Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Supah Buttah™ II Softshell

Columbia Men's Supah Buttah™ II Softshell

Comfort is king with this incredibly soft, wind-blocking softshell; treated to resist rain-and-stains, it provides protection in cold, blustery conditions.
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Supah Buttah™ II Softshell
Review 1 for Men's Supah Buttah™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, but strange cut

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: Chicagp
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The marsh color of this jacket is very nice looking, like a more traditional outdoor color. The inner lining is smooth and comfortable, and it stops wind well. The cut of the jacket is strange though, instead of a performance cut, which I would expect from an outdoor company, the middle is large. When I don't have my hands in my pockets or constantly pull it down it forms a weird bump just below my chest at the top of my stomach-not flattering.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Supah Buttah™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect fit and function

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
amosnov
Location: Vancouver, BC
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket for commuting on my bike. I'm 6' 3", 220lbs with shorter torso and longer limbs. Adequate sleeve length is always a problem but this jacket XL fits perfectly. On the function side, its 40 - 50 degs and pouring rain here in Vancouver and this jacket is keeping me warm and dry. I'm very happy with this purchase and thanks to previous reviewers of this item.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Supah Buttah™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
danceclubninja
Location: Norfolk, VA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The size is perfect (I'm a 38/39R and ordered a Medium), the material is high quality and the attention to detail is great. It stops wind on a dime and beads the water away just fine. It also dries quickly, which is a plus!
The only way wind is getting in the jacket is through the bottom of the jacket and through your pockets. Seriously though, that almost never happens and it can be ~35 outside, but put this bad boy on and slap a nice warm winter hat on your head and you're golden. This is an absolutely PERFECT upgrade from the Ascender II.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Supah Buttah™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The perfect jacket

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
YoBrow
Location: Modesto, California
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Its your everyday jacket. I like it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Supah Buttah™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat for Indiana winters

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lex31
Location: Bluffton, IN
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great coat. The winters in Indiana can vary from day to day. It may snow today and rain tomorrow. It can also be 50 degrees today and 15 degrees tomorrow. This is a great jacket that can handle the diversity of changing weather conditions without purchasing 3 different style jackets. It's a must buy.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Supah Buttah™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sleek Look

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
JayPDX
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a no fuss, sporty/casual jacket that I could just throw on over a tee and keep reasonably warm. I live in Portland, OR where it doesn't get too crazy cold so this is usually enough to keep me warm. I'm 6'3", 175 lbs with an athletic build. I actually ended up buying a SMALL! I almost went for the medium which was the same length, slightly roomier in the torso, and much roomier in the sleeves. The small just looks so much better, but I can't really layer much underneath it. It's really comfortable; I like the material. The collar looks really cool and doesn't get all in your face like some do. I've only had it a few days and I've already received lots of compliments.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Supah Buttah™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Suppah Buttah II Softshell

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kris4
Location: Kansas
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cut is long and narrow. Piece is light, soft, comfortable, warm , and blocks the wind great.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Supah Buttah™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

columbia supah butttah2

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
GOOFY
Location: ST.LOUIS,MO
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I BOUGHT THIS JACKET ALONG WITH A PATAGUCCI. THE PATAGONIA WAS A NICE JACKET BUT SLEEVES TOO LONG IN LARGE ALSO THE COLAR BRUSHED UP AGAINT MY FACE WHEN SITTING VERY UNCOMFORTABLE. I DO ALOT OF BACKPACKING AND DID NOT WANT SOMETHING RUBBING MY FACE EVERY STEP. THE SUPAH BUTTAH2 IS VERY WARM IN 30 DEGREE TEMPS. WITH A FLEECE UNDERNEATH. THE JACKET FITS A BIT BIG BUT NOTHING TO SNEEZE ABOUT, THE SLEEVES ARE PERFECT FIT. THE ONLY THING I DO NOT LIKE ABOUT THE JACKET IS WHEN SITTING IT RIDES ALITTLE BIT. OVERALL I LOVE THIS JACKET I AM ABOUT 5FT 11 IN. 165LBS. I DO RECOMMEND THIS JACKET
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Supah Buttah™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wally51
Location: Chiloquin OR.
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in chiloqin OR. thirty miles nouth of Klamath Falls, and been getting hit with winter conditions. traveling to town chrismas shopping and outside travel been nice and warm. I wear just a teeshirt under my jacket and i warm enough with that. A great buy
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Supah Buttah™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Supah Buttah

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
SuperButtah
Location: Greenville, SC
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i love the buttah. the shell and internal material has a nice feel. M fit is good with tee / thin shirt of which is the purpose for me. I'm short, shocky and normally wear L in shirts for shoulder room, but the L in this just gives too much arm lenght and extra lenght overall and too much material around the mid section. It's good for cool weather bewteen ~68 and ~43F depending on your sensitivity. It's not going to handle cold weather without an outter shell.
I also have the Asender II and Ballistic III. The Asender has a little more shoulder room and has about the same temp range. Great jacket for the money.
The ballistic is a whole difference story - it fit more like the buttah. The fleece is a heavy/thick material and still a light weight jacket. Ballistic gets hot and gets too hot for mild weather. My range is like ~52-38F with a tee/thin shirt depending on activity / weather conditions. With an outter shell it's crazy warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.