Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall

The jacket that started it all. An industry-leader from the get-go, the iconic Bugaboo Parka has been conquering the elements ever since its introduction in 1986.
Overall rating:
3.741 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
20 out of 25(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Review 1 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic skiing jacket

PostedApril 4, 2012
Customer avatar
theOne1
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a stylish jacket. I purchased it in long and am very happy with the fit and legth of sleves! Along with the matching pants and gloves, Columbia creates a stylish and pratical ski package. Thank you.
Activities: Skiing
Conditions: Snowy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall Great Coat

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer avatar
IowaOutdoors
Location: Eastern Iowa
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is very warm, especially around the neck. The neck of the coat is high and keeps you warm. The interior coat is very soft, especially around the neck and chin area, as well as the wrists. However, it does run a little small in the arms. Long enough, but if you're wearing a long sleeve shirt it tends to pull up your arm when you put the coat on. Like I said, it is very warm, looks good, and other than the somewhat tight arms, fits very well. I like the detacheable hood. Would definitely recommend this product.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other
Conditions: Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pretty Good

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
milwaukeelawyer
Location: Milwaukee, Wi
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received the jacket and it appeared to be perfect. I had it shipped to Arizona where I was for winter break. I flew back to Milwaukee and found out that near the right out side pocket the stitching was missed. I didn't send it back because I needed because I was freezing. That appeared to be the only issue. It is warm, comfortable, and blocks the wind. I would send it back if I didn't need it. However, I would send it back if you sent me a new one, otherwise, I need to get that missed stitching fixed by a tailor when it is not freezing out.
Conditions: Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feels awesome

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Wap80
Location: Brookings, SD
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is very warm. The tall gave the sleeves perfect length for my long arms. My only small complaint is that I ordered a Large because I am not an XL but the armpits seem tight for a L. Other than that this is a great coat.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Quality Needs improvement

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Tims
Location: East Islip, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I originally bought the coat for the functionality of a 3 in 1 use that I could use throughout the change of seasons to cut down on cost of buying 3 separate coats. As far as the quality, this is the second jacket I bought of yours where the tooth from the plastic zipper broke off and making the jacket useless to me. In addition, I wear a 3xlt but had to get a 4xlt because of the shoulder fit. Most jackets don't come in this size except this one and I had to get a size larger because of changes in manufacturing of this product. I don't know the person you are measuring this against but he is obviously not of the typical American man's stature. For the price you are charging for this coat I would expect it to be of much better quality than these plastic zippers that you use. The other thing is, you should have better instructions on the maintenance of the coat. I know that fabric softeners remove the shell on these coats, but can you recommend the types of solution to use and the spray to re-coat it with in case it needs that attention. I had to rely on a sales rep at an outdoor store for this information and it would be a benefit to your company to give the proper care instructions.
Thank you,
Activities: Trail, Climbing, Canoeing, Hiking/Trekking, Fishing - Flats Fishing, Camping, Boating, Kayaking, Fishing - Deep Sea, Mountain Biking, Vacation, Fishing - Freshwater, Commuting
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Humid, Cement/Asphalt, White Water, Bug Infested, Open Ocean, Rocky, Hot
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

!!

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer avatar
king22
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket, really glad I purchased the Tall size!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bugaboo 2xt

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
googs
Location: warren, michigan
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
after reading other reviews i was kind of skeptical of the sizes, everyone complained of it being too small. i am 6'4", 250 lbs and usually wear an xlt coat, or a 46 long suit. so im kind of slender but by no means skinny. i ordered one size up cuz of the reviews and am very pleased in the size. it is snug in the shoulders but overall fits comfortable, very long as a tall should be, both in length of the coat and length of the sleeves. i dont understand how people were complaining it was way too small. if they weigh 300-400 pounds they would never be a 2x anyways.....
Activities: Trail, Other
Conditions: City, Snowy, Windy, Freezing, Other
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not exactly what I envisioned.

