Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket

Columbia Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket

Fortified with Omni-Wind® Block and a warmth-retaining Omni-Heat® thermal reflective lining, this wool-like jacket is ideal for staying warm and protected during high-velocity activities in cold, dry weather.
Overall rating:
4.48 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
24 out of 25(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good looking jacket

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
fishkiller66
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a stylish, lightweight jacket which does a good job of keeping you warm and blocking the wind in most conditions. I had an earlier model but it did not work with newer interchange shells. Although this is a great jacket on its own, I was very disappointed that it is not an interchange model as described. While it will zip into a shell, it does not have 3 point system and zippers are not designed for interchange and are a litter longer than the shell of the same size leaving them exposed at the neck.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A jacket that can also be a middle layer

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
ChiWill312
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all, let me give you a little background of myself:
I live in Chicago. I ride my bike all year round. I'm 5'8" and 185 lbs. More muscular on my legs than my upper body.
This jacket has three Omni technologies: Wind Block, Shield, and Heat:
The first really blocks Chicago's wind, which was at times brutal during the Polar Vortex and also on normal winters. It does this very, very, very, very well!
The second, keeps snow and rain off your body. Maybe, not heavy downpour rain (I haven't tested - and when it does, I may add a rain shell outer layer, which makes this a middle layer), but it held up really well on a have snow fall day.
The third is what keeps you warm by keeping your own body temperature. Granted, this is not a very thick jacket, but I was kept warm, even rather hot when I'm riding my bike.
Omni heat works well if you're moving about and generating heat. But if you're mostly going to be standing around and not moving a lot, you will definitely get cold.
The fit, like a lot of people say is a bit weird. Medium size fits my torso and arms. I can still fit no problem wearing a light wool base layer a thin hoodie underneath. However, the sleeve can be a bit tight for guys with muscular arms.
Also, there is no drawstring cord on the bottom of the jacket, so you really can’t tighten it as to not get cold when the wind is blowing.
The end of 2013 and beginning of 2014, with Polar Vortex, the temperatures have been below 0 degrees in more times than it has ever been since I've lived here. Yet, this jacket is keeping me warm. So far, this has been an outer layer jacket. I get questions from people if I were cold, since I don’t wear too many layers. Most of them don’t believe that Omni-Heat kept me warm, just like I was a skeptic when I first bought this jacket. In truth, Omni Wind Block and Omni-Heat both work hand-in-hand with keeping me warm.
One last thing: I rode my bike to work this morning wearing only my really light wool base layer and this jacket and I was perfectly warm and wasn't too sweaty.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stylish cool weather jacket - not super cold weather though

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
wintershouldbeshorter
Location: Pittsburgh
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This jacket looks great and is a nice hybrid between formal and informal style so you can use it at work or out with friends and it fits the situation either way.
It is a bit wide/loose in the waist, no drawstring unfortunately. It is also a little long and tight in the arms just like other reviews say, but still feels ok as long as you don't wear a super bulky sweater or hoodie underneath.
Good warmth on chilly days but only for late fall early winter temps. Anything below 30's F degrees and you are shivering - the omni heat isn't all-powerful and you really have to be active and moving around like hiking or skiing or walking the dog for it to do much good. It is advertised/hyped to be a little warmer than it actually is, especially if you are just standing at a bus stop or driving to work on a cold morning.
Anyway, nice jacket overall - just a bit overpriced for its simple design and lack of heat in really cold conditions.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Superb

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
shoaltide
Location: Leesburg GA
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This jacket is awesome...light,warm and good looking. Cuts the wind like no other jacket I have ever owned!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Omni-Wind Block works great

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
BobinMT
Location: Billings, Montana
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The coat works best in moderate outside temp, above freezing. Below freezing with the wind blowing you have to layer, it has been cold and windy here in Montana. The wind blows thru the wool outside shell and makes the Omni heat chilly. The sleeves are tight for layering. Great looking coat but made for above freezing temps. Very good quality. I sent the coat back because I was looking for a Wind-Block for below 32 degree temps.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The 80's called and wants their jacket back

