Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell

Columbia Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell

There’s a reason the Key Three II has become one of our most popular softshells: this highly breathable and incredibly soft wind-blocking jacket is treated to resist rain-and-stains, lined with heat-keeping thermal reflective material and features advanced wicking technology to keep you warm, dry and comfortable in cold, blustery conditions.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
8 out of 11(73%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Review 1 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Warm!

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
LakeandStream123
Location: Ellijay, GA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is perfect! Thank-you Columbia!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for cold weather

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Hermit
Location: Massachusetts
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I love the exterior material because it doesn't make noise when you move. I like the sleeves because they are excessively long in proportion to the chest size.
I bought this jacket for the Omni-Heat Reflective lining, but I don't find this jacket to be warm at 32 degrees F. This jacket could benefit from "comfort cuffs" so I wouldn't have to adjust the Velcro straps to close the sleeves to drafts. I wore this jacket with a short sleeve t-shirt, and my arms were cold. Apparently my arms do not make much heat.
I like the "Fusion Exact™ Jacket" I bought along with this purchase much better - not much bulkier, but so much warmer.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice product but runs very large

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
DSil
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The quality and look of the jacket is nice. But it runs very large. You may think of ordering 1 to 2 sizes smaller than your normal size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great functinal jacket

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
GuyE
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the jacket i was looking for.
The only problem it's not suite as active jacket should be, it is as large as a coat instead suite as jacket
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as warm as you,ll say

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
blsdmike
Location: Chicago Ill
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I like the style of the soft shell jacket.But it not the jacket for the Chicago weather. The Om ni-Heat Thermique Reflechissante does not work @ all. I should'have bought a North Face.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice cool weather jacket

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
WISean
Location: Wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this jacket as a cold weather jacket, and to try out the OmniHeat material. As long as you are moving and generating plenty of heat, the material does seem to keep you warm. If you are stationary, such as driving, you do still feel a bit of a chill. I would attribute this to conduction through the relatively lightweight material. The same goes for strong winds. If the wind is strong enough to press the material firmly against your skin, you will notice.
Although this jacket does not replace the puffy, goose down apparel, it is a good substitute for times when you will be active and do not need all of the extra insulation or bulk.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!!!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Cory12
Location: Baltimore
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was pleasantly surprised how warm I was in 25 degree weather. It was a little tighter than I expected, but was still able to wear it with a hoodie and move comfortably.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I'm returning it

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Superaldo94
Location: Chicago Illinois
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I guess I had high expectations for this jacket. Fair job at blocking cold winds. It takes too long to "generate your own heat" even when triple layered. I've had this jacket for a week in moderately cold weather to severely cold weather during one of Chicago 's cold snaps and I'm going to return it. It didn't work or me 5'3 or my 6'3 friend whose large frame fit into this size small jacket. More of a testament to other reviewers that rated these jackets run large. Mine surely did.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sleek and Stylish

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
JKBOPB
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is very functional for the changing weather in both Spring and Fall. While not neccessarily warm enough alone for winter, when paired with a fleece it is ideal for all but the dead of winter days.
This coat is stylish for both adults and young adults. This is a puchase I would make again if needed.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice jacket

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer avatar
jessper
Location: Columbia, MO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is very comfortable and warm. very happy with it. One thing to take note of though on the red jacket is that the collar is a dark navy blue on the inside, not red. I was a little disappointed by that. Fit is good if maybe just a little larger than normal for a large.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Key III For me

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
MarkF
Location: Hummelstown, PA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okay I waited for a little colder weather before reviewing this jacket, in order to give more input. I've worn with short sleeve and today for the first time a long sleeve. Although I didn't find the Omni-heat lining to be uncomfortable against my bare skin, it does feel better with the long sleeve shirt underneath. The sleeves are not overly long like some other softshells out there and the fit is perfect for me. There is enough room beneath for one of the 60 gram synthetic insulated puffies that all major gear companies seem to make these days, but my down sweater was too thick. I found it to be the right balance between weight and warmth. You can probably take this jacket down into the 20s with the right layering underneath. Have not tested with wet weather yet but can attest that its wind proof claims are accurate. The micofleece lined collar and pockets are divine. I also love the look of the jacket. It's a burly bomb proof softshell hiding as an everyday wearable piece that doesn't make you look like you are heading out on an expedition. The areas under the arm and directly on the sides are of a slightly different more stretchy material, allowing for more freedom of movement. This is a very jumbled and unorganized review. Just writing stuff down as it comes to me. The collar is a bit stiff but I'm guessing that will work itself out eventually. That's all I have for now. Would be glad to update after a couple months of serious winter weather, which is headed our way shortly.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good Product But Fits Very Very big

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer avatar
UnsatisfiedCustomer
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this product for both function and appeal. When I received it, it felt very nice and looked very nice. The quality of this product is excellent. The sizing on the other hand is terrible it fits way to big and the arms felt like I could fit both my arms in one sleeve. So I would recommend this only if you like you clothing to fit very loosely.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.