Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket

Columbia Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket

With ultrabreathable wind block technology and an Omni-Heat® lining, the Zephyr Ridge is a master of thermo-regulation so you stay perfectly comfortable and protected while working hard during aerobic activities in cold, dry conditions; and if you happen to get caught in a light shower, the exterior also repels moisture.
Overall rating:
4.636 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
30 out of 31(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zephyr Ridge Jacket

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Recieved this jacket 3 weeks ago and it is not a disappointment! Well built, wind stopping and functional, this jacket is great when its windy and chilly (I live in Kansas, its always windy). Its also lightweight and the venting zippers under the arms make a noticable difference when they are open. The only thing I would like more on this jacket would be if the cuff lining had thumbholes. Besides that, Im very happy with it.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish it had a hood

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Washington State
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband layers this with a hooded jacket and it is perfect. Not bulky and looks great.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Cincinnati
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I spend a lot of time in really cold environments and this is now my new favorite jacket. It has a really good fit and has held up very well.
Would recommend this jacket to anyone.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: DC area
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I live in the DC area, and we have experienced sub freezing temps in the past couple of days. I wanted to write a review earlier but I was waiting for cold temps in order to submit a good review. I really like this jacket, because it keeps me warm in the morning while walking and waiting at the bus stop. I'm currently using it with an old parka shell i bought back in 2004 and it performs very well, keeping wind and cold out, which is somthing my old lining did not do that well. I just wish that, like my old lining, this one had inside pockets. Also the "Mystery" color option looks gray on the computer screen, in reality is more of a gray-ish, blue color (you can google grayish blue color), and the dark section is more of a charcoal gray not black. Other than that, i'm really happy with my new jacket and look forward to colder weather.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For me, good pre/post peak-winter

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was in an outdoor store looking for a replacement for a Northface fleece-type jacket I had gotten (with a hood) that I intended to use for in between fall-winter and winter-spring (but not dead of winter). The NF was too light.
I live North of Chicago. I also take public transit, so I need to stand in the cold and wind quite a bit waiting for trains and buses. Well, after a couple hours in the store looking at all brands and weights of jackets, I got the Zephyr Ridge jacket, and I love it! It's insulated just enough, and cuts the wind. It's sort of part fleece itself, but you really don't notice based on the wind resistance.
Yes, I kind of wish it had a hood like the one it replaced, but since it is a pre-dead-of-winter jacket, it's not too much of a problem just wearing a hat (for peak winter, I need the hat AND hood!).
Another thing I was looking for in a jacket is the front upper pocket. Handy for putting bus/train passes in for easy access.
One thing about the Omni heat lining, you have to be careful of it snagging on anything sharp (even a slight hang nail). As long as you're careful, it's fine, but I had to clip some threads off before I learned to be careful (not from fingers, but from edges in the closet at work). It didn't affect or hurt the jacket.
If I just drove the car to work, this jacket would probably work all winter. I think I'm getting the Storm Raid for that :) . I'm kind of a Columbia convert, now.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's Good, but not the best.

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Lehi, UT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this a couple weeks ago, I like it a lot; It looks nice, fits great, comfortable. But It's not the warmest. Do not buy this if you want something really warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Jacket

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: University Park, PA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is the best purchase I ever made. I go to college and walk to class in the cold weather. The temps dropped as low as 5 degrees. I purchased this jacket due to the high winds and frigid temps. The jacket withstands the 20 to 30 mph winds with no challenge and traps in heat like a champ. I wear this jacket and a tshirt and it keeps me warm in the <15 degree temps. The jacket is not fully waterproof but is fairly water resistant. Unless you in a down poor for along period of time it should be fine. I wouldn't think twice about buying this jacket it is a great product.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Coat

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Delaware
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
From the minute I put this coat on I was impressed. It fit me like it was tailored to fit. The neck, chest and forearms were perfect. The coat is long enough that the back does not rise to expose my lower back when active. It holds heat remarkably well. The coat seems to know how much heat to hold. Today it is 18 degrees with a stiff wing. I'm doing good. Lastly, this coat looks good. Good enough to be worn out for for socializing.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible Jacket

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Bucyrus, Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been looking for a soft-shell jacket that light but warm, as well as wind and rain resistant. This fit the bill perfectly. I was so happy with I ordered another one for my father. I've also recommended it to a few friends that are in the market for a similar product. I truely feel that this jacket will be worn about 7 months out of the year here in Ohio. Highly recommend!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Deep woods???

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Kansas City, MO`
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Unable to tell in the photo, but I assure you "Deep Woods" means "Green". I will be returning this jacket.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm and light weight

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Palm Desert, Ca
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the jacket I have been looking for. Light weight, breathable, pit zips. It's everything I wanted in a jacket.
Only thing I am not crazy about is the Velcro cuffs that adds a little bulk. Yes they are very functional and do what they are supposed to do but I rather see elastic on the sleeve and the wind cuff be a little tighter.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat!!!!!

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Joliet, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great coat!!!! Flexiable, Comfortable & very Warm. It is the warmest coat I have ever owned!!!!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for the Slopes

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Alma, AR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received this jacket just in time to put it to the test on the slopes of Colorado. I couldn't have been happier. It was exceptionally lightweight but kept me toasty warm. I'm so pleased with the jacket that it has become my go-to coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This jacket has additional pockets and features not found on other brand.

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Bismarck, ND
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket can be a stand-alone item or used in conjuction with an additional hooded jacket. It zips right in, is ultra comfortable and a great colour. Great product.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super jacket

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket--just what other reviewers had said. Warm but light-weight.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kept me cool, warm, and dry, all in the same evening.

PostedMay 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: NC
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I was recently hiking out to see seals in Australia - their winter. The hike was steep down, then steep up. Later, it got really dark and started to pour. While hiking up hill, I opened the underarm vents to allow me to cool while keeping the jacket zipped up so I kept dry. Later, it got quite chilly. Closed the vents and toasty. Finally got back to the car, well after dark. My pants were soaked, but under my Zephyr Ridge, I was warm and dry.
Everyday the weather changed, but the Zephyr Ridge kept out the wind and rain while allowing me to adjust the temperature as needed. I highly recommend this for your cool weather travel needs.
One problem I did have was that when the felt portion got wet, it took a while to dry. I was dry inside the jacket, but the outside did get quite wet.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Friendly Boat or Sporting Event Jacket

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Gulf Coast USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
You'll notice the warmth of the Omni-Heat® lining the second you put it on. The collar keeps the wind off you neck and the front zip pocket is the perfectly sized to accommodate a larger cell phone. Nice fit and light rain resistant.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing jacket!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: San Antonio Texas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't regret this purchase at all!
This jacket is spectacular, the moisture repellent top half is amazing,water just wicks right off, the Omni heat inside is perfect, it keeps all the warmth in and warms you up as soon as you put it on all while still being breathable and not so hot you have to take it off, i could wear this thing all day long without a problem, if you're the outdoorsy type of person then this jacket is perfect for moderate outdoor use to advanced outdoor use such as backpacking (with extra layers of course)
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best jacket ever

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: New jersey
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The weather was in the 20's but I did not feel anything wearing this jacket.I normally do not write reviews but this jacket made me write something
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zephyr Ridge Jacket

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Denver area Colorado, this Jacket is amazing, 100% windproof and warm.
I have another windproof jacket from another manufacture, that does not have any lining, so when the cold wind blows, your skin get cold.
I am a warm climate person (lived in Florida for 30 years), so I do not like the cold and the Zephyr Ridge Jacket keeps me warm (down to 15 degree so far)
I highly recommend this Jacket to everyone
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>