Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket

Columbia Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket

Pairing a lightweight, insulated inner jacket with the wet-and-cold rejecting performance of a fully seam sealed, waterproof-breathable shell results in unprecedented warmth and protection during activities in challenging winter weather; wear these pieces separately or pair them together depending on conditions for ultimate versatility.
Overall rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 109 reviews
5 Stars
83
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
102 out of 107(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two for the price of one for even more warmth

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Aimless7
Location: North Carolina, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband is very cold natured. Have bought several different coats with multiple options trying to keep him warm through relatively mild winters. Being the coldest winter in our NC history, this coat seemed to be a good option.
Turns out, it was the best option. The waterproof exterior has come in handy during our unusual boughts with snow. And the interior stays nice and warm when he's outside. A "must" for those who stay cold from October - March! Please note that this coat does run a little small. Hubby normally wears a Medium. Bought a large based upon other reviews. Wise choice. A medium would have been too small.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful product!

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
MichaelB
Location: Beaverdam VA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wish I had bought it a long time ago!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product but runs small

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Cyberboy12
Location: On the NH border
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great coat notwithstanding the sizing issue. I ordered a L (thats my usual size) and found that with the liner it was just too snug. Otherwise its a great product and all the newspeople on WCVB Channel 5 have em!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Buddycat
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic jacket! Extremely warm and light weight, very comfortable to ware.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lite but Warm

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
JoeRodd
Location: Union County, NJ, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I thought I was buying a heavier coat, but I'm pleasantly surprised this jacket is deceptively warm. I would recommend this jacket as an in-between a heavy coat and a Fleece.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mountain II review

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Slugger
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 6' 2" (tall and skinny) and bought a large. Fits great.
I still wear layers and it keeps me very warm. I love how the sleeves are comfortable around my wrists keeping the cold out. And when I zip up all the way the coat keeps my neck warm and the cold out.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I would expect from Columbia

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer avatar
JCB5
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was exactly what I wanted, and it didn't disappoint. I was picky in that I wanted Omni Heat, a removable hood, and a chest pocket. I drive around a lot, and don't like bulky hoods behind my neck.
This material is extremely soft and comfortable, and the zippers and stitching are of excellent quality.
This is why I keep coming back to Columbia. I looked at nearly every other manufacturer (at least it felt that way...shopping isn't my thing), and I couldn't find the value anywhere near that of Columbia.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmth of a heavy jacket without the bulk

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer avatar
sanz
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality construction, great feature set.
Keeps me warm even in coldest we get out here in Boston.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for a Midwestern Winter

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Paker
Location: Ohio, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat covers all the basic functions of a coat, but Columbia designed this coat to be functional without sacrificing comfort. There are numerous pockets to stow items during the winter months (just don't lose anything in the maze of them). Of course the inside poof jacket comes undone- a stylish addition to the quality feel of the coat. I bought the jacket with a midwest college in mind, and I surely won't be let down.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific Ski Jacket

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Customer avatar
Andy440
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great ski jacket. Recently wore it on a ski trip in frigid weather (near zero temperatures, snow, wind) and the jacket performed admirably. I was plenty warm with only a long sleeve base layer and t-shirt worn underneath. Outside chest pocket is perfect for phone and wallet; inside chest pocket is perfect for keys and smaller items. Would be better if chest pockets were on opposite sides but this is a minor challenge. All exterior zippers are easy to operate. I typically wear XL in my ski jackets and this one is just slightly small in the shoulders (but XXL would have been too big). Sleeve and back length are perfect. Great coat, glad I bought it.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Feature lacking

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Customer avatar
DaveG
Location: Harrisburg, Pa area
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I don't understand why you haven't utilized a zipper which can also be opened from the bottom- i.e. two way functionality. Previous comparable Ultra Jackets (your Titanium) utilized this feature.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Katy27
Location: Virginia
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an awesome coat. My husband LOVES it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I was looking for

