Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket

Columbia Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket

Bonded fleece with the heat of a big, bad parka. With rugged, burly construction and Omni-Heat® technology, the Heat Elite Lite is a seriously beefed up jacket that will handle just about everything you throw at it.
Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 20(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fisher78
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this as a gift for my father and he loves it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Jacket not like picture

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Johnsonfamily
Location: Southwest Misssouri
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The product I ordered was not the same as in the picture online. Sorry but had to return.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This jacket keeps you very warm! Very comfortable!!!!

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
ZanMan
Location: Navarre, FL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The size was perfect and the color as well. This jacket keeps you very warm and it allows movement and is very comfortable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not what I hoped for

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Andrea007
Location: Racine, WI
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just bought the Heat Elite jacket in the buffalo color for my husband for Christmas. The one thing that really caught my interest on this jacket, was the one thing that I'm now pretty bummed about. The picture shows yellow zippers, which I thought made the jacket more unique. Sadly, when it arrived, ALL of the zippers were brown. I guess I should have taken seriously the other reviews that said the same thing. I could have ordered a similar colored jacket from someone else, but was afraid I wouldn't get in time for Christmas. Atleast my husband won't know the difference. It is still a very nice jacket, I would recommend it if you don't really care about the color.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cold in Toronto

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
domc
Location: Buffalo, New York
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wore the jacket with a thermal layer and it was not warm in 20F temperatures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well-Received Gift

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
MagsC
Location: Northern Burbs of Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was a Christmas gift for my boyfriend. He had been talking about the OmniHeat technology for some time, and this seemed like the perfect gift for him. Once I received it in the mail, I just couldn't wait until closer to the holiday to give it to him, so I gave in and gave it to him early. He loved it. He says it fits perfectly and the insulation level is perfect for him. Highly recommend this item!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Yellow Zippers not correct for Buffalo color

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
pdxmom
Location: portland, or
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:Yes
  • Employee
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My husband wanted the Buffalo color especially for the look of the Yellow Zippers. We ordered via online and received black zippers. He is returning the item due to wrong color that was expected. Please change the photo to correctly represent the product. Also, fits tight in the shoulders.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not the color I expected

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Webster
Location: MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The coat is warm and comfortable but, the color wasn't what I thought. I ordered the light metal I thought it was a light gray from the picture when I got it, it was a grayish blue and the fuzzy part was a baby blue. It's looks more like a woman's colored coat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fits small

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer avatar
ROGERD
Location: OHIO
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
too tight through the shoulders for XXL, Liked the jacket but had to send it back
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Omni-Heat, a Great Way to Keep Warm

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Robert47
Location: Texarkana, TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this jacket because I have another Columbia winter coat that has a removable/wearable liner with the Omni- Heat lining. I found myself wearing the liner as a regular outdoor jacket and was wearing it out. It was very warm and comfortable. I wanted a jacket with the Omni- Heat feature and a more suitable outside appearance. The Heat Elite Jacket fit that requirement. It is just as warm as the liner I was wearing and is more stylish and better looking. The fit is true to size. I do wish it had an inside zippered chest pocket but the outside one is OK.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don't expect a yellow zipper with Buffalo color.

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: Northern Minnesota
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket is a nice fitting and warm jacket. I'm very happy with it except that in the online catalog the "Buffalo" color is shown with yellow zippers. The jacket I recieved had black zippers. It is a slight bit small for an XXL but not much.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I miss this jacket :(

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
mikea817
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this jacket while transitioning out of the Navy at the base exchange. I was looking for a light casual jacket and this fit my needs at a price I was happy with. Sadly a few weeks ago someone stole my jacket at work, along with my car keys and a pack of cigarettes (sssshhh I know I should quit!). Unfortunately no one has come forth, much less kept the jacket and turned the keys into Lost & Found. What made it sting even more is finding out what the MSRP of this jacket is and realizing I bought it at the Naval Exchange at a near clearance price.
This is a great light jacket to wear casually in the Pacific Northwest. The Omni-Heat lining works very well and paired with a light hoodie makes it perfect to near freezing temperatures. The Omni-Shield treatment is fairly waterproof and I never had complaints even with the Northwest rain. Even though its not a main feature of this jacket, it does stand up okay to breezes and light wind. The velcro adjustable cuff is well-made and doesn't snag on anything or in the pockets.
My only complaint is the side pockets are ridiculously long. The only use I've found to them being so long is that I can rub my chest warm or protect documents rolled up vertically in my pockets. Otherwise, it's kind of non-functional to have zippers so long. I don't have any other complaints about this jacket and I'm immensely sad some horrible person had to steal a jacket and my car keys. Thank God they didn't go looking for the truck in the parking lot to steal using my own keys.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not really "Lite"--but not the 1st Gen. jacket either

