Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell

Columbia Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell

The perfect compromise between blizzard in the forecast and first chill of fall, this multi-functional softshell works hard and plays even harder.
Overall rating:
4.42 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
62 out of 69(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Review 1 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

VERY NICE JACKET

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Trixi
Location: Dubuque, IA
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband owns a business where is outside a lot & purchased this coat a year ago to try. He wears a light pull over fleece underneath of it & stays very comfortable in it all day. He enjoys it so much that we are ordering more for his employees in various sizes!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional and Great Looking!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Frack09
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket as a gift, the receiver is very pleased with it's functionality and looks! He usually wears a medium in Columbia shirts, I got a medium jacket - it fits just right (probably couldn't fit a think sweater underneath).
It's perfect for days when it's too warm for a winter coat but too cold to go with out a jacket!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another Excellent Columbia Product!

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kmedic
Location: NW Minnesota
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this jacket for those times when a full jacket would be too warm. I love this jacket, it is so comfortable and it keeps you warm! The sleeves are the perfect length; not too short and not so long that they get in your way! I would definitely buy this jacket again!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Softshell

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Doc69
Location: San Antonio, TX
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I own another name brand wind proof soft shell, but this is truly the one I love the most! Fits great, proves more wind proofing, and keeps me much warmer. Love the fact that it is stain resistant. Plus, the price point is exceptional. A must have!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bob1000
Location: Virginia
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this thing. Only had it two weeks, but used it for casual clothing on 2 business trips and at home (L.A. Detroit and Virginia). Looks quite stylish I think (others may disagree :) ). Its warm enough for short duration external excursions down to about 30 I figure, but wouldn't want to wear for too long below 40 degrees.
If fits quite snugly. I am 6' and 165 pounds. A medium is snug over a button down collar shirt, but comfortable. Love the flexibility of this material.
It is a little tricky getting shirt sleeves through the arms on this (due to the fleece lining), but once adjusted its not an issue.
Based on this item I think I will see what else Columbia has to offer. I need a new jacket for much colder weather too!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ch1n0
Location: McAllen, TX
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent fit (once you figure out your size). This jacket has a strong / durable feel and a sporty look. I wore it during a week long trip to Colorado during this Winter and it is a perfect mid layer for weather in the 10-20 degrees. It is also great for warmer temperatures only using a warm base layer under it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality Control

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jim33
Location: New York
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The jacket I received had the ia missing from the embroidered Columbia name on the upper left. Very disappointed that a company that boasts of quality would send out a defective product. No longer a customer.
I do not recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Hum84
Location: Waverly, NE
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I was looking for a casual yet dressy looking medium weight jacket and this fit the bill perfectly. The three outside zip pockets and inner pockets provide ample storage. It's a sleek and comfortable fit and bottom line looks and feels GREAT! I'm 5'10", 180lbs, 33" waist and medium stocky build and decided to go with the large instead of medium and really like the fit.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This jacket is awesome

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bball20
Location: Siler City, NC
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It fits perfectly and is very lightweight but still very warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Columbia makes nice stuff....

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Kmassage1
Location: Maryland
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice looking outerwear....made well. Do not think it is for really cold temps. This particular jacket runs slightly small, but I can deal with it. Overall I would recommend to a friend.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Adequate for N.C.

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Drumjazz
Location: Durham, NC
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is lightweight, but is great for the winter weather in North Carolina. I wear it over a sweater and that is plenty for this climate. I am usually in between a medium and large, and I ordered the large. It is roomy, but great for layering. The velcro adjusters around the wrist openings do not sit in a good place and get caught on things. Bad design, and needs to be improved IMO. I would give 4 or 5 stars except for that.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coat

