Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket

Columbia Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket

Pairing a lightweight, insulated inner jacket with the wet-and-cold rejecting performance of a fully seam sealed, waterproof-breathable shell results in unprecedented warmth and protection during activities in challenging winter weather; wear these pieces separately or pair them together depending on conditions for ultimate versatility.
Overall rating:
4.589 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
51
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
68 out of 73(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The nicest raincoat I ever owned

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jim98109
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Once I'd read the other reviews I knew just what to say; first, it runs one size small (who cares, a bump up in size gave me a PERFECT fit). The pockets on the shell are high, but that allows the rain to fall from your elbows instead of your wrists, keeping water out of the pockets. I have no problems with any zippers catching on anything, but I'm careful with a jacket priced over $200. The missing lanyard on the main zipper DOES make it difficult to zip up with gloves on, I will use a custom fix whenever I decide on something compatible with so fine a garment. It's EXTREMELY lightweight, but don't let that fool you, personally I think it's the warmest and driest coat/jacket I've ever owned. The vents under the arms are a plus, the hood is sized perfectly to fit over a baseball cap, the inside skirt tightens independently and keeps out wind, rain and snow. Only the nicer coats I've noticed have this kind of feature. The overall length is perfect, the velcro cuffs on the shell and the elastic(?) wrist closures on the lining are sublime for lack of a better term, and together they are just the best combination money can buy. The pockets inside and out were numerous and ample in size, about the only other thing I can think of off hand is that the Omni Heat silver dotted liner says "Steal Me!"I got a black one from the new Columbia store in downtown Seattle that doesn't seem to be available online which is unfortunate, because it's a far better looking coat than any of the other colors (to me). Lastly, it dries in a heartbeat, and stuffs into a backpack about as easily as a light sweater. I will return to the store to pick out some matching gloves and a hat to go with the coat, and I feel like the luckiest man on earth to have acquired such a fine piece of modern engineering. Thank you Columbia, even if you don't offer a red version. This black one however, is AWESOME. A prized possession for me
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jim98109
Seattle, WA
 
Please wait while more information about Jim98109 is loaded.
Additional information about Jim98109 could not be loaded.
Lanyard issue solve
Posted May 16, 2014
Sheesh. All the *other* zippers had really cool lanyards on them so I just took it from my least used pocket and voila', a perfect coat! Owning this coat on sunny cloudless days is like having a sportscar in the garage you can't drive
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent Jacket

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
MountainII
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had my last Columbia for more than 10 years. It was a lot heavier feeling jacket than this one but that is likely due to the new materials being used. I hope it is as warm as the old one. The winter had subsided by the time I purchased the jacket. I typically wear a large but this jacket had reviews that said it ran small. I heeded the advice of the reviews and bought an extra large and it fits. It is still a little tight in the shoulders but it works. I am concerned how well the Omni heat material lining the inside of the jacket will hold up. It feels like a very easy material to tear. I hope it doesn't but time will tell. As far as appearance it is a great looking jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Jacket

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
saare
Location: Minnesota
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my new jacket. nice and warm in -20 degree weather
good to warm shopping or having fun in the snow
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievable

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jimmybo
Location: Rockland Co. N.Y.
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am 67 years young and retired. I have worn many combinations of coats,jackets,rain gear and base layers. Nothing comes close to this Lhotse 3 in 1 jacket. I hike or walk everyday in this very cold weather north of n.y. city. Believe it or not I only wear a T-shirt under this jacket and remain very warm. Take dogs out at nite with just liner and T-shirt. We'll worth every $ . Buy it only if you want to stay warm,dry and comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Retired My Old Columbia jacket

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
PatFred
Location: Santa Fe NM
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I shoped hard to replace my old jacket and found the Omni Heat to be the best vaule.
On its first ski trip we encounter heavy wet snow and the jacket prefromed great!
The deep pockets are a plus
Thanks
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coat

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pat45
Location: Rochester Mn
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this coat right before a trip to Colorado skiing. The coat performed great. Thursday 2-20 was easily one of the coldest and windiest days I have ever skied in and the Omni-Heat worked just as I hoped it would. This is the third Omni-Heat product I have purchased and I highly recommend it
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Warm Coat

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
alcrave
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this coat with the intention of taking it on a ski trip and did not regret it. I did not feel cold even once while out on the mountain. The inner coat helps to provide an extra layer of protection from the cold, and I like that I can wear that layer by itself in slightly warmer weather. I would definitely recommend this jacket to anyone looking for protection from bitter cold.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Issues with main zipper.....

