Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket

Columbia Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket

Fortified with Omni-Wind® Block and a warmth-retaining Omni-Heat® thermal reflective lining, this wool-like jacket is ideal for staying warm and protected during high-velocity activities in cold, dry weather.
Overall rating:
4.472 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
35 out of 36(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Jacket

PostedApril 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Anbar
Location: Little Rock, AR, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used this jacket during winters. I have hiked during snow and it protected me very well. It is light weight and fits very well. I highly recommend it. I wish it was available in other colors as well.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Jacket

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Customer avatar
SSIKWP
Location: Elgin, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Was looking for a mulit purpose unit not only to use with my heater change jacket but to wear only during less harsh weather days. Overall comfortable jacket and keeps me warm even in colder conditions. The sleeves we just tight, so wearing a long sleeve shirt is not easy. I would wear it to work and on many errands since it is lightweight it works great but the sleeves we just tight.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

tight sleeves

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Slide
Location: Illinois
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The fit on this item seemed to be right. However, it was not comfortable for me. The sleeves were way too tight. Wearing a sweatshirt it would not go easily into the sleeve
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not a muscle jacket

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Buddy12345
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am not a very big guy, but the sleeves on this jacket are tight. Even with just a buttondown shirt on I felt tight in the sleeves. I ended up returning the jacket because of this aspect. I really like everything else about the jacket. Wish it would have worked out better.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What I was looking for...

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Taxidea
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a jacket that was warm enough for late fall and early spring in Wisconsin and this seems to be it.
The quality seems high.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer avatar
kuckieman
Location: Southfield, MI, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is perfect! My son wanted something for everyday use but clean enough to throw over a dress shirt as well. It is a warm jacket with the dots liner which doesn't show when zipped up. It is a great jacket!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

18 MPH Wind 6 degrees fahrenheit test

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Cyclist90
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Today I tested the wind block technology. It is currently 21 F with a feels like temp of 6 F with wind speeds ranging 18-25 mph. Many have stated that this jacket is more appropriate for a mid layer or an outer layer for late fall. However I wore this with only a regular t-shirt underneath and I felt as if I had several layers on. Yes, I could feel some wind but the difference is night and day between my older titanium jacket with omni shield and omni heat. The combination of wool and what must be the omni block made a significant difference. Being from the Midwest I would say my tolerance is fairly high for cold weather but can't stand being cold. I recommend this as a mid layer for the dead of winter, that being said I am impressed with how it stood up to the wind with nothing substantial underneath.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The One I Wanted

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Steve2011
Location: South Lake Tahoe
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works great as a jacket in Fall. It works great when zipped into a shell jacket in Winter, especially for skiing. As always, Omni Heat is a big plus. It's the one I wanted.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Man's Grand Max Jacket

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Mommy60
Location: Springfield, MA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My son loves his new coat. It's light weight and warm for our New England weather.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

impressed for the most part

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
filcod
Location: Kansas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First off this is a great jacket and am very happy with my purchace. That being said there are a few things I wanted to touch on. First why all the Velcro across the cuffs? Do I need all this? It kind of makes the whole jacket look tacky and cheap a big eye sore when the rest was done with such precsion. Over all the omni-heat plus the wool blend are what sold me and I'm very happy with it's preformance.
I would recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great All Around Fleece

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Customer avatar
BicycleBob
Location: Kansas
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my favorite jacket out of all my Columbia jackets and I own just about one of each type. Its comfortable, wind proof, and quite warm. I found that it's great for temperatures between 30-50 degrees. I mainly use it for mountain biking in the fall because its warm enough to keep me at the right temperature, not to bulky and the wind proof is very nice when you are at speed. The hard shell material around the cuffs is awesome and probably my favorite part of the jack because it wont catch on things like most fleeces do. This jacket can get hot when you get moving, it might not be the warmest when you're just standing still but as soon as you get moving the omni-heat gets you warm very quickly. Overall I would recommend this jacket to anyone.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good looking jacket

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fishkiller66
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a stylish, lightweight jacket which does a good job of keeping you warm and blocking the wind in most conditions. I had an earlier model but it did not work with newer interchange shells. Although this is a great jacket on its own, I was very disappointed that it is not an interchange model as described. While it will zip into a shell, it does not have 3 point system and zippers are not designed for interchange and are a litter longer than the shell of the same size leaving them exposed at the neck.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A jacket that can also be a middle layer

