Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket

Columbia Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket

Pairing a lightweight, insulated inner jacket with the wet-and-cold rejecting performance of a fully seam sealed, waterproof-breathable shell results in unprecedented warmth and protection during activities in challenging winter weather; wear these pieces separately or pair them together depending on conditions for ultimate versatility.
Overall rating:
4.674 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 98 reviews
5 Stars
74
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
91 out of 96(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Katy27
Location: Virginia
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an awesome coat. My husband LOVES it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I was looking for

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
ritzcrackerman
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this Lhotse interchange jacket for a year now, and I decided I need to post a review on the site. This is a fantastic product and worth every penny.
This is exactly what I was looking for to deal with inclement weather in the Pacific NW - Rainproof, adaptable, breathable, warm, you name it. This is my go-to (and replaced about 4 or 5 other layered items I would cobble together in previous years).
Pros:
1) The waterproofing is rock solid
2) Construction is really good; it feels nice and solid and substantial
3) Ventilation / adaptability is great. There are pockets and zips I haven't even though to try and figure out what they do.
The only minor complaints I might have:
1) Would like some more vibrant color options in this model. I selected Dark Backcountry, but it would nice if the inner jacket were a brighter color (as I wear it standalone frequently).
2) The front placket of the jacket is secured down not by snaps, but be velcro. The jacket has a tendency to velcro shut after zipping it, but then I practically need to saw my hand down the front in order to un-zip the darned thing
3) Size runs a little large/roomy, but I've also lost a significant amount of weight in the last year. Regardless, I probably should have selected a medium.
You won't go wrong with this jacket!
Other than that - a fantastic product. I came to the site today to see if I could find some waterproof pants to accompany the jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good jacket and pants

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Twillie
Location: Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Before I ordered the Lhotse jacket and pants I read several reviews here that had both positive and negative things to say about the items I was considering. Needless to say I was skeptical. Once my items arrived I tried them on and found that they were fairly true to size. I bought these for a ski trip and was hoping I hadn't made a mistake - I didn't. The first day was a balmy 7 degrees with little wind and both the pants and jacket kept me plenty warm. The third day it snowed most of the day and again I was warm - even on the ride up the lifts. If you're considering this jacket and pants (Bugaboo II) and you're still doubting whether you should....don't. I highly recommend both of these. I ordered an XXL since it was going over clothes and the fit was perfect. You won't go wrong with this jacket and pants.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile full coverage jacket

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Wildheart
Location: Montana Rocky Mountain Front
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is super versatile. It is an awesome shell. Prefect mid-weight coat if you only wear the inner. It is extremely warm if all used together. If you have the liner in the coat it better be cold or you need to be doing something mellow or you'll be too warm.
Skiing at 27 degrees F. I used the shell alone with a very lightweight technical running shirt.
The very full pit zips are great for keeping the moisture down and cooling off.
Pockets everywhere.
I teamed this coat up with the PFG "Squall Line" waterproof breatheable full coverage bibs and I am ready for whatever mother nature wants to throw my way!
Wildheart!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid choice

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
SamD
Location: New England
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this jacket to replace a similar Columbia jacket I got nearly 20 years ago. I've only had it for a couple weeks, but so far I'm pleased.
It does run a full size small. I called Columbia and they recommended I buy a size larger than normal. Good advice.
It's lighter weight than my older coat, but the warmth seems comparable. My first time wearing it was for about 1/2 hour on a 15F night. I was very comfortable with no extra layers.
Outer sleeves are designed to easily fit over gloves, which is good in snow or rain. The inner shell is very comfortable and warm.
It has fewer pockets than my older coat - two main pockets and one chest pocket on the outside. The openings to the main pockets are large and closed by zipper.
So far I'm pleased. If it lasts 20 years like the last one did, I'll be thrilled.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
NickB123
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 5' 11" 150lbs and the medium fits perfectly. I wore this everyday on a week long snowboard trip and I couldn't have asked for a better jacket. I never got too hot, especially with the pit zips open. The lining also looks good by itself.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

TIGHT FIT

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer avatar
JOHNGE
Location: Barnstable County, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I ordered a large though my body dimensions indicated a medium. The fit is so tight that there is no way that a heavy sweater could be worn. It is snug with just a light and heavy base layer. I would recommend that you order two sizes up. The function is rated average since the combination of available under layers is so limited.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Customer avatar
MyBoy
Location: Plainfield, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
I bought this for my son and he absolutely loves it. Chicago is very cold this time of year and he's been fine so far with just the inner portion, we'll see later this week. lol It does run small. my son wears a loose large but had to get an extra large.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great buy

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
TeddyP
Location: Cincinnati, OH, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just purchased this coat for myself for Christmas. Really very impressed. Great deal for the money. Looks and feels great. Very warm, although I've just started wearing it. Nicest winter coat I've ever owned. Had tried the North Face Triclimate Thermoball prior, and couldn't make up my mind. To me, this is the superior coat, and at 2/3's of the price. Really very happy with my purchase. Glad I went with this coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Meets My Expectations

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Icefishcrazy
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Minnesota and need a warm versatile jacket. I wanted a jacket that was lightweight, warm and allows full mobility. This jacket has met those criteria. I went to the Columbia website to do some research and it was very helpful. I learned the size runs small so I bought a large which fits perfectly. The weather in Minnesota has just turned cold where I now appreciate the warmth of this jacket. When I take my Labrador for a walk around the lake, the wind does not cut through this jacket and it keeps me very warm. This jacket has plenty of pockets both inside and out. The top left pocket is perfect for carrying my cell phone. I really love this jacket and I am ready for any January winter weather Minnesota can throw at me.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy with gift

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
LRM464
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A customer service rep helped me pick the right 3-in-1 to give as a gift for my husband. He is often a medium but I went with large and it fits. Thanks to omniheat, the jacket is light weight but warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love at first sight!

