Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket

Warmth is the name of the game with the popular Shimmer Me Timbers jacket; Omni-Heat® helps to retain your body heat while the durable nylon ripstop exterior sheds rain and stains. Large classic baffles increase the effectiveness of the insulation so you stay warm in cold conditions.
Overall rating:
4.769 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 12(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Warm, but not stylish

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: Tom
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this jacket to replace a primaloft from another brand that I used for my everyday jacket. I found the jacket to be very warm (warmer than models of similar thickness) but the cut is very strange. Columbia is an outdoor company, yet this jacket seems to be cut for someone who is much heavier than your average backpacker. It makes me feel like a big fat guy.
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The jacket worked very well

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
huntsman
Location: dallas , tx
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wore it up in the Pacfic Northwest for a week . It was low 50's daytime , but windy and damp . The jacket did great and as a liner it was really warm at nite . Been wearing it here in Dallas during the cold snap and is doing great down to 38 last night . I like it a lot.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Liv15209
Location: California
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my husband's new favorite jacket! He loves the Fuse Green color and the fit is just right. (5'11, a fit 200lbs)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer avatar
MountainMike
Location: Denver, Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very warm, light weight and a great jacket!
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great light jacket or liner or layer

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Lars
Location: Plymouth, MN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I originally bought this replace the fleece liner in my Columbia Titanium Jacket but the zippers don't mesh. I guess my old jacket is too old and the zipper size for the Interchange jackets has changed. No big deal, I can still wear it inside my jacket and I have another Columbia jacket that it will zip in so I am happy. It is a nice light weight jacket by itself. Plenty warm for 35+F days and extra warm inside of shell for colder days. I wear an XL and the size runs true. It is well made. The compass blue exterior and silver dot interior are bright but they grow on you. Personally, I wish it was offered in black (hint, hint) but it wasn't so I will live with the blue.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Tico
Location: Washington DC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm so very impressed with this jacket. Very lightweight. Great features, including well-designed collar and waist cinching cords. Highly compressible and packable. Very, very warm. Looks great in compass blue.
The thermal reflective printing does seem to work. It's hard to say that objectively, but this jacket and the other products I have from Columbia with the OmniHeat printing are really impressively warm.
This is a short-length jacket. There's no butt-coverage. That, coupled with the fact that the outer surface does absorb some water, one should certainly have a compatible shell to go over this jacket on messy days.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket for Travelling

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
LitespeedClimber
Location: Greenville, SC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
  • Expert
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm 5'10 and 165 lbs and the size medium fits like a glove over a medium weight wool sweater.
I purchased this jacket for a week long trip to Northern Europe in January. The temperatures ranged from 5 deg F to 32 deg F with some snow and blistery winds.
This jacket performed excellent. It was easily rolled and stored in a small carry on bag, yet kept me comfortable at even the coldest temperature.
The lining does an incredible job of keeping your core temperature stable while the exterior blocks the winds.
In addition, the look and cut of the jacket make it very versatile for nearly any occasion.
Strong recommendation for this product!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Why no thumb holes

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
thom1225
Location: Crete, IL
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket has the advantage of fitting into my zip-out Columbia coat. The OmniHeat feature is great. But my wife has the same jacket for women and it has thumb holes in the inner wrist lining that, when pulled down act as hand warmers. Would have been a cool plus. Love the style, fit is large enough to accept a sweater and long-sleeved pullover for layering in the cold weather, but not so large as to be sloppy over a lighter top.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice inner layer

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
PCSr
Location: Los Altos Hills, CA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having been using the default soft shell liner for years, I felt the soft shell was not providing sufficient warmth, so was looking for something that is softer and warmer.
The Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket was up to my expectations and really kept me warm throughout the ski trip to Tahoe.
Of course, wearing this alone should not be an option in case you are going somewhere cold. It can serve as a warmer alternative to your hoodies by itself.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm Jacket

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Hamilton
Location: South Korea
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket meets my expectations, it is very warm and very light.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
MTBoilermaker
Location: Whitefish, MT
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does what it is suppose to do...kept me warm. Very comfortable and nice looking jacket. Can definitely feel the warmth.
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket - Review

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Goodarts
Location: Ames, Iowa
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Shiver Me Timbers II as my Fall jacket. The first thing I noticed when unboxing the jacket was the disco-style lining (Omni-heat). My wife and I joked that we wished it was reversible, thinking it was a gimmick. Once I put on the jacket and immediately warmed up, I stopped making fun of the lining. This jacket is WARM. I'm very happy with the Mystery color. The pockets are soft and warm. In fact, the jacket is so comfortable and warm that my wife has been taking it and wearing it around the house (she gets cold easily).
I was stuck out int he rain the other day and the jacket kept me warm and dry – the water just sheeted off of the coat.
The Large was true to size. I would recommend this jacket to anyone looking for a warm and good-looking Fall jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is very stylish!

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer avatar
hawaiian777
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this jacket in autumn orange. It looks great and is made well. I can't wait to use it this winter!
I would recommend this product.
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.