Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Whirlibird™ Parka

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Whirlibird™ Parka

This rock-solid 3-in-1 parka is legendarily hardworking and now updated with Omni-Heat® for even more powder-blasting warmth.
Overall rating:
4.446 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
61 out of 65(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Review 1 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

From hot to COLD!

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Kcallejo
my husband and i just moved from CA to ND! it is very cold up here and i had no winter gear... My sister told me about this coat so i did some research with lots of trying on of many different brands and types of coats. After reading other reviews of this coat i decided to just get it. I LOVE IT!!! i am usually cold all the time even inside, but this coat is a blessing because i am never cold with this coat, even with just the shell. I am so glad that the coat has "pit zips" because i am usually hot in this coat and never have to wear a sweater under it. As fir the fit which many other people complained about, i got a MED and it is perfect, Columbia tends to cut their coats smaller than north face and so if you are a small with NF you are a Med with Columbia.. NOT a big deal to figure out :) I recommend this coat to anyoen who has recess duty as a teacher and has to stand out in cold!
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bylovemycutepups
nyc
 
Please wait while more information about lovemycutepups is loaded.
Additional information about lovemycutepups could not be loaded.
North face runs small-
onDecember 29, 2011
So if you are a Medium in columbia, the medium from north face will be tight, so you will probably be a large in north face- in my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for me

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer avatar
sandymaine
Location: maine
I had to return this jacket. Too big in the shoulders, too small in the waist (okay, maybe it's me - too big in the waist, too small in the shoulders). But even if it had fit, why would the collar on the outside shell be furry? If it was not cold out, and I wanted to wear just the shell, why would I want a furry collar? I would want the furry collar on the inside piece to use on cold days.
Sorry, Columbia.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedAugust 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Shanny
Location: Bariloche, Argentina
Perfect fit, light and easy to care for. The best jacket I ever bought. Thank you.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Most Amazing Jacket!

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Customer avatar
niceNtoasty
I just bought this jacket and I love it! I've never had a winter jacket, but I'm a diver and I needed something that was insulated as well as waterproof and windproof and this is the perfect jacket. I love the two-piece aspect of it--I can take off the inside jacket if it's too hot (which is a problem where I live) while still remaining water/windproof. I would highly recommend it!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a SASSY Jackie

PostedAugust 17, 2011
Customer avatar
Columbialover18
Location: Breck
I just LOVE <3 <3 <3 this Jackie. It is SOOOO Sassy. It is perfect for shredding DEEP pow pow. Not only is it great for the slopes, it is perfect for hangin in the lodge. Keeps my sassiness at a premium while remaining nice and caj (casual).
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Customer avatar
CowgirlKate55
Location: NY
haven't had a chance to wear it out yet as its been 100 degrees outside, but can't wait to try it out in the snow
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Coat

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Customer avatar
sarahsponda
Location: Altoona, PA
I needed a good coat, because I am going up to Rochester for school in the fall. I wanted a stylish jacket that would keep me super warm! Although I have not tested it in the elements I am very happy with my purchase. I would recommend this to anyone.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cannot wait for ski season!

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Customer avatar
PDXhiker
Location: Portland
I just bought this coat and am pretty much in love with it. I cannot wait for ski season to really see what it can do. I live in a very rainy state and have loved this coat for hiking and around the town use so far. It is incredibly warm and comfortable. Many of the reviews I read before I purchased this said it ran super super small so I bought up a size from what I normally would. I think I would have been fine going with a medium instead of a large. I am 5'8" and regular build. I am keeping the large because it is nice for hiking and skiing to not be too tight in your coat if you want a layer underneath. If I was just using this for city use I would have gone with the medium. Overall though I would highly recommend this coat. I love it!! And it is WAY cuter in person than it looked online.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome jacket.

PostedMay 16, 2011
Customer avatar
Anya
Location: Virginia
I actually got this jacket for the next winter season, but realized that I will be able to enjoy it as a rain jacket and a light jacket throughout the spring and summer. When I first got it I thought ordering a size up was a mistake, but trying it on with a sweater underneath it fits perfect. Highly recommend it.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket!

PostedMay 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Jenn213
Location: Portland, OR
I was looking for a good winter coat for the coming year because I'll be heading to the east coast for college and came across this beauty in store. They didn't have my available size (S) or the color I wanted (shimmer) but I ordered it online in-store and the shipping was free. The parka came 4 days later and it was a perfect fit. I got kind of hot trying it on and since it's spring, I've yet to test it out but so far I love it. Both the inner and outer layer are beautifully made and stand on their own quite well but together they are super warm. I feel ready for college!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Finally Warm - Why did I Wait?

