Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Guide Ride™ Softshell

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Guide Ride™ Softshell

You asked for it and we delivered: by popular demand, a softshell windproof hoodie with stretch properties and a toasty thermal reflective lining.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
8 out of 10(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Guide Ride™ Softshell
Review 1 for Men's Guide Ride™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Looked sweet online

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
ledad
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Looked like a great jacket online. After reading the other reviews about the fit running small I ordered an XL (me: 6'3", 200 lbs.) Jacket looked great until i tried it on. The XL was not long enough in torso lenth and was too wide around the torso. Large would likely be even shorter in the torso and arms. Sending it back. Jacket otherwise looked pretty cool... back to the search.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Guide Ride™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Runs Very Small

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tim0007
Location: Colorado
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband normally wears an XL in jackets and shirts (6'1", 200lbs) and this coat was way too small. Order up!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Guide Ride™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shell

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
speter41
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great product and I'm very happy that I found the soft shell with a hood. I ordered in both L and XL, keeping the XL, although I usually wear a L. My only complaint is that the interior is itchy/scratches on bare skin.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Guide Ride™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best light coat

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
nitrocow
Location: spokane wa
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i work in a car detail shop and needed something worm but not bulky and easy to move in, this coat was the answer. best coat ever
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Guide Ride™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Student121
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this jacket, im 5'10 175 pretty decent build and this jacket fits perfectly
excellent with a light sweater underneath it. Super warm on days when its cold and rainy on campus.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Guide Ride™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lightweight but comfortable

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Klito
Location: West coast
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This jacket is suitable for wearing over a tshirt or light basecoat.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Guide Ride™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not impressed

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Blitz
Location: PA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Being 6'1" and about 190lb I was surprised that the "Large" did not fit. Seemed more like a medium as the shoulder seams were about an inch up on my shoulders, the arm holes were too small and the sleeves too short. May have been mis-labeled. I own many Columbia products and will continue to seek them out. Trying on at a retail outlet would have saved me the return.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Guide Ride™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Would have kept it but...

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location: NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very excited to receive this jacket. Style, quality and function were great. I was a little put off by the silver dots showing on the hood but I could live with that. My issue was with sizing. I am a perfect 37 Short in tailored suits, 15-1/2, 32 shirts. The jacket was very form fitting and the armpits were very snug. I tried it on with just a t-shirt and am of the opinion that it would have been very difficult to wear any thing heavier under it. I would have liked it to be a bit looser in the body and a couple inches shorter in body length. All in all the jacket was excellent, but returned it because it was not comfortable for me.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Guide Ride™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome lightweight spring fall jacket

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Brady
Location: NY
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The mens guide ride jacket is perfect for spring or fall.
I would recommend this product.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Guide Ride™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great softshell

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
LukeJ
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great softshell. I teach outdoor education, so I was looking for a jacket that wouldn't be too bulky yet still keep me warm. When worn over a baselayer and fleece, I was very warm in 30 degree weather and still had great mobility. The omni-tech does a good job keeping off some light rain and snow. My favorite feature is the elastic cuff in the sleeves. It works great for keeping water out and also keep the sleeve over the bottom of my gloves. One downside is the hood was a little small on a medium. It's a perfect fit when just over my head, but I can't fit it over a rock climbing helmet.
Activities: Trail, Climbing, Hiking/Trekking, Commuting
Conditions: Snowy, Rainy, Windy, Freezing, Muddy
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NateBob
Madison, WI
 
Please wait while more information about NateBob is loaded.
Additional information about NateBob could not be loaded.
temp.
Posted August 12, 2012
What is the coolest temperate you would say you would ware this jacket?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Men's Guide Ride™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought it for the hoodie!

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
ballmode
Location: Corn Country, IN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After searching all of Columbia for the softshell hoodie with Omni-Heat, I bought the Guide Ride.
The Omni-heat helps out, although this jacket wouldn't be good for weather under 40 with no sun. It does do a great job blocking wind!
The hoodie is actually the only complaint for me. I have a BIG head and its still too big of a hoodie as when I wear the hood it will sometimes go over my eyes.
Other than that it's solid and I plan on buying more Columbia products.
Activities: Mountain Biking, Commuting
Conditions: City, Sunny, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.