Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall

Columbia Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall

Pairing a lightweight, insulated inner jacket with the wet-and-cold rejecting performance of a fully seam sealed, waterproof-breathable shell results in unprecedented warmth and protection during activities in challenging winter weather; wear these pieces separately or pair them together depending on conditions for ultimate versatility.
Overall rating:
4.159 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
35 out of 43(81%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Review 1 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
bigdave
Location: Illinois, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my 3rd Columbia. By far the best. Warm but no perspiration. Great !!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a true winter jacket that fits true to size!

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Customer avatar
JimmyJ
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was skeptical at first on whether I should purchase this jacket because the reviews seem very conflicting. but after going into Columbia and trying on the jacket trying to find the right size cause I'm 6'4, I asked a few associates on their recommendation as to which jacket will keep me warm in sub zero weather but is not too heavy and they all went with this jacket because apparently it's their top seller and they sell it year round. With the associate's recommendation I went with the XLT in case I every needed to layer up underneath. The side pockets are a little high which takes some getting use to but run deep so you can stuff your gloves and hat in one and use the other for something else. Now as far as warmth goes, this is where the omni heat really does wonders: depending on the weather and city you live in, essentially the omni heat just keeps the warmth from escaping your jacket. Everyone's body temperature is different so when you're indoors you may still keep the jacket on and the omni heat adjusts your body temp leaving you warm, but not too warm so if you run hot really quickly, take the jacket off. This jacket is waterproof so like Chicago weather it fluctuates from snow and rain and sometimes both so that helps. Another great feature is that it's breathable, if you get the right size, you're able to move about freely so if you happen to drop your phone or need to tie your shoe you can bend over and not have to worry about the jacket tearing. I had this jacket for 5 weeks but waited to write a review so I can test it in sub zero weather with wind chills and boy does it work, only thing is if you're slender like me you will need to layer up underneath, nothing fancy like a vest or sweater/hoodie, a simple long sleeve will do. I tried the jacket on with a t-shirt underneath and the wind slightly penetrated through the outer shell but not as much, so I hardly felt it. I hope this review helped with any concerns you guys may have had but this jacket is only for a select few. Some people require more pockets because they go hiking or snowboarding a lot in which case purchase a backpack but I use it for work and school (everyday use). I'm going to be honest because I know purchasing "the right" jacket can be a hassle. But if you're looking for a jacket that will keep you warm and is not too heavy (lightweight), the Lhotse is the only jacket in Columbia's inventory that I believe will get the job done
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Needs WAY more zippered pockets

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Customer avatar
ZipperedPocketsRock
Location: Polar Vortex
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this for my uncle. He didn't like it because it didn't have enough pockets. For an outdoor sports jacket it should have had a billion zippered pockets to accommodate the needs of people who need to store tons of things on their person without losing them if they dug for them out in the freezing cold (i.e. lighter, gloves, extra face mask, snack, bait, etc., etc.,). I am looking to buy another jacket and wanted to return this one, but by the time my uncle expressed his views on this jacket he had already taken off all the tags on this jacket. If he didn't like the jacket he should've kept the tags on so that I could return it, but I guess he didn't want to hurt my feelings. He is wearing it now so that I don't get more upset.
With that being said, COLUMBIA please make more large zippered pockets for ALL your jackets. I think most men love lots of large and secure zippered pockets, but I think that would make the jacket cost considerably more because of the extra labor and material going into it. But I don't mind paying the extra if the pockets are abundant because it makes the jacket SUPER functional AND warm. My brother has a jacket from Columbia too and it has a gazillion zippered pockets one on each side of his chest and one on the inside and 2 in the inner lining and the two regular ones by his waist. The balance of having one pocket on each side was perfect because you don't want a jacket with one pocket on one side since human bodies are symmetrical, the function of the jacket should match our body shapes and allow for maximum functionality. In any event, my brother expressed that he also loved pockets and so he understands how my uncle feels. So bottom line up front, please get rid of your one diagonal chest pocket design and replace all your jackets with the duo vertical chest or duo horizontal chest zippered pocket design. Your customers will love you for this.
I only bought this jacket because of the rave reviews by other customers, but now I know better and need to ask my uncle first before I buy anything for him in the future because he is a selective individual but with good reason. I love your Columbia brand, but make more zippered pockets on your jackets and I will buy more jackets for my family members, otherwise I will need to look elsewhere to make future extreme weather outdoor jacket investments.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too small

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Enin
Location: New Jersey
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had bought the 3xt for my dad who had an older version if this type of jacket. I measured his old coat (which fits) and it matched the listed measurements but when we got the coat it was at least 5 inches smaller in the waist then the older version so we returned it
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Fit!

