little on the small side.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this jacket

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
JenJallo
Location: lankin nd
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket was exactly what I was looking for and the quality I have come to expect from Columbia. I like that it is light weight but still keeps me warm in the North Dakota winter. I don't care for the thumb hole but really like the extra length it gives to the sleeves.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket, TRUE TO SIZE

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Wanderer123
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I originally bought a size up because everyone had mentioned how this ran small. When it arrived, it was VERY LARGE. I would recommend ordering the size you usually wear to avoid having to return/exchange.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bummer...

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Kim358
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
There is so much I really like about this jacket -- lightweight, attractive styling, sleeves that are long enough...I was so disappointed that it was not as warm as expected and what was needed. I'm very sorry I had to send back as there was so much I liked about it....had to get me through the winter in New England and it just wasn't warm enough. Sleeves are snug....
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm without being Bulky

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
archers
Location: Lincoln, NE, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you like a nice light coat that blocks the wind this is the one you are after. I hate to even call it light because it is a warm winter coat without the bulk! I am outside at work everyday walking from hangar to hangar and it can be cold and breezy. I really love this coat!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Strange outer material

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
HueyGirl
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
By strange, I mean that it rips/tears very easily. I bought this coat last year in navy blue. I have dogs and one of their nails tore the arm of the coat, in the puffy part. Not even close to the seam. When it's cold out the material becomes almost brittle. It does keep you warm though, thru a cold Chicago winter. It runs a bit big, so it's great for layering. If you have animals, are near animals, are close to bush/tree branches, I would steer clear of this coat. Even looking at it cross eyed may cause the coat to tear. Alas, I just returned the same coat in raspberry, thinking they may have changed the material. No such luck. Note: If you need to return/exchange an item beware, you pay return shipping.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hardworking jacket in a small package

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Ernestine
Location: KS
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this in a 2x and I love it! It's my go-to winter coat for all temperatures. Very surprised at the warmth without the bulk. Bonus: it's also machine washable. Comfy, cozy, warm, and stylish.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Couldn't be happier!

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
travellinggrandma01
Location: Tinley Park, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love, love this jacket. It's so light-weight and yet so warm. Since I am a plus size, I'm always cautious about winter jackets adding bulk. This does not. I'm happy I went a size up. It fits perfect now. I love the thumb inserts on the sleeves. The color raspberry is very pretty and not overly bright. I couldn't be happier with this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Cincyburgh
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this coat about a month ago. The time it took to arrive was incredibly slow, I shop a lot online and this delivery was longer than most. The weather is not an excuse as I had ordered other items at the same time shipping from general area with fast delivery. Once the coat arrived I was very very pleased. This coat is so light yet very very warm. I wore it over a tee shirt in single digit temps on a trip to the midwest a week ago and it kept me quite warm. I absolutely love this jacket and the Omni Heat material. I also love the comfort cuffs with thumb holes, my wrists are no longer cold.
The sleeves are a bit tight but I am a rather heavy person and it is still comfortable but I do not think I would wear anything bulky underneath.
The look of the jacket is nice as well. I will purchase more Columbia products in the future.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
sosa63
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this coat based off of so many positive reviews AND because it is animal-friendly (no down/animal products used). Was a little hesitant when the coat arrived and I felt how lightweight it was, however don't let that fool you! Have worn this coat for the past few weeks in single digit temperatures in Michigan, skiing, snow tubing ect. and it is the warmest coat I have ever owned. I also love how it has the lined pockets and inner neckline, very soft and warm. Have also received many compliments on how "cute" it is. I agree with the others who said this coat does run small, I usually wear a 1x and purchased a 3x to be safe. I can wear a sweatshirt underneath it comfortably and still have some extra room.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Thought it would be warm with the omni heat lining.

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Tigerlily95
Location: Beverly, NJ
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this jacket after seeing similar jackets from Columbia on co-workers who said that the jacket was warm. However, I could not find the same jacket the wore. But after reading reviews and temperature challenges other purchasers wore the jacket in I hoped I would be happy. However, it did not meet up to the reviews I read. The size was great and it wasn't bulky, which was one of the reasons for the purchase. We have had some low temperatures in New Jersey as of late, but this jacket did not meet the challenge. I could feel the cold through the jacket.
The jacket visually is nice, but does in some aspects look cheap. I don't know if it is related to sizing or just styling and fabric.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
HelpfulReviewer
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This a great, lightweight way to keep warm. Flattering fit for "extended" sizes. I bought a size up from what I normally wear only to make sure that I could layer underneath it (although, it already keeps you VERY warm). At first I was worried that it would be too big, but - it's perfect! Easy to move around in, and I don't take it off to drive - like I do with other coats. Great buy!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
erbfamilie
Location: Indiana
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Runs a little larger than expected which makes the pattern texture on the outside "not as cool" but comfy & warm.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's a very good product

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Fontina29
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like this jacket a lot and I find it very comfortable and light to wear but also very warm. I would highly recommend it because it is very elegant and fashionable.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the jacket. Love the color.

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Shelley14
Location: Lowell, MI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this in Abyss which wasn't available at Cabela's. I wish it had a hood. I would also like to know what products I can purchase that would make it an Interchange piece.
I love the Omni-Heat technology. It is a very comfy light-weight winter jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket!

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Pheadsgirl
Location: Pennsylvania
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket! I got it in Deep Blush and I love it! I love the thumb holes to keep the draft out of your sleeves when you put your gloves over the cuffs. The fleece collar inside was a surprising light gray color, I wish it would have been more charcoal, but it's still beautiful. My only complaint is that I can't wear anything thick under the jacket because the sleeves are a little tight. I purchased this jacket to wear to New York City during a snow storm and it held up perfectly. This jacket kept me warm and toasty all day, I even got a little warm at times. I would definitely recommend going up a size in this jacket. I probably could have worn my traditional size in all other areas of the jacket, but based on other reviews, knew that the sleeves were tight and wanted to make sure it fit.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Women's Kaleidoscope II-Plus Size

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Chelle1112
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a fabulous jacket! Light and functional and very warm. Although it may run small in the regular sizes (so I bought big in the extended sizes), it runs VERY TRUE to size in the plus sizes-maybe even a little big.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lin17

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Lin17
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket. It's warm without weight, I can raise the collar against the wind without choking myself, and the collar lining is soft and comfortable. My only complaint is that the zipper often catches on the fabric beneath it, which can be a pain when I'm in a hurry to get out the door.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
SHALA
Location: CHICAGO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I brought this jacket praying that is was everything it was designed to be. YESS!!!!! I AM PLEASED. I live in Chicago and our winter are very cold and wet so I was purchasing this jacket with the hopes that it will keep me warm and dry. IT DID. I love the style and colr (hot pink) and the arms of the jacket was disgined to keep the cold out while also wearinf gloves. I purchased a 2x just off of what other reviews where saying but I wish I would have gotten a 1x for a little better fits. However, overall this is a great jacket for cold weather and also to keep stylish. FYI the OMNI -HEAT WORKS LIKE MAGIC!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the comfort cuffs

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Barb2
Location: Iowa
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered my jacket in a size larger since many reviews said it runs small. I like to wear a sweater beneath my jacket. It is warm and stylish. I ordered this one in particular because of the comfort cuffs with thumb holes. I have long arms and often cold wrists. Love the cuffs - even if I don't use the thumb holes they keep my wrists warm. Haven't been out in extreme wind and cold, but for shopping and errand running, it is great.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>