Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size

Columbia Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size

Offered in an array of dark, versatile neutral colors, this cozy jacket utilizes Omni-Heat® thermal reflective and insulation to provide superior warmth – it’s beautiful baffling makes it as perfect for everyday as it is for staying warm during cold-weather adventures in the outdoors.
Overall rating:
4.366 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 82 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
6
1 Star
2
72 out of 79(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Review 1 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a busty girl and I have never had such a great fit. It looks awesome and is wicked warm too. The fit is exactly what it is. I can't believe I found this in a 1x! Best coat I've ever had by far!
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byJayyydirty
Hickory, NC
 
Please wait while more information about Jayyydirty is loaded.
Additional information about Jayyydirty could not be loaded.
I LOVE this jacket!!
onJanuary 16, 2014
This jacket is super lightweight but incredibly warm!! I have it in purple and the color is beautiful. It does run slightly small but I really have no complaints about this jacket!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is wonderful

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Hayward, WI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is warm and comfortable. The size was a bit small so I bought a size up for a perfect fit. I would recommend this jacket to all women. Although, I have not tried it in a hockey arena yet.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Overall an ok coat for 2XL

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good things include the colors are great (inside and outside) and it does keep you very warm. Bad things include the fabric is very weak and the mid section is large. Per my knitting instructor I am average in the shoulders so the sizing is off. The cut could come in more to give a hourglass shape as it looks for the smaller sizes. I bought the coat almost a month ago and there is one snag and other forming. For this price I expect it to hold up better. Also found it on sale a few days later.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket, Arms Run Small

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Pennsylvania
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a nice lightweight but warm jacket. the Omniheat really does deliver, and it is a nice touch to have it in the pockets, too. I like the faux-fur collar as it adds a little style, but is warm and soft, too. The extended cuffs also aid with warmth. This is a great, pack-able portable jacket. i can't wait for snow to break it in with some snowshoeing! There is no heat rating, but by itself i would guess that this is about a 20-40 F jacket. Paired with the Hot Thought Omniheat shell you could probably make this a zero degree coat. I have a Mountain Hardwear Zonal Primaloft jacket of similar weight and this is much warmer. I would raite the Mountain Hardwear jacket about 30-50F.
The I think the jacket would be spacious enough to wear a bulky sweater under it but the arms run small up to the shoulders. I know the trim look in the arms is in, but we order extended size for a reason. ;) also, as with all Columbia womens products, the length could be a bit longer. There is no room for play with longer torso women.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommend this Jacket

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I never wear a jacket because I dislike the bulkiness and heaviness of the jackets. This jacket is so thin and light weight but is so warm. I love it will probably buy another one in a different color
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I typically wear a size 18 and I'm glad that I followed the recommendations and ordered a size up. The jacket fits perfectly and is not "poofy". It is very warm and that's what I needed for Wisconsin winters. It's lightweight which I like because most winter jackets I've had are SO heavy. Overall, this is a winner.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great coat!

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Erie, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this coat this year after losing weight and needing to replace my Bugaboo that was way too big. My Bugaboo was a 3XL, and after reading reviews of this jacket on both this webpage and another page, I decided to upsize my Kaleidaslope to a 2XL...Boy am I glad I did! This jacket definitely runs small compared to all the other Columbia items I have. I also have a zip up fleece and a Glacial fleece in 2XL and both are quite baggy on me. The Kaleidaslope fits perfectly, but not with enough room for a heavy sweater or anything bulky underneath. However, I don't anticipate needing to wear too many sweaters with the Omni-Heat...this is an amazingly warm technology! At any rate, I have had many many compliments on this coat, the cut, the style, oh, and the color - which I have to say, I searched high and low to order one of last year's colors, the Blue Forest/Teal color, as this year's colors are pretty basic and boring! So, if you continue to make this coat, I would suggest bringing back some nice colors that will go with anything!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Depends

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Illinois
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
This jacket is ok. WAY too hot for me and I wish I could have tested it before taking off tags and getting rid of the paperwork to return it. Having said that......the coat is very well made. The fit is poor. The sleeves are far too tight. If you are wearing anything of bulk they are too tight. Bulk includes a t shirt!
So for a bigger gal you are screwed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight and warm

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hate wearing a big bulky coat in the winter, so I was thrilled when I got my Kaliedaslope jacket. The Omni-Heat really works to capture your body heat and keep you feeling toasty, while allowing for less bulk and more ease of movement. The design and darting is incredibly flattering, which can be difficult to find in larger sizes like mine. (It IS possible to look feminine and be warm!)
My only critique is that the outer fabric is very thin. I can't wear this while working or venturing off-trail, as the blackberry and multi-flora rose snags would be horrible. A great product for casual or everyday use, but not for off-trail or deep woods exploring!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the fit

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE this jacket. Is't supper warm, fits great and has a "girly" look....not a boy jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light but Cozy

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket!
After reading the other reviews I chose to order one size up from my normal size and I'm very glad that I did. The sizes are a little small especially for making allowances of extra layers under a cold-weather jacket.
That aside, this jacket is wonderful. Really light but extra cozy. Living in the mountains of Colorado gets cold but this jacket keeps the chill out. The length in the back is great for me. I also love the little thumb hole thingies for keeping the sleeve extensions down over the hands - especially useful for when wearing gloves and there's no gap between the top of the gloves and the end of the sleeves.
I am extremely pleased with this purchase and would be happy to recommend it to anyone considering buying the same jacket. Also like the "fur" inside the collar - helps keep you warm and also provides something nice and soft against skin.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!!

