Customer reviews for Columbia Men's The Compounder™ II Shell

Columbia Men's The Compounder™ II Shell

Designed to keep you dry from the inside out—even when you work up a sweat, this ultralightweight 2.5L rain shell protects you from the elements with full seam sealing and waterproof Omni-Dry®, while Omni-Wick® EVAP delivers extreme breathability and wicks sweat away from the body amazingly fast.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men's The Compounder™ II Shell
Review 1 for Men's The Compounder™ II Shell
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

very nice for indoors

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
synakar
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This jacket is nice if you are running to the car or from the car into the house, but it i no good for anyhting below about 40 degrees. I woudl definately wear it as a rain jacket, however in chicago it can rain in very cold weather.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men's The Compounder™ II Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Choosing a hard shell

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
EGofOregon
Location: Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I narrowed down the hard shell jacket field to the Compounder II and another similar from a different manufacturer. I choose the Compounder due to great fit, multiple pockets (i am a long distance backpacker and enjoy easy access to "stuff" as i hike), excellent quality, such that on the Oregon beach in December, with just a tee-shirt underneath, i stayed warm and protected. The hood is made excellent for helmets. With the hard shell "rain jacket" prices way out of reason, this jacket was priced reasonable and met my expectations. Thanks, Columbia!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men's The Compounder™ II Shell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

armholes and upper sleeves too small...

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cocopop
Location: Hawai'i
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great jacket with one flaw. The armholes and upper section of the sleeves are too small in diameter in proportion to the rest of the jacket. I normally wear a Large size, but ordered an XL because it said they run slightly small, but even then, it's very tight in the upper sleeves and difficult to get them over any other clothing including just a light shirt underneath. It makes it less suitable for layering. The shell and torso are excellent though. I am average build. If you have a robust chest and/or arms, this jacket isn't for you. If you're on the thin side, it'll probably fit well.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men's The Compounder™ II Shell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

too expensive...

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jenny1002
Location: Minneapolis
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The quality of the item is good, however, too expensive.
The quality cannot be justified by the price. Very thin.
I would recommend this product.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men's The Compounder™ II Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Maaaax
Location: Logan Utah
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it and everyone sees it loves it. That's it.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men's The Compounder™ II Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Jacket for Ireland weather.

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
BillD
Location: Audubon, NJ
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased one for myself and my wife for a trip to Ireland this August 2013. The jacket was perfect for the trip. In Ireland it can be sunny and 70 degrees one minute and 55 and raining the next. This jacket handled it well. When the sun was out, the jacket folded up easily and packed away neatly into a very small packback. As soon as the rain came the jacket was there looking like new. I give it an A+
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men's The Compounder™ II Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Good Product

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Arba
Location: West Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently received this jacket so my review is limited to few but relevant experiences. My work is outdoors in Western WA and we experience a fair share of rain. Raindrops bounced off this jacket like it was a piece of steel. It is light weight but warm, and provides a comfortable barrier against wind. I recently wore the jacket during a windy spring day in Billings, MT and was quite comfortable. My only surprise is a flexible wire-like material in the hood's brim which is functional but makes compression-packing a little tricky.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men's The Compounder™ II Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Shell!!

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Danomano21
Location: California
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Recently picked up the Compounder 2 to serve as a rock climbing and backpacking shell, and around town of course! It fits great and looks great. I think that this version is better looking than the previous.
I've since taken it on a backpacking trip to the Grand Canyon. In both rain and snow, the Compounder 2 kept me perfectly dry. And, the moisture wicking interior worked fantastically as we backpacked. If I needed a little extra ventilation I used the pit zips. I LOVE THIS JACKET!! Favorite shell that I've owned to date.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.