Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket

Columbia Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket

Fortified with Omni-Wind® Block and a warmth-retaining Omni-Heat® thermal reflective lining, this wool-like jacket is ideal for staying warm and protected during high-velocity activities in cold, dry weather.
Overall rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
14 out of 16(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Review 1 for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Snow Shoeing in Maine! -15 with wind Chill +

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
2shaxs
Location: Arizona
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I lived in Bridgton ME and use to love snow shoeing all over the place. I was in the local Reny's Department Store and noticed the new Omni-heat range on display.
Now, I admit...as I checked out the range they had ( from Boots to Jackets and base/mid layers ) I did think to myself - boy what a gimmick. Was I wrong....
This Jacket is simply the bomb. I wear a fleece top underneath with a fleece beanie, and go snow shoeing in some adverse Winter weather. I've been shoeing on the Naples Golf Course at 7pm, 2 feet of powder and the temp at negative -15 with a wind chill factor that was even colder.
The jacket cuts out wind like a concrete wall. Seriously. With it tightened down, it's simply wind proof. The omni-heat not only keeps me toastie with one fleece underneath, but it BREATHES!!! The fleece stays dry and there is no evidence of retained sweat inside the jacket. I don't muck around when snow snowing either, so I do push it along pretty quick.
I'm impressed. It is my go to Jacket now for shoeing and as such, have not used it skiing....YET.
The fit is great. I am broad shouldered from 30 yrs of Surfing, 210 pounds and bought a XL. Fits perfect. Not tight ( and I hate tight..) and easy to wear a fleece and base layer underneath.
To be honest, it breathes so well I'm absolutely stoked.
Now, I also wear a small Camel Backpack whilst shoeing. Even with this on and loaded with a couple of liters of water plus hot food and bars / med kit etc...I've never had my lower back feel "wet". After a long hike then stop briefly to remove pack, I've felt warm "dampness" for want of a better term, but, it's gone pretty quickly. Once again, superb wicking with just a fleece underneath. That's my disclaimer. I've not used anything else underneath, so cannot vouch for someone wearing cotton etc etc.
Would I buy another? You betcha. Hope this helps.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good in fit, quality, and looks great too.

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
star786
Location: michigan
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A light looking jacket which truly functions good for cold weather too.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Grade Max Jacket

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
David5
Location: Michigan
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket does run a little large but it was almost expected. The jacket however did do an excellent job keeping the wind out and the heat in. Overall, it is a little expensive but great quality and I would recommend this for an everyday coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Jacket

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Ersley
Location: Massachusets
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Jacket. Slim & very warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Jacket

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Steveo
Location: Salt Lake
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is just an overall great jacket for everyday use. The first real test was a MLS soccer game where it was windy and about 40 degrees. I just had a t-shirt on underneath and it kept me warm all night. If it was any colder i might worry a bit. But if it's colder than that, Wear a coat! :)
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pros and Cons

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Customer avatar
CollegeAngler26
Location: Arkansas
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cons:
The only cons I can possibly consider is that the size was smaller than expected just like many of the other reviews say; however, after reading the reviews I went to my local Cabelas and tried a couple sizes on in different jackets to determine which fits me best. I usually wear between size small and medium, but this fleece in medium fits me perfect! Also look very closely at the color because the jacket is not a dark black. It is sort of a charcoal color- you can compare the color of the hood versus the torso.
Pros:
Everything! This fleece is everything it says it is! I bought this fleece and had it expressed shipped for a fishing tournament last weekend. I was driving 60 mph facing a 20 mph wind and this fleece didn't budge! Not to mention it was 40 degrees outside. The hood has bungee straps to tighten the hood to your head just like any average hoodie; however, you don't have to tie it or mess with it every couple minutes. When you adjust it- it stays. Even this simple detail helped because it limited the wind into the jacket to almost nothing. The jacket is a little longer than most because it helps the wind from coming under the jacket when sitting down. It is surprisingly thin and lightweight- which is actually great because even though it is thin and lightweight, it does it's job 100%! I was conspicuous about the Omni-Heat when I first looked at the jacket, but it kept me warm all day long in these harsh conditions. This jacket says it is only water resistant, so when a downpour came I put a jacket on top just in case. This jacket impresses me greatly, and it will work great for you too, as long as you do your research and use it for the conditions it is made for!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Jacket No Logo

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Customer avatar
NoLogo
Location: MD
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a quality well made product. I received this with the logo missing on the back side of the jacket. Columbia thanked me for my observation and claimed the picture was taken before production. Your Welcome.
I do not recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Mid-Weight Layer

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
JesseG
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket as a mid weight layer to pair with my technical shell. This jacket performs well above my expectations. The build quality is solid, the fit runs just slightly large, but this is good when you are layering. I recently wore this Jacket with just a T-shirt on an ice fishing trip at over 10,000' in the Rocky Mountains, and I stayed warm and dry all day. Very happy with the Grade Max Hooded Jacket!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm jacket on the long side

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
hmtoto
Location: FL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is a high quality, warm jacket. Compared with other jackets in the same size, this particular model is about 1 and half inches longer (for size Small), which can a bad thing for shorter guys or people with shorter torsos, since it is still a jacket, not a coat. Hope Columbia with take this factor into consideration.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT VERY WARM

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
mirrorfinish
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is more a fall or spring jacket not a winter one. Disappointed!
I do not recommend this product.
-11points
1of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As advertised

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
SAF1
Location: Everett Wa
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
You did not lie, this jacket is warm and fits perfect.. as we just had some very cold days here in Seattle, the jacket was perfect.. layers were not required..
thanks
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sleeves are tight

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
thuff
Location: Arkansas
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall fit is good. Sleeves are too tight however. Not able to wear a sweatshirt under it. Expected buffalo to be brown instead of the grey color.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like this jacket!

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
JayDog
Location: Salem, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like the omni-heat. It keeps me warm. Love the style & looks of it.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product, runs a little small

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Karhem
Location: Maryland
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice jacket, runs small.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exceptionally Warm Jacket Without Overheating

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
da7rutrak
Location: Puget Sound, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this jacket on the Sunday before Cyber Monday (2012). My intended use was for something heavier than the Fast Trek II zipup fleece I was wearing day to day.
I was looking for a jacket that was warm, wind-resistant or wind-proof and was semi-rain repellent/resistant. This jacket meets all those criteria wonderfully. I am warm when walking around the Pacific Northwest (Puget Sound on the water, to be specific) even with a stiff wind. The pockets are warm (huge plus!) and the hood is also warm.
Only two nitpicks:
1) The collar is a bit "stiff" when zipped completely. This makes it somewhat uncomfortable for my smaller frame/build when fully zipped, but this is not unique to this jacket.
2) The right-hand pocket came without a zipper pull and unfortunately a replacement cannot be sent out - a full replacement of the jacket is required.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byJesseG
Fort Collins, CO
 
Please wait while more information about JesseG is loaded.
Additional information about JesseG could not be loaded.
onJanuary 28, 2013
Good info, thanks for the review! I miss Puget Sound
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Men’s Grade Max™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Outer Layer

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
TacoEOD
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased the Columbia Men's Grade Max Hooded Jacket for colder days when I wanted a good warmth to weight ration and jacket that I could wear around the town. Whether its in the city streets or mountain air, the Grade Max has done an excellent job keeping me warm and protected from the wind. The hood is also a great design and fits very well.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.