Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell

This highly breathable and incredibly soft wind-blocking softshell is treated to resist rain-and-stains and features advanced wicking technology to keep you warm, dry and comfortable in cold, blustery conditions.
Overall rating:
4.308 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Review 1 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is the best

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
davey50
Location: Warren, Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ive owned an avex bionic coat , i thought it was the greatest coat until i purchased and wore this coat, it far exceeds comfort and warmth of its competitor. this is my new jacket and company from now on, its products are great....you now have a new loyal customer
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Marcel
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size is a Little tight but correct.
Sleeves are a little long to me.
I thought it would be warmer but is ok anyway
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Key Three II Softshell

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Gail159
Location: NC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket has met all my expectations and my son really love's it.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Over All

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
SteveP
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Only had this jacket for a few weeks but wind and water proofing work excellent. Extra length w/ "drop tail" works good and looks good with untucked button up shirt (meaning shirt does not fall below the bottom of the jacket). Only item of concern would be the snug fit in the underarm area.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great jacket but runs small

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
MikeCycler
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like the style of this jacket. Great for when you want a warm layer and protection from the wind without bulk. However, be careful with the size. I am 5'10" 185lbs - NOT an athletic build, but not real wide either. I bought a large. It fits but is very snug through the torso, arms and armpits with just one layer on underneath. The small arms cause shirt sleeves to catch on the lining when putting on the jacket. I recommend ordering a size up unless you have a thin frame.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trying to find limits

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Frequenttraveler
Location: Kansas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After only a few times wearing the jacket, I'm still attempting to find its limits.It is comfortable with temps in the high 40's and warm with temps in the 20's.I'm still waiting for rain/snow and wind.I am optimistic about it's potential.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome jacket

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
ADMAL
Location: Hoover, AL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket is simply awesome. Fits well. I'm 6'5 250 with an athletic build; sometimes XXL aren't long enough or just fit weird but this jacket fits great. I am a hiking enthusiast. I mainly hike in my home state of Alabama. Jacket is very versatile; was actually impressed by the heat technology. Last week I went on a three day hike in the Grand Canyon; which is unlike any place I have ever hiked before; drastic temperature changes. Super cold (5 degrees with heavy wind) at the rim. Jacket held up extraordinarily well; granted i was layered up pretty well at the rim. But inside the canyon the temp was around 40s. Mainly hiked with just the jacket and a wicking t-shirt underneath and stayed warm. Stain and water proof; just simply could brush the dirt that accumulated on the jacket off. Also hiked in Sedona afterwards where it was snowing; jacket held up great; no water penetration. Would definitely recommend this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality and Customer service!

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
HenryHenryHenry
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great jacket! I love the feel and it fits true to size.
This is the 9th Columbia Sportswear jacket I buy and I will stay loyal to this brand because it never fails to deliver. My whole family rocks Columbia sportswear because my family deserves the best.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
kevvy90
Location: Higginsville, MO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered the large softshell. i wear Large everything from t-shirts to hoodies to polos. This jacket was perfect in the arms length and chest but was very tight in the arm pits...recommend ordering a size up for this product
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Buckets
Location: Arizona
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent jacket with very high quality!! Columbia has exceeded expectations once again.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Jacket made for a skinny person

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Maxx
Location: Gurnee, il
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a nice jacket but did not fit me as I expected. The sizing said 'active' so I took that to mean that it would be for guys that are fit. I am 6'1'' and 200 lbs. and the armpits of this jacket were very tight. This jacket is best made for skinny guys. So when are companies going to start making jackets that fit those that have a shape other than a pear or rectangle???????
I would recommend this product.
-2points
7of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT COAT!!! Don't hesitate to purchase

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Tyler7179986
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 6'1'' tall and weight about 185 and bought a large and it fits good. I bought this coat to wear around campus on fall days in the rain, wind, and spring days. The coat functions great and withstands wind and rain. I lift weights and the arms, chest and back area of the coat are a little snug but fit good for everyday uses. I tried on XL and it was no longer just wider in the midsection if that helps you decide on a size. Overall the coat looks great and performs well. I have owned the The North Face Bionic jacket and this is definitely better. Columbia just won over a new customer.
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s Key Three™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great All Round Softshell

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Matt86
Location: Indiana
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am 6'2" ~180lbs and order this in a large. Fit is perfect and the range of motion is perfect for my kayak, hiking, backpacking, and fishing adventures. With just a T-shirt the jacket kept me warm down to 50s, however I would not expect this coat to stand up to below freezing winter conditions. The wind resistance is fantastic I stood up out of a car going ~40mph and did not feel any wind where this jacket covered. The omni-shield has protected this jacket from slime, fish, blood, and even a prolonged drizzle. Once again Columbia delivers a quality product at a good price.
I would recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.