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Zamp
Location: Souderton, PA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This coat kept me warm and dry during a seven mile hike in a driving snow storm while on vacation in Jackson Hole. The pockets are nice and deep. The only issue is that the main zipper does not flow smoothly and tends to bind up on the nylon material that it is sewn next too. Better stitching or a heavier zipper may eliminate the zipper getting stuck.... very annoying.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
SharonS
Location: Birmingham, Al
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
This coat is excellent in every way. The only thing I'd be sure you check out is the size. My husband has never worn anything other than the medium or large. Fortunately we were at Columbia outlet and he tried it on only to find out even the large was on the tight side. They did not have a larger size in the store so we ordered an extra-large online which fits perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Cold Weather Coat Also Great for Rainy Days

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
markinpdx
Location: Portland, Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heat trapping feature kept me toasty warm on the coldest of days. Runs small so if you intend to ski with it make sure you get one size larger than you normally would buy. However, it is so warm you probably won't need a heavy sweater underneath, even for skiing at 10F. But I do still recommend one size larger. I'm normally an XL bought online but I had to take it back to get an XXL. Lots of pockets. Very well constructed. Has liner that zips out for when you need more of a raincoat in the spring.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Traded LL Bean jacket for Columbia Lhotse Mountain II

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Nitte
Location: Sewell, New Jersey
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought an LL Bean ski jacket that is comparable in material and 3 in 1 style. The Lhotse Mountain II is much warmer and has so many extra features (powder skirt, armpit vents, omniheat foil, fleece lined neck) that makes this jacket worth the investment. I would definitely recommend this jacket for skiing or everyday use as the 3 in 1 style makes it very versatile.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Choice

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brownseaver41
Location: Indiana
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is great. It was down to zero the other morning and I was warm and toasty. Did what i wanted. FYI - it does rune a size small, I had to return the first one, ordered a large and it was tight in the arms and around the waist, normally I wear is a large. I got an XL and it's perfect. Very happy with my choice - good quality fair price.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Jacket

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lima
Location: Tacoma, WA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just a quick review to add my 2 cents on this jacket... It's a totally awesome jacket, and worth the money! I highly recommend getting it. It is a really warm jacket! I've been wearing it around in Seattle in weather in the 20's and have been very toasty! Warmth is really important to me. I don’t know if the omni-heat thermal reflection actually works or not, but this jacket also has omni-heat thermal insulation, which is really what makes it warm. The jacket is really light weight too, and very comfortable to wear! It’s a great looking jacket also! My wife really likes the way it looks on me.
I bought a Glacier to Glade interchange jacket at the Columbia outlet store in San Marcos, Tx., and while it was pretty comfortable to wear, and performed nice in the rain, it did a terrible job at keeping my warm. I think the omni-heat thermal reflection by itself is pretty much worthless. Fortunately, I decided to return my jacket to the Columbia store in downtown Seattle, and I talked to a manager named Kirk who was totally awesome, and helped me get a refund, and get this new jacket. I have been absolutely happy since! I totally recommend it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lhotse Mountain II

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
RoMercy
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket (it's really two interlocking jackets). I live in the Los Angeles area and bought a coat for a December trip to NYC from another manufacturer. That coat was rated "warmest" and was supposedly rated to -15 degrees. At +25 in NYC, I was always cold in that coat. I returned it and bought the Lhotse. Wore it to Portland OR a few weeks ago when it was in the +20s and I was plenty warm. Great quality. Good strong zippers, etc.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

