Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket

Columbia Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket

Fortified with Omni-Wind® Block and a warmth-retaining Omni-Heat® thermal reflective lining, this wool-like jacket is ideal for staying warm and protected during high-velocity activities in cold, dry weather.
Overall rating:
4.459 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
36 out of 37(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Comfortable!

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Prescott, AZ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've only just received this jacket and am yet to try it in cold/windy weather, but it feels amazing. It's very comfortable, warm, and I like that the cuffs have an elastic stretch feel but can be tightened. The outer material also feels very durable. The only complaint I have is that it only uses three of the five interchange connections for my shell (doesn't use cuff connections). Like I said, I haven't used it yet, but I think it's fine without those connections because the sleeves are tight enough that they won't ride up my arm.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byAntt
Mt Vernon Washington
 
Please wait while more information about Antt is loaded.
Additional information about Antt could not be loaded.
MUST BUY
onJanuary 10, 2013
Chopped wood in it .. short sleeve only under it. Washington State in Jan and i was fine.. Used it under a shell during a snowboarding trip .. Yea bad idea.. it was way to warm .. but this was instantly my fav jacket . worth the money for sure. i would buy a 2nd
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love This Jacket!

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Beaverton, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased this jacket and just got back from a trip to Alaska. Without this jacket I definitely would not have been warm enough. This jacket offers lots of warmth and wind protection. I have shorter arms (32"), so the sleeves can be a tad long on me, but I just simply tighten the cuffs and call it good.
This jacket definitely offers a higher level of class compared with a normal fleece.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits great. Blocks wind. Has 43% wool in shell.

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: SouthEast
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very impressed with the Men's Grade Max jacket/fleece. It has OMNI-HEAT, which is as good as Columbia says it is (it really is). OMNI-HEAT keeps me warm in conditions that would ordinarily have my body shivering. I simply won't buy a Columbia cold weather garment without OMNI-HEAT.
As soon as I picked up the Grade Max, it felt heavier and more substantial than it appeared to be. That's because the shell is nearly 50% real wool in composition. This means that even during wet weather, it will continue to insulate (YAY WOOL!). The wind block is no joke; it just works. Even in heavy winds, all you feel is pressure against the outer skin of the garment. Unless you are completely stationary, NONE of the chill makes it through. Even when you aren't moving (think "hunter in a tree stand"), the chill is extremely minimal....and only because the actual jacket itself it being made cold....no wind penetrates. None.
The Grade Max insulates FAR beyond its thickness and weight class. It is cut perfectly for active wear and has enough room for some warm undergarments as well (heavy weight thermal, sweater, active fleece, etc.).
All zippers are identical to their snow jackets and are sealed. I know they say it's not Omni-Shield, but it sheds light rain like my Interchange shell with Omni-Shield. Just rolls right off like ti's scotch guarded.
Adjustable cuffs are great and they have a little bit of stretch to them which adds to comfort and still helps keep the cold out.
Another Columbia purchase that I am 100% satisfied with. Too bad they don't make one of these in women's. The wife liked my Grade Max so much that she ended up getting a women's Wind D-Ny.
I would recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lightest warmth ever

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wind has no chance against this jacket. Your own heat is reflected. Simply there is no where for cold to come in and heat to escape. Has a very thin athletic fit but who doesnt love looking like they just finished a cross country ski event. Overall Great jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Performs well.

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Worland, WY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Runs a little small. Can't wear over thick clothing. i.e. sweater
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!!

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Tullahoma, TN
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased the Grade Max Jacket and I love it!!! I've worn it in temperatures of upper 20F to mid 30F with slight winds and haven't felt anything but the warmth generated by my body working with the incredible Omni-Heat technology. The Omni-Wind Block technology has kept the wind from penetrating the jacket and getting to me. This jacket has really kept me comfortable. I'm waiting to test it in mid teen deg F weather conditions where I have to be outside for long periods of time, but based on what I've already experienced I expect it to keep me warm. The only minor complain that I have is that the sleeves fit a little tight and are a little long, but the latter is handled by the adjustable wrist straps. Great product Columbia!!!
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: bowling green ky
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fast ship totally pleased
I would recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice jacket