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Noney
Location: Green Bay, WI, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This coat fits great! I am 6'6" and have long arms.
The only negative is that in Northern Wisconsin it doesn't seem warm enough. The body portion where the silver dots are stays warm but the arms get cold.
It will be great for those late fall and early spring days.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Bigjohn
Location: Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I wanted a coat that was both wind proof and warm. This jacket was beyond my expectation. I have tried MANY others, but none have satisfied like this coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Jacket

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
BigMoe25
Location: Bowie, MD, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very functional jacket, I really like it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Northern Wisconsin winter coat

PostedDecember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
janelakewood
Location: Northern Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this coat for my son as an early Christmas gift. He loves it. Fits true to size and looks great on him. Purchased a tall because my son has long arms. He says it's very comfortable and is keeping him warm in our frozen tundra. Would recommend - great quality.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too short on waist and runs small

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Wanttofish
Location: NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wanted to replace my old Columbia 3 in 1 jacket (love it) so I bought this one thinking it would have been a bit longer. I like my winter jacket to cover my lower waist and backside. Even with ordering a tall size, this one wasn't long enough. Wish it was 3-4 inches longer at the waist. When your outside clearing snow (using a snow blower) I want that extra protection. Unfortunatly Columbia doesn't offer a selection of longer winter jackets. Everything is mid waist so unfortunately I'm returning this one for a refund and will be looking elsewhere.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jacket

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
avmatters
Location: Florida, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use for hunting from Florida to the west. I can use in all but warmest climates and also coldest. I originally bought a 2X but it was far too small under the arms. This item should be sized larger as some may want additional layers. Order one size larger than normal and you'll be happy, warm and dry!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jacket

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
J777
Location: Omaha, NE, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just received the jacket about two weeks ago. It passed its first test today. I live in Omaha and the temperature is in the low 20s , with wind chills down around Zero. The jacket was very warm. The jacket is very well made, worth every penny. This is my second Columbia jacket. I love the feature that it is waterproof. The silver dot reflective material seems very effective. I especially like the zip out liner.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Scott20
Location: Sutton, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been looking to upgrade my Columbia ski clothing for the last 3 years, but having difficulty finding products that fit in the local shops. I'm 6"7" & 275 lbs., so finding ski clothing that fits and functions well is difficult. I reviewed all the options on the Columbia website and couldn't make a decision, until I saw the jacket at a local ski shop. I like what I saw and placed the order that night, taking the recommendation to order one size larger into account. I received the jacket and was on the slopes two days later. The jacket fit great, was warm and I'm very pleased with the product. The only minor suggestion would be the zippers on the side pockets are long and go almost to the neckline. These are difficult too reach because they open from the top.
Oh yea, I also purchased the Bugaboo ski pants from Columbia at Christmas time. I love your products, especially the fact that you cater to the tall consumer.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it.

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
hatebuyingcoats
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hubby loves his new coat. I did ask about what color - but I chose the rest and he is loving his new coat. Keeps him very warm. Just a very nice purchase.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big & Tall

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Shugsb
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had a Columbia jacket and after 8 years I decided it was time for a new one. Being 6'4 and 300lbs I had always loved the fit of my previous 3XLT Columbia jacket. This is a lot smaller (length and width). It's also definitely designed to be active in. The "Omni-heat" technology is for reflecting your own body heat back, but for just casual wear if you're not generating a lot of your own heat it feels a little chilly. It's nice that you can wear it and not overheat and it vents well but for just wearing to and from work could be warmer. The quality is great and if you work or play a lot outside it would be great.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Check size

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Trout11
Location: Houston
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the jacket, need size bigger
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect !

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Powderboy
Location: Buffalo, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just skied on the north shore of MN... 40 mph winds, a high of -6 below zero. The jacket performed perfectly... with it's wind jammers on the shell and the liner, you are assured to be dry and warm.
The Omni-heat system is truely incredible.... very warm! Though, I wish the liner (Omni-Heat) had a zippable arm pit vent like the shell.
Thank you for creating a wonderful jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Weak Zipper construction

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
jmbsquared
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this coat for my son who needed something extremely warm for the Chicago winter. Within 3 weeks of his wearing it, the zipper detached from the jacket, leaving a gaping hole. His previous coat was a Lands End that he has had for 3 years without a problem, we just wanted him to have a better one. Apparently, this was not the one. I will be contacting the company for a refund or exchange.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Tall and Thin too

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
tkrauss
Location: Spokane, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I didn't know if the jacket would fit me because I am 6'4 and thin. Usually jackets are too big, but this one fits me great. The inner jacket is really warm and fits super.
So for the tall and thin, it is working well for me.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bybohio
new england
 
Please wait while more information about bohio is loaded.
Additional information about bohio could not be loaded.
tkrauss
onNovember 14, 2014
as a member of your size club, i really appreciate your review. What size did you buy? Was it a Large Tall?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This coat is more than I expected

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Francis
Location: Melrose park,Il
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It does everything and more,great deep pockets and great zipper that works,this is by far the best coat I ever purchased.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

trying to find a BIG/TALL jacket!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Stash
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ok was so thankful to find this jacket. I am 6'5" and 300 lbs, and fairly athletic for a 57 year old.
i first ordered the 3XT and was too small. my chest is 50" and sleeve length 39", and ususally 3xt is fine [if seleeves long enough].
when i saw that this came in 4xt i tried it with the Bugaboo and Whirlibird as well. Those two were too tight but the Lhotse had more movement [i wanted this primarily for skiing in colorado]. And i've used it and it it kept me pretty warm without getting overheated.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>