Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Triteca™ II Softshell Jacket

Columbia Men’s Triteca™ II Softshell Jacket

We’ve updated this popular, performance-focused bonded softshell with underarm venting, increased stretch and a new, re-engineered hood. The three technologies in the Triteca II are strategically placed to provide ultimate warmth, comfort and protection during aerobic activities in inclement weather: super-fast wicking technology is utilized at the body’s key hot zones, wind-blocking fabric at points of exposure and Omni-Heat® thermal reflective lining around the core for added warmth.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
7 out of 10(70%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Triteca™ II Softshell Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Triteca™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic 'light' Jacket

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
ThomasB
Location: Waynesboro, MS
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a really great light jacket. It fit me great, very comfortable, and blocks wind. I have not used this jacket in the rain yet. I would not recommend this jacket for extreme cold weather though.
The only thing I am disappointed with is the pockets, like others have said. If you have the pockets open, you will lose body heat because of their mesh design.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Triteca™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

onw of the best jackets i have ever owned

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Univega89
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this Jacket for cycling in cold weather since i commute everyday by bike.
i first wore this jacket on a really windy day with the temp some where between 20 and 15 degrees and it kept me warm but not sweaty (i was also wearing an underarmor base layer and a very light fleece) the contoured cuffs were perfect for when i was in a riding position and didn't leave and annoying gap between the glove and cuff where cold air could get in and the extra length on the back kept my bum covered. i rode about 20 miles and still didn't feel like i was over heating or sweaty. so far i am extremely pleased with this jacket the only thing is i wish the mesh in the pockets was a little heavier but i understand they are supposed to be vents or than that this jacket is perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Triteca™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fantastic quality & function

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
SpecialA
Location: Chicago,IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this product kept me quite warm in twenty degree Chicago winter weather as well as being quite warm it is very comfortable with nice deep pockets.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Triteca™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trireca

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Tonbabes
Location: Ypsilanti, Mi
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coat is very light but yet warm with its reflective lining. Have yet to be in inclement weather so cannot comment on waterproofing capabilities. Advertised as true to size but I find it running a bit smaller than true. Would love if it had more pockets especially on the inside. All in all, would still recommend.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Triteca™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

No shoulder room

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kmacy
Location: Portland,or
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Way too tight thru shoulders and arms, big in body, could be a smidge longer
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Triteca™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok But not Great

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ramesh
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this product to withstand this winter. but the hands are not have proper insulation and this is not standing good against cold. they say omni heat or omni etc. technology but when i wear this jacket and walk in the winter even about -2 or -3 i feel the chill inside. not very much happy with this product.
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MountainNewbie
Brentwood, NH
 
Please wait while more information about MountainNewbie is loaded.
Additional information about MountainNewbie could not be loaded.
It's an ice climbing jacket
Posted January 20, 2014
Hi, couldn't help but notice this and similar comments. This jacket is built for a specific purpose, that's why it has the unusual features it does. It's a "technical" jacket. It is kind of the Columbia version of the Black Diamond Dawn Patrol Hybrid soft shell. It's a windproof fleece that's slim fit with stretch material and long sleeves so you can reach up high and move around a lot when you're climbing. That's why the side pockets come up so high, they're meant to be accessed when you're wearing a climbing harness around your waist, which blocks off access to normal pockets. That's why the pockets are no frills, too. They're not used much. The hood is huge because it has to fit over a helmet and the side vents are too let out heat. This is a jacket to sweat in, which gets hopefully prevented by the side vents and can get dealt with by the wick-evap. Hate to see bad comments on a good jacket. The BD version costs $350. This is a purpose-built technical shell and done well. If we use it for other things, that's fine too, but it was made as exercise/adventure equipment. If you ride a bike in dry winter conditions, it's probably good for that too. Hats off to Columbia for making adventure gear that not only works and is affordable, but that's the coolest colors and design on the market. Some stuff out there, no matter how expensive, looks horrible. Thanks for reading.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Men’s Triteca™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Johnsonfamily
Location: Southwest Missouri
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Color is amazing and is so warm to be so lightweight! Love it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Triteca™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't Believe the Hype

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
GrendelPrime
Location: Omaha, NE
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bottom line....this is a nice 'light' jacket....I mean it's Columbia right? But, don't expect this thing to keep you warm as the temp drops. This is truly a fancy wind breaker, with very little insulation. I figure if you are out running a marathon and already generating a lot of internal heat, maybe this jacket would sort of keep you warm, but I wouldn't want to be caught in a blizzard with this jacket being the only thing between me and the elements. So, in conclusion...if all your worried about is looking good and stylish then you're good to go, if you are worried about staying warm in temps below 35 degrees F (no matter what you're doing)....then you better hope you have some extra clothes to put on under this jacket.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Triteca™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great coat, slightly expensive for what it gives you.

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
HikerTaylor
Location: Columbia river hiking
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Based on the previous review, I decided to order a size smaller to see how it fit. I'm 5'10" 150lbs and usually buy medium clothing. I went with a small and it fits exceptionally well. A bit tight around the armpits if anything while wearing thick multiple shirt layers underneath. This coat is very light for the amount of protection it gives you. It's doing well for the (Oregon) fall so far but I'm strongly predicting it won't hold up during winter if you do not own a set of underarmor base layers. So as far as the Triteca 2's flaws, the previous review was also correct about the jacket only having stretch material mesh lining for pockets. So most the tech in the coat is being rendered useless if you keep the pockets open. Especially during windy days because a lot of the trapped heat easily escapes. So if you like to walk with your hands in your pockets a lot, you may want to use your pants or buy some fly gloves. Although I must admit the pockets are pretty good sized. Just slightly odd angle. Also make sure the armpit zippers and bottom skirt are synched tight for full protection.
Bottom line: I would say it's slightly over-priced. But for the technology in this along with the solid brand you can't go wrong, if you have the $.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Triteca™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its all the Columbia technology in one jacket.

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Crab
Location: Hollywood District, Portland
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is one sweet jacket.
Its been raining everyday in Portland this last week. I decided to buy a jacket that will allow me to go outdoors.
This jacket has a great over-sized comfortable hood. The zipper is lined with a polymer to keep water out. The blue with the red highlighted zippers is stylish enough. Omni heat works and if I start to broil, there are zippers under the arms that allow heat to escape. The material is water resistant, wind resistance. I have a 42 chest and a 31 waist so I can wear a large or medium. The medium fits me better than the large and unzipped still keeps me warm.
One area of improvement are the pockets. It does not have cozy fuzzy warm pockets. There is just mesh for the hands. Maybe next year, they will take care of this.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.