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Upstate, New York
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice jacket. Appears to be constructed well. The sleeves are a little tight, if you plan on wearing a thick sweater underneath it may not be comfortable. Other than that, it's warm and fits true to it's description.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jacket for Many Activities

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Charlotte, NC
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is true to size and very warm, with minimal clothes on underneath. It folds down easily to be stashed into a bag or wedged in tight spaces in the car. We have mild winters in NC, so it is perfect for this area.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Jacket I'v Ever Owned

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Many people compliment me on this jacket. I live in Ohio, and use it as a Winter Coat. If its below -0 degrees, with high wind i throw a cheap hoodie underneath of it, and keeps me very warm. Fits true to size and very business/professional looking. I would buy a 2nd.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore this my entire visit to Iceland, where we went on a few excursions and it kept me warm and comfortable. The thermal lining is like putting on an extra sweater and the design is true that it lets you dry out. I had to wear it with a rain coat often, but it was great not having to wear additional layers on top of the layers I did wear. This jacket worked very well while I was climbing and hiking on a glacier, snow shoeing, and now I wear it all the time.
What attracted me to buying this? The thermal technology, the fit, construction, and the texture. The texture of the materials is soo nice. I get very tired of all the outdoors clothing being the slick, often shinny, and sometimes plastic looking. The cloth used for the main part outer pieces really steps it up.
I would recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket for cold & dry days

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Wilsonville, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket combines wind protection and heat reflection for a great combo on cold, dry days. It does run a bit small so choose the size carefully...best to try one on before you purchase. It is not waterproof so enjoy it when the rain and snow have stopped for awhile. Another great Colombia product.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

quality product but irregular fit

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: medfield, ma
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unfortunately, this jacket had an imperfect fit. The bottom/waistband area would not lie flat on one side. Also, one side of the breast area would not lie flat. I love Columbia products and own many of them. Unfortunately this jacket was not designed perfectly.
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byZeroC00l
Williamsport, MD
 
Please wait while more information about ZeroC00l is loaded.
Additional information about ZeroC00l could not be loaded.
Warranty
onDecember 4, 2014
You do know that Columbia has a warranty for all of their outerwear, right? I don't see why you would give this particular item a poor review if you might have received something that has an individual flaw. Just a thought.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very warm and light

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: WI
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket. Cold wind does not get through. I love it.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Larkspur CA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good looking jacket, 3 functional zippered pockets for secure storage of keys, sunglasses, etc.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husband loves this Jacket

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Deerfield, Ohio
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this Jacket as a gift for my husband. I swore I was not going to try to buy him clothing again, because I get him things and he never wears them. But a co-worker had one like this and I just knew it was going to be a good buy. He loves the jacket and it's has quickly become his go to coat. He has bragged about how warm it is without being to bulky that I have ordered an Omni lined jacket for myself.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

jacket not a parka

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: NJ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a nice jacket, and I like mine just fine, but this is not a coat for very cold weather. If you are getting in and out of the car, or if the weather is in the 40's, this jacket is perfect. I for one felt the cold wearing this jacket say in the 35 temp range, being pretty surprised that others find it so warm. maybe i am just getting old.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Jacket!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall the jacket is nice. It keeps me warm and looks good. However beware the jacket runs a little large and the color illustrated doesn't match perfectly to what I received.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional active wear

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Denver,Co
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
My Omni-Heat reflective jacket is perfect for my active life style. Light weight and very warm. I would recommend it to everyone.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stylish cool weather jacket - not super cold weather though

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Pittsburgh
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This jacket looks great and is a nice hybrid between formal and informal style so you can use it at work or out with friends and it fits the situation either way.
It is a bit wide/loose in the waist, no drawstring unfortunately. It is also a little long and tight in the arms just like other reviews say, but still feels ok as long as you don't wear a super bulky sweater or hoodie underneath.
Good warmth on chilly days but only for late fall early winter temps. Anything below 30's F degrees and you are shivering - the omni heat isn't all-powerful and you really have to be active and moving around like hiking or skiing or walking the dog for it to do much good. It is advertised/hyped to be a little warmer than it actually is, especially if you are just standing at a bus stop or driving to work on a cold morning.
Anyway, nice jacket overall - just a bit overpriced for its simple design and lack of heat in really cold conditions.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>