Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket

Warmth is the name of the game with the popular Shimmer Me Timbers jacket; Omni-Heat® helps to retain your body heat while the durable nylon ripstop exterior sheds rain and stains. Large classic baffles increase the effectiveness of the insulation so you stay warm in cold conditions.
Overall rating:
4.536 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
27 out of 28(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great jacket, so so colors

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Liv15209
Location: California
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the Ebony blue in Large and Fuse Green in XL because those were the only color/size options available at the time. There were some reviews that said it ran small so I wasn't sure which one would fit my husband better so I bought both just in case. The Ebony blue is more of a dark purple rather than a navy blue. The Fuse Green is an awesome color but it was too big. My husband says they are pretty true to size (he is 5"11 and 200lbs). We ended up returning both and bought the Fuse Green in Shimmer Me Timber without the hood. If they had any hooded ones left in a Large, we would be all over it :)
Overall a great product! I bought the women's version for myself and love it! It really keeps us warm, but not too warm where we are sweating. I have already recommended it to friends and family.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ice climbing belay jacket

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Tino
Location: Midwest
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works really well as a belay jacket. I bought it two sizes bigger than I normally wear, and it fits perfectly over my fleece base layers and a hard shell. It is not too bulky to wear, and it easily packs into a compact stuff sack. A great piece of gear and it's at a price hundreds less than the competition's belay jackets.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent jacket!

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Shumi
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this jacket as a gift for my boy friend and he loved it! It is very light yet keeps him warm in the Chicago winter which is pretty awesome. The jacket is not bulky and unlike many other winter jackets has a nice shape and fit. Contrary to many reviews the size is actuallly just right. I don't think they come any smaller than they should be - you should just know your right size! I bought the "Indigo blue" which is actually closer to purple in color than blue.
I am a huge fan of Columbia down jackets. I own a few myself and would happily recoomend them to all!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the hood!

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
laura3
Location: Flower Mound, TX
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently bought my college age son the Shimmer Me Timbers coat with hood. He is going to college in a climate that has a good bit of cold rainy or snowy weather. He has the 3 in one Omni Heat jacket but a friend accidentally took the inner jacket by mistake. I bought him the hooded Shimmer Me Timbers for a replacement and he loves it! He said the hood is a much appreciated addition to the 3 in 1 even though the outer coat has a hood. He said it really does a great job of eliminating any cold winds on those long walks to and from class. Thank you!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket, off color

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Stitches
Location: PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We ordered the ebony blue but it looks purple and my son refused to wear it. Otherwise a great jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
jmoon86
Location: seattle, wa
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jackets awesome, pretty warm for its thickness too. I stay comfortable at temperatures of around 34 degrees, with maybe a long sleeve underneath.
Jackets length runs a little small, i am 6'1 at 180 lbs and bought a large, it just barely goes past my waist, so if you are tall get a size bigger than you think.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jacket!

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
ARwinter
Location: Arkansas
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was not sure if this jacket would be too heavy for Arkansas weather, but now I see it is perfect!
PROS:
-lightweight, but very warm with OMNI lining
-several well placed pockets
-Hood is also insulated and large enough to protect from elements
-True to size
CONS:
-shell material does feel a little thin, but so far no problems. This actually is a PRO to me, but may be issue to someone. Jacket is still very warm and rain/wind/cold resistant.
OVERALL this coat has been great, no complaints at all. Recommended!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This jacket is Great

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
MikeP66
Location: Southeastern Pennsylvania
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is GREAT ! The fit is great its so light weight and warm. I am 5'8" 165lbs and the fit is perfect (Large). I can't believe how light weight its is and that it can keep you so warm. I would recomend this jacket to everyone.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In love with this jacket!

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
blueyeguy
Location: Lancaster, PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I've had my fuse green Shiver Me Timbers II jacket for less than 2 weeks now and I love it! It fits me perfectly, is so light, but also so warm, and the eye catching color is awesome. Have I said I love this thing? I've worn it out in single degree temps with only a tshirt under it and it kept me toasty warm. The Omni-Heat feature is awesome.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat, warm and lightweight!

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Porter
Location: Andover, MN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My son lost his winter coat (in December in Minnesota!) He needed a new one right away. After looking through local retailers we went on line to check out the coat that was shown on TV ads. His favorite color is bright green. The coat was the perfect color and priced very well. ( I was kinda sad to see it for 35 dollars less a few weeks later) It shipped in just a few days which was great as he was coatless!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
MMerrill
Location: San Francisco
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
This was holiday gift for my 18 year old son. Great fit, I assume the tech works because he wore it to an outdoor concert this weekend with no complaints. This is blue, also purchased red for my older son and I must say that the colors are unique and beautiful!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shimmer Me Timbers II Jackets

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Debbie29
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We all love our black shimmer me timbers II jackets. They look great, are not bulky and keep you really warm!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight and warm!

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
psdiva
Location: Detroit,MI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i was looking for a replacement liner for a parka system i've had for years. this is perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hooded Jacket

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
hert
Location: Mass
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recieved the jacket it was a great fit and I like the texture of it. I will purchase something again in the furture. Thanks for the nice quality of the coat. I purchase it for my son for a christmas present and he love it .
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best jacket ever!!!

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
youngbossmoe
Location: chicago il
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
to begin with yes i would recommend this jacket if your looking for warmth style and swagg.the jacket fits perfectly and also looks very unique ^6 stars from me!!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat.

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Liss33
Location: Missouri
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is very warm. The only drawback is that I had to order a men's coat because the women's style coat is either too small or unavailable in extended sizing. However, I like that this coat is warm without being bulky.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Shimmer Me Timbers II Hooded Jacket

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
TBO12
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE LOVE LOVE this jacket!!!!. To be honest, I was a bit weary when I first received the jacket because it seemed so light. This jacket packs a major punch when it comes to warmth!!!! The insulation and the reflective thermal lining really really work!!!, and that's what is so amazing about this product, extremely warm without all the bulk!!. Love all the little details like the wrist baffles, drawstrings on the hood and waist allowing you to keep all that precious heat in!! I purchased a medium which fits perfect!. Wore the jacket on a cold and light rainy day in december where I forgot my umbrella. The water beaded right off the fabric, and I stayed warm and dry!!! This is the best jacket ever I've purchased so far!!!! Thank you Columbia
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

men's shimmer me thimbers II hooded jacket

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
lynette
Location: Canada
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
do not purchase ebony blue, it is not at all the blue i thought it was going to be
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Jacket hood

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Eaglepower03
Location: Los Angeles, California
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I like this product because it was something I was looking for but I believe it is a little over priced it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Mharp212
Location: Zanesville, OH
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value for the price. Very warm!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>