So far, so good

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
BluffCityBlues
Location: Memphis, TN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this combo for a skiing trip in Anaconda, MT. It held its own with a baselayer and pullover. I was on the mountain the day after Christmas on a gleaming day. The temperature was probably in the mid to upper 20's, give or take. The only times I felt cold were on the lift. Although that seldom happened. The powder skirt did a sub par job. I was a little damp after a full day of skiing and falling here and there. That was my first time skiing, so an experienced mountain man would probably keep dry. I only have issues with the outer layer. The pocket located near the heart gained a hole only after a few times of wearing. I'm not sure if it was due to an old mp3 player I kept in there or what. Either way, I did get some condensation on that mp3 player. And cant' remember if it had that hole at the time or not. But buyer beware, I'm going to have to sew that hole up before it becomes to large. The side pockets are located closer to the chest, so it makes it somewhat awkward dealing with them. The sizes of each pocket will allow you to carry more than you need, so that's nice. Also be careful with the draw strings on the hood. One of mine has nearly been pulled off already. So that's a pretty big negative. Especially since the hood easily gets blown off in windy conditions. The outer layer also didn't come with an extended cord to help pull the main zipper up. With gloves on it's a task trying to pinch the zipper. I added a drawstring from an old bag and it did the trick. The water rolls right off in the rain. The inner jacket is a gem. I've been rocking that bad boy just about every day this cold winter. You don't have to over layer underneath it. Throw on a hoodie, gloves, and scarf and you'll be warm in the single digits with just your regular outfit. I bought the Dark Backcountry version and am very pleased with both jackets colors. I'm 5'11 190lbs and the large fits nice. Overall, I really like this product. A little disappointed with the wear the outer layer has shown early on, especially with the price tag. But the inner layer is so nice it almost makes up for my distress.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Omni Heat Jackets

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lakepowellgirl
Location: Littleton, CO
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is such a great product. I bought the whole family jacket for Christmas. I purchased a total of (5) winter coats. They were just in time for the weather at the football games. Very warm and comfortable.
Perfect product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Up to the Challenge?

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
RossRR
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just purchased the Lhotse today, my third Columbia coat system in 20 years. The first coat, a Gizzmo system, is by far the best outdoor coat I've ever owned. The zip-out jacket liner was even reversible so I could wear it as a black jacket or a purple jacket. I've skied with it at -15F with 15-20 mph wind and it kept me warm. It still looks great but I am reluctantly giving that one up to charity because I'm a bit larger now than I was 20 years ago and it is too snug at the waistline. The second coat, a Double Whammy system, is not as warm as the Gizzmo, but is a great coat for day to day wear and looks awesome; but that too is now headed to charity for the same reason, also still looking great after 8 years.
It is currently snowing, +3F with -15 windchill and I've warn the Lhotse sytem out three times, two short outings and once for about a half hour while shoveling. Because it is so much lighter than the Gizzmo, I had doubts that it would be as comfortable in these colder temperatures we see around Minneapolis in the winter, but so far I am impressed. I hope it continues to impress me and that it will prove as durable as my two previous Columbia coat systems. If it does prove to be up to the challenge, I'll be back to up my ratings on the coat.
Nits-and-picks: The shell hand pockets are a little higher than I am used to, but they are nice and deep and made of a soft micro-fleece so are warm to the bare hand. Though I went up a size from my previous two coats, the waistline is only slightly larger than the others. The previous two coats had the name of the coat embroidered on the back of the collar (you don't think I remembered those coat names did you?), a classy touch. Not so with the Lhotse...guess the few cents it cost to embroider the name was too big a hit to the company bottom line.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Zipper Issues

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Holloka
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this coat for my boyfriend for Christmas. He was so excited when he saw it. When he put it on the zipper under the arm got caught on the material (zipper was small) and we could not get it undone. Disappointed, I sent it back ;o(
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I must say, that for my money, this is the best jacket hands down.