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Eric222
Location: Concord, MA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This holds up really well in extreme cold and wind (assuming you have the right thermal layers underneath). Holds up just as well as the gear I used in the army. Fits slightly smaller than the indicated size normally is (for other brands).
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great jacket!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
BoofieBoy
Location: Portland, OR
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This softshell jacket is a great one! This is the second one for myself and my younger son has had a couple as well. Great weight for the Portland weather. Looks good and sheds the rain. I would definitely recommend this jacket to others!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is very stylist & warm

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
mrg1991
Location: Huntsville, AR
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered this product for my son and he loves it. We ordered a large but even though it is just a little big he is able to wear it over a thick shirt.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mountain Side companion

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
WilliamFromVA
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Epic Softshell! Took it on the mountain with me this past weekend and held up against the high winds and light rains. I recommend this product to anyone who enjoys a warm and very comfortable, durable jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy with my purchase

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jackie13
Location: Jerseyville, IL
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this jacket for my 15 year old grandson for Christmas.
He loved it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great interim jacket for above-freezing temperatures

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
BengaliTiger
Location: USA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great softshell, blocking wind and rain, while providing some warmth. I find it works great over a sweater or fleece layer, for days with temperatures around 40-50 F. It's quite light, but feels substantial, and completely blocks the wind.
It feels well made, and looks great.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Transitional All-Weather Jacket!

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Nathan
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
|My Thoughts|
I love this jacket. I saw it for sale in Academy Sports + Outdoors and checked it out in-store before I purchased it online, due to the availability of "Tall" sizes online, but not in-store. This jacket is perfect for 40-60 degree weather. Also, it is water-resistant, which is great in rainy climes. I live in Florida, so, even though we are the "Sunshine State," it rains here quite a bit. This jacket is great for staying warm and dry. Also, since the winters here are quite mild, this jacket serves me well on all but the coldest of days. If I mix this jacket with a thermal long sleeve shirt underneath and a cap of some type, I am good to go no matter how it gets here.
|Jacket Quality/Fit|
As with all Columbia items I have had the pleasure of having experience with, this jacket is built very well. There are not any loose threads hanging off, no sticky zippers, no rough edges. This jacket is polished and professional. It fits in what I would call a "fitted" cut. It fits snugly across the shoulders, but I prefer that kind of fit. I'm approximately 6',0" and 185-190lbs. I have an athletic build, so this jacket works great for me. Before I bought this, I checked out the reviews, and there are many other reviews that state how the jacket fits tightly across the back or shoulders, but, when you look at those reviews, most are for people who are wearing quite large sizes, so maybe the different body types/compositions have something to do with it. Personally, I wish that this jacket were just a BIT longer in the torso, but it DOES come with a bungee cinch cord around the waist, so one can tighten the waist up. As of yet, I have not had any draft coming up onto my back or anything, so the jacket actually functions well for me. I just prefer the look to be a bit longer. (If that is all I have to complain about, then you see how good this jacket is).
|Conclusion|
You are doing yourself, or someone else, a great favor with this jacket. Even if you live in a colder clime, you could wear this jacket throughout the transitional times of the year (fall and spring), even if your winters are ultimately too cold to wear this as a main jacket. Great overall jacket and very satisfied with my purchase!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I enjoy wearing this product

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Griesjr
Location: MN
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had visited the store and tried this product on and was kind of on the fence. I received it as a gift and was able to try it in cold weather and I was sold. Even though it seems lightweight it holds up against cold weather. It has a classy, fitted look and it works great as a substitute for my pea coats.
The pockets are roomy, the arms are the perfect length and it is very resistant to dirt and stains.
I am very happy with this coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Ascender™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fit, look - but cuffs are not ideal

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
BackCountryGreen
Location: Rochester, NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great shell; the fit and look are spot on. It is a great late fall jacket. It is on the heavier side, so I found I did not start wearing it until the temperature started to drop for the season.
The cuffs are Velcro which I do not like. I have an inner-shell jacket that is somewhat similar to this, a bit thinner, but it has an elastic type cuff which I really like. The Velcro on this jacket has a bit of a lip to it so it sticks out and is noticeable.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1234Next>>