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
JDJO
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A few differences between this version and one from a few years ago. Gone are the pit zips and the 60g OH insulation in the body and arms. On the flipside, however, the new material, both fleece and arm/chest "black" portion, is 3 to 4 times thicker and sturdier than the old version--the whole garment feels bombproof. Whereas the old version felt somewhat puffy, slippery, and flimsy, this new one hugs the body, flexes and stretches rather than "flops," and is fully wind/water/weatherproof. The old version had a "hung" OmniHeat liner--the new one has the OmniHeat imprinted directly on the fleece. This strikes me more as an OmniHeat version of the Ballistic Fleece jacket of a few years ago. I think if you're looking for the old verson's equivalent, you should consider the Zephyr Ridge. I paired this with an Omni-Heat hardshell as an alternative to a ski jacket (this is both 3-point and zip-in interchange) and I think I have a winner that keeps me pretty toasty below 20 degrees F while sedentary with just a shirt and t-shirt beneath.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Jacket, Beware Color

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
SteveH
Location: Belton, TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I haven't gotten to wear this jacket very much since my purchase. Appears to work fine in the cold without being bulky. Roomy enough so that I can wear extra layers underneath. My biggest complaint is with the color. I ordered the light metal version. The light gray portion of the jacket is more of a light blue. This is a big turn off. I tried to return the jacket but USPS had issues with the tiny return label Columbia supplies. The box got shipped back to my house. I'm out $14 for return shipping now. I'm keeping the jacket because it's not worth the effort to return it.
The color not matching the photo of the product has been an issue ever since I've been using this site. Buyer beware.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy Camper

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Kapodgoh
Location: San Francisco
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like the jacket. Fits good. Great thermal reflective heat-retaining lining for cold weather. I used this in San Francisco mostly during evening.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Second layer jacket

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
USAFRet
Location: Spain
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this jacket to act as a second layer jacket. It performes well. True to size
I do not recommend this product.
-8points
4of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice, but

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer avatar
bgrand
Location: Joliet, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is pretty nice, but it is small compared to my older standard fleece. I ordered the Buffalo color which shows the Zippers in a yellow/greenish color, but they were color matched to the fabric instead when it arrived. It isn't a deal breaker, but it was disappointing to not be what is pictured.
All in all though, I am happy with it. It looks great and seemed warm on a 40 degree day.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awkward sleeves

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer avatar
pdxsportsdude
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The omni-heat in this jacket does a great job of keeping me warm on cool nights without getting too warm if I'm running errands during the day. The sleeves in this jacket are rather long though. I'm 6'1 and only need the XXL for the shoulder width, and because of that I'm used to sleeves being a little long, but these sleeves hang down to the point that they almost cover my entire palm. Also, the average quality rating is because the first one I had developed a hole in one pocket after two days, but it was exchanged without issue at the Columbia store in town.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great jacket for Colorado Mountain Winters - and early Autumn and Spring

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
RichardB
Location: Evergreen, CO
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned this jacket for about two weeks now. I live near Evergreen, Co, where the temperatures get down to the high 30s and low 40s overnight. I am really enjoying having this jacket to wear when walking about .1 miles each way to get my morning paper. We live in a forest so I do a lot of walking on my property. The jacket fits great, looks great and does a fantastic job of retaining my body heat while keeping out the cold. I will be wearing this when outdoors full time within the next 3 weeks. A fantastic jacket at a reasonable price.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Heat Elite Lite™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent soft shell/liner

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer avatar
seldomseen
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Heat Elite jacket was purchased as a replacement for my lost Omni Heat liner (bummer!). So far the new jacket has surpassed my expectations, being very warm and wind resistant. I've been wearing this garment as a standalone jacket a lot this spring, and it has earned top honors as my outerwear of choice. I look forward to using it next winter as a liner for my parka too.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Camping, Other, Vacation
Conditions: Sunny, Snowy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>