Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Glacier to Glade™ Softshell Jacket

Columbia Men's Glacier to Glade™ Softshell Jacket

The durable softshell exterior features elastane for enhanced mobility. Zip-closed pockets keep valuables secure.
Overall rating:
3.889 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
7 out of 9(78%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Glacier to Glade™ Softshell Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Glacier to Glade™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic and a little fabulous

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
BenC
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't say enough good things about this jacket. It is beautifully made, exceptionally warm and very light weight. The Omni Heat liner gives the jacket a little bit of a Freddy Mercury flair, which amuses my children.
I wear it as an inner layer under my motorcycle jacket for winter riding.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Glacier to Glade™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lining was too "glitzy" for my teenager

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
kekwalker
Location: Ohio
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gave this to my 16 year old for Christmas. He liked it until he saw the lining. It looks a little like a disco ball. Maybe wouldn't have been as bad if it didn't come up around the neck. It was visible when the coat was open. Overall it seems like a good quality jacket. Just not his style.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Glacier to Glade™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I really enjoy this product

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tsunami2463
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The soft shell is interchangeable with several different outer jackets, however, is warm and durable enough to wear by it's self. I am outside almost everyday in Iowa and it is a great source of added warmth in the Iowa cold.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Glacier to Glade™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NASA Lined Windbreaker

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
MrFennell
Location: Michigan City, in
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The glitter lining is not for show people, it's made from space blanket material like in emergency kits that save lives. I just walked the dogs in 27 deg. eight blocks with this over a tshirt and hoody. I also just bought it because I didn't like the puffy jacket I got for Christmas, so I can't speak to how well it will hold up over time. I went back and forth between a few differn't jackets in the store for an hour. The workers assured me that it didn't need insulation like the other jackets because of the lining. I was very skeptical because this thing is THIN. No fleece. I figured I could walk the dogs once to test it out worse case scenario bring it back. It wasn't like an electric blanket but for as cold and windy as it was I was totally comfortable. If I was running or hiking I am sure it would get toasty. In fact they said the original version had to be scrapped because of that. Now the lining is made of thousands of space blanket dots that make it breathable.
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Glacier to Glade™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Coat

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Butch3863
Location: Chippewa Falls, WI
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This coat is great for winter. Put a fleece under it on cold winter days and you are good to go. The boys don't like the shiny inside but know that it assists in the warmth level of the jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Glacier to Glade™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Omni Heat conundrum

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tommy2
Location: Lake Oswego, OR
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love this jacket, but was planning on using it for daily winter business wear.
The Omni Heat reflective fabric on the inside draws a lot of attention and makes the jacket less "dressy."
So I find myself not wearing it to work environments and getting less use out of it than I planned. So the value to me has gone down :(
I would recommend this product.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Glacier to Glade™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disco Ball Jacket

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
chumbum
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this as a birthday gift for my husband. He was really excited until he unzipped it. The lining looked like a shiny silver disco ball. We didn't understand why that would be the lining for a men's jacket. It also said it was reversible, but why would you want a disco ball for the outside of the jacket? Maybe it was missing something. Although he loved the style, we returned it because of the lining.
I do not recommend this product.
-37points
4of 45voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NJD08
 
Please wait while more information about NJD08 is loaded.
Additional information about NJD08 could not be loaded.
Omni-Heat
Posted October 26, 2012
I think you should have read the description of Omni-Heat before making your purchase. The shiny IS the Omni-Heat technology. Just like fire-blankets are shiny and reflect the heat away from the person, the shiny dots reflect your body heat back to you.
+10points
10of 10voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Men's Glacier to Glade™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best light weight jacket out there!

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gidner
Location: Corvallis, Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this jacket for just over a year now. I have used it in conditions ranging from below freezing(not recommended with this jacket) to around 60 degrees Fahrenheit. It does well at about 45 degrees and higher. It blocks all wind and keeps your body heat inside the jacket when zipped up, not to mention all the compliments I receive when I wear this jacket. And, I am a photographer, so I am constantly putting camera bag straps on and around the jacket, and so far no tears, rips, or fraying. This is an excellent jacket!
I would recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Glacier to Glade™ Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sparkly Lining?

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dot88
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It doesn't show in the picture, but the thermal lining of this jacket is sparkly. Not quite sure why they thought glitter lining in a guy's jacket was a great idea. Definitely returning this. Also, we shouldn't have to pay for shipping on returns.
I do not recommend this product.
-44points
4of 52voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
wtom5
 
Please wait while more information about wtom5 is loaded.
Additional information about wtom5 could not be loaded.
OMNI HEAT REFLECTIVE
Posted December 19, 2012
That "sparkly lining" is Omni Heat Reflective. It helps keep you warm! Read the Jacket detail section next time. If you want a softshell without the Omni Heat Reflective, purchase the Ascender but it won't be as warm.
+7points
7of 7voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)