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
ChiWill312
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all, let me give you a little background of myself:
I live in Chicago. I ride my bike all year round. I'm 5'8" and 185 lbs. More muscular on my legs than my upper body.
This jacket has three Omni technologies: Wind Block, Shield, and Heat:
The first really blocks Chicago's wind, which was at times brutal during the Polar Vortex and also on normal winters. It does this very, very, very, very well!
The second, keeps snow and rain off your body. Maybe, not heavy downpour rain (I haven't tested - and when it does, I may add a rain shell outer layer, which makes this a middle layer), but it held up really well on a have snow fall day.
The third is what keeps you warm by keeping your own body temperature. Granted, this is not a very thick jacket, but I was kept warm, even rather hot when I'm riding my bike.
Omni heat works well if you're moving about and generating heat. But if you're mostly going to be standing around and not moving a lot, you will definitely get cold.
The fit, like a lot of people say is a bit weird. Medium size fits my torso and arms. I can still fit no problem wearing a light wool base layer a thin hoodie underneath. However, the sleeve can be a bit tight for guys with muscular arms.
Also, there is no drawstring cord on the bottom of the jacket, so you really can’t tighten it as to not get cold when the wind is blowing.
The end of 2013 and beginning of 2014, with Polar Vortex, the temperatures have been below 0 degrees in more times than it has ever been since I've lived here. Yet, this jacket is keeping me warm. So far, this has been an outer layer jacket. I get questions from people if I were cold, since I don’t wear too many layers. Most of them don’t believe that Omni-Heat kept me warm, just like I was a skeptic when I first bought this jacket. In truth, Omni Wind Block and Omni-Heat both work hand-in-hand with keeping me warm.
One last thing: I rode my bike to work this morning wearing only my really light wool base layer and this jacket and I was perfectly warm and wasn't too sweaty.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stylish cool weather jacket - not super cold weather though

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
wintershouldbeshorter
Location: Pittsburgh
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This jacket looks great and is a nice hybrid between formal and informal style so you can use it at work or out with friends and it fits the situation either way.
It is a bit wide/loose in the waist, no drawstring unfortunately. It is also a little long and tight in the arms just like other reviews say, but still feels ok as long as you don't wear a super bulky sweater or hoodie underneath.
Good warmth on chilly days but only for late fall early winter temps. Anything below 30's F degrees and you are shivering - the omni heat isn't all-powerful and you really have to be active and moving around like hiking or skiing or walking the dog for it to do much good. It is advertised/hyped to be a little warmer than it actually is, especially if you are just standing at a bus stop or driving to work on a cold morning.
Anyway, nice jacket overall - just a bit overpriced for its simple design and lack of heat in really cold conditions.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Superb

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
shoaltide
Location: Leesburg GA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This jacket is awesome...light,warm and good looking. Cuts the wind like no other jacket I have ever owned!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Omni-Wind Block works great

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
BobinMT
Location: Billings, Montana
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The coat works best in moderate outside temp, above freezing. Below freezing with the wind blowing you have to layer, it has been cold and windy here in Montana. The wind blows thru the wool outside shell and makes the Omni heat chilly. The sleeves are tight for layering. Great looking coat but made for above freezing temps. Very good quality. I sent the coat back because I was looking for a Wind-Block for below 32 degree temps.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The 80's called and wants their jacket back

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Rickr
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got the jacket and put it on and am glad I read the reviews as it certainly runs a bit larger since I'm normally a medium so the small that I ordered fit just right. I tried it out during the frigid temps we were getting in Chicago which had -25+ degrees and I have to say it faired very well albeit I still had to layer. It's more effective at temps in the 30's. I was content with the styling until someone from work saw the reflective heat tech lining and mentioned that the 80's called. Lol.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

jacket not a parka

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
oldncold
Location: NJ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a nice jacket, and I like mine just fine, but this is not a coat for very cold weather. If you are getting in and out of the car, or if the weather is in the 40's, this jacket is perfect. I for one felt the cold wearing this jacket say in the 35 temp range, being pretty surprised that others find it so warm. maybe i am just getting old.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husband loves this Jacket

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
msdiana
Location: Deerfield, Ohio
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this Jacket as a gift for my husband. I swore I was not going to try to buy him clothing again, because I get him things and he never wears them. But a co-worker had one like this and I just knew it was going to be a good buy. He loves the jacket and it's has quickly become his go to coat. He has bragged about how warm it is without being to bulky that I have ordered an Omni lined jacket for myself.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

quality product but irregular fit

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
bobski
Location: medfield, ma
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unfortunately, this jacket had an imperfect fit. The bottom/waistband area would not lie flat on one side. Also, one side of the breast area would not lie flat. I love Columbia products and own many of them. Unfortunately this jacket was not designed perfectly.
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byZeroC00l
Williamsport, MD
 
Please wait while more information about ZeroC00l is loaded.
Additional information about ZeroC00l could not be loaded.
Warranty
onDecember 4, 2014
You do know that Columbia has a warranty for all of their outerwear, right? I don't see why you would give this particular item a poor review if you might have received something that has an individual flaw. Just a thought.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
1 2 Next>>