Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket – Extended Size

Columbia Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket – Extended Size

Both wet stopping and thermal regulating, this svelte Omni-Heat® jacket packs a huge performance punch at a nice price.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
9 out of 12(75%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket – Extended Size
Review 1 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the same quality as the men's product

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
DebGV
Location: Green Valley, AZ
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The women's jacket does NOT provide the same warmth as the male version. My husband loved his Omni Heat-Omni Tech jacket. You could instantly feel the warmth. I thought - why not get one for myself. I liked the fact that these jackets do not take much space in a suitcase. But the women's jacket does NOT supply the warmth. I compared the labels of our jackets and they say the same thing, but the women's jacket does not provide the same quality. Basically, this can be classified as a heavy wind breaker. I also find with Columbia, I need to upsize. While I can wear an L/XL at any other store, I must order a 1X at Columbia.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Difficult zippers

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
ellenskis
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Returning the jacket. I had hoped to wear it as a top layer for skiing. It's warm, it looks great, but the zippers are very difficult to operate with small pull tabs and sluggish tracks -- not at all convenient with ski mitts.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Waterproof and Warm!

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
BarbsSpirit
Location: Benicia, CA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I haven't had a chance to use the jacket yet but it is exactly what I was looking for. I t has the warmth and waterproof all in one and if needed you can layer with heavy sweater or polar fleece. The size is perfect, I usually wear a 16 to 18 and ordered the 1X.
I would recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rain jacket

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jarush910
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great rain jacket, although it runs a little small and a little short. Kept me dry in Alaska and in Portland, OR, and that is a testement.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Omni Heat jacket

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mefirst
Location: Denver CO
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket - I wish Columbia products did not run so small in sizing.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost Perfect

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Krwosu
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
There are a lot of great things about this jacket. The material isn't stiff at all so you can move, it does a great job regulating your body temperature, and so far the waterproofing works well but I haven't tried it in very wet conditions, only light rain. The things that make it "almost perfect but not quite" are that it's a bit shorter then I would prefer (especially in the front... I would like for it to cover my upper thighs but it only comes to my waist), and I'm not a huge fan of the two-tone black sleeves (the body of the jacket is black but the arms are a grayish blackish design with a small line pattern running through it...it's hard to describe - photo included). The other thing I was also a little concerned about was that I wanted to buy a fleece for layering and I wasn't sure how the sizes would line up, so I bought the same size in both the fleece and the jacket and they work perfectly together.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful! It's a keeper!

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
oduckfan
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you're looking for a very stylish, super-functional lightweight rain jacket with the much coveted Omni-heat feature, look no further!
I got this coat in black in my normal size it fits true to size, if not just a tad bit large in the hip area. That's a plus for me for being able to sit down in the coat and still keep it zipped. Interestingly enough, the sleeves are a just tad bit long on this jacket too, but they're easily managed with the velcro adjustments provided.
The black one has a style feature of dark grey/black sleeves wich is a nice touch and makes the jacket look a little more dressy.
This jacket is perfect for a slightly cool, rainy day or as a light everyday jacket to have on hand for chilly mornings.
For those of you keeping track - this is my 12th Columbia jacket! I love them all and wear them proudly.
Thank you for stylish, plus-sized jackets, Columbia! Please keep them coming.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My go to jacket.

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
WCT18
Location: Canada
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used this jacket in all types of weather, very pleased with it's performance. With a benton fleece underneath I remain very warm in moderate winter temperatures.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Columbia womens hot thought jacket

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alien63
Location: North Carolina
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife loves it. Fits perfectly and is great quality. I have a Columbia waterproof jacket of my own and highly recommend the men's and women's
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

jacket runs a little small

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
mthaner
Location: seattle
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great jackst love the hot thought.. only issue if your layering this jacket runs a tad small.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cute, but not great

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Girl
Location: Anchorage, AK
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I love the color of the jacket, but found that the sizing and cut isn't great and it's rather thin for a jacket.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Hot Thought™ Jacket – Extended Size
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Onmi Jacket

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
memedoris
Location: Pinetop, AZ
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found the jacket runs slightly small through the hips. Manufacturer needs to remember that women have hips. It will be hard to zip if bulky clothing is worn under it. I purchased it because my husband has one and loves it. It would be nice if the hood would roll into the collar like his does.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.