Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket

Warmth is the name of the game with the popular Shimmer Me Timbers jacket; Omni-Heat® helps to retain your body heat while the durable nylon ripstop exterior sheds rain and stains. Large classic baffles increase the effectiveness of the insulation so you stay warm in cold conditions.
Overall rating:
4.536 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
27 out of 28(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good product

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Gladstone, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great product, just what my wife was looking for our grandson.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not for the lanky and tall

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am about 6'1 to 6'2 and 160 pounds. I got the medium. This jacket seems too short. If you are above 6 foot and thin like me, you ought to consider getting the tall.
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Practical

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Palmer, Alaska
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, light weight and nice looking !
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Bit Small, but Practical

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this jacket for Oklahoma winters. It's extremely light, warm, and versatile. It can be used as part of Columbia's "Interchange" line. I already own a fleece, so on days that I might need more warmth, I'l just layer. Of note, I found the size I normally wear - S - to be a bit snug especially when I zipped up the coat. I went a size up - M - and it fit much better. It's amazing how light the coat is too. Easy to hang or leave in the truck as necessary. This is a very good, practical jacket especially for anyone living in the south where winters tend to be a little warmer than our friends in Oregon, etc. Coat will be used for early morning fishing and running the family around town on cold mornings.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Portland

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you're looking for something that will keep you warm even when its windy and drizzling this is the jacket for you. I bought this to be my primary outdoor jacket for going out and about here in the Pacific Northwest. So far its passed the test and has kept me toasty and warm while my friends were shivering in their lesser sweaters! I'm 5'7 140 and the Small size fit me perfectly. I liked the Zephyr Ridge also but it didn't have a hood like this does. The hood will come in very handy I'm sure!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Way Too short

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Boulder, CO
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DO NOT BUY, I repeat DO NOT BUY this jacket unless you plan to zip it in to one of their shells. The design of this jacket does not work as stand alone jacket. I am 5'11", 170. I typically always wear a medium. It barely reaches my belt line. I went to sports authority and tried on the large and it was just as short, just alot wider, not an option. The second mistake I made was removing the tags because now I can't return it, per their policy. First mistake being that I didn't listen to the previous review and stay away from this jacket. I needed a jacket so the tags had to go. It really is unfortunate because the color and weight are perfect, as is the fill. It is just too short for probably 95% of the men out there to wear it as a stand alone jacket. Tuck in your shirt and hike up those britches. This will make a wonderful donation once I get completely fed up with the fit and can't take it anymore. If this jacket was 1-2" longer it would be a 5 star jacket, but the length completely ruins it. Ma Boyle, I guess it's back to the drawing board. You blew this one.
I do not recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Jacket does everything it says

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Dalton, Ga
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the omni-heat lining is amazing, it has helped keep me warm on throughout GA's unpredictable weather. I love how light and sleek the jacket is, I got the black jacket. As far as sizing, I'd say to go with you would regularly wear in most jackets.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Zanesville, OH
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value for the price. Very warm!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Jacket hood

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Los Angeles, California
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I like this product because it was something I was looking for but I believe it is a little over priced it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men's Shimmer Me Timbers II Hooded Jacket

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE LOVE LOVE this jacket!!!!. To be honest, I was a bit weary when I first received the jacket because it seemed so light. This jacket packs a major punch when it comes to warmth!!!! The insulation and the reflective thermal lining really really work!!!, and that's what is so amazing about this product, extremely warm without all the bulk!!. Love all the little details like the wrist baffles, drawstrings on the hood and waist allowing you to keep all that precious heat in!! I purchased a medium which fits perfect!. Wore the jacket on a cold and light rainy day in december where I forgot my umbrella. The water beaded right off the fabric, and I stayed warm and dry!!! This is the best jacket ever I've purchased so far!!!! Thank you Columbia
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat.

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Missouri
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coat is very warm. The only drawback is that I had to order a men's coat because the women's style coat is either too small or unavailable in extended sizing. However, I like that this coat is warm without being bulky.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shimmer Me Timbers 1: one of my best jackets ever

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Mountain View, CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a review for the first version of the Shimmer Me Timbers (wish my version had the banded cuffs):
I've had this jacket for almost two years now, and its the go-to jacket when its wet outside, or when the temp drops.
It's very lightweight, the Omni-Heat (new technology at the time) is amazing – it really warms you up and retains the heat. I often refer my jacket as "the microwave." I don't need to bulk up to get warm.
It fits a bit snug around the waist, I am 5'5" approx. 140 lbs, and have a 30" waist. It is slightly snug around the waist, as for good reason so it keeps the heat, without any cold drafts sneaking in.
The jacket wicks away water really well, which is also a minor complaint of mine, if I throw on my backpack I need to make sure I have both shoulder straps on, so the backpack doesn't slip off my shoulders.
Overall, I'm extremely satisfied and happy to look for more Columbia jackets like this in the future.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

men's shimmer me thimbers II hooded jacket

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Canada
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
do not purchase ebony blue, it is not at all the blue i thought it was going to be
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best jacket ever!!!

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: chicago il
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
to begin with yes i would recommend this jacket if your looking for warmth style and swagg.the jacket fits perfectly and also looks very unique ^6 stars from me!!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hooded Jacket

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Mass
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recieved the jacket it was a great fit and I like the texture of it. I will purchase something again in the furture. Thanks for the nice quality of the coat. I purchase it for my son for a christmas present and he love it .
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight and warm!

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Detroit,MI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i was looking for a replacement liner for a parka system i've had for years. this is perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shimmer Me Timbers II Jackets

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We all love our black shimmer me timbers II jackets. They look great, are not bulky and keep you really warm!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: San Francisco
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
This was holiday gift for my 18 year old son. Great fit, I assume the tech works because he wore it to an outdoor concert this weekend with no complaints. This is blue, also purchased red for my older son and I must say that the colors are unique and beautiful!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat, warm and lightweight!

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Andover, MN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My son lost his winter coat (in December in Minnesota!) He needed a new one right away. After looking through local retailers we went on line to check out the coat that was shown on TV ads. His favorite color is bright green. The coat was the perfect color and priced very well. ( I was kinda sad to see it for 35 dollars less a few weeks later) It shipped in just a few days which was great as he was coatless!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Shimmer Me Timbers™ II Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In love with this jacket!

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Lancaster, PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I've had my fuse green Shiver Me Timbers II jacket for less than 2 weeks now and I love it! It fits me perfectly, is so light, but also so warm, and the eye catching color is awesome. Have I said I love this thing? I've worn it out in single degree temps with only a tshirt under it and it kept me toasty warm. The Omni-Heat feature is awesome.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>