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Vernon
Location: Northern Central, North Carolina
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A little backround about myself. 20 years ago my buds got the bright Idea to hike to the top of Mount Whitney, the highest mountain in the lower 48. With that, we needed gear, so I had purchased a 3 layer Gore-Tex shell. At that time I had no idea how much I would use a water proof/replant jacket. Since that purchase I have used it to hunt, fish, and backpack to the highest points in 9 states and have stayed very dry in the wettest conditions. It poured rained for 3 straight days in the high sierras and we stayed dry.
It is now time for a refresh, as my old jacket is wetting out bad and the seam tape is coming out.
So the replacement jacket hunt had begun. I found this Columbia Lhotse jacket/parka after I had researched many Jackets including many big name brands. I must say, that for my money, this is the best jacket hands down.
I have worn this jacket driving down the interstate at 70mph in 26 Degree weather with my left arm out the window. I must say that for 6 miles I did not get cold. Chilly, yes, but I would expect that. I was wearing a T-Shirt and a dress shirt (I was going to work) under the jacket only, needless to say I was impressed with this jackets ability to keep the cold and very important, the wind out. I had paired this jacket with Columbia gloves and liners. The gloves performed well in keeping the wind out, however, I did notice that the tips of my fingers were getting chilly much quicker than my arm and would probably have gotten cold if i had exposed them for longer than the 6 miles. I have also performed this test the next day(24 degrees), paired with Spyder liners and Marmot gloves with great success, hands did not get chilly at all. I have not had the opportunity to give the jacket or gloves a waterproof test as of yet, but I will, and provide feed back when that is complete (I fully expect great results).
We are going on a 4 day snowmobile trip in Feb 2014, and I cannot wait to expose this jacket to the mountain elements in northern PA.
I also must mention the interchange system, this is nothing short of brilliant. I have a lighter Columbia Jacket that zips right in to give greater flexibility to meet the conditions of the weather and outdoor activities we enjoy, or you can wear it as a shell only.
The omni-heat technology and insulated liner are a great pair to ensure warmth, while allowing moisture to escape from your body.
I must also mention that the jacket is very much backpack friendly with the high pockets and arm pit zips.
My colors, in our circle (long Story about selecting colors with my buds) are Green and Black, the dark backcountry colors are exactly what I was looking for.
Okay, so here is what I do not like about the jacket.
1. They run small. I wear a 17x33x34 shirt, my jacket size is 40 regular. I tried the large on and felt constrained across the shoulders so I bought the XL, which will also allow a few extra layers if need in extreme cold. With that said,
2. the hood is a little large due to the size of the jacket, however it is removable so this should not be a big deal, and will provide added space when wearing a helmet while ice or rock climbing.
3. The drawstring release buttons and zippers need to be larger so you can manipulate them with larger gloves on. I will be adding some larger pull cords to the zippers.
4. Generally, the media pocket has a whole for your head phones cord, I cannot find the whole in the liner for this. (maybe I just am missing it)
5. The parka is a little noisy while moving. I wear a shell with a 2xl camo hooded sweatshirt over it to hunt in, and this may be a little loud while hunting, we will see.
So as of right now I am extremely happy with this jacket, I hope when we get into the back country of PA this parka performs as well as I expect it to. I will post back after I have had it in the elements for several days.
As of right now, I would highly recommend this parka and expect to get many years of service out of it.
I hope this helps you decide if the jacket is something you would purchase, as I have read many many reviews of all brands of jackets and again, for my money, this is the best.
I gave the jacket a 5 out 5 for quality as this jacket is very well made, and 4 out 5 on the function as I have not tested the waterproof capabilities and the small zippers and drawstring release buttons.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Lhotse Mountain™ II Interchange Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good all Rounder

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
BillSki
Location: Ramsey, NJ
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice fit and good hand. Size is great with sleeve length a perfect match for my arms. Usually wear a 35" shirt sleeve. Color is great and liner is a nice warmer weather jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1234Next>>