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Ray1
Location: Mississippi
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The shell fits good but, the fleece is small in the arms. I'm muscular build with pretty good sized guns. I thought I would have more room.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is recomended

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Customer avatar
collector1
Location: connecticut
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
been looking for a jacket like this was worried about size fit ordered one size larger ...which i recomend... as i did .it fit very well even with my hoodie under it and had no problems with holes in pockets or miss stitching like in other reviews guess i was the lucky one lol
Activities: Other, Commuting
Conditions: City, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

men's bugaboo parka in 3xt

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Customer avatar
dabora
Location: vermont
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the color, the quality was excellent. but the item is not sized correctly. it was 3xt and would have fit a normal man not a man who is 6'3" and was a disappointment. we have sent it back in hopes that the 4xt will fit. would hope that your company could start making the items for big and tall people. the arms were so short and when it was opened you could tell it was not for a tall person. loved the color and cannot get in 4xt and loved the quality of the jacket but not the sizing. just too wrong.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good but . . .

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Scott717
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
User submitted photo
I have a Columbia Omnitech jacket for over 20+ yrs. Thought it's time to replace it so ordered the Bugaboo Parka. Outer shell is great. But I was disappointed by the fleece liner. I took my measurements and ordered according to the site. The fleece is tight under the arms and the sleeves are extremely narrow and restrict movement. It's impossible to comfortably wear a long sleeve shirt under this jacket. I do like the outter shell and wear that over a more comfortable fleece. Glad I kept the Omnitech too.
Activities: Other, Camping, Commuting
Conditions: Freezing, Other, Snowy, Windy
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Snug fit

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Bubba51
Location: Tell City, Indiana
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I feel the inner fleece liner fits to snug in the arms. I'm an ex football player and have big arms. I feel the liner could be a hair larger to accommodate big men with "wedge shoulders" also. Thanks for listening.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally!

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
TheDutchess
Location: Milwaukee
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally the quality I need in a Tall fit jacket!!
Activities: Trail, Commuting
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Small

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
wifey55
Location: Michigan
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Purchased this jacket for my husband and he normally wears 3XLT in outerwear and ordered this jacket in that size and it was way to small. So disappointed that we now have to start all over in our search for a jacket for him. Not even going to bother reordering in the next size up based on this coat's size. Too bad because he loved the look of this coat and loved the color.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Men's Bugaboo Jacket

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
SBVT
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Husband is "full figured" so a 4XLT was the size ordered. Fit was great with the exception of the arms. Arms were tight, making flexing a bit strained. May return the item.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Snowy
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The BEST jacket I have owned so far!!

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
bradster83
Location: Zion, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this jacked for about 3 weeks now and I am VERY happy with this purchase!! Well worth the money!! Jacket keeps me warm but not sweating profusely as with some jackets.
Activities: Commuting
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Big and Tall Sizes are way small and cut very strange

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Bigskier
Location: Minnesota
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am 6'5" and usually wear a 2XT or occasionally a3XT. I ordered a 4XT. It was shorter than most regular XLs and the arms were way to small for big and tall. I noticed it was made in Vietnam. It was not sized for a Minnesotan. The 4XT would equate to a 2X size and regular length.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome In Many Ways

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
OkieSteve
Location: Oklahoma City, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket fits a bit small so I wish the company had 5X and 6X sizes as were provided in the card that came with the first jacket I ordered from Amazon and returned. But buying it from columbia.com got me tall and big sizes and the 4XT was the one that fit the best and had great value, too. The jacket is warm and water resistant but also very comfortable, not making me sweat in the 20 degree temps here in Oklahoma this winter. I wore it a few times in the rain at night and I kept cozy and dry during the few hundred yards I walked in the wind and rain. Great color, pockets and versatility. The company even offers to ship it in a recycled box! Going green starts with you. Thanks, columbia for a great value. Just list the bigger sizes too. I would have bot the 5XT. Steve M., Oklahoma City
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Other, Vacation
Conditions: City, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Other, Rocky
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great winter coat...

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
AJV84
Location: Nebraska
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is a great coat and I would recommend it to anyone. The only complaint I have is that the right hand pocket was stitched together well. I have only worn it twice but I noticed it had a whole in the pocket the second time. Looks like the stitching either came loose or they missed it when trying to stitch the pocket together. Either way, Im just going to stitch the pocket together by hand and hope it holds. Rest of coat is great!
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other, Commuting
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men’s Bugaboo® Parka - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits a full size smaller

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
CanadaCold
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great jacket. It works as advertised, keeping you warm and dry. My one warning would be about the size: I ordered a full size larger than I normally would have, and it fits perfectly. I had tried on Columbia jackets at a retail store, so I knew what to expect. Still, for men with larger arms and broader shoulders, you may find those areas fit sungly.
Activities: Other
Conditions: City, Sweaty, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>