Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket

Columbia Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket

Beautiful melange fabric and a slightly longer cut give this street-worthy, waterproof-breathable jacket a refined look while the thermal reflective lining and full seam-sealing combine to keep you warm and dry in all kinds of inclement weather. The lightweight liner jacket is insulated with 100 grams of Omni-Heat for maximum warmth in a low-profile silhouette. Wear the liner and shell together for a powerful combination of style, protection and comfort.
Overall rating:
4.654 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 26(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value, sound fit, and solid construction

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this coat one week ago to replace my old winter jacket, and I've worn it nearly every day since. I intend for it to be my primary outerwear throughout late fall/winter (I walk to and from work), and so far it is serving this purpose quite well. Temperatures haven't dropped below 30 yet, but I expect it to be adequate into the teens and possibly even single digit temperatures.
Fit: true to size. I'm 6' tall, 170 lbs, and wear a 15.5", 35" dress shirt. The medium fits me well, although it is cut generously enough for a larger frame.
Appearance: clean and minimalist, just what I was looking for. I purchased black, and the photos on the website are representative of the color of the final product. Note that the first photo of the jacket, which shows the interchange zipped all the way up but the outer shell slightly open, shows the jacket with the interchange not zipped into the outer shell. When the interchange is zipped into the outer shell, there is almost no separation around the neck area between the two. See the last photo of the jacket for a shot of the interchange zipped into the outer shell.
Function: good. Starting from the bottom, the jacket has a slightly longer cut, which I find keeps out wind and traps warmth. With my arms relaxed at my sides, the hemline of the jacket extends to the first knuckle on my middle finger. The outer shell has a bungee/drawstring along the hemline with toggles on both sides. The cuffs of the interchange are elasticized ("comfort cuffs") and the cuffs of the outer shell are adjustable with snaps. In my experience, snaps are more durable than Velcro and they don't attract hair or lint. The details on the website fail to mention the hand warmer pockets on either side of the jacket. These were a nice surprise when I took it out of the box, although I find them too shallow to fit my entire hand unless I make a fist. The cargo pockets on either side of the jacket secure with two snaps on each pocket. These are quite roomy. There are also two breast pockets, although I don't find these very functional as each one has only one snap to secure it shut. Small items would probably fall out. The interchange has an interior pocket on the left breast large enough for an iPod or other small media player. The front of the jacket has a zippered closure with snap shut storm flap. The jacket features a removable hood (adjustable with drawstring) that attaches to the collar with snaps.
Construction: solid. All the zippers and snaps seem durable and well-made. This is what I would expect from a Columbia product. I've found a few stray threads, but nothing that would indicate a defect in materials or craftsmanship.
Performance: good. As I mentioned above, I've been wearing the jacket to walk to and from work. While we haven't had any weather below 30 degrees yet, I'm outside for 1 mile each way, and the jacket has performed well. The insulation provided by the interchange is warm without adding too much bulk. I was caught in the rain this weekend for about 30 minutes, and the outer shell proved its water repellency. I was pleased.
Bottom line: I recommend this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+48points
53of 58voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product / Moderate Value

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Baltimore, Md
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found a very similar jacket in a lands end mail catalogue $60 cheaper...
I do not recommend this product.
-55points
1of 57voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just great.

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Brooklyn NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This's one of the best products i have bought in awhile. After doing the research i knew i made the right decision it's just great.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great looking and feeling jacket

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Windsor, Ontario & Toronto, Ontario
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered these jackets as a gift to my employees. The fact the the upper left chest did not have the Columbia logo made it easy for me to have my company logo embroidered there.
I've had multiple compliments given, and I've actually had to make 3 seperate orders to meet demand!
Great looking and feeling jacket. The jacket is comfortable, warm, has plenty of pockets, yet doesn't have the bulky silhouette of one of those puffy down jackets. The zip-out liner , which can double as a light jacket on its own, is a plus. Exactly what I wanted, all of my staff love this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable worm stylish

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Walker, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in northern Minnesota where winters are long and very cold. The longer cut helps keep the chill out. The style allows me to look nice for some of the dressier occasions while being very comfortable.
I don't know if it's the shiny spots on the inside or what but there seems to be a sense of extra warmth without the clammy sweaty feeling I sometimes get from other coats I have owned.
I would recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmth with style!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It looks great on or off the slopes, and holds you in warmth.
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeds expectations!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Canton, Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a lightweight insulated jacket & I saw this interchange jacket on sale & ordered it after checking feedback & getting good answers from Columbia customer service.
I got the jacket & the next day we had temps of -5 degrees with wind chills of -30. Wore my Horizons Pine jacket & I was amazed that I felt NO cold. This thing is warm as toast, even in those extreme temps & very comfortable. I got the boulder color, which is very nice. Plenty of pockets & the slightly longer length is very much appreciated. I took a chance ordering this & have no regrets. Thanks Columbia!!
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Hibbing, MN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket is exactly what was described and it is great.
The Omni-heat is a little on the shiny side, but overall its a great jacket and the price is too.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light weight coat