PostedApril 24, 2011
Customer avatar
McSwenson
Location: Port Townsend, WA
All winter I went around complaining about how many layers I had to wear to maintain some body heat. Now I have the perfect coat for the roaring winds from the ocean and the damp and freezing temps of the Northwest. Looks good too, so it has become my only coat in a short space of time. Good for rain storms, icy winds and all. It is a bit tight with a sweater or polar fleece vest underneath (necessary for inside most homes here), but otherwise perfect. Love the wet and cold protection from the sleeves and around the hips. Now where are the matching pants?
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the Whiribird Parka

PostedApril 16, 2011
Customer avatar
KOgden
This parka is awesome. Extremely warm and the just raindrops brush off. An outstanding coat
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect winter jacket

PostedApril 5, 2011
Customer avatar
amayflower
Location: Upstate New York
Fits great and looks sleek. Super warm, sometimes I'm sweating after walking around campus in a blizzard! Totally worth the investment, I'm sure I'll be wearing this jacket for a while.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Coat I Own

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Location: Illinois
Bought this because I needed something for all climate weather, exspecially for my trip to Colorado this summer, where it's cold one minute and then hot the next.
I love that it's warm, versatile, and comfy. I wear this thing everywhere, or at least one of the layers from it. It's perfect for hiking, camping, bonfire nights, sledding, football games, whatever you need. This is my everyday coat. Also saves room in my luggage now that I don't have to pack a sweatshirt, a winter coat, and a spring jacket.
The only thing I guess I'd have to be picky about is the colors offered. I ended up going with black b/c at least that looks sleek and everything. But blues and greens? Ew.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great coat

PostedFebruary 14, 2011
Customer avatar
SDchicka
Location: Sioux Falls, South Dakota
If you want wiggle room get a larger size. Trying out sizes in-store was a good determination. Wish it was a tad longer. The inner jacket does get snagged easily because of the slick poly material so don't wear it if around metal baskets (aka: dollar bins at Target). Because it is interchange I can swap out the inner jacket. The inner jacket has loops to snap the sleeves and velcro the neck piece to the outer one. I never have any trouble with the two coming out of each other. I do dislike that because of the 'true' fit my sweaty pits can stink the inner coat up sooner. True there are zip vents on the outer jacket but the tech isn't really good at keeping hot pits cool. I am a profuse sweat-er. Omni-heat doesn't work as well as claimed. I was overheating and othertimes was cooler than I'd like (negative wind factor). Still love it though.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

whirlibird parka

PostedFebruary 14, 2011
Customer avatar
sadiebear
I love the color and the 3 way use. My old Columbia jacket was about 17 yrs old and still great but decided on an updated color, otherwise it was still very functional! I almost hate to give it up! I ordered the new one a size bigger than usual due to the reviews written about running small. Even then I had to return it and go a size larger. The staff was very helpful and I got free shipping on the 2nd one. I plan for this one to last just as long as my first Columbia! Thanks.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very warm coat

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Customer avatar
chillybird
Warm coat. A little bulky. I like that you can make it 3 different types of coat. The inside makes a light, but warm jacket. The outside makes a good windbreaker. And together it makes a very warm coat. This is a good thing when you live where I do. Other that being a very bulky fit, this coat is a great investment.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Warm, but missing pockets...

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Customer avatar
sw55409
Location: minneapolis
I like this coat and decided to keep it, but I was disappointed that the women's whirlibird has half as many pockets as the men's version (it also appears to have less omniheat lining? but I don't usually get cold in it). There are no pockets in the lining of the insulated jacket (The men's version has 2 or 3). Also, the fuzzy neck lining is on the shell rather than the insulated jacket, making the shell less useful as a raincoat.
The arms are miles long and the coat fits tight in the hips. The velcro tabs that hold back the hood and sleeves are great. Overall, the coat is nice and warm, but the pocket situation is not convenient.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Customer avatar
KMal1311
Location: Massachusetts
I am from New England, born and raised, so I am very accustomed to the cold weather. My old winter jacket got ruined a year ago and then I was just wearing a cheap, zip up fleece, for the cold days...I finally decided to buckle down and get a jacket and I actually picked this one out on a whim, without knowledge of its amazingness! WOW! I truly forgot what it was like to feel so warm even in the harshest conditions. It keeps me incredibly warm and toasty and I would seriously live in it if I could!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Whirlibird™ Parka
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it!

PostedJanuary 20, 2011
Customer avatar
kgod
Location: utah
I bought this jacket in Winter White. I noticed after taking off the tags that the parka did not look exactly like the picture. The only grey part of the jacket is the under arm area. I love this jacket though, it's comfortable and keeps me really warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next>>