Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big

Columbia Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big

Pairing a lightweight, insulated inner jacket with the wet-and-cold rejecting performance of a fully seam sealed, waterproof-breathable shell results in unprecedented warmth and protection during activities in challenging winter weather; wear these pieces separately or pair them together depending on conditions for ultimate versatility.
Overall rating:
4.381 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
19 out of 20(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Review 1 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Jacket!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Customer avatar
ncradford
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket about a year ago and I have been very pleased with it throughout last winter and the several snowstorms that we had in North Carolina.
A few weeks ago I attended the Notre Dame/Stanford football game in South Bend Indiana and the weather was miserable. We're talking 32 degree temps with 20-30 mph winds and a steady downpour of rain. There really was no reason to be outside.
My trusty Columbia jacket was up to the challenge though. In the 4 plus hours we were there, I never got cold or wet even one bit. I have no idea how, but I can tell you that I sure was happy to be warm and dry. If this jacket can survive those conditions after a year of use, it can keep you warm and dry from anything!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love the jacket

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
steve6328
Location: chicago
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this jacket is great. they didnt have my size in a XXL in the color i wanted but the 3x was teh same size in big and tall. this jacket is extremely warm and not good for 50-60 degree weather. highly recommend
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

warm

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
chris75
Location: caro,mi
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
coat is very warm,body of jacket fits well but sleeves are very tight from elbow to wrist. overall very happy ,wish had more room in sleeves
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything Good except the 'Hood

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
luvuback
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is lightweight, highly maneuverable, and I never get overheated. I've worn it when the weather has been in the teens and low 20s but I've also been layering up w/ a sweater.
Adjusting the hood is a problem. It is hard to figure out to make it fit exactly. I wish it was just 2 strings.
Taking off the outer shell is easy and you have a Spring jacket. It's easy to go places with this jacket as it packs wells.
I highly recommend spending the money on this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT Coat!

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
DocHinshaw
Location: Central Indiana
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great coat. Very warm, lots of pockets. Not cheap but well worth it. I got the Buffalo. Love the color.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
RLC66
Location: Seminole Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sheds water like a duck keeps you warm but not hot zippers do not jam. the liner is ease to remove and reinstal. The fit is true to size the quality is excellent. You could spend more money on a jacket but you could not buy a better one best bang for the buck.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat for MN winters

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
cacmpls
Location: Minneapolis
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this for my husband. This coat runs slightly smaller, so I bought 1 size larger than he normally wears. Fits well an is warm enough for sub zero MN winters.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet Jacket

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
BigTom
Location: Jeannette, PA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a big guy at 300 LBs and tried the XXL on in the store and it was two small so I came on line and ordered the XXXL. It fits very well in all areas but the arms seem a bit small to me in the armpit area and the top of the sleeves guess they figure big guys arms are same size a smaller guys. This is why I said it runs small in sizing.
No as far as the jackets ability to do what they say could not be happier. I have worn it out hiking on the trail in a 30°F day and had to unzip the armpits to keep me cool. I only had a base and mid layer on under it and I was fine. No we just had this cold snap this past week and I was out in -4°F with wind chills of -20°F with just a base layer and mid layer and this jacket out preformed any other jacket I have owned.
Finally I never believed all the stuff people said about this type of jacket and figured I would try one to see if it was true and they didn't lie. If your out doors a lot and want a jacket that doesn't need heavy layers underneath take a good look at this one. I have not had it in the rain yet but from what I see it should do just fine.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Returned but good quality

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Vinnichains
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought the coat for my father. He's husky. The fit wasn't very good. The arms are tight. Didn't like the zipper everyone complains about either. Paid $17 to ship it back which wasn't fun. Especially when the Outlet store I went to didn't confirm I could return it there.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Lhotse Mountain II Jacket

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Frank2014
Location: St. Paul, MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is by far the warmest jacket that I own. I live in Minnesota where the temperatures fail below (-0)F and this jacket still keeps me warm. There are so many features (pockets, hood etc.) that it really should come with a guide tag. I am a big guy that would normally need a 3XL, but I purchased a 4XL and I am glad that I did as the jacket does run a little small in the chest. With the lifetime guarantee and the comfort and looks that this jacket offers, it far surpasses any of their competitors jackets that I have owned or tried. I highly recommend this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

big man sizes run small!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
mkd63
Location: midwest
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i am 63 yrs old, 6'2" , 275 lbs., have a 46" waist , 52 chest, 50" hips, and wear a 37" long sleeve shirt. I normally would have ordered a 3xl big but I spent a long time trying to decide what size coat to get. after reading reviews on amazon and placing calls to Columbia customer service about sizing and coat dimensions I went with the 4xl even though in most mfg's coats a 3xl would have given me plenty of room. if you are at all in question between sizes ordering this coat I would go with the larger size. these coats run very small for there stated sizes!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love it

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
billybobOCC
Location: oregon coast
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
got this jacket on black friday and totally love it so many pockets and really love the zip out layer though i may try a different inner layer
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket - Why so small????

