Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall

Columbia Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall

The perfect compromise between blizzard in the forecast and first chill of fall, this multi-functional softshell works hard and plays even harder.
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
43 out of 50(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Review 1 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jacket; Exceptional Value

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
9outof10mms
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I bought this jacket for a backcountry trip into the Colorado Rockies. Temps were expected to be 30 lo/60 hi. I haven't previously owned a softshell jacket, so this was my first time venturing into this type of gear. I'm always on a strict and tight budget, so this jacket kept popping up in all of my searches for low cost and high quality. The only consistent negative comment I read was about the lining material "snagging" your shirt/base layer. This is EASILY remedied by simply holding onto your sleeves (if it's a long sleeve shirt; this argument is null if you're wearing short sleeves) as you slip the jacket on. Beyond that, I can't find a SINGLE thing wrong with it. The fit was perfect for my frame (6'2" 235lbs). The jacket is light enough to not be noticeable when wearing or carrying it. It 100% blocked steady wind gusts of 15-20 mph and it provided an excellent layer for warmth on its own (with only a t-shirt under it) down to about 45-50 degrees and some slight movement generating heat. Below that, I threw on a long sleeve t-shirt and it kept me perfectly comfortable. It shed a light mist/rain easily without becoming soggy. For heavier rain, I put a rain jacket overtop of it, so I don't know how it performs in a downpour. It even repelled the smell of smoke from a campfire when everything else got saturated! I was most surprised/impressed by that.
This jacket is an exceptional value compared to everything else in its category being nearly double the cost. Columbia.com offered a very fair price for fast shipping (I waited 'til the last minute to order). I suspect this jacket will become my everyday when temps start to dip for the fall-spring months (above 45 degrees or so). It shows no signs of wear on the shoulders after backpacking with an overloaded pack!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fit for Tall Man

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer avatar
SuperTall
Location: Washington State
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Ascender II in the XL Tall is a wonderful fit for me. I am a lanky 6'8" at 200 pounds. A lot of jackets that are classified as tall always end up being too short in the sleeve.
Not so with the Ascender II, the sleeve comes all the way to the base of my thumb even in the elbow bent position. This is one of the best fitting jackets I have ever had!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Material

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Customer avatar
TallGuy25
Location: Greater Boston
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the overall style and outer material. Very good in wind and rain.
Size: Bought XLT although I'm a LT. Sleeve length is super good. Overall fit good. Jacket is a touch short, not an issue. Color is great, NAVY.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

such warmth, much quality

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
rupley3928
Location: Rochester, NY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this jacket is excellent. perfect thickness, exquisite fit and a great selection of colors.
my one and only complaint is regarding the breast pocket, which is far too small to be useful.
hats off to Columbia for offering the large tall option unlike the competition.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

XLT....Great!

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
BecomingALR927
Location: Dickinson ND
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband is a big guy, 6'8"....we were struggling finding him a coat that fit in the arms and was long enough in the waist without getting bunchy and too big in the midsection. Took a chance on the XLT and it's a great fit. He likes the cut and comfort and because his job requires him to work in professional settings but also push snow, this fits both functions! Was such a great purchase!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Arm Sleeeves A Little Tight

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
SlimforHeight
Location: Collierville, TN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really enjoyed the quality of this jacket. The function was good.
The fit was good, except I am a slender person for 6'8" at 240lbs. and the sleeves felt a little tight even for me. I cannot imagine that these sleeves would fit an individual who has a heavier bone structure or heavier muscular build in the arms.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Sweets
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was everything I expected. I ordered 2 jackets in Large tall. One was for a 6'3" guy and the other was for a 6'2 guy. They jackets fit great. No compliants here.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I'm a big fan, but...

