Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Versalite™ Softshell Interchange Jacket

Columbia Men’s Versalite™ Softshell Interchange Jacket

The Versalite takes the versatility of your favorite softshell one step further by adding a removable, insulated liner jacket to the mix. This windproof, rain-and-stain-repellent outer softshell layer provides protection and comfort to complement the heat-keeping powers of the super-lightweight, insulated liner. Wear them together or separately as conditions change.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Versalite™ Softshell Interchange Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Versalite™ Softshell Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmest coat ever.

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
ROBW
Location: Omaha, NE
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coat fits great and is very warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Versalite™ Softshell Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So Far So Good

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Jonzor
Location: Omaha, NE
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I haven't had this thing in the bitter cold for any real length of time aside from day-to-day going to work/walking to my car type activities. But so far so good. Shoveling snow in the cold was no problem for my chest and arms (I was sorely lacking in the gloves department, however...).
But I can say I'm extremely happy with the fit. It doesn't feel bulky, while still being comfy if I wear a fleece underneath it. Mobility in the arms and shoulders is good, and I love the outer material.
The only reason I'm not giving it a 5/5 for quality and function is that the coat is still relatively untested, so I don't want to promise that it's perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Versalite™ Softshell Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well thought out

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Gerry1946
Location: Palm Coast Florida
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like the versatility of the jacket
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Versalite™ Softshell Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket for New England Winter!!!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
davinchi
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received this jacket couple days before the first snow storm in Boston. And I'm glad I did. It does an awesome job at keeping you warm, while it provide you with great flexibility and its very comfortable. The jacket omni heat technology functionality does a fantastic job at maintaining your body heat. Lastly, the jacket its really light weight.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Versalite™ Softshell Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Coat/Jacket. Warm and light

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Steveo
Location: Salt Lake
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wear a large in most everything, And this coat was no different. The Coat is very light and comfortable, The inner liner was much thinner than i expected however its still pretty warm and the windproofing definitely works. The good thing about this coat is since it's interchange you can put much warmer liners in it if you need too. I took this coat ice fishing in about 5-10 degree weather plus the wind chill made it much colder and i had a fleece pullover on underneath and i was very warm, Almost too warm. The hood is another plus. Perfect for windy and chilly conditions.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Versalite™ Softshell Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks so CHIC!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Bop1
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my boyfriend, and the pictures are deceiving! This coat is so sleak and not puffy at all! It looks incredible!!! And the softshell is way softer than the Northface version! I am a die hard fan of Columbia ever since this coat!!!! Looks great on slim men!!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Versalite™ Softshell Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best of both worlds

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Evilee
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my go to winter jacket. I like the soft-shell, it is quite and is not as bulky as a regular shell for the days when you do not expect rain or snow. The large fits well as a large for me. My only complaint is the collar of the liner. it sticks up around my neck and is made of the same poly as the rest of the liner. I wish they would have made that part out of softer abrasion resistant fabric. Right now I am wearing it in 10-20 degree weather and it barely enough with no layers. It seems to be fine when active (Omni-heat), but if you are just sitting out in the cold better put on another layer.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Versalite™ Softshell Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light, yet incredibly warm.

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
JimboC
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been looking for a coat to wear to and from work, and throughout my usual daily activities. Not outdoors for long periods of time, but typically at least a few minutes at a time, pretty regularly. This coat has great features and does a great job of keeping me shielded from wind and cold. Wisconsin winters can really be chilly, but the ability to tighten the sides on the bottom, as well as the ability to tighten the hood around my face and then hide my nose under the high part of the coat right near the chin area on it - makes bearing the cold so much easier. First day I've had it, and I'm loving it already. And the amazing thing is this coat looks and feels like it's a fall windbreaker, but it really handles the cold.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Versalite™ Softshell Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
HuckBallew
Location: Canon City Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Went mountain trekking in 30 degrees on the ground down to 0 degrees on top of the mountain and was warm the entire time. Was super comfortable as well.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Versalite™ Softshell Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
AlaskanBushman
Location: Alaska
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
The jacket is very comfortable and wears well. For its weight it is very warm. The reflective liner works as designed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Versalite™ Softshell Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Softshell Interchange Jacket....WOW

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Basserjim
Location: North Central Minnesota
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ive been looking for a mid-weight jacket that is weatherproof, lightweight that is designed for a active lifestyle. I found it. This three way has all the features one looks for in a jacket. Moisture wicking, heat retention and super comfortable.
It versatility makes it the perfect jacket
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Versalite™ Softshell Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good on all fronts!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Ryland
Location: Dekalb, IL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This thing is great, Light weight, Warm, and Easy to keep clean. I'm a big fan of this coat, the omni heat reflective material looks a little cheesy but It works very well and feels good against the skin. I recently wore this coat to a corn maze and It was very windy rainy and cold. Everything inside the jacket was warm and I wouldn't even feel the wind. It was light enough and provided enough movement to throw pumpkins and water resistant enough to brush the water off. I do wish there was a pocket in the inside of the coat. maybe a headphone lead. Overall awesome coat, plus it comes with columbia warranty which is amazing!
- Fit's great for slender people
- Great for athletic activities
- Warm without keeping you too hot!
- Breaks the wind no problem
I would recommend this product.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.