Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big

Columbia Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big

Rain-stopping technology with a kick: the thermal reflective lining in this technical trail jacket provides an extra hit of lightweight warmth at a price that's hard to beat.
Overall rating:
3.85 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
12 out of 17(71%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Review 1 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too thin

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Phoste
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I realize this is a rain jacket, but I feel the material is too thin. It looks good, but I'm not convinced by the purpose of the jacket.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Chris90
Location: Greensboro, NC
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am 6ft 1in 310lbs with an athletic build. I bought the 4x sized Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket and I am very pleased. I bought the jacket before I read the reviews, and I was already set to send it back once it arrived because so many people complained about the fit. I always buy one size up when shopping online just from experience. Once the jacket arrived, I put it on and was like I'm going to buy another one because I love the fit. For those of you that were in the Army in the 90's it fits exactly like the military issued cold weather jacket but lighter and not as expensive. I love the product and will be ordering more.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tech II Jacket

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
lawandorderfan
Location: Orland Park, IL
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
This jacket is really nice. My husband liked the fit..
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super All Around

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mac69
Location: Missouri
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket meets and/or exceeds all the expectations I had for this product. Fits well, warm even in 40 degree temperatures, and looks great. The first day I wore it I had two other Officers order one.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

high priced wind breaker

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bigsunshyn
Location: Cleveland ,ohio
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Got this jacket for my brother that works at the airport waving the planes in. i thought this would keep him warm on cold winter days because it is Omni heat reflected. it is just a wind breaker. he wears it along with a large winter coat over it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice jacket - runs quite small

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
AcousticMike
Location: Camas, Washington
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
C'mon folks, talk about inflation. You have inflated the size required to fit into a 2x by about 1.25 sizes. Quality and functionality make it a perfect Northwest weather jacket but Columbia needs to rethink their pattern sizes. Great stuff, incredibly small.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Looking Jacket

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
tcoyote
Location: Frankfort, KY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered the jacket for rainy winter weather we have in KY during the fall and winter. It had to come a long way, from Oregon, but it was delivered within a week and on time. I was concerned about the size running true as this has been an issue in the past. I was very pleased that the jacket fit well and was not too snug. Cannot comment about the warmth aspect as it has been a beautiful Indian summer here, but will add to the review after it turns cool.
I was surprised about the under arm zippers that this jacket has. Must have missed that while reading or it did not register, but I consider those "heat relievers" to be important when going from the outside to a store. Making the jacket comfortable inside or when doing something labor intensive.
A good looking and comfortable jacket, would highly recommend it others.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rain Tech II Jacket

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
True1Slate
Location: North Plains, OR
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and functionality of jacket is excellent. The inner lining makes the thermal characteristics excellent in the Oregon changing climate. Great multi-use Jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good jacket but runs small

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Carmello
Location: Portland Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I live in oregon the land of the forever raindrop. So far this jacket has held up very nicely. That being said I haven't been caught in a big downpour yet, only some moderate rains. The coat is very lightweight, the shell is much thinner than my Lhotse 2 shell. Also the zippers are smaller than a regular Columbia shell as a comparison. I'm glad I read these reviews earlier because the jacket runs small. I normally wear a 2-3X but got the 4X and it fits just right. As a comparison I found my 12 year old Titanium jacket and it still fits good at XL but I had to get my Lhotse in 3X and rainjacket in 4X. Where did the sizing go wacky. But I digress. I got the jacket in black and I think it looks very stylish. I've used it for the last three months of the PNW rainy season and I have no issues. I'm wearing it home tonight but I do feel it's more of a fall/spring jacket and probably wouldn't be your best bet for a heavy snow/winter jacket for that I'd go with a tougher shell like the Lhotse.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

If you have shoulders look elswere!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
JIRod72
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
OK... I am a big guy (300 lb.), I know I am and so I shop the big guy sizes. Most any other company out there I would buy either a 2 or 3 XLG and be fine. Not so with Columbia - in any of their products!
They sized around the middle fine... but forgot that most big guys have big arms and are very broad across the back of the shoulders. I could almost squeeze into the 3x sizes, and even the 4x sizes were tight around the biceps and super tight across the shoulders.
Went to JC Penny's and bought a 3x zip out lining coat for $45 instead.
I soooo wanted the Columbia stuff, but it just don't fit - they need to do more market research. Also FYI - while I was in the employee store trying stuff on I talked to no less than 3 other big guys who were all having the same problem, and the same issue was in the women's sizes (for my wife) as well.
I do not recommend this product.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Good Jacket

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
luvuback
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is well crafted jacket. No problem with the zippers, hood is just about large enough, and it is waterproof. It is more of a Spring jacket than a Fall one. A little too short around the waist and it could’ve been a little bigger. Otherwise, I recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rain Jacket

