Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket

A beefy, high-loft sherpa fleece jacket perfect for beating the chill on cool evenings and crisp mornings whether you’re excursion finds you in the backcountry or just the backyard. The Omni-Heat thermal reflective lining amps up the warming power of this jacket even more while 2-way stretch increase comfort and mobility.
Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
14 out of 17(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the great out of doors.

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
moosaki
Location: Martinsburg WV
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is heavy duty fleece. I bought to be a ski sweater option. The weight plus the Omni Heat gives it a warm insulating effect that wind has a hard time penetrating. I have worn it under a shell and as an outer garment with good warmth. It is a close fit with a lycra effect. It has two inside pockets and three outside pockets.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

You have improved the wind resistence

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
jacket1944
Location: Granbury, TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice product, a little small across the chest. Probably because of the new insulating material.
I like the top zippered pocket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product performs flawlessly!

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
BwpBasscat
Location: Bryant, AR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this jacket for my middle layer when fishing during the winter. Have used twice now in 28 to 30 degrees at first light and was comfortaable without the bulk. The Omni-Heat technology really works! Sold on Columbia products as always!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Purchase

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
gentlemoss
Location: New Hampshire
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband finds this product a good addition to his work wear. He works outside about 35% of his time. Helps keep him energized as he is not exending his energy keeping warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
handymancain
Location: Sandwich Illinois
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for layering purposes. It works great since I only like to wear t-shirts. I was doubting the reflective dots would keep me warm. But they do exactly that. Since this winter is one of the coldest in Illinois history I am very happy that I bought this jacket. I will recommend this to all my family and friends.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's Too Cold Out To Test

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
BeeAnthony
Location: Calumet City, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'd ordered two jackets in XL and different colors. The sleeves were a little too long and I folded about one and a half inches. I stand 5' 9" and weigh 195 lbs.
The sleeves may also be a little too stiff for some and men with big arms and biceps may find the sleeve a little too snug. (I am only mentioning that last statement as a possible negative because I don't have big arms nor can not speak for anyone else.)
The heat reflective material also may take some guys time to get use to seeing and feeling, but I can hardly wait to put this jacket to a weather test.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Xyzr
Location: Ct
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I love the Columbia brand but this fleece was a major disappointment. It was cut very strangely, long arms and very small across the chest. I had to return it.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Giant wrist openings

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
cyberdouglas
Location: Redwood City, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Compared to other Columbia fleece jackets I own, this jacket runs large. And, because the Omni Heat material is heavier than typical fleece products, the oversize feels noticeable. BUT, the thing that drives me mad about this jacket is that the elastic wrist openings are only slightly smaller than the actual arms. So, heavy, less flexible material and giant wrist openings = no way to prevent arms from going well past my wrists. My wife said that a Medium would be too small, so this is just one of those situations where the sizing is just off enough to be a pain.
On the plus side: jacket seems warmer than other fleece jackets.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A New level of comfort and warmth

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
GeorgeNY
Location: Pomona, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The first day out this jacket, I received complements. Then I revealed the lining...they wanted to know where I picked up the jacket and do they have my size!
I have owned Polartec sweaters and jackets...however, they lacked Omni-heat Reflective Lining...WOW what a difference.
6' 1/2 and 174 lbs with long arms... the medium wear is perfect and snug. Zipper pockets very sweet...The jacket collar helps with wind, so a turtleneck is perfect combo.
The more body heat I generate, the warmer I become. Great active wear without bulk...skier's, hikers, skaters, runners...outdoor workers, postal, UPS, police...a must have item. I am so glad I own this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Atlas Mountain Fleece

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
mark555
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice fit, feel and warm, with special lining there is minimal static build-up as with all fleece clothing.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great quality and excellent price but runs a bit small

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
PFTingos
Location: Chester, NH
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loved the quality and functionality of this jacket and living in New England this came very handy even in very cold days. We are talking low 30's with only a light shirt underneath.
The size is a bit small but still OK. I have many other Polartec jackets and they all fit perfect in XL, including Columbia's in different model and this is a bit snug.
Great color, I got the red and the quality is excellent.
I fully recommend it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Great

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
AlaskaTransplant
Location: Bend OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Runs a little small is the chest. Great for keeping warm on those windy days.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

jacket

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
s0nny
Location: hudson ny
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very happy with jacket fits good does keep u warm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

POOR FIT

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
tombob
Location: Illinois
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I normally wear a XL but I decided to purchase a 2XL to give me some extra room for layering. Well I tried it on as soon as it arrived and it was SO SMALL that I could barely zip it. I called and was told not to remove any tags and return it with Columbia return label. I dropped it off at the post office and 2 days later my post man informed me that I owed $10.81 for shipping. So be careful what you order. If not right even if not your fault it will still cost YOU.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smiley51

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Smiley51
Location: Queens, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a nice fleece. It is cozy and soft. It has a snuggle and long fit compare to other Columbia fleece. My husband is 5'9", 150 lbs. He usually wears fleece size between Sz. M/L. He has this fleece in Sz. L. Its sleeves and body are longer than regular fleece and it is stretchable active fit. He needs to roll the sleeves up for about 1.5". He did not want to exchange it for a Sz. M because he was afraid Sz. M would run too tight for him. The omni-heat lining really does the trick. It is soft, not stiff. It really traps the body heat in and keep the body warmer than the fleeces without omni-heat lining. It is not like you can just go outdoor in 30'F without a coat though. It is a fleece, not a coat.
My husband has been wearing it everyday since he received it three weeks ago. It comes out ok after washes. He loves it and has no complaint so far. The whole family has omni-heat coats/jackets now. We definitely will look for omni-heat, which is light and warm, in the future. It may cost more, but it is worth it.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
SFinney
Location: Knoxville, TN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been wearing this in the cooler temps (40-60 deg Fahrenheit) and it has completely exceeded my expectations. It is extremely comfortable and fits perfectly. I wrote that it fits a little small, but it really is perfect. Usually a medium is a bit big on me and a small is too tight. This is a perfect shmedium.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Fleece

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Highlander
Location: Southwest missouri
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Works well for me in low temps for short time periods. Excellent as a second layer.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Atlas Mountain™ Fleece Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Fleece Jacket!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
JSA870
Location: Western NC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Jacket is very warm and very comfortable. I use it under a shell and is a great insulating layer. Also works good on its own when temp are between 35-50F.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.