Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Shadow Heights™ Shell

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Shadow Heights™ Shell

Warmth, comfort and stain resistance combine in an all-around shell perfect for everyday errands or more extensive adventures.
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Shadow Heights™ Shell
Review 1 for Men's Shadow Heights™ Shell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great jacket

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mike46
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
I am 5-10, 175 and the large is a bit long in the arm length, the chest and overall length are great. Very well constructed with great material. This is a very comfortable light weight jacket and good looking too.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Shadow Heights™ Shell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Would Recommend

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Hockeyboys3
Location: Belfast, ME
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I usually order XL jackets, but this jacket in a large was very good. It is very comfortable while playing golf and breathes very well. It also keeps you warm too. I have not had the chance to test out any other weather for rain against the jacket, but overall in wind it is very good.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Shadow Heights™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Review: Columbia Shadow Heights Jacket

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Dschouest
Location: Houma, La
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I learned the hard way late last year just how biting the cold can be in the winter when on the water. On the coldest day of the year, I decided to venture out of Golden Meadow wearing three different layers, covered with blue jeans and a fleece jacket. The wind blew right thru the fleece, making my body shiver and my fingers grow numb. As I paddled back in after realizing just how draining a freezing north wind can be, I knew I needed something to break the chill of the wind.
After I became sponsored by Columbia Sportswear, I decided to check out their Shadow Heights jacket. I was sold because of the material being able to stop both a wind and even the cold to a degree, and because they had a jacket to match my color scheme of red and black. The item arrived at my door seven business days later. I had also emailed their customer service folks to ask about some stickers, and they were happy to send me a card with four stickers for me to stick on the truck and boat! Gotta love awesome customer service!
The majority of the product is made of polyester, which beads off water very well. Getting splashed with cold water is something every kayak angler must deal with, and this wind breaker does a fine job of repelling the splashes that come with the art of paddling. The material is also very lightweight, not dragging the angler down with extra encumbrance when it comes to paddling, casting, poling, anything that one must do to get a bite.
Even with sustained exposure to moisture via fog, the Shadow Heights jacket keeps the wearer warm. I paddled and fished in thick fog during the Bayou Coast Kayak Fishing Club’s annual Paddlepalooza tournament in March, and not once did I feel a bit of cold on my body.
The only complaints I have are minute. I bought a small sized jacket because I have a very small frame. Even in the smallest size, the sleeves are a bit long, and the jacket hangs below my waist a bit more than I am comfortable with. These do not hinder my progress, fishing ability, or make the fishing experience a burden in any way; it just makes me feel even smaller than I already am. And because of my small size, the cuffs are loose on the wrist, giving the wind an entrance to chill my arms. The only time this is really noticeable is when I am facing into the wind, and the inconvenience is minor at worst.
In summary, for your average angler whom is looking for a way to combat the wind and spray that our favorite sport brings to the table, Columbia’s Shadow Heights jacket is a great way to increase your comfort and time on the water. And with a price of ninety-five dollars, it is affordable to the vast majority of anglers.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Shadow Heights™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice product

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Chev
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall I am very pleased with the jacket. 100% waterproof and very pleased. It is surprisingly warm for how lightweight it is but with a hoodie underneath it is perfect. I love the material and it stays clean. The size is way off. I wear an XL in t-shirts so I purchased the Large. If I could go back I would buy a medium.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Shadow Heights™ Shell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Windbreaker alternative

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nancy22
Location: Southern California
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great lightweight shell which I bought as an alternative to a polyester windbreaker. I take an XL in all Columbia gear except this....it was huge and I returned for a Large which fit much better. Sleeves were very long as well on the XL.
The material quality is typical Columbia....terrific. It's also very light, haven't tested its water resistance yet. It could use a drawstring on the waist, even on the Large.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Shadow Heights™ Shell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

interesting jacket

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
outdoors60
Location: mountains of virginia
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This jacket is made of somerather interesting flexible material. It is partially windproof, good for active sports like golf. I cannot say about being waterproof. The pocket on the left sleeve has a zipper which is hard to work because of the flexible fabric. It is in an awkward spot, also.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Shadow Heights™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Spring / Summer Shell

PostedJune 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
JoeyVirginia
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this shell just for kicks because I got it cheap. And it is anything but cheap. Its really sharp (got the charcoal / black with blue zipper pulls). Wore it in the rain today and I'm bone dry. Fits a little large, I got the Large and I'm 6 ft., 185, so may have gone with the medium, but no big deal. It'll fit nicely if I ever have to sport a fleece or something underneath. I can also tell that this would be an excellent golf rain jacket if that is something that you're looking for. I'd highly recommend this to anyone looking for a light, waterproof, sharp jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Shadow Heights™ Shell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks Sweet, easty to use

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
LeeJ
Location: Boston
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a nice water resistant shell to use over another jacket (such as a fleece) in moist weather. It's got a stretch to it that allows you to put it on pretty easily. I got the blue and gray one, and it looks great. The sleeves and body are plenty long to fit over another jacket, but it isn't so big that it looks goofy. It's light weight, so it won't weight you down. My 1 suggestion would be to add a cord to sinch the waist. But otherwise this is a really nice piece.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.