Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Portage Glacier™ III Down Long Jacket

Columbia Men's Portage Glacier™ III Down Long Jacket

Stay warm all winter in this ultra-protective, chill-defeating hooded down jacket. The longer cut keeps you covered during all your daily outdoor errands while a thermal reflective lining amplifies the natural heating power of down. Treated to resist rain and stains, you’ll be covered even if you happen to get caught in a passing squall.
Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
9 out of 11(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Portage Glacier™ III Down Long Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Portage Glacier™ III Down Long Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice - great with a couple of changes

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
BernardAugust
Location: Richmond, VA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just bought this coat. It is my first piece from Columbia. Really like the coat's length and it is definitely warm. I'm 5'10", 175 lbs. The medium fits over a suit coat, a bit snug, but that cuts down on the Pillsbury Doughboy look. The sleeves are 1-2 inches longer than they need to be for medium.
A couple of improvements that would make a big improvement 1) a 2-way zipper. The longer length really needs to be able to open from the bottom to save wear and tear when sitting and to give ease of access to pants pockets. 2) an inside waist cord would be nice to be able to tie for extra warmth retention and when full zippering isn't needed. 3) The faux-fur is a bit too faux. I'd rather have the real thing.
All in all a good value for the price. You can't expect 700-fill goose down in a full length coat for just $250 (or $185 on sale).
I'm really liking that this works with a suit jacket. I'm tired of being cold in a traditional topcoat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Portage Glacier™ III Down Long Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Men's Portage Glacier a few suggested changes

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
nick19977
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1. I find the fur around the hood to be a bit too long. It should be changed to a short cropped type of fur do to the fact that the long fur tends to get in one’s face. Luckily the fur is removable from the hood.
2. All the exterior pockets should be lined with reflective insulating material and not just one set of pockets.
3. The hood should be made more insulating as well and not the just serve a wind breaker function.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Portage Glacier™ III Down Long Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Size problem

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Chelovek
Location: NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
This product has size problem, really. I usually buy XL, very rare XXL (if european), this one was XL and I put my wife underneath of that with me and still there was room,
Very very big, and I am 180lb and 5'11.
If you buying it, go at least one size lower
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Portage Glacier™ III Down Long Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Portage Glacier™ III Down Long Jacket

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Kitten
Location: Rock Falls, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This winter coat has become my best buy for Warmth, and comfort to wear. This coat is full length, accept inside there is a tie down to close off the bottom. To keep in your body heat.
I was amazed with 6 pockets on the outside plus 2 more inside. 5 of these pockets are zipper; with several of the pocket unseen.
I do not know about water proof on the outside, since there is no rain this time of the year.
Accept the inside lining which adds the value to the Whole Coat, great new idea for installation. Plus the Down Fill . The only thing I need to worry about, is my face to the wind.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Portage Glacier™ III Down Long Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this jacket

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Rick22
Location: Lexington, KY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I first tried on this jacket I wasn't sure if I liked the fur around the hood and then I discovered that it just unsnaps and can be removed. Having that option made it a done deal for me. It is very warm and comfortable, the length is great too, keeps the entire upper body warm.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Portage Glacier™ III Down Long Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
kming24
Location: Arkansas
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not as heavy (as in weight) as I thought it would be so that was a pleasant surprise. Jacket is well built and VERY warm. We have had ice and 18 degree days with sleet in freezing rain here and though i am not the type to get cold...with this jacket cold seems to be un-noticed. I have other columbia jackets in a Large so i got this in Large..it fits smaller than my other columbia apparel but it still fits, i would say Slightly snug. Great Coat bottom line
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Portage Glacier™ III Down Long Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

jacket

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
wentbiking1970
Location: NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not as heavy as i initially thought it would be, but it keeps me warm enough to walk my dogs on the cold winter mornings. The fur around the hood gets in my face so i just trimmed it.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Portage Glacier™ III Down Long Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent purchase

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
afa67
Location: Basking Ridge, NJ
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is not only useful in formal and informal events, is warm, light and resistant.
Is one of the best purchases I ever made and cheaper than other well known brands of winter clothes.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Portage Glacier™ III Down Long Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
SKKH5
Location: D.C. Metro area
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband needed a new down jacket to replace one he's had for a really long time. When we were unable to find any long jackets in the stores we looked online. He selected this one after looking at several others. He says it's keeps him nice and warm. It's a great length and the fit is perfect.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Portage Glacier™ III Down Long Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Monster Jacket - Very Warm

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
cjbro390
Location: North Idaho
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great jacket, very warm and long. I use it for snow blowing, walking around town, and throwing on after skiing. It's also great for walking the dogs on frozen days. If you throw on a puff vest underneath...you could shelter in place for a long time.
You can snap off the fur piece very easily. This was important because people in N. Idaho shoot anything that moves.
One word of caution, this jacket runs incredibly big. I am 6'3'', 235, played football and workout on a regular basis. The XL was way to big. I normally wear XL in everything. I exchanged it for a LG and it fits perfect. Unless you play OL for the Seahawks get a Large if you're an XL guy.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Portage Glacier™ III Down Long Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Can't handle the cold winters.

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Rbailey
Location: Buffalo, NY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great looking jacket but not warm enough for under 3o degrees. The fit was great, I usually wear a large.
I do not recommend this product.
-7points
6of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byCavemanDave
Ottawa, Ontario.
 
Please wait while more information about CavemanDave is loaded.
Additional information about CavemanDave could not be loaded.
Did you mean -30 degrees?
onFebruary 3, 2014
I wore this coat yesterday and it was 20 Deg F here in Ottawa. I only had an A-shirt and t-shirt underneath and was warm enough.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)