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
StoneSoulPicnic
Location: Atlanta. GA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have purchased three Columbia jackets over the years, two fleece and this Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall about a month ago. The quality is so inconsistent until it's concerning. Both fleece jackets are coming apart at the collar seem (admittedly, one is old but the other is less than a year) and this new jacket, which is a full size larger then I usually get, but stills feels snug and short for a "Big and Tall" size.
Maybe you are shifting manufacturers to get a better handle on costs - if that's the case, I get it. But you should never compromise quality. C'mon Columbia! I'll stick with you because there are not many options out there for me in my size, but this is frustrating.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Men’s Ascender II

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
chucker
Location: chehalis, wa
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice coat wrong color little disappointing very nice otherwise
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love them

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
DVBo
Location: Raleigh, NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were not sure of size for my son-in-law so we got a Large Tall and an EXLarge tall. The large worked great for him and was beyond what we were thinking we would get. As would have it the XL fit me so we will not be returning one. We both were very happy with the fit and quality of the jackets. The material is very soft and weave is tight and makes the jacket windproof. I will be getting my son one soon for his birthday. Everyone loves the look.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
KAB490
Location: Texas
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket in a large tall is a perfect fit my 6'3" 195 lb son. He wears a 16 1/2 slim 36/37 dress shirt and the fit of this jacket in LT is spot on. Finding a jacket with sleeves long enough to fit comfortably is always a challenge and this one works.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ascender II softshell

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
RW1983
Location: Alabama
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The quality of this jacket is great. True to size and it's easy to see that it is well made. To me the only draw back of this jacket is that the entire inside is fleece. I purchased this jacket to wear with casual business attire and the fleece causes the sleeves of my dress shirts to bunch up when sliding my arms in. Other than that it's great.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice coat

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
stevent
Location: Bonney Lake
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
drizzle proof warm and comfy for the mild Seattle weather. Nice fit
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Water water but not on me

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
OhioRoger
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
The first night I wore my jacket was Halloween, it rained the entire time. I stayed dry and warm after 2.5 hours in the rain. I love it!!! Feels much nicer than my north face jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket. Tall sizes are great.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer avatar
AIVH
Location: Slinger, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I decided to get this jacket for my husband's birthday gift, because he has long arms (36/37 sleeve). It fit him great! Jacket sleeves are always too short for him, and this sleeve is the perfect length. I got him a L Tall. It's a pricey jacket, but also high quality. And, finding a nice jacket that fits him is worth the extra $.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great multi-purpose jacket!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Phuaad
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Both the style and quality of this jacket are fantastic! I had read other reviews previously saying that it fits a little small, and that's true, particularly in the sleeves. But I'm very happy with my purchase!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great jacket!

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer avatar
afan2
Location: Northern California
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a gift to my son who is 6'6" so the tall large was a perfect fit. It has been difficult to find the right length and width for him. As he is tall and lanckey, tall, large was perfect. This jacket is better insulated than his old one, so he is looking forward to using it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Fall-Winter Jacket

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer avatar
EuropeTraveler
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a lightweight warm jacket for a long time and this is exactly what I was wanting. I tried on a similar North Face jacket that was a large, but it fit horribly so I risked ordering the LT from Columbia and couldn't be happier. I am 6'2 200 pounds and the jacket fit great; fits maybe slightly big, but the length past my waist is perfect and isn't baggy. It is even water repellent which I love. Wore it for an entire day of sightseeing in Nuremberg, Germany while there was a light rain and was perfectly dry when I took the jacket off. Very functionally, not to mention it looks good. Would highly recommend this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product, consider sizing up.

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
EY612
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As others have mentioned, this product runs small. After reading the reviews, I got the impression that it would run a little short in the body, which was OK as most LT's typically run a bit long for me, but it was also tight in the chest. It is noticeably smaller than my LT Columbia fleece. This jacket is designed to be more form fitting, but consider buying a size bigger as it is still outerwear.
I exchanged it for an XLT and from there am happy with the product.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ascender II Softshell - Lightweight Jacket for 40+ degrees

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer avatar
WaterMark67
Location: Baltimore
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Purchased this jacket as my previous Columbia Soft Shell was ragged and worn.
Pros: This is a versatile jacket for the 40+ degree days.
Cons: I find the jacket runs smaller than previously owned Columbia jackets, the sleeves are narrow. forcing you to reach into the sleeve and pull your shirt sleeve down if wearing a long sleeve shirt. Its not overly windproof, as it lacks a storm flap behind the zipper, allowing wind to penetrate the zipper.
The white thread stitching for Columbia on the left breast and Omni-Shield on the left cuff is a bit bold, Grey thread would be better suited for a black jacket.
In Summary, its a great looking jacket that can be dressed up or dressed down. If it were wind proof, it would be a much better three season jacket. The fit is slim, I'm 6'4", 250lbs and I wear an XL Tall. My forearm is 13" around at my elbow, and the sleeve is snug.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>