Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size

Columbia Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size

Offered in an array of dark, versatile neutral colors, this cozy jacket utilizes Omni-Heat® thermal reflective and insulation to provide superior warmth – it’s beautiful baffling makes it as perfect for everyday as it is for staying warm during cold-weather adventures in the outdoors.
Overall rating:
4.415 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
37 out of 40(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Review 1 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Purchase

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Cincyburgh
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this coat about a month ago. The time it took to arrive was incredibly slow, I shop a lot online and this delivery was longer than most. The weather is not an excuse as I had ordered other items at the same time shipping from general area with fast delivery. Once the coat arrived I was very very pleased. This coat is so light yet very very warm. I wore it over a tee shirt in single digit temps on a trip to the midwest a week ago and it kept me quite warm. I absolutely love this jacket and the Omni Heat material. I also love the comfort cuffs with thumb holes, my wrists are no longer cold.
The sleeves are a bit tight but I am a rather heavy person and it is still comfortable but I do not think I would wear anything bulky underneath.
The look of the jacket is nice as well. I will purchase more Columbia products in the future.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
sosa63
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this coat based off of so many positive reviews AND because it is animal-friendly (no down/animal products used). Was a little hesitant when the coat arrived and I felt how lightweight it was, however don't let that fool you! Have worn this coat for the past few weeks in single digit temperatures in Michigan, skiing, snow tubing ect. and it is the warmest coat I have ever owned. I also love how it has the lined pockets and inner neckline, very soft and warm. Have also received many compliments on how "cute" it is. I agree with the others who said this coat does run small, I usually wear a 1x and purchased a 3x to be safe. I can wear a sweatshirt underneath it comfortably and still have some extra room.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Thought it would be warm with the omni heat lining.

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Tigerlily95
Location: Beverly, NJ
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this jacket after seeing similar jackets from Columbia on co-workers who said that the jacket was warm. However, I could not find the same jacket the wore. But after reading reviews and temperature challenges other purchasers wore the jacket in I hoped I would be happy. However, it did not meet up to the reviews I read. The size was great and it wasn't bulky, which was one of the reasons for the purchase. We have had some low temperatures in New Jersey as of late, but this jacket did not meet the challenge. I could feel the cold through the jacket.
The jacket visually is nice, but does in some aspects look cheap. I don't know if it is related to sizing or just styling and fabric.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
HelpfulReviewer
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This a great, lightweight way to keep warm. Flattering fit for "extended" sizes. I bought a size up from what I normally wear only to make sure that I could layer underneath it (although, it already keeps you VERY warm). At first I was worried that it would be too big, but - it's perfect! Easy to move around in, and I don't take it off to drive - like I do with other coats. Great buy!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
erbfamilie
Location: Indiana
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Runs a little larger than expected which makes the pattern texture on the outside "not as cool" but comfy & warm.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's a very good product

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Fontina29
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like this jacket a lot and I find it very comfortable and light to wear but also very warm. I would highly recommend it because it is very elegant and fashionable.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the jacket. Love the color.

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Shelley14
Location: Lowell, MI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this in Abyss which wasn't available at Cabela's. I wish it had a hood. I would also like to know what products I can purchase that would make it an Interchange piece.
I love the Omni-Heat technology. It is a very comfy light-weight winter jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket!

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Pheadsgirl
Location: Pennsylvania
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket! I got it in Deep Blush and I love it! I love the thumb holes to keep the draft out of your sleeves when you put your gloves over the cuffs. The fleece collar inside was a surprising light gray color, I wish it would have been more charcoal, but it's still beautiful. My only complaint is that I can't wear anything thick under the jacket because the sleeves are a little tight. I purchased this jacket to wear to New York City during a snow storm and it held up perfectly. This jacket kept me warm and toasty all day, I even got a little warm at times. I would definitely recommend going up a size in this jacket. I probably could have worn my traditional size in all other areas of the jacket, but based on other reviews, knew that the sleeves were tight and wanted to make sure it fit.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Women's Kaleidoscope II-Plus Size

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Chelle1112
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a fabulous jacket! Light and functional and very warm. Although it may run small in the regular sizes (so I bought big in the extended sizes), it runs VERY TRUE to size in the plus sizes-maybe even a little big.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lin17

