Customer reviews for Columbia Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket

Columbia Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket

This ultra-lightweight, packable shell employs an excellent performance suite: it’s made from a wind-stopping ripstop with water-repellent Omni-Shield® technology and Omni-Wick® EVAP—which delivers extremely breathable, sweat-wicking performance to keep you dry and comfortable during dynamic activity.
Overall rating:
3.786 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
10 out of 12(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket
Review 1 for Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Yoshi
Location: Missoula, MT
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this jacket in Black, size Large. I am about 5'8" and maybe 180lbs. This jacket fits me perfectly, and by perfectly I mean a little loose fitting and breathable, but not huge by any means. It's big enough to wear 2 thin layers under, such as 2 shirts, and/or possibly a hoodie.
I bought this jacket with the intensions of just having a layer like this in my backpack at all times without really noticing it in there. And it disappears in a backpack no problem. I have it folded up to about the size of a folded topographic map, and takes up about that amount of space, it's crazy how small you can compress it down into.
Now mind you it is made of thin material, and probably will not be using this everyday for that reason, but like I said I didn't get this to wear everyday. This is a just in case jacket...1 of my 10 essentials jacket...a very packable layer that you can take anywhere jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It´s a good product.

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alessandra
Location: Vinhedo, Brasil
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I liked it, but I recommend to buy one size more.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great New Zealand Wind Breaker

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
ATON
Location: West Palm Beach. FL
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My son is currently working in NZ on a movie. I researched the weather and this jacket came up. I got it for his birthday and he loved it! After wearing it for a few days, he said "I feel like the Three Bears...and this one is just right"! He said the weather fluctuated last week and he was comfortable in the rain, cold and warm weather! He loves it!!! Thank you so much! I will purchase from you again!! :-)
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Quality

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Josue
Location: Frederick, MD
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The quality of the images was much more different then what I recieved. I did not know that the jacket would be so thin. Really disaponted and not satisfied at all.
I do not recommend this product.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Jacket

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoyM
Location: Chicago
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this jacket for my morning runs. It seems to work okay. Need more time to test it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great choice for backpackers

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
KarlB
Location: Dunedin, Fl
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love this product! Packs down tiny and weighs almost nothing...great way to fight off the cold when layered over something soft and warm. Want to get a second one to keep on the boat for when the rain hits!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Trail Dryer Jacket

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
jbspartan07
Location: michigan
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Would have preferred a place to stow the hood (roll up and velcro, or zipper).
Otherwise, the jacket works as advertised. Light weight but durable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

mens trail drier jacket

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jamie22
Location: Boca grande FL
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great light weight jacket. Great in the mountains. Hiking and fishing worked great not to bulky. Perfect for those come out of nowhere afternoon rain storms.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

functional with a great price

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
CLem99
Location: Maine
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I needed something lightweight but protective in rainy situations, the jacket does the trick. With a great price nonetheless!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good all-around jacket for a wide range of weather

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
GrumpyOldMan
Location: Colorado
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just back from an 11-day tour of the British Isles, where these jackets served very well for me and my wife in weather ranging from rainy to sunny. Very water repellent, although we were never tested by an all-out downpour. Their extreme light weight makes them easy to travel with and they are surprisingly warm due to their wind-stopping qualities. Although they are as thin as onion skin, they were almost too warm when temperatures reached the mid-to upper 70's. A winner for sure.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, except hood

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Artie
Location: Kailua Kona, Hawaii
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Got this to replace a similar model Columbia windbreaker. However, this one has neither a hood string or a place to fold it away. The picture online seems to show a hood pouch, but I can't find one on mine. Everything else about the jacket is fine and up to Columbia's top-notch standards.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Did not perform as expected.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Boundarywatersfan
Location: St. Paul, MN
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this jacket for my son before going on a canoe trip. He loved the great look, lightweight feel and the comfortable fit, but then out on trail he found that this jacket absorbed water when he was rained on. Perhaps it would withstand a light drizzle but my son was soaked right through his clothes and down to his skin.
I do not recommend this product.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light, Packable, What you see is what you get

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
PackLightClimbNaked
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I like this jacket because it gives me a basic amount of water and wind resistance without being so stuffy that it makes me sweat in the car or when I walk inside a building.
I rated this jacket as good and not excellent because it feels a bit flimsy on workmanship, but keep in mind it's little more than a few swatches of ripstop nylon sewn together with zippers and elastic cuffs. For what it is and what I need it for, I really like it. I'm not planning any speed ascents in this jacket, but I will keep it in my pack or bicycle bag for sudden, intermittent rains. It beads water well, but it's not advertised as waterproof for a reason--it's not a hard, waterproof, $300 shell.
I really like the fit. I'm 6'0" 175lbs with a lean build, and the medium fits me well. I also like my clothes more fitted, though. I especially don't like thin jackets that fit way too big and hang awkwardly when you put something in the pockets. I could get a sweater or warmth layer underneath snugly if I wanted. It fits just below the belt line on my pants, so it covers a normal tshirt length. The sleeves have enough slack to move with you, but a full reach will expose the area where my wristwatch sits. I typically wear a medium shirt, and the medium jacket is right for me. If you like baggier stuff, you could size up. I don't think the hood will fit over my bicycle helmet. The jacket fits my hips snugly, and I'm on the lean side of average. If you have big hips, a size up from your usual might be appropriate, or the jacket is flimsy enough that it will simply ride up above your hips, or you could tighten the draw cord to make it sit higher. If you're belly is prominent, it will be tight there, too.
If you're trying to make this jacket do more than it's supposed to, you'll likely be disappointed. Think thin, light, water-resistant windbreaker protection that won't have you sweating. I'm considering getting the omni-heat version, as well, for those days when you need a little more warmth, I just don't like the space-blanket appearance of the omni-heat line.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men's Trail Drier™ Windbreaker Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Overall nice trail jacket

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
rockbiker
Location: Northern Arizona
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The jacket was a little small but I found it very functional. It worked well in windy conditions except for the hood. The hood nearly beat me to death in the high winds as there is no way to tighten it. A velcro attachment or a string through the hood would have made it much more functional. I was mountain biking with the jacket so the helmet kept the hood in place while I was riding and prevented it from beating me too badly.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.