Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall

Bonded fleece with the heat of a big, bad parka. With rugged, burly construction and Omni-Heat® technology, the Heat Elite Lite is a seriously beefed up jacket that will handle just about everything you throw at it.
Overall rating:
3.812 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
12 out of 15(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Review 1 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works For Me!

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
PonyCarGuy
Location: Ancaster, ON
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I took the recommended advice and bought a size larger. Gave me more room, but that's fine as you can wear multiple layers (I just usually wear a t-shirt). Back of the jacket extends almost to the bottom of my cheeks, and sleeve length is about 2" past my wrists. Also the sleeve openings are adjustable with velcro. Foot-long openings on either side pockets can hold large winter gloves; the only other pocket is the left chest, good for a wallet.
Only tested it to -8C/18F, but it worked well and kept me toasty. It'll be my winter jacket and it's ideal for light duty use; to and from the car and for winter walking. It seems like an ideal jacket for activites, but it might not be warm enough if you're not exerting yourself in the cold. Winter wind might also pose a challenge.
Canadians note that Columbia Sportwear Canada does not import this jacket, so you'll have to import it yourself. Arrived 2 days after ordering.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heat Elite Lite

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
NavyDave
Location: Afghanistan
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just picked this up before heading to the mountains of Afghanistan. This product looks great, functions as advertised and is a solid value. I really appreciate the light weight and easy packability. I highly recommend this product
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big Men's Heat Elite

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
BigCoop
Location: Northeast, NJ
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I normally do not write reviews on products but I felt compelled to this time. I had been looking for a quality light weight jacket that would keep me warm for about a month. I ordered several other jackets from Columbia but none of them fit the way I wanted them to either they were too short, to tight or looked terrible on me. I called the Columbia store in AC a week after hurricane Sandy hit us and explained my story to the store manager. All I can say is that his professionalism and product knowledge was the best I have ever experienced. He told me exactly which jacket to order and he was right on point with it. I attend many high school football games in the Northeast and being that I am a member of the media I am allowed on the sidelines, I hated wearing my other jackets from when I was affiliated with other schools. So I needed a quality jacket that would keep me warm during the cold December months that did not have any school affiliation. So far so good, this jacket has kept me warm and is very stylish. The biggest test will be this weekend when I am at MetLife Stadium for the championships, but I’m sure this jacket will handle all that the elements dish out.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent jacket for tall men

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Customer avatar
waterman
Location: San Francisco
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am 6'5", weight 195lbs and this product fits me perfectly. I am very happy with the fit and the jacket as a whole. Thanks Columbia.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Windy
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible sizing - not big, not tall

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Customer avatar
DCTraveler
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
As a frequent business traveler, I was excited to find this jacket--seemed perfect for airplanes and short trips. Unfortunately, this Big & Tall fleece jacket is neither big nor tall. While the body of the jacket is scaled up for size, Columbia seemingly forgot to make the arm holes any bigger, making the jacket incredibly uncomfortable to wear. If possible, buy a size or two larger than you think you'll need. Also, the jacket isn't particularly long either--only the sleeves are extended to make the jacket "Tall." The worst part: Columbia hasn't fixed the product after several reviewers have pointed out these issues with the jacket. I'd love to buy this again--the quality looked terrific--if it were actually sized correctly.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just right for me :)

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Sirwebbie
Location: Oklahoma
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Tall guy short torso. So, I had no problem trying this out. I love the Columbia look and I'm not going to find tall jackets of ths quality anywhere else. Fit is 10/10. Comfort is 9/10 only because the silver lining is slightly scratchy when i wear short sleeves. It is my #1 preferred jacket to pull out of my closet now because of how sharp it looks. People like it. Love the outer zip breast pocket. Great for small stuff. Would prefer the larger side zip pockets be lined for hand warmth but undertand the need for ventilation as the jacket can get quite warm when layered underneath. Given the need to zip these up and insulate, I would like to have two other hand pockets near the waste. Knowing all this, I would still buy it again and might buy another at a different color.
Overall rating 9.5/10
Activities: Other, Commuting
Conditions: City, Rainy, Freezing, Other
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

looks great but wayyyyyy small

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Customer avatar
markd
Location: alexandria va
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
tight in arms can barley zip up, looks great but need about 2 more sizes higher than i ordered
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

tall guy

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Customer avatar
jumper
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 6' 5" and this jacket fits like a glove one of the best, being tall It's hard to find stuff that fits ! and this jacket does that!
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Freezing, Cement/Asphalt, Other
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Large Tall - Excellent fit and completely satisfied.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
dSkl109
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 6'5", and my wing span is 3 inches longer than my height. I weigh 190 lbs., and the jacket fit perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm and Light

