Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Whirlibird™ Parka

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Whirlibird™ Parka

This rock-solid 3-in-1 parka is legendarily hardworking and now updated with Omni-Heat® for even more powder-blasting warmth.
Overall rating:
4.446 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
61 out of 65(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Review 1 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Whirlibird

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Yakima, WA
I loved the feel of the coat, but the sizing was way off. I normally wear a med to lg size shirt and I bought an extra large coat and it is too small.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedOctober 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Dayton, Ohio
I bought this coat and absolutely love it. The lining is removable, extremely lightweight and a great fall jacket. The omniheat feature is fantastic and works really well. I highly recommend this coat.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bring on the rain!

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Washington State
I purchased this coat last winter, only to be disappointed that i was prepared for the weather and didn't get anything! I know this winter will be different. When wearing the fleece underneath, it is warm but uncomfortable so make sure to get a bigger size. Love everything else, a good coat if you live where there is lots of rain and wind.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SUPERB

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Customer avatar
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE MY COAT. IT IS DEFINITELY WARM AND WEAR IT ALL THE TIME!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality, Excellent Purchase

PostedNovember 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: northern Michigan
I've had my last Columbia jacket for about 10 years. I bought this one because I wanted an update, I am so happy with the versatility of the 3-in-one features. This jacket is so warm and stylish. I know that I will enjoy it for many years to come. The new Onmi Heat really makes a difference. I highly recommend this jacket!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love Columbia!!!

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Bayview, Idaho
Not only is this parka amazing, but Columbia's customer service is absolutely incredible. I would recommend this parka, and Columbia in general, to anyone and everyone!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Columbia's the best!

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Baltimore, MD
LOVE this coat. Does run small though. Based on other reviews, got it in XL and it fits just right. I'm 5'3" and 135 lbs., and like a little wiggle room in my coats / clothes. Got it in deep teal w/orange trim -- beautiful! Very dark blue -- almost looks charcoal. Very warm, protective, and functional re: adjustable cuffs and drawstrings. Inside, chest, and/or sleeve pocket would make it perfect.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice!

PostedNovember 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago
Bought the Jacket at Dick's Sports in the suburbs of Chicago. The jacket runs maybe a size small. Was wearing the inside layer on its own up until today as we finally hit below freezing this morning. The inside layer is very comfortable and surprisingly light. Definitely kept the cold out on its own! Today I wore the layers together and it continued to stay awesome. One great thing I noticed was that when wearing the coat inside, you don't feel like you are overheating. Let's see how this coat stands up to a true Chicago winter now...
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall a great coat

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Michigan
I normally wear a medium but went with a L based on the other reviews. It fits great in the bust and shoulders but overall its too long for me and the sleeves cover most of my hands. The shell is way too big to wear alone but I love wearing just the liner. Its very cute and warm. Overall its a nice coat. (BTW I am 5' 1 and 135lbs.)
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Small and tight jacket with long, long arms

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
I was terribly disappointed with this jacket. I wear a large comfortably, but this was tight enough to look silly. The arms on the liner are incredibly long and the liner has no elastic on the sleeves: so I can't get a larger size, because then the sleeves would hang down to my knees. Very sad.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Boston, MA
Great coat! A lot of the reviews said it ran small so I got an XL and it fits great even with a big sweater underneath (I'm usually a L and for the record 5'5 192lbs...I don't know whats up with all the 135lb reviewers needing an XK...). Its unbelievably warm, all I wore underneath yesterday was a short sleeve t-shirt and I was actually hot on my way to work even thought the temp. was about 19 degrees! Best. Coat. Ever.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My Canada Coat

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: New Jersey
I purchased this coat due to the advertised Omni Heat and the fact that their is an inner shell and outer coat. So far I am enjoying the coat, the big issue is that it runs VERY SMALL so I am happy to have ordered it 2 sizes too big for it just fits.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sizing is way off.

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Ohio
I was prepared to buy a jacket and it was just a matter of which one until I started trying them on. I was very disappointed in the sizing. I would normally wear a medium but when I put it on, I felt like a sausage stuffed in to a casing. I couldn't hardly move. I tried on the large and it was better but the sleeves were long on the medium and even longer on the large. Needless to say, I did not buy a jacket.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great jacket compared to many others

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: NYC
This is indeed a miracle jacket. The only thing I wish they installed more of are pockets. Like unlike TNFace, this only has two basic pockets. I really wish there were more secret compartments to store my mp3 or wallet etc. And also, i wish the hood was thicker. It feels SO thin. But I guess it acts like a windbreaker?
I was ecstatic when I received this jacket, literally like a watch dog waiting for the UPS truck. Anywho, once I received it, I tested it out. I wore only a t-shirt under the jacket on a cold winter day to class. It was 28 degrees 18mph wind so it technically felt like it was 8 degrees. And my body stayed warm. And I never took it off during class when the heat was on, didn't sweat one bit.
THUMBS UP.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!!

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: GA
This jacket is freakin amazing! At first I thought I wanted an interchangable jacket with a fleece liner for my upcoming ski trip but decided to give the omi-heat a chance since I'm always so cold anyways. I wear it as much as I can. I did buy up one size and it fits perfect. I'm on the small athletic 5'8" side and with the jackets worn together, it couldn't fit better. The shell is just large enough for me to fit a nice sweater under and I love the amount of pocket space. The color is much more vibrant in person. I got the posy color and am in love. I know I seem like I'm gushing but I've only had one light windbreaker jacket, the Arcadia jacket from here and it was nice. To have a jacket finally like this has made my Christmas
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Incredible!

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Wyoming, MN
I always seem to be cold, but this jacket is so remarkably warm and very light-weight. I have an old Titanium which is also warm, but very heavy. I was afraid this new one was not going to do the job. Thankfully I was wrong. I also have gotten many compliments on it. Next I will be getting the matching pants.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exactly What I Expected

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: Northern Utah
I chose to treat myself with a newer coat since my first two Columbia coat and jacket are 6 yrs old. I chose the Whirlibird parka w/Omni-Heat and I'm quite happy with it! It keeps me incredibly warm and looks great! I read the reviews ahead of time to get an idea of what was said about it. True to the reviews it runs smaller than models in years past. I prefer a baggier fit, but the fit isn't confining. I guess I'm fortunate to have lost weight :D
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

disapointing

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Customer avatar
Location: maryland
looking at the size chart for the jackets and measing my self, it sould have fun, but it runs very small. it is very tight. and i am disappointed. it is kinda bulcky. i loved it from the pics, but i am saddly not happy with the product.
I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it's good

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Customer avatar
looks great
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Whirlibird Parka

PostedSeptember 23, 2010
Customer avatar
As Fall has just arrived, I've only worn the shell of the jacket, but I love it! It fits so much better than the previous Columbia coats I have purchased.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next>>