Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket

Columbia Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket

With ultrabreathable wind block technology and an Omni-Heat® lining, the Zephyr Ridge is a master of thermo-regulation so you stay perfectly comfortable and protected while working hard during aerobic activities in cold, dry conditions; and if you happen to get caught in a light shower, the exterior also repels moisture.
Overall rating:
4.636 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
30 out of 31(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Jacket for above freezing conditions

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer avatar
markyg
Location: vicenza, italy
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have only worn this jacket twice so don't have a complete perspective on it. It is very stylish and comfortable. I am amazed at the light weight quality of the jacket. It is excellent at blocking the wind. I have worn the jacket twice in the snow and it was well above freezing. I felt comfortable, but not extremely warm. Maybe I am just used to wearing very heavy jackets. I hope this jacket will keep me warm when it is colder outside.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent Jacket BUT...........

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
BG123
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nearly everyone has given this a five star rating. I certainly appreciate the ability of the jacket. That said, had I paid full price I would be returning it. The jacket fits fine in the shoulders, arms and the torso length. But, in the midsection and around the waist, it has a lot of excess size. I see another commenter has made the same remark.
In other words, to be frank, it appears to be sized for men with large bellies. It does not fit properly nor is it flattering for someone who is actually in shape. Which I find ironic given this is active wear.
This liberal sizing in the midsection and waist means there isn't a proper seal of the jacket in the midsection and the torso and that affects its performance. I would recommend you make a size for big and tall if you want to serve two markets. I won't be buying any more Columbia products because of this experience. I much prefer the flattering fit for Marmot, Helly Hansen, etc. that reflect the active man.
Hopefully, Columbia will take this as constructive criticism because I am certainly not the only fit person who wants to buy clothes that actually perform properly and that were designed for my physique.
I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Good Initial Impression

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Mickey49
Location: Bowie, Maryland
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have not yet worn this product outside. Inside it proved to be very comfortable and that leads me to believe that it will perform well in cool to moderately cold weather. The fit is more snug than I expected and probably will not be able to wear more than one or two thin layers underneath.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Jacket

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
John000
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Bought this as a liner jacket to wear under a windbreaker for winter motorcycle riding. Much warmer than anticipated and do not need to wear the outer windbreaker in 40 degree weather! Jacket body runs true to size but sleeves are a bit snug. Not so much so that I would return the jacket, but wish the sleeves were a bit more roomy.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

zephyr ridge

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
tedub
Location: hurricane,wv
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second jacket and I love it. It's lite weight , but extremely warm and the active fit is great. The only thing that would improve this jacket , is a hood.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mostly Good But Will Have To Go Back

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Stillmary
Location: Michigan City, IN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought this jacket for our grandson and he loves it. It's the perfect weight and provides the warmth he was looking for, however, it's a little snug across the shoulders when he's bending over and the sleeves are too tight. Too bad because otherwise it's an awesome product!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Vinni
Location: Roselle, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like this jacket very much, though I wish the pocket zippers worked the other way. I think you should zip the zipper down to close the pocket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

well made good quality

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Bandit001
Location: rockaway,nj
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The jackets style is nice,only thing is my arms feel tight in sleeves..and the fleece fabric pushes out when pushing arms thru...also you cant really wear a heavy (BULKY) shirt..again sleeves tight on arms
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
PapaJim
Location: Suffolk, VA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased as a insert for my Bug-a-boo outer shell. This is really a great jacket. We recently had a deep freeze here in the south and I was very comfortable with this jacket and the outer shell.
My only wish is for an inside pocket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wearable, Functional

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Kenneth1
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Definitely a well constructed and warm coat; I especially enjoy the high neck, great for keeping wind out. My one complaint is that it's cut pretty loose around the midsection.
I'm 6'0" male, 170 lbs., fairly athletic build. The coat fits me well through the chest and shoulders, but is noticeably baggy in the gut. It doesn't reduce the coat's functionality, but it's always nice to wear something that looks good too.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great all weather jacket

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
QualityChaser
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this jacket for my 82 year old father-in-law that lives in SE Texas. Bought it in a large Buffalo color. He fit it perfectly and commented on how much he liked the weight and warmth the jacket provided. He wore it out the next day so I'm thinking it's a winner. Haven't tested the jacket in more then 45 degrees weather so not sure if it'll still keep you warm if it's colder then 45 degrees. But with the Omni Heat insulation I think it would (not pass 30 degrees tho). I would highly recommend this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zephyr Ridge Jacket

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
DavidforChrist
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Denver area Colorado, this Jacket is amazing, 100% windproof and warm.
I have another windproof jacket from another manufacture, that does not have any lining, so when the cold wind blows, your skin get cold.
I am a warm climate person (lived in Florida for 30 years), so I do not like the cold and the Zephyr Ridge Jacket keeps me warm (down to 15 degree so far)
I highly recommend this Jacket to everyone
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This one replaces an older one.

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
ASAP1st
Location: Sassamansville, PA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket to replace my original model - probably about 4-5 years old. The zipper on the old one was failing so I'm pleased to see the new one has a beefed up zipper. This is the warmest, lightest jacket I've ever owned. It goes from appointments as business casual to a layer in my cold weather hunting gear. I hope to get the zipper replaced on the old one so it can be dedicated to the hunting attire saving the new one for business calls. I would've given 5/5 on quality had the zipper not failed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best jacket ever

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
ronney
Location: New jersey
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The weather was in the 20's but I did not feel anything wearing this jacket.I normally do not write reviews but this jacket made me write something
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This jacket is as advertised

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
vicki4ou
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is so comfortable, warm and resists wind. It's light weight but very warm. I love deep pockets and the collar that zips high.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing jacket!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
jeeper123
Location: San Antonio Texas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't regret this purchase at all!
This jacket is spectacular, the moisture repellent top half is amazing,water just wicks right off, the Omni heat inside is perfect, it keeps all the warmth in and warms you up as soon as you put it on all while still being breathable and not so hot you have to take it off, i could wear this thing all day long without a problem, if you're the outdoorsy type of person then this jacket is perfect for moderate outdoor use to advanced outdoor use such as backpacking (with extra layers of course)
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Friendly Boat or Sporting Event Jacket

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer avatar
SouthernCross
Location: Gulf Coast USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
You'll notice the warmth of the Omni-Heat® lining the second you put it on. The collar keeps the wind off you neck and the front zip pocket is the perfectly sized to accommodate a larger cell phone. Nice fit and light rain resistant.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kept me cool, warm, and dry, all in the same evening.

PostedMay 29, 2013
Customer avatar
SteveOutback
Location: NC
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I was recently hiking out to see seals in Australia - their winter. The hike was steep down, then steep up. Later, it got really dark and started to pour. While hiking up hill, I opened the underarm vents to allow me to cool while keeping the jacket zipped up so I kept dry. Later, it got quite chilly. Closed the vents and toasty. Finally got back to the car, well after dark. My pants were soaked, but under my Zephyr Ridge, I was warm and dry.
Everyday the weather changed, but the Zephyr Ridge kept out the wind and rain while allowing me to adjust the temperature as needed. I highly recommend this for your cool weather travel needs.
One problem I did have was that when the felt portion got wet, it took a while to dry. I was dry inside the jacket, but the outside did get quite wet.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super jacket

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer avatar
McGov
Location: Seattle WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket--just what other reviewers had said. Warm but light-weight.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Zephyr Ridge™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat!!!!!

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Happy4
Location: Joliet, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great coat!!!! Flexiable, Comfortable & very Warm. It is the warmest coat I have ever owned!!!!!!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>