Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s In the Light™ Jacket

Columbia Men’s In the Light™ Jacket

Insulation and a thermal reflective lining keep this jacket toasty but underarm venting means you can dump heat fast, making it perfect for physically-demanding outdoor activities with fluctuating effort and intensity levels; the Omni-Dry exterior is ultrabreathable, waterproof and fully seam-sealed for complete protection from the elements.
Overall rating:
4.176 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 17(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product that Keeps You Warm!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mike7
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I highly recommend this product. However it works, it will keep you warm in cold temperatures even you don't have many layers on underneath.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's going to be great

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
subieeee
Location: arlington,va
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I can already tell. The jacket is a bit noisy, but the material inside is great. I can pull the strings on the bottom and get a snug fit. I do wish the sleeves were a bit longer so I could hide my hands in the cold, but I guess I'll just stick them in my pockets. The pockets are also harder to open, but that is because they have a waxlike film (not sure what to call it), but this will definetely help keep your stuff dry.
I am 6ft, 185 lbs and Large fits fine
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Skiing

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Emmy87
Location: Gloucester MA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like this jacket, I think the quality is excellent, however it does not fit right, esp the shoulders. Ordered normal size and usually have no problem but this time the fit was off.
Hopefully I can come across this jacket again in this color as an XL.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

In the Light

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
tz6p06
Location: Macomb, MI
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is very warm for how thin it is. I live in Michigan and it has been very cold. The jacket has kept me very warm. The jacket does run small. My old Columbia jacket is a medium. I purchased a large and I could have gotten an XL and I think it would have been okay.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made and well designed

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Customer Avatar
Madce
Location: Augusta, MI
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
This jacket is everything I was looking for. It is warm and the vents help it from becoming too warm. It block wind very well, we have not had rain in quite some time but I love wearing it in the snow. I strongly recommend.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much better than I though

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Randyss
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I received it in a box that was two inches high in a box that was reused I thought I had been suckered. When I put it on and went outside (5 degrees) I was pleasantly surprised because it was a warmer coat than any others I had used.
The material inside the coat did as well and I say much better than one would have thought.
It is a winner for Columbia.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice warm jacket

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer Avatar
Bklyn
Location: Colorado Springs
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had the jacket for a couple of weeks and used it on my daily hikes with my dogs. It's really warm in fact I almost felt hot in temps in the teens with strong winds. My only complaint about the jacket is color on the buffalo. The blue is a royal blue that looks much more purple than the on-line pictures. Had the colors been more true online, I would have gotten the black jacket instead.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm, not bulky

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
grrayman
Location: Denver, CO
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have worn this through the latter half of last winter and the first half of this winter. It is plenty warm for me, without being bulky. It is also breathable enough that I rarely overheat in it.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Men’s In the Light™ Jacket

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
swk22
Location: Chicago,IL
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat I live in Chicago and it has kept me warm all winter even in the (-) negative degrees day. Great technology I suggest a lighter coat if the temperature is above 40
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like it

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
KGL1
Location: Washington
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've worn this jacket alot and am very happy with it. Love the light weight, yet very warm. Can move around very easily. Like the big inside pocket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is true to size, light, and keep you warm

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
leung88
Location: Danville, CA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband likes it.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
fluffysnowball
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it keeps you warm and dry excellent jacket
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Returned it!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
PEP949
Location: San Clemente, CA
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I ordered this jacket, somehow expecting something different. It is a nice jacket, lite as stated, but it fits funny, long in the arms, tight in the arms. The yellow small zipper is kind of funny too. The size runs about right, i ordered it "big", maybe an XL would have fit fine?
I do not recommend this product.
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice looking coat

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kimberly1212
Location: Kenosha, WI.
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this for my husband and I love how he looks in it. His only complaint is it's loud. So I am hoping that once it's "broken in" it will not be as loud.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

What a let down!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kevinicus
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I really wish I would have read the last guy's review before I bought this thing...about the overpriced windbreaker. Not only is he 100% correct in his review but, he like me got duped by headlines. Don't get me wrong performs well at mid to high 40's but anything below that get prepared to wear several layers as this jacket does nothing for icy wind. It does have great construction but I can not stand the fact that this is advertised as an insulated jacket. This thing is as thin as paper but tough. Buyer beware there is no thickness to this jacket. I still wonder if I have to rip it apart to find what shrink wrap thin material is doing so very little to keep me warm. I see price does not equate to warmness when it comes to this company, cause I thought I paid alot therefore expected extreme warmth in avg NYC winters but sadly not the case. I will try maybe a more expensive jacket and sees what happens...Cause so far NO good.
I do not recommend this product.
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
BoredSysAdmin
New York, NY
 
Please wait while more information about BoredSysAdmin is loaded.
Additional information about BoredSysAdmin could not be loaded.
Replay to J126
Posted February 21, 2014
Yes, you WOULD be correct if this JACKET would be advertised as SHELL. but it's simply isn't.
Words like Insulated, Warm and Toasty just are straight lies if we are discussing this jacket in 30's NY windy weather without (several) additional layers...
On the other hand I bought last year skiing jacket from large brand which has face in name and in similar price range.
It's almost as light as "Men in the light", but does in fact has great insulation which does work great for windy 30s weather. Even 25f would ok if a bit active. Lower than that and one thin layer make it truly toasty.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
AlNYC
NYC
 
Please wait while more information about AlNYC is loaded.
Additional information about AlNYC could not be loaded.
Posted February 19, 2014
The description clearly says it has an insulation layer, so it is reasonable to expect that you could wear it with having ot layer up.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer Avatar
J126
NY, NY
 
Please wait while more information about J126 is loaded.
Additional information about J126 could not be loaded.
It is just a shell, you must still add a mid-layer
Posted December 11, 2013
You purchased a SHELL. This means that it needs a liner (mid-layer) to go with it for that compounded warmth. You must buy that separately, though Columbia really should make that clear to people that do not understand the dynamics of these jackets. I didn't understand that before either.
All these shells are intended to be lightweight, and you stack them with other layers. Usually a fleece underneath the shell accomplishes the job.
I've owned several shells, and if I just wore the shell in sub-30 degree weather (Fahrenheit), I would be freezing too! Add a fleece or insulated layer underneath.
+2points
5of 8voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (3)
Read comments (3)
Review 16 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Overpriced windbreaker

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
BoredSysAdmin
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Despite high quality materials , nice finish and very light weight, don't expect to be warm at 30s unless you are very active.
I kinda like it, but alas I can't justify to own $300 windbreaker
I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s In the Light™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light weight jacket is water proof and warm

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
bsmith
Location: Austin, Texas
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought Columbia's 22 ounce water proof jacket and went fishing in 40 degree weather and stayed warm the entire day without sweating underneath.
The hood does not stay tight in high winds, but that is the only draw back.
I would highly recommend this jacket for cold weather fishermen or just being out in the weather.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.