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
BubbaHusky
Location: West Hartford, CT
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great jacket at a great price. And with the removable inner lining - you're really getting two jackets in one. The jacket stands up to very cold weather (it's been 0 - 10 degrees in the Northeast recently - the fabric is durable and looks great. It's everything I'd expect in a Columbia jacket. However, I have no idea why the 4X is actually the size of a 3X. Who designs a jacket that way? There was a caviat that the jacket runs slightly small - but that is a joke. These jackets run VERY SMALL. Would suggest redesigning the jacket or telling customers to at least get the next size up. Also, I didn't like where the pockets are located - but not a big deal.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very, Very small sizing

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Mark123
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did order this coat, but unfortunately had to send it back due to being too small. The coat itself is well made and looks like it would be good in cold weather.
I did heed other comments that the sizing is small, but it is VERY small. I normally get a 2XL coat, which gives me room to wear a fleece or sweater underneath, so based on other comments, I ordered a 4XL, thinking it would be fine with the inner jacket that comes in the coat (and I would not need a fleece anymore). But the 4XL fits like a normal XL size from other vendors. I have 4 other coats/jackets that are 2XL & 3XL, and this coat is considerably smaller. I don't understand why Columbia would have such a sizing difference and keep it. So, if you do order a coat from Columbia, you should order one at least 3 sizes larger than you normally wear.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Quality

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
brswain60
Location: Utah
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am thoroughly satisfied with the Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket, purchased in a Big size. It's so difficult to find coats and jackets of this quality in my size, so coming across a product like this one is a real find. The fit is very accommodating, the practical features (such as plenty of pockets inside and out) are so useful, the handsome cut and style are flattering to a man of my build. Best of all the jacket is light but warm and the layering system is really versatile, permitting adjustment to suit changing weather conditions. All in all a great jacket. I'm very pleased.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Chris197474
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was really looking forward to getting this jacket. It was almost identical to the very first Columbia jacket I bought over 10 years ago. It was on sale and I couldn't wait to receive it. I took the advise of others and went up a size 3X to 4X and that still did not seem to do the trick, it was very very snug. I even took all of my measurements based on their size chart and the cut and fit of the jacket. I should have had room and the length should have been longer.I have a bugaboo jacket I bought a few years ago and it does the trick, I just wanted an upgrade. This just was a huge let down. The front pockets are so far apart, on the sides of the jacket, you really cannot use them. I truly hope Columbia reads these reviews and does something about the size. It may help to actually get a big person or two and take real life measurements. This is a huge let down and I was hoping to break it in during Chicago's first arctic blast.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compliments make me feel the money well spent.

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
CaptChuck
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
My new jacket arrived just in time for our cold-snap. Outdoors in 26 degrees, I am very comfortable and warm.
I love the heat shield, easy to remove and I slim down for
evening wear. Many complliments from friends and others standing in line. I am out in the early morning cold flying
A Balloon Over Sonoma.
Money well spent for this amazing jacket.
Chuck
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent, but ...

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
ACNJ
Location: Haymarket, VA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall I am very pleased with my new jacket. It fits well, is light weight, and warm. The only feature it is missing that I would have liked is the type of zipper that can be opened from the bottom when zipped closed to prevent the jacket “riding-up” when seated in an auto, etc. I have a Columbia "Gizzmo" jacket from years ago that has this double-ended type of zipper and it has been very useful.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great versatile jacket

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
DanCO
Location: Denver, CO
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is very versatile and functional. Living in Colorado, the weather is always changing, so this jacket is perfect. Layering is the key for the CO climate. The only negative is that it is sized smaller than other jacket brands, so size up.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Luv It!

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Dave67
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got my Christmas present early via the form of a rain/sleet/snow storm. My wife gave me a Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket – Big. Had to spend 1.5 hrs outside at 2F and 20-25mph gusts clearing the drive way. Never felt like I left the house. The Omni heat liner works. The upper neck closure and hood kept all the wind out. I normally take 2XL but had to go to a 3X for the cut used in this coat (2XL shoulder room limiting).
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>