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
PhuCookies
Location: VA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first time shopping at Columbia, and I fell in love with it! "3-in-1 interchange aviation" was my first jacket that I desperate wanted for winter. With all the technology and quality combined, I absolute rated this 11/10. The size fit me really well, both the inner and outer jacket (even though the outer jacket a bit large, it definitely gave me warm and protection; so I don't mind at all). You can separated either one of them, even the hood is detachable! If you wear both of them around 30°F or less, you wouldn't feel cold at all (not bias!). I love all the designs and all the features that went with the jacket. I recommended this product to everyone if you need this for a holiday's gift. You won't regret it! For me, the blue and green color was the best out of all 4. This is worth buying around $200
P/s: I got this when it was on sale for $179.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

AS spected

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Camo
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bough this for winter and some time snowboarding. I haven't tried it yet on the snow but it looks very functional. Actually walking at -3 Celsious It was to warm, so it be good for my purpose.
It is my size on the back and length of the arms, but it doesn't fit very well on the zipper. I am a regular skinny guy, and in the belly is to big.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jacket!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Mako
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I was researching the right coat for me, my main concern was function. I wanted a jacket that would keep me warm yet allow full mobility and be lightweight in design. This jacket met all of my criteria and then some! Here, in the New England area, I noticed that many of the newscasters that were reporting in the elements were wearing Columbia jackets and now I know why! I had to return a medium, which is my normal size, for a large to allow for a small bit of room in the midsection but the shoulders and sleeve length stayed the same, if this helps those contemplating their size requirements. In short, I love this Jacket...
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jacket

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
jc003
Location: Ipswich, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is excellent in terms of color design and function. Didn't have time to try it skiing yet but I'm pretty sure it will do just great.
However, it's not really designed for the size of Asian people so even with size M I found it a little larger than the L of China.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Runs a full size small

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Mark72
Location: Indiana, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this jacket for a couple of weeks so far. Very happy with the design. Yes the outer pockets are a little high, but they still work fine for me. The jacket is warm, but not too warm so far. I have not had a chance to test it out in real cold weather yet and it has warmed up here such that I am not wearing it currently...that will change soon enough though.
As for sizing, I ordered a XXL as a replacement for a Titanium series XL. The two fit identically. So for me, the XXL is really like an XL. The XXL is definitely not too big like I really expected it to be.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent jacket for rainy winter days

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Prometheus
Location: New York, NY, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a wonderful jacket for what I wanted it for, which is rainy, windy winter days. It serves the purpose well to temperatures somewhat below freezing (I haven't tried it in harsh winter conditions but I suppose you would need something with more insulation), not too heavy, nice to touch. It's good quality and the green looks much better than on the picture. I bought it in the company store
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, except pocket placement

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Isstanar
Location: Denver, CO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Marmot jacket has chest pocket zippers on both sides: right handed outside, left handed inside. This Columbia jacket only has right handed pockets, which makes the left chest overly bulky when in use.
Overall great jacket for warmth retention. Only time will tell if the wrist and waist cinched elastic will wear out.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best jacket I have owned

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
eliott29
Location: Washington DC Area
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So, I have owned this jacket for about a year, and I usually don't care for giving reviews, but given how well this jacket has served me I decided to give my two cents. I was pretty new to Columbia's product line, but after this jacket I became a fan. I'm pretty much an everyday use kind of guy with the occasional outdoorsy adventures. I wanted a good winter jacket to replace my old one that can last me the next 5 years, and I certainly haven't been disappointed. It's been 1 year down, and this jacket still continues to look almost new.
I bought this jacket right before the polar vortex hit the Northeast, and thanks to this jacket I hardly even noticed how horrible winter actually was... this coat has some fantastic features to keep you warm. I don't know how they do it, but I know after this jacket I won't buy another unless it is a Columbia jacket. I often travel to cold places in the winter, to places like upstate New York and the Rocky Mountains in Colorado for skiing. This jacket has served me well in conditions from -5 degrees (with 1-2 extra layers) to 45 degrees. Haven't used it when it was colder than -5, and when it's 45+ this jacket can get way too toasty. However, the ability to use both the inside liner and the rain coat portion separately is really a great feature of this coat. This jacket has ended up replacing my rain coat and the insider liner is taking the place of my other sweaters and fall jackets a good amount of times.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and Dry

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Mike5307
Location: County, San Bernardino, CA 92376, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My co-workers and I purchased these jackets several months ago to replace our previous uniform jackets. We are incredibly hard on gear, and so far these jackets continue to take it in the teeth and come back for more. They allow full range of motion, are easily cleaned/decontaminated, look great, and most importantly keep us DRY and as WARM as we want to be. In our specialty we're often outdoors on a scene for over 24 hours at a time. These jackets have proved to be completely adaptable to whatever the wind and thermometer are doing. So far we have used them in low desert thunderstorms, high desert windstorms, and snowstorms at over 8,000 ft. Each time the jacket has performed as well or better then we had hoped. Well done Columbia.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 Next>>