Customer reviews for Columbia Men’s The Compounder™ Shell

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Men’s The Compounder™ Shell

Big time big mountain protection in a low-profile shell that packs easily and weighs next to nothing . The 2.5 layer construction features our ultrabreathable, fully seam-sealed Omni-Dry® technology for the ultimate in protection and comfort during high-octane adventures.
Overall rating:
4.259 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
25 out of 27(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Review 1 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Product, Strange Color...

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Houston
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great attention to detail with regards to zippers, zipper pulls, pockets, the hood, sleeve vents, you name it. Most important, the jacket is WATERPROOF - water is NOT getting into this jacket unless you want it to get in. I purchased an XL and it is ever so slightly snug around the chest but I still have great arm movement. Wish the hood was detachable or could be rolled up under the collar. My only complaint is the color, Chartruese? I thought it was going to be more of a yellow but hey, I DO NOT know my colors very well. Bottom line on the color, I will be noticed by vehicles when wearing this jacket and I'm not looking to coordinate colors...
I would recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compounder Shell

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Cumming, GA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As luck would have it, the day I received my new Compounder shell it was raining. I put it on and walked out in the rain just to see if the hype was true about the Compounder's breatheability. I am impressed. two weeks later I took it along on a trip where we hiked a 20 mike section of the Appalachian Trail. Again, I liked it for the breatheability and orverall functionality. The Compounder is everything that was promised.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great jacket, zipper issue?

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this jacket on a recommendation and love it! Amazingly light, delivering on its waterproof/breathable claims. I wore this on a recent Mt Hood climb.
The only quality issue is that one of the pocket zippers blew out early on. It had a weird bulge that i didn't notice when i bought it. I got the jacket replaced and the new one does not have the same issue but was both disappointing and a hassle to make the exchange as the store did not have the right size so i had to get the replacement mailed - time and shipping on me.
Also, i went for the medium which fits well but is a bit snug. The large was too big. I'm 5' 9", a strapping 155lbs when dripping wet.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Since this coat is advertised as "ultrabreathable", I used it as a splash jacket for a recent kayak day trip in Bellingham Bay to test it out. The jacket was waterproof and didn't have moisture buildup on the inside. I'm [almost] looking forward to hiking/backpacking with it this Fall in our soon to come Northwest wet weather.
This is a Great Jacket!
I'm 5'-10" and 195 lbs, and the Large jacket fits me perfectly.
I would recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byJumpman8323
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Jumpman8323 is loaded.
Additional information about Jumpman8323 could not be loaded.
Packable?
onMarch 13, 2014
Is the jacket packable?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Compounder great in deluge, only nit-picky problems.

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Used the Compounder for the first time in what turned out to be heavy weather, and it performed really well. The jacket allows for a terrific range of motion. Only issues were some slight saturation around the sleeves, and some minor frustrations around the zipper. Overall, stayed dry & looked good, love the pocket design.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid breathable and waterproof jacket

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, PNW
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this jacket to serve as a good all around waterproof shell, and it has surpassed my expectations. From intense activity to just a walk in the rain, this shell performs amazingly. I've biked in this jacket in heavy rain pour a few times and remained completely dry in-and-outside of the jacket. Rain only really soaks through the jacket under my backpack straps, but this is only when the backpack straps are soaked.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice rain jacket

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this attractive jacket for my son and he loves it.
I would recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great jacket

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: maryland
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i love this jacket. fits perfect and works great with layers.
for reference, i'm 5'8", 145lb and a medium is actually big enough to stack layers underneath with room.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good warm weather rain jacket.

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Knoxville, TN
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great rain jacket. As long as it's above 40 degrees. The jacket fits me a little snug in the shoulders and around the belly. I'm 5'10" 230 pounds and built like a fullback - that is broad shouldered, broad chested. If you are right on the edge of a size go up to the next size because you are going to want to wear a warm shirt under the jacket to stay warm. The main zipper is a little difficult to get started and the pit zippers kind of rub my sides and under arms but that is probably due to the fact its tight through my shoulders. I probably should've gone up one size but then the sleeves and coat tail would've been too long.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good coat, long sleeves

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The coat is very dry, but keeps you cool as advertised. I am a fit medium guy and the coat fits well around the shoulders and chest, but is a bit long in the sleeves. This can be good when wearing gloves in the snow, but in general the long sleeves get in the way. The look is great and the color really pops (I choose the green coat).
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great look.

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Winnipeg, Mb., Canada
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fuse green is a fabulous color. I always wear a large in any upper body item. This one fits a little snug, especially with a sweatshirt underneath. The armholes seem somewhat tight under the arm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Men's Compounder Shell

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: B.C.
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great jacket, excellent quality, no complaints there.
Chartreuse color was much, much brighter in color than appeared on the website. We were looking for colorful but not this bright. (That's the only reason I didn't give a 5 star.)
I would recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Amazing

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Bear, DE
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dont be hesitant to purchase this jacket. By far the best rain jacket I have ever owned. It was crazy to see that if you let water run on the jacket and then run off, the jacket is dry to the touch. I dont know how Columbia does it but they do it.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ABSOLUTELY MAGNIFICENT

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Queensland Australia
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There is no denying it, this is one of the best waterproof jackets on the market. Using it in wet tropical Queensland Australia.
It ticks all the buttons. It keeps you dry on the outside and on the inside.
Used a Drizabone for many years then a Muddy Creek then a Goretex. Believe me they all get you wet one way or the other as they don't stand up to heavy tropical rains that gone on and on for hours.The compounder KEEPS YOU DRY FROM OUTSIDE WET WEATHER AND INSIDE PERSPIRATION. Threw the other impostors in the garbage bin. The Omni-Dry and Omni-Wick really do work.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good enough

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: NY
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A bit larger than expected.
Light but warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice rain jacket

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: maryland's capital
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the compounder shell is everything Columbia said it is ... appealing colors, waterproof, and breathable ... nice pockets but the front zipper is a little bit difficult to open and close.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good light raincoat

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: San Francisco
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good water protection. The metallic lining gives me a psychological warmth, at least. The colors give me a bit of a change from my usual raingear, and make me safer working at dusk and at night near the roads, as I sometimes have to do.
I would recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Compounder shell

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: CT
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like the jacket a lot, but disappointed in sizing. Runs small, definitely order size up in order to wear a warm layer underneath. Decided to return actually for a different less expensive model in a larger size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Brooklyn NY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Love everything about it ! Underarm Zippers are great for my workouts. Breaths well. Hood fits Snugly.
If I had one criticism, it would be that it is advertised as 2.5 layers...but really comes off as 1.5. Its very thin if you need it as a lead jacket on a very cold day. But 1 layer underneath in 25 degrees has been fine. In 15 degrees I had to go to a heavier Coat.
All and all I am very pleased..and I love the sport colors and look.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Men’s The Compounder™ Shell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely lightweight

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Northern wisconsin
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A very lightweight shell. Perfect as is for spring skiing on those hot days . 100 percent wind proof, and I have stayed dry in the rain with it. Perfect outer shell, allows me to layer with my favorite liners.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>