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
aquinnish
Location: Phila., PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this for my husband . Truthfully, I would have purchased a NorthFace Denali but he is very tall (XLT) and has a long torso and arms and needed a tall mans warm, light jacket. They do not sell tall sizes, which therefore brought me to the Columbia Heat Elite. It is a nice looking jacket, the sleeves are long enough however the torso really isn't as long as I would have expected. The foil-like inside is kinda cool, not really soft and comfy as a Denali. Not sure if it will be warm enough for the cold winter months in the Philadelphia area..probably good enough until it hits about 30degrees though.I found this jacket to be expensive for the quality however.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Windy, Freezing, Other
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It's not tall.

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
PunkRockTuba
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you are a person that normally buys tall labeled clothing, don't buy this jacket. In the body, it is no taller than their normal sizes, the only increase in length is in the sleeves.
I have a tall torso and was so excited when I saw that Columbia made "tall" jackets. I ordered it and once I got it was shocked to see the body length is the exact same as all of the others, the one place I needed it to be taller. I will be returning my jacket, and wanted to warn would-be buyers.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Other
I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byKathy67
Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about Kathy67 is loaded.
Additional information about Kathy67 could not be loaded.
Bummer
onFebruary 12, 2013
I got on your websight to check out tall sizes. So many comments on the body not being long enough. Seems like I always find either "Big" sizes or Big and Tall. I just need tall. So frustrating to find coats for my boys who are 6ft. 5 and 6 ft. 10...Please Help Columbia
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

jacket

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
susug
Location: ny
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket was a gift --I was told it was great
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

"Tall" size is not scaled correctly for a tall person!

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer avatar
DebNY
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This might be an awesome jacket, but we will never know since I have to return it. The tall size fits horribly. I was hoping this would be a great gift for my very tall husband. I ordered a 2XLT. He is not overweight, I would say he has a medium build proportionate to his height. Although the jacket is long enough for his height and the sleeves do reach to his wrists, the shoulders are very narrow and the sleeves are so slender that he couldn't bend his arms. It is frustrating that most companies that decide to create a line af "tall clothes" don't take the time to adjust the entire garment to fit a tall person. Just lengthening a garment does not mean it will fit. Every part has to be adjusted to accomodate a larger/longer frame.
Activities: Commuting
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gave as a gift, he wouldn't take it off!

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer avatar
4KENNY
Location: MOUNT VERNON, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We gave the Heat Elite Lite II jacket as gift to a family member. He loved it so much he didn't want to take it off. He is a tall man, but the length was perfect and fit was great. He is looking forward to wearing it on those cold days in Eastern Washington.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So Far So Good

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
PlaneTruth
Location: Burlington, VT
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this jacket in the hopes of finding a lightweight, non-bulky jacket for Vermont winter days when temps are below freezing but not below zero. So far, so good, although I haven't yet had many days below freezing. I walk to my office, and that has been my primary use so far. I like the style and look of the jacket quite a bit. The Omni-Heat seems to work as advertised.
So far it has handled light rain and a little snow just fine.
My only issue is that the sleeves, where they meet the body, are a bit tight and bunch a bit awkwardly. Otherwise, it fits true to size.
Activities: Other, Commuting
Conditions: City, Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket – Tall
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Definitely warm

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Nittanynickster
Location: DC
So my only complaint is that I have a different jacket from Columbia that is the same size and this one feels a bit tighter. Not that it's a whole size smaller but just enough. It stood up really well to a wet snow and low 30 degree weather recently.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.