Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Passo Alto™ Hybrid Jacket

Columbia Men's Passo Alto™ Hybrid Jacket

Light insulation teams up with strategically placed softshell for a jacket that's equal parts toasty warm and comfortable.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Passo Alto™ Hybrid Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Passo Alto™ Hybrid Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lightweight, warm, trim

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
EricM
Location: Cape Cod
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far, so good. Bought for skiing in non-frigid conditions. So far worn only once on a bike ride; on a windy evening in the high 30s it was surprisingly warm--with just a lightweight t-shirt and light cotton turtleneck under it.
Size info:
I am 6' 0", 188 lbs at the moment (33/34 waist, 34/35 arms) and the jacket (size L) is just big enough to accommodate a mid-weight sweater and t-shirt under it comfortably. When I lose ten pounds--and oh, yes, I will--it will fit me perfectly for skiing. So I would say Columbia's size & fit info is an inch or two off in the waist measurement for size L.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Passo Alto™ Hybrid Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Passo Alto Hybrid Jacket

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
DanMan
Location: Bend OR
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a good quality jacket. It runs pretty small and I wish I had ordered a medium. This jacket is a good spring skiing jacket but not a full on winter jacket. The omni-heat feature works very well and keeps you warm in a cold brisk wind. It could use a few more storage pockets but overall is a good jacket at a good price.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Passo Alto™ Hybrid Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awesome Coat!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
PaddyM
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This jacket is perfect for cold weather. It's light, but keeps you so warm! Sizes seem European, so Medium is a real Medium not a Fat (US) Medium!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Passo Alto™ Hybrid Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jacket

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
FoothillsAngler
Location: Kings Mountain, NC
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket for cold days on the boat or kayak. It is warm yet breathable and keep you comfortable in active environments!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Passo Alto™ Hybrid Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Small

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Steve56
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
As an industry professional, I bought this jacket under the prodeal program. Unfortunately, I think this will be the last time I try to purchase clothing from Columbia under this program. I purchased a medium, but it fit like a small. I could barely zip it up with just a t-shirt on. I also ordered a couple of medium sized shirts that fit like a size large. I think what happens is that they send their irregulars or seconds in this program. It kinda stinks because I like Columbia products otherwise.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Passo Alto™ Hybrid Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight but very warm

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
whales71
Location: Bay City, Michigan
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this for my dad he likes to be warm but didn't like a bulky jacket and loves this. Has worn it everyday!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Passo Alto™ Hybrid Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Inside insulation is fabulous

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sparrow
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product turned out to be more than I expected. I ordered it for my son and he is in love. Since he is a tall skinny guy everything fell into place. Now that I have seen and tried on his jacket I am now sold and will be purchasing one for myself as well. I'm amazed at the inside, it has been tested against some of Chicago's COLD temperatures and it passed with flying colors without all the extra layers you would normally have to put on.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Passo Alto™ Hybrid Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT MID-LAYER

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
ACurtis
Location: Edmonds, WA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the combination of the softshell jacket with a light amount of synthetic down added in. It works perfectly as a midlayer under a waterproof shell in cold temperatures. Kinda hard to tell if the 'Omni-Heat' actually does anything. to be honest i think its kind of a 'mind-over-matter' situation with that stuff but the jacket is really nice. Fits true to size. im 5'7" and the Medium fits perfectly.
couldnt think of a better mid-layer for WAshington skiing.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Passo Alto™ Hybrid Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Passo Alto Jacket

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Henale
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket, it's too light and confortable
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Passo Alto™ Hybrid Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice semi-cold weather jacket...weak zipper.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
hjackson1989
Location: Georgia
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The fit is spot on, I am 6'3" 215lbs and the XL fits snug enough to be a base layer under a shell but loose enough to be worn on it's own. The softshell segments add a good range of motion but create "cold spots" in truly cold weather.
The insulation is light, as described by Columbia, but very warm down to 20-30 degrees. It's the perfect winter jacket for the Southeast as temps rarely drop below 20.
*Suggested Improvements* - the zipper needs an upgrade severely. I would guess that it will be the first part of the jacket to fail.
Activities: Trail, Climbing, Canoeing, Hiking/Trekking, Fishing - Flats Fishing, Camping, Kayaking
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.