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ladale
Location: San Antonio
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Haven't worn it much but very light weight and warm, too. Will be great for rainy weather.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
TvdL
Location: Seacoast of NH
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
First, the fit. This coat runs small. I usually buy XL with room, this required XXL to still feel slightly snug.
The arm sleeves are very narrow. They are uncomfortably tight when wearing any kind of long-sleeve fleece or sweatshirt over a simple long-sleeve dress shirt, binding at both the elbows and armpits. I think it is because of this tightness of the sleeves that my arms are therefore very cold in this coat, as compared to any other coat I've ever had. OmniHeat does not make up for it.
The armpits are also very tight, again uncomfortably so with an extra layer unless the armpit zippers are open. And they can't always be opened because of weather conditions.
Next, the quality. Zippers. They are horrible on my coat. If I pull the zippers (both the main zipper as well as the front pocket zipper) straight up or straight down, parallel to my body like I am used to doing on every coat I've ever had, they get stuck on fabric. Every time. If I pull the zipper tab forward straight out at 90 degrees to my body and then up or down while maintaining the forward stress, they don't get caught. There is a funny fold of fabric just beside the zipper that partially covers the zipper - this is what is getting caught.
Finally - finish/style. The website picture of the Peatmoss Texture shows texture material for the entire coat, and I chose it because I thought it looked good. The coat I received is dull untextured olive drab over the body, with Peatmoss Texture on the sleeves only. Looks pretty ridiculous.
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Jacket Ever Owned

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
JVJE
Location: Lakewood, Wa
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket does what it says it does. It's perfect for the PNW, and the Daily Rain Storms.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nice looking; nonfunctional as a rainjacket

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
wetnsoggy
Location: Montana
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought it and went to Alaska. Looked good, fit well. Then it started to drizzle. In two hours my inside jacket was 100% wet. Went back for dry clothing. Jacket dried quickly but got wetter even faster. Total failure as a rain jacket. Six day $7,000 fishing trip three days soaked thru (17" of rain in three days). Not fun.
I own several other Columbia hunting items and they always performed extremely well. Easy return but that does not make up for the wet misery caused by equipment failure. RCK
I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice jacket, I just wish I could wear it

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
cnick6
Location: Bellevue, WA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Columbia jackets are the coolest jackets I've ever seen and have worn in the past.
Recently however, their jacket sizing has changed. I have owned a few Columbia jackets (and one ski jacket) over the years and never had an issue. The last two I have purchased are clearly undersized.
My issues:
1. I'm buying a "BIG" size. So how does the fit moniker of "Active" apply? I'm looking for large -- and I'm paying extra for that. Columbia please re-think your sizing policies. Whatever you're doing now is not working. I love your jacket styles but why can't you get your sizes straight. Come back to reality and into the real world. You're losing a lot of customers here. I purchased the 4X size. My friend wears a 2X and even he could barely zip this jacket up.
2. The "color" of the Rain Tech II Peatmoss jacket is quite a bit off. The web site cearly shows a "brown" colored jacket. The little descriptive color box shows brown and yellow. This jacket is green! I've asked several friends what color they think this jacket is... they all said the same thing... brown. It's far from it. Also the secondary color is a high-visibility green color. It sure looks yellow on the web page.
3. The picture of the jacket on the web page doesn't match what I received. The picture shows (clearly) a striped texture ... the fine vertical lines running over the jacket. This doesn't match with what I received. The main body of my jacket is solid and only the arms and a pocket covers are "striped." The picture of the "back" view is a great example. The back of the jacket I received is solid. I ordered this jacket based off the web site. If the style has changed then please update it!
Not sure why this jacket was so misrepresented. I've included photos of what I received. Perhaps the jacket style has changed? If so, then the web page should be corrected immediately.
I love the style on the web page and the brown/yellow color. I can't recommend what I received however as they are two very different products.
PS. Looking at the other colors, this is more closely what I received. The pictures used that represent the Peatmoss are just simply wrong and probably a prototype version of this jacket.
I do not recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST JACKET - EVER

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
KATOZ
Location: FLORIDA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own a great many Columbia products including 7 jackets. This is the best one yet.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just a little snug, but over-all a good jacket

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mossyoak1787
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Upon receipt of the jacket that I ordered through Columbia's website, I was a little bit dissapointed in the fact that it fits just a little bit snug. I have another Columbia coat in the exact same size and it does not fit snug at all. I assumed both would be sized the same. However, the constuction of the jacket is very good. It still fits and I am still satisfied with it. I just wish I would have gotten the next size up.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good, not great features

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Artictrekker
Location: Texas/North Slope
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Omni heat works good, requiring less under garments, at keeping you warm in 32 to 60 F temps. Works well at keeping rain and snow out.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Rain Tech™ II Jacket – Big
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BIG mans clothes ..FINALLY!!!!!!!!!!

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mongo
Location: Hampton, Virginia
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very happy to report this jacket fits a bigger, stock built man. I have been looking for clothes to fit my chest and waist . I am a career Fireman/medic and do alot of powerlifting..So I have a very large chest.
I am amazed at the incredible quality of this product. I was recently caught in a very heavy rain storm with high wind gusts . The jacket kept me completely dry and very warm.
The jacket is a MUST buy..
I will be using that product in Zion National park and Bryce Canyon June 9-19 2012..
Columbia if your designers read these..LETS start making products for the American public that are larger!! Considering not every one is a size 28-34 waist..LOOK at the trends..People are bigger..so don't exclude us from your amazing products.. and use a more relaxed fit on pant/short legs.. WE love the outdoors, back woods, deep canyons, and deserts just as much as thinner people...
Thank you for listening
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.