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Lin17
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket. It's warm without weight, I can raise the collar against the wind without choking myself, and the collar lining is soft and comfortable. My only complaint is that the zipper often catches on the fabric beneath it, which can be a pain when I'm in a hurry to get out the door.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
SHALA
Location: CHICAGO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I brought this jacket praying that is was everything it was designed to be. YESS!!!!! I AM PLEASED. I live in Chicago and our winter are very cold and wet so I was purchasing this jacket with the hopes that it will keep me warm and dry. IT DID. I love the style and colr (hot pink) and the arms of the jacket was disgined to keep the cold out while also wearinf gloves. I purchased a 2x just off of what other reviews where saying but I wish I would have gotten a 1x for a little better fits. However, overall this is a great jacket for cold weather and also to keep stylish. FYI the OMNI -HEAT WORKS LIKE MAGIC!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the comfort cuffs

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Barb2
Location: Iowa
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered my jacket in a size larger since many reviews said it runs small. I like to wear a sweater beneath my jacket. It is warm and stylish. I ordered this one in particular because of the comfort cuffs with thumb holes. I have long arms and often cold wrists. Love the cuffs - even if I don't use the thumb holes they keep my wrists warm. Haven't been out in extreme wind and cold, but for shopping and errand running, it is great.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Warm and Still Lightweight

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
sans
Location: IN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased with my new winter coat, it is lightweight so I can move in it unlike most winter wear. It is pretty, great detailed lines, the half gloves in the sleeve also help keep you warm. Excellent coat, worth the money. Thanks.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not true to size

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Gina02
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Coat wasn't true to size. Always owned a Columbia jacket and loved them. Sizes are off. Needed a 3x in Columbia when I wear a 1x in other brands
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

warm and comfortable

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
HappyCamper35
Location: PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice fit and style providing warmth without the bulk of other winter jackets
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super light weight, but really warm

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Shellster
Location: Bergenfield, NJ
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would have given this 5 stars, but had a little issue witht he sleeves. Overall love the jacket. Needed a jacket to wear to the Macy's Day Parade since it was going to be pretty cold and we would be outside for several hours. It was hard to believe that it would be warm enough considering how light it was, but it kept me very warm. I only wore a light thermal and a light fleece under it.
My only complaint is that the sleeve were tight. I ordered a size bigger than I normally would just so that I could put several layers under it. The body of the jacket had more than enough room, and as far as the body of the jacket my regular size would have been fine, but the sleeves would have been way too tight. As it was, the sleeves in the larger size were even tight with really not much underneath. Probably equivilent to a heavy sweater. The cut of the sleeves were not in portion to the body. Other than that loved the jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What I was looking for

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
ALS2
Location: Richmond, VA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The jacket was a great dark blue color (I purchased the abyss color). It was lighter than I expected and therefore worried it wouldnt be as warm as what I was looking for. However it keeps me plenty warm and I think it will work well as my winter coat. I find that I am sort of between 1x & 2x, and based on the other reviews I went with the larger size. I am glad I did. It fits as I expected, roomy in the right places and something I could wear sweaters under. My only concern is it seems a tad short, even on my short frame, and too loose in the hip area. Although, not to point of making me return it. Overall I am very pleased with this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Got today!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Jenn77
Location: Cincinnati
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got my coat today! Wore it out to run errands immediately... FANTASTIC. First this coat is very lightweight, but don't be fooled, you will be warm! To my surprise, I expected to sweat profusely and never did! I hate coats and I hate wearing them, for me to like a coat it has to be good. I've always bought longer coats being a plus size gal so I was worried about the length until I got it on and might I say it fits and its doesn't get in the way and constrict me like other coats. I especially like the thumb holes, which make it fun and at the same time keep the cold from blowing up your sleeves. My only compliant would be the lack of color choices. I went white and I'm worried about staining or getting it dirty! Ill have to wait and see! This coat does run smaller I wear a 2X shirt and I ordered the coat 3x and I can zip it with a bulky sweatshirt on. This is a great coat, a bit on the expensive side, but you get what you pay for!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very warm

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Deja
Location: Chicago, illnois
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
I had second thoughts after purchasing it because it seemed very light but the jacket is very warm n keeps me that way through the cold changing Chicago weather.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Women's Kaleidaslope II Jacket-Extended Sizes

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Toastynow
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Never have I worn a jacket so light-weight and yet so warm. My eyebrows rose at the price, but once I tried it I became a convert for life. Hoping I can convince my two nieces to spring for jackets for themselves, as they're always cold, and bundled up to the ears when the weather turns chilly.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>