Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall

Columbia Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall

The perfect compromise between blizzard in the forecast and first chill of fall, this multi-functional softshell works hard and plays even harder.
Overall rating:
4.314 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
43 out of 50(86%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Review 1 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Men's Ascender II softshell is phenomenal! Extremely comfortable, very warm, perfection! I've had other top brand softshell jackets but none compare to this one.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice!

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this coat as a Christmas gift for my boyfriend. He is a very tall, thick man. Most coats, jackets and shirts are hard to purchase for him because he is so tall. Finding something that fits both overall length and arm length is difficult. This coat fit him perfect in both areas. It was very true to the size and he loves it. He is able to wear it with his thick sweaters and still have it fit perfect. I am very happy with it.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Other
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gift for the hubby!

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is a very sharp looking jacket and my husband loves it. It's very versatile in that it can be worn casually but looks much nicer than a fleece. He is really happy with the quality and fit and recommends it highly.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Totally Pleased---

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: ILLINOIS
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were unable to find the size "Men's Ascender II Softshell - Tall Jacket" we needed anywhere and after several weeks of shopping we contacted "COLUMBIA" and they not only had the size we were looking for, they offered to send it to us over night delivery just in time for Christmas.
AND IT FIT PERFECTALLY-----------HE REALLY LIKES IT!!!
"THANK YOU---THANK YOU --COLUMBIA--SPORTSWEAR"!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has the length we were looking for.

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the style, fit and length of this Columbia XL Tall jacket.
My son who is 21 is tall and it is very difficult to find stylish things in his size. I was hoping to find a selection of Tall sized jackets at the Columbia Outlet store in our area, but no luck (as usual) So I chose a few styles I liked & went to the website & ordered 1 in XL Tall from the styles we chose at the store. Really have to go to the extra lengths (unexpected pun) to find things in his size. Plus because I had to buy online at Columbia instead of the outlet store I had to pay 2x the amount of the jackets at the outlet to get what I wanted.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Andy

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have looked at this product for many years. Never able to find it a available off the rack in any store. Needed a big and tall size. Purchased online, have absolutely loved the coat. Far exceed my expectations!
Activities: Commuting
Conditions: City
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight but warm - Tall Sizes actually fit.

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Louisiana
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So often tall sizes just don't fit right.
This jacket is awesome!!! Lightweight but very warm. No wind coming through. The fit is great, sleeves plenty long enough. Think I just found my favorite jacket.
Conditions: City, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Under Sized and Miss Proportioned

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've worn Columbia jackets for over twenty years. They no longer make my favorite Falmouth jacket so I decided to try the Ascender II as it appeared to be "similar" in purpose to my old Falmouth. It is way too small and the sleeves on my "tall" XL are way too short. I also don't care for the material and general look of the Ascender II. I will be returning the jacket. I don't know what else to buy from Columbia so I will begin searching out other clothing lines until they bring back something similar to the Falmouth.
Activities: Commuting
Conditions: Snowy
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Customer Service

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Valencia, CA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We recently purchased 24 of the Men's Ascender Softshell jacket and wanted them to be the identical shade of Tusk. The website had two different shades between regular and tall. We really liked the sample jacket we had purchased so I contacted customer service and Linda helped me. She assured me that all of our jackets would be identical in color and was great to work with. Our jackets arrived and all 24 are IDENTICAL in color and the quality is great.
We would definitely buy from them again.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Mans Ascender II

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Boston Ma
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fits great and is everything I expected. Thanks Columbia for making the Big Sizes. Swede
Activities: Fishing - Flats Fishing, Boating, Fishing - Deep Sea, Fishing - Freshwater
Conditions: Rainy, Windy, Freezing, White Water, Open Ocean
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a big guy so I'm usually cautious buying clothing online because it is hard to find clothing in Tall sizes that fit well. This coat has wonderful and fits me perfectly. I'm a fan of Columbia and this jacket. Thanks
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great for changing weather!

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Lapeer, MI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Men's Ascender II Softshell - Tall for my boyfriend. He is a large man and needed the tall size. We live in Michigan where the climate and conditions of the weather change from day to day, sometimes hour to hour. He is always on the go and wanted something he could move with ease in, yet offer protection from the elements. This jacket offered everything that he needed!
Margaret, MI
Activities: Other, Commuting
Conditions: Sunny, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Other
I would recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
Women's Melange Maven™ Down Jacket-Extended Size
4.7 out of 5(18)
 
 
 
Women’s Bugaboot® Plus XTM Omni-Heat
4.4 out of 5(20)
 
 
 
Women's Heat Elite™ Jacket
4.6 out of 5(23)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ascender II Jacket is great!

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: La France, SC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased the Ascender II soft shell jacket for my husband for Christmas and he is very pleased! I have to order from the big and tall department and he is always worried that the product will not be tall enough to suit him. The Ascender II jacket is very true to size! I haven't been this pleased about an online purchase in years! Columbia is awesome!
Activities: Other
Conditions: Other
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Runs small to size

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Northern California
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered an Ascender II in 3XT. It was distinctly smaller than any other 3XT I have ever ordered from anyone. It is an excellent jacket, just not sized accurately.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice jacket but very short

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Denton, TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this jacket a few days ago after spending some time looking for a softshell jacket that would fit as i have a long torso. When I ordered the jacket I bought a size larger and I ordered the tall version, when the jacket arrived I tried it on and was very disappointed to see how short it was. I had looked at similar jackets in other brands that were not available with a "tall" distinction and this jacket seems to fit about the same. I have several columbia button up shirts and several inches hang out below the jacket which is a size larger. I am seriously disappointed, I will most likely be returning this jacket.
On the plus side it has great construction, is very warm and has several roomy pockets for storage. It would be the perfect jacket for cold fall days or light winter days in north Texas.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ascender softshell is top rate

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Plymouth WI
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Ascender Softshell is easy to move in yet very warm. It is not bulky at all. Wind and rain are kept out but the fabric still breathes. A great product.
Activities: Running
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not seem tall

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: CA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
We originally ordered an XLT in the Ascender that was in the outlet. The length was good, but it was too wide. The LT in that model was out of stock at the clearance price. So we decided to order this edition in the LT. So disappointed in this one!! It does not seem to be cut as a tall size whatsoever. Now, I will have to mail a return again and not sure I will try another product in tall or not.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Choose this one.

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase. Do not look farther. A must have item.
Activities: Other, Commuting
Conditions: City, Rainy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

JACKET RUNS SMALL

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: DAYTON, OH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I BOUGHT A 4XLT JACKET BECAUSE I'M 6'5 AND 340 LBS. THE JACKET FIT AROUND MY SHOULDERS AND MID SECTION FINE, BUT WAS REALLY SHORT FOR BEING A "TALL"
WAS A LITTLE DISAPPOINTED IN THE LENGTH, BUT WOULD HAVE GOTTEN THE NEXT SIZE UP IF AVAILABLE, BUT THEY STOP AT THE 4XLT.
I ENDED UP RETURNING THE JACKET BECAUSE THAT WAS A LOT OF MONEY TO NOT BE COMPLETELY SATISFIED WITH THE PRODUCT.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell — Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply amazing - a "guy" review

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Davidson, NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat/jacket is simply amazing. The fit is perfect on the LT for a taller guy that is not very large. This is for the guy that wants a nice jacket that "fits" right, great quality and still gives a slender look. I always have an issue (all tall guys have experienced) where the jacket is long enough but to big/bulky because they it was both BIG and TALL. The LT size gets the tall fit PERFECT - but leaves a lot of the unnecessary BIG out of the equation.
This is my most highly recommended jacket - I spent many hours finding the right one.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>