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
ritzcrackerman
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this Lhotse interchange jacket for a year now, and I decided I need to post a review on the site. This is a fantastic product and worth every penny.
This is exactly what I was looking for to deal with inclement weather in the Pacific NW - Rainproof, adaptable, breathable, warm, you name it. This is my go-to (and replaced about 4 or 5 other layered items I would cobble together in previous years).
Pros:
1) The waterproofing is rock solid
2) Construction is really good; it feels nice and solid and substantial
3) Ventilation / adaptability is great. There are pockets and zips I haven't even though to try and figure out what they do.
The only minor complaints I might have:
1) Would like some more vibrant color options in this model. I selected Dark Backcountry, but it would nice if the inner jacket were a brighter color (as I wear it standalone frequently).
2) The front placket of the jacket is secured down not by snaps, but be velcro. The jacket has a tendency to velcro shut after zipping it, but then I practically need to saw my hand down the front in order to un-zip the darned thing
3) Size runs a little large/roomy, but I've also lost a significant amount of weight in the last year. Regardless, I probably should have selected a medium.
You won't go wrong with this jacket!
Other than that - a fantastic product. I came to the site today to see if I could find some waterproof pants to accompany the jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good jacket and pants

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Twillie
Location: Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Before I ordered the Lhotse jacket and pants I read several reviews here that had both positive and negative things to say about the items I was considering. Needless to say I was skeptical. Once my items arrived I tried them on and found that they were fairly true to size. I bought these for a ski trip and was hoping I hadn't made a mistake - I didn't. The first day was a balmy 7 degrees with little wind and both the pants and jacket kept me plenty warm. The third day it snowed most of the day and again I was warm - even on the ride up the lifts. If you're considering this jacket and pants (Bugaboo II) and you're still doubting whether you should....don't. I highly recommend both of these. I ordered an XXL since it was going over clothes and the fit was perfect. You won't go wrong with this jacket and pants.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile full coverage jacket

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Wildheart
Location: Montana Rocky Mountain Front
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is super versatile. It is an awesome shell. Prefect mid-weight coat if you only wear the inner. It is extremely warm if all used together. If you have the liner in the coat it better be cold or you need to be doing something mellow or you'll be too warm.
Skiing at 27 degrees F. I used the shell alone with a very lightweight technical running shirt.
The very full pit zips are great for keeping the moisture down and cooling off.
Pockets everywhere.
I teamed this coat up with the PFG "Squall Line" waterproof breatheable full coverage bibs and I am ready for whatever mother nature wants to throw my way!
Wildheart!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid choice

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
SamD
Location: New England
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this jacket to replace a similar Columbia jacket I got nearly 20 years ago. I've only had it for a couple weeks, but so far I'm pleased.
It does run a full size small. I called Columbia and they recommended I buy a size larger than normal. Good advice.
It's lighter weight than my older coat, but the warmth seems comparable. My first time wearing it was for about 1/2 hour on a 15F night. I was very comfortable with no extra layers.
Outer sleeves are designed to easily fit over gloves, which is good in snow or rain. The inner shell is very comfortable and warm.
It has fewer pockets than my older coat - two main pockets and one chest pocket on the outside. The openings to the main pockets are large and closed by zipper.
So far I'm pleased. If it lasts 20 years like the last one did, I'll be thrilled.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
NickB123
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 5' 11" 150lbs and the medium fits perfectly. I wore this everyday on a week long snowboard trip and I couldn't have asked for a better jacket. I never got too hot, especially with the pit zips open. The lining also looks good by itself.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

TIGHT FIT

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer avatar
JOHNGE
Location: Barnstable County, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I ordered a large though my body dimensions indicated a medium. The fit is so tight that there is no way that a heavy sweater could be worn. It is snug with just a light and heavy base layer. I would recommend that you order two sizes up. The function is rated average since the combination of available under layers is so limited.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
MyBoy
Location: Plainfield, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
I bought this for my son and he absolutely loves it. Chicago is very cold this time of year and he's been fine so far with just the inner portion, we'll see later this week. lol It does run small. my son wears a loose large but had to get an extra large.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great buy

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
TeddyP
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just purchased this coat for myself for Christmas. Really very impressed. Great deal for the money. Looks and feels great. Very warm, although I've just started wearing it. Nicest winter coat I've ever owned. Had tried the North Face Triclimate Thermoball prior, and couldn't make up my mind. To me, this is the superior coat, and at 2/3's of the price. Really very happy with my purchase. Glad I went with this coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next>>