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rickr
Location: Chicago
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got the jacket and put it on and am glad I read the reviews as it certainly runs a bit larger since I'm normally a medium so the small that I ordered fit just right. I tried it out during the frigid temps we were getting in Chicago which had -25+ degrees and I have to say it faired very well albeit I still had to layer. It's more effective at temps in the 30's. I was content with the styling until someone from work saw the reflective heat tech lining and mentioned that the 80's called. Lol.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

jacket not a parka

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
oldncold
Location: NJ
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a nice jacket, and I like mine just fine, but this is not a coat for very cold weather. If you are getting in and out of the car, or if the weather is in the 40's, this jacket is perfect. I for one felt the cold wearing this jacket say in the 35 temp range, being pretty surprised that others find it so warm. maybe i am just getting old.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husband loves this Jacket

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
msdiana
Location: Deerfield, Ohio
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this Jacket as a gift for my husband. I swore I was not going to try to buy him clothing again, because I get him things and he never wears them. But a co-worker had one like this and I just knew it was going to be a good buy. He loves the jacket and it's has quickly become his go to coat. He has bragged about how warm it is without being to bulky that I have ordered an Omni lined jacket for myself.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

quality product but irregular fit

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
bobski
Location: medfield, ma
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Unfortunately, this jacket had an imperfect fit. The bottom/waistband area would not lie flat on one side. Also, one side of the breast area would not lie flat. I love Columbia products and own many of them. Unfortunately this jacket was not designed perfectly.
I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Functional active wear

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joe061257
Location: Denver,Co
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
My Omni-Heat reflective jacket is perfect for my active life style. Light weight and very warm. I would recommend it to everyone.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Jacket!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
NEMusky
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall the jacket is nice. It keeps me warm and looks good. However beware the jacket runs a little large and the color illustrated doesn't match perfectly to what I received.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Gordo76
Location: Larkspur CA
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good looking jacket, 3 functional zippered pockets for secure storage of keys, sunglasses, etc.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very warm and light

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kurt69
Location: WI
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket. Cold wind does not get through. I love it.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket for cold & dry days

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
DuckDaddy
Location: Wilsonville, Oregon
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket combines wind protection and heat reflection for a great combo on cold, dry days. It does run a bit small so choose the size carefully...best to try one on before you purchase. It is not waterproof so enjoy it when the rain and snow have stopped for awhile. Another great Colombia product.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
brytyre
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wore this my entire visit to Iceland, where we went on a few excursions and it kept me warm and comfortable. The thermal lining is like putting on an extra sweater and the design is true that it lets you dry out. I had to wear it with a rain coat often, but it was great not having to wear additional layers on top of the layers I did wear. This jacket worked very well while I was climbing and hiking on a glacier, snow shoeing, and now I wear it all the time.
What attracted me to buying this? The thermal technology, the fit, construction, and the texture. The texture of the materials is soo nice. I get very tired of all the outdoors clothing being the slick, often shinny, and sometimes plastic looking. The cloth used for the main part outer pieces really steps it up.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jacket for Many Activities

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
ACS80
Location: Charlotte, NC
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is true to size and very warm, with minimal clothes on underneath. It folds down easily to be stashed into a bag or wedged in tight spaces in the car. We have mild winters in NC, so it is perfect for this area.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Jacket I'v Ever Owned

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adam117
Location: Ohio
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Many people compliment me on this jacket. I live in Ohio, and use it as a Winter Coat. If its below -0 degrees, with high wind i throw a cheap hoodie underneath of it, and keeps me very warm. Fits true to size and very business/professional looking. I would buy a 2nd.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice jacket

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
mharrigan81
Location: Upstate, New York
Outdoor Experience: Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice jacket. Appears to be constructed well. The sleeves are a little tight, if you plan on wearing a thick sweater underneath it may not be comfortable. Other than that, it's warm and fits true to it's description.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Caver
Location: bowling green ky
Outdoor Experience: Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fast ship totally pleased
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Men’s Grade Max™ Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!!

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
MKN1
Location: Tullahoma, TN
Outdoor Experience: Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee: No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased the Grade Max Jacket and I love it!!! I've worn it in temperatures of upper 20F to mid 30F with slight winds and haven't felt anything but the warmth generated by my body working with the incredible Omni-Heat technology. The Omni-Wind Block technology has kept the wind from penetrating the jacket and getting to me. This jacket has really kept me comfortable. I'm waiting to test it in mid teen deg F weather conditions where I have to be outside for long periods of time, but based on what I've already experienced I expect it to keep me warm. The only minor complain that I have is that the sleeves fit a little tight and are a little long, but the latter is handled by the adjustable wrist straps. Great product Columbia!!!
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
12Next>>