Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Hexaholic™ Down Jacket - Tall

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Hexaholic™ Down Jacket - Tall

The hexagon is not just a good idea; it’s a force of nature. From the structure of honeycomb and snowflakes to the patterns on turtle shells, the strength and versatility of the six-sided shape is multifold. We used it as design inspiration for this serious down jacket, which blends Omni-Heat® thermal reflective technology with the 700 fill power down for renowned warmth.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Hexaholic™ Down Jacket - Tall
Review 1 for Men’s Hexaholic™ Down Jacket - Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Unique, interesting coat

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Darkstonecastle
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like pretty much everything about it except for a few small things. Biggest complaint would be the main zipper. It has fairly small teeth and doesn't seem nearly as durable as my old North Face coat. Also, mine didn't come with the pronounced 'leap frog' zips like in the pic on the website. Mine are much more subdued. Although I will have to wait till winter to really test it out, I can tell from just putting it on in the house that it will be a very warm coat! Feels very soft with just the right amount of 'puffiness.' Very cozy type of coat. It is, however, very expensive, but I'd say it's worth it...but just barely. I'd give it a 4.5 out of 5, but since I can't I will have to go with 4 due to my concern over the durability of the main zipper.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Hexaholic™ Down Jacket - Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

big in the chest but good arm length

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Troy
Location: Portland, OR
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my husband who usually wears 2XT or 3XT. He has broad shoulders and long arms which is hard to shop for because everything ends up being HUGE in the mid-section. He is 230 and 6'2" with a 46 chest and 38 sleeve. I got the 3XT to ensure that the sleeve length would be sufficient and it is. However, as usual, the jacket over all is too big. But at least the sleeves fit! It's very warm without being bulky, water resistant, and light weight. The pattern is cool and the colors are cool. The inside is a metallic flashy and I think my husband is slightly embarrassed by it but oh well. It's a great jacket - just very wide.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Hexaholic™ Down Jacket - Tall
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Awesome but narrow in the shoulders

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer avatar
David123
Location: New York City
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I so, so badly wanted to have this jacket, but the Large Tall was just too restrictive on my arm movements--other reviewers said the same about the narrowness on the shoulders. Large parkas are usually too short in the arms for me but fine around the shoulders, and extra larges are usually too big in the chest for me. I had to return this, though I really liked it otherwise.
Eddie Bauer/First Ascent makes a great line of tall-sized down parkas but they're not as cool as this one.
Activities: Skiing
Conditions: City
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Hexaholic™ Down Jacket - Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Non-Puffy Down Filled Coat

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Greggy63
Location: Chaumont NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very warm. Great hood. Fits a little tight across shoulers.
Activities: Other
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Hexaholic™ Down Jacket - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portland Surroundings

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Alan
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket! Was too large so we returned it for a size smaller. Great to be able to get in a "tall" as well. Good service response to our questions, return policy and re-order process.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Other, Snowshoeing
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Other
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s Hexaholic™ Down Jacket - Tall
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: Angola, IN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is a good looking coat and I have received several compliments on how it looks. I ordered a 3X tall and was suprised, I am a big guy but most of the time a 3X tall is plenty big with room to spare. This coat just fit. The zippers on the coat from the internet ad appear to have a vivid orange/squash color, but when the zippers are zipped they are black. Over all I am happy with the coat, but if you are a big guy a size up might be the play.
Activities: Skiing, Other
Conditions: Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s Hexaholic™ Down Jacket - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Christmas Gift For Brother-In-Law

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
Youngmonk
Location: Irvine, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pulled my Brother-In-Law's name for this year's gift exchange. Knew it was going to be a real chore finding something he would like or fit. He recently lost a bunch of weight but continues to wear very large clothing, 3XL or 4XL. Most of what he wears hangs on him but is necessary to accommodate longer arms and torso. This jacket was perfect. Not only did I have the choice to buy a Tall version of a 2XL but the styling was very cool. He opened it up on Christmas and immediately had that look like, "this is not going to fit me right". It was right on the money. I think I've introduced a definite new fan of Columbia's Tall line of clothing. Thanks.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Hexaholic™ Down Jacket - Tall
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Jacket

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Joey0987
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not for sub zero but light and good for southern winters.
Activities: Fishing - Deep Sea
Conditions: City
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Hexaholic™ Down Jacket - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm, Comfortable Jacket

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Customer avatar
AndyMN
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore this jacket while being outdoors in the elements (windy and snowy) and around 15 degrees and it kept me very warm. It's a very nice looking jacket and not too puffy being that it's down. I've owned three Columbia jackets in the past and this is by far the nicest looking and the warmest I've owned. The last few MN winters have been brutal, so I'm looking forward to seeing how the jacket holds up in many of our sub-zero days and nights.
I own the black jacket, and the only thing I noticed is that the zippers/pocket lining on the inside of the jacket are light blue and the picture shows them being gray. I would suggest to update the photo to make sure it's 100% accurate.
Activities: Other
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Hexaholic™ Down Jacket - Tall
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect winter jacket.

PostedNovember 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Hawaiian
Location: Alexandria Virginia
This is my third winters coat that I have owned by Columbia and I have never been disappointed yet these are the best made coats.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.