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: North MS
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely LOVE this coat. At first sight, I was thinking this coat is so thin it will never keep you warm, WRONG! I stay cold all the time and this coat is so warm and waterproof. I even threatened to wear it in the house when I got cold the other night. I gave the quality good because there were a few strings in the pocket area I had to cut off, but other than that excellent. It is very form fitting especially in the hip area, so keep that in mind.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great medium weight jacket

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: West coast
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket deserves to have 5 stars but I had to deduct one point for the contrasting faux fur collar. I tend to gravitate toward the understated. All that aside I am excited to find a jacket that is perfect for colder beach days! This jacket did as advertised, kept me warm while wicking the moisture from my beach exercise walk. It is truly light weight, stores easily
Note: This jacket is contoured so fits a bit small. I know I could not get a bulky sweater or sweatshirt under it and still zip it closed.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp looking & very warm

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: near Des Moines, Iowa
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my new coat. I wanted something that looks sharp and very warm. I got that and more: it is very light weight and not bulky and I love the inside sleeve at the wrist to keep the cold air from going up the sleeves... real pluses!
On the down side, I wish it were an inch or two longer, the zipper sometimes catches on the underside flap, and since I don't like to zip it clear up, I need to wear a scarf to keep the cold air from going down at the neck.
Over all I love my new coat and hope to wear it for many years.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm and Toasty in the Snow

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: 31088
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This coat is true to it's advertising. It has kept me warm and dry in the snow and has more pockets than any other coat I have owned. While it was expensive, it was definitely worth the money.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very warm

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, illnois
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
I had second thoughts after purchasing it because it seemed very light but the jacket is very warm n keeps me that way through the cold changing Chicago weather.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Chest area large

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Ontario, Canada
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered a size larger due to people saying it runs small. I think I would have been okay going with my regular size. The coat has lots of room in the chest area for those with an ample bust - which is not me hahaha!
The colour is beautiful! Much prettier than it shows online. Despite the fact it's a little big it doesn't bother me enough to return it. I will wear it all winter.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Got today!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Cincinnati
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got my coat today! Wore it out to run errands immediately... FANTASTIC. First this coat is very lightweight, but don't be fooled, you will be warm! To my surprise, I expected to sweat profusely and never did! I hate coats and I hate wearing them, for me to like a coat it has to be good. I've always bought longer coats being a plus size gal so I was worried about the length until I got it on and might I say it fits and its doesn't get in the way and constrict me like other coats. I especially like the thumb holes, which make it fun and at the same time keep the cold from blowing up your sleeves. My only compliant would be the lack of color choices. I went white and I'm worried about staining or getting it dirty! Ill have to wait and see! This coat does run smaller I wear a 2X shirt and I ordered the coat 3x and I can zip it with a bulky sweatshirt on. This is a great coat, a bit on the expensive side, but you get what you pay for!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What I was looking for

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Richmond, VA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The jacket was a great dark blue color (I purchased the abyss color). It was lighter than I expected and therefore worried it wouldnt be as warm as what I was looking for. However it keeps me plenty warm and I think it will work well as my winter coat. I find that I am sort of between 1x & 2x, and based on the other reviews I went with the larger size. I am glad I did. It fits as I expected, roomy in the right places and something I could wear sweaters under. My only concern is it seems a tad short, even on my short frame, and too loose in the hip area. Although, not to point of making me return it. Overall I am very pleased with this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Kaleidaslope™ II Jacket – Plus Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Super light weight, but really warm

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Bergenfield, NJ
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would have given this 5 stars, but had a little issue witht he sleeves. Overall love the jacket. Needed a jacket to wear to the Macy's Day Parade since it was going to be pretty cold and we would be outside for several hours. It was hard to believe that it would be warm enough considering how light it was, but it kept me very warm. I only wore a light thermal and a light fleece under it.
My only complaint is that the sleeve were tight. I ordered a size bigger than I normally would just so that I could put several layers under it. The body of the jacket had more than enough room, and as far as the body of the jacket my regular size would have been fine, but the sleeves would have been way too tight. As it was, the sleeves in the larger size were even tight with really not much underneath. Probably equivilent to a heavy sweater. The cut of the sleeves were not in portion to the body. Other than that loved the jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 Next>>