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Staten Island, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was pleasently suprised by this coat it is very warm, light weight and a excellent value compared to Northface.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

product is great

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Orland Park,IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Horizon pine interchange jacket is great. The omni-heat and omni--tech are great. I have a question about the coat I sent you recently.The Psycho cowboy II , its shell is heavy what can be done to make it like the Horizon Pine? Once this winter is over I probably send you my Double Whamy jacket for repair . The lining of the Horizon pine is great. Could a omni-heat one be put in my older Double Whammy coat?
I would recommend this product.
-20points
3of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm jacket but i do advise getting a smaller size than usual because it is very large and long.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the northern plains winters!

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Fargo, ND, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love almost everything about this jacket with a few exceptions.
It is warm, light, comfortable and long to keep your midsection warm below your waist. It offers lots of pockets for storage. Slipping it on, the fluffy liner feels almost down like in comfort.
Love the look, I get a lot of compliments on it. I have last year's grey color, which I like since it's brighter than this year's offerings.
On the flip side - a jacket of this expense needs a warm lining inside the hood and collar area. Without a knit hat on, these area are cold to your skin. It also needs velcro or better yet, zippers on the chest pockets as the single snap does not keep much in those pockets if you bend over. Lastly, the cuffs need more adjustment than just two snap settings.
Otherwise, I highly recommend this to the urbanites that want to be warm, and look good.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, good price!

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this :)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Warm

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket- Very warm- very waterproof. Couldn't have got a better jacket for the price
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect, affordable winter coat

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Cleveland, OH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This coat is a win/win. It's very warm (25 degrees and only wearing a Tee shirt underneath) while still being fashionable enough to wear for any occasion. And with the removable inner jacket it's a 2-in-1 deal, no brainer! The only con is that it doesn't come equipped with the up-draft protector like a ski jacket would, but it's not truly intended to be a ski coat.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

warm and dry - and looks good too!

PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was searching for that all purpose jacket that I could wear on weekends around the city or a country hike or to the office in bad weather. Needed a bit of utilitarian style and didn't want to look like I just scaled a mountain or be mistaken for the Michelin Man with a big billowy coat.
This IS a great city jacket/coat. I am sure it just as competent for outdoor adventures. I just haven't done that yet.
It really is warm. I thought the reflective interior was a gimmick however it IS toasty warm and cuts down on bulkiness!
Great value, I suspect with a few more technical wear upgrades (vented armpits, drawstring cinch waist to cut drafts in addition to the drawstring bottom, maybe warmer pockets) and it would be an even more awesome jacket. I think a drawstring waist gives some shape and function to cut drafts.However that may not be achievable in a 3 in 1 jacket which is a primary asset of this coat.
This is a great coat, stylish, well constructed and a good value. Very happy with this purchase.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Gift!

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Horseheads, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat was a Christmas gift for my husband and he loves the style and the fit. It's lightweight, but very warm with the reflective inner lining. It's the perfect blend of stylish yet casual, and it's long enough to wear over a suit coat. Very happy with this purchase!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jacket

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Fargo, ND, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in North Dakota where wind chills dip past 20 degrees below zero for a good majority of the winter days. This jacket, equipped with the Omni-Shield technology, provides more than enough warmth to be comfortable in even the most extreme of conditions.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket, but now for a snow storm

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY, USA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This jacket is very light, comfortable and fashionable. I would recommend this to anyone who needs to dress warm and dress casual at the same time. The only flaw at times is that you could feel high winds, but the jacket is water repellent.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men's Horizons Pine Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Jacket

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It's very nice, the good:
-cuffs are luxurious
-material is very cool (dark moss)
-water proof, plenty of pockets, nice length
-hand pockets have fleece on outer surface
The so so:
- snaps on upper chest pockets
- stupid hood not adjustable so it drapes too far over face
- fits a little loosely 6', 190 lbs, 42 chest, 34 waist, got a Large, could fit more person in here though
COMBINATION:
I use it as a shell for another brand - on cold days I zip in a North Face Nuptse down jacket and it rocks. Liner that comes with it is pretty nice but overall with its native liner its warm but not super warm and it's too roomy. Could not get medium, sleeves would be too short.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>