Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell

Columbia Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell

With an Omni-Wind® Block bonded softshell exterior and super-soft plush lining, the Phurtec II is ideal for staying warm on chilly days. An attached storm hood, drawcord hem and drop tail deliver extra protection from the elements.
Overall rating:
4.696 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
22 out of 23(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Review 1 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Work Jacket!

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Chris10
Location: NOLA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this to replace a NF that didn't quite keep out the cold like it was supposed too. Living in Louisiana is tricky, 90 one day and 40/ raining the next; so I needed something that was functional since I am an outside sales rep and always in and out of my car. I am so grateful I found this jacket! It's perfect! Not only does it keep me warm, but it's amazing in the rain! The only snag I had was with the sizing, I'm 5'1 113 and the small fit perfect, but I did upgrade to a medium (arms are long, but expected) only because of the "active" fit of the jacket and I needed to be able to fit layers underneath if needed and also needed more range of motion when I'm in the car (I hate taking my jacket on and off in the car).
Overall this jacket gets an A+ in my book! I'll probably scoop up a Small for my personal use, since I got my company logo embroidered on the one I have now!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome for Florida winter nights!

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
FLperson
Location: Florida, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a recent midwest-to-florida transplant, I was looking for a softshell that would keep me warm in the early mornings and evenings when the temperature would dip into the 40's and low 50's but would also protect me when it started raining, since wool peacoats were not cutting it, plus they were too bulky. I get cold easily (always the person with a sweater in the office) so the full fleece-lining is awesome, plus the wind-resistance is great, so you don't lose your warmth when the breeze kicks up. I haven't worn it in a full down-pour, but in moderate rain it performed really well, I stayed dry. The coat is lightweight, and the fleece lining only adds a small amount of bulk. The cut is really nice, not boxy, plus the length of the body and the sleeves is great, just long enough. I always need a hood on my coats, because you never know when you might need it! If I could change one thing about this coat, I would get rid of the velco fasteners at the wrists, since they are a little too bulky and not really that useful. But overall I LOVE this coat and would buy it over and over again.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For cooler days

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
JB86
Location: Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is a very pretty blue, true to picture. Sleeves are a good length, I like them halfway down my hand, with functional velcro cuffs. I ordered a M even though I'm 5'2" 117, intended to layer underneath since I'm always cold. I am able to wear a tighter hoodie underneath easily. The fleece goes all the way down the arms to keep them warm. On cooler days I can manage with just a t-shirt underneath and still stay warm. Cold days (35 degrees) the hoodie is needed. The hood which is attached provides good cover when jacket is zipped and does not have a tendency to fly back even in windy conditions. Fits well when driving and not bunchy or uncomfortable.
I wish it was a little heavier and thicker
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Columbia quality is excellent

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Melyjo
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the jacket, it may be a little too warm for Florida. I wore for the first time yesterday 42 degrees. I wish it was not lined. Maybe I should have bought a large so it is not so close to the body. I usually buy a small or medium but vet fitted jacket. The material is wonderful and quality the same. It would be great for cooler climate. Your products are always the best
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Looking

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
shele
Location: NY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm and comfortable Love It!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT for tall woman

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Customer avatar
Kath04
Location: Rochester,ny
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I am tall and thin.
I had hard time to find jacket because most of jackets are short sleeves.
Some of size are not fitting me like too big for my body but the sleeves are too short. frustrated!
Now I learned that Columbia clothes are perfect for tall. I like this store more than other stores.
I did buy raincoat, fall jacket, winter jacket and softshell jacket.. love them!!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better Than Expected

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Longwinter
Location: Monroe, ME, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this jacket. I wanted something to wear in the fall/early winter before it was too cold, with fleece lining and a hood. I couldn't find anything in retail stores so took a chance and bought this online, something I rarely do because I'm between a medium and large so difficult to fit. I'm glad I took a chance because it fits perfectly and has all the features I wanted plus it looks good, too. I think the jacket will keep me warm for most of the winter and I live in Maine! Highly recommend this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In Love

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Naomi18
Location: Northern California
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this jacket just before the rainy season really kicked in where I live and I could not be happier with the purchase. This jacket has proven to be worth even more than I paid for it in my opinion. The soft lining runs all the way down the inside of the sleeve and the outer material keeps me completely dry even in the worst storms. It fits close to my body without being suffocating and I have the freedom to move freely without feeling restricted or too hot. I would by this jacket over and over again if I had to.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So warm!

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Kjorg
Location: North Carolina, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really love this coat. I bought this to replace a North Face and ended up liking this jacket more. It's extremely warm and not too bulky. I really like that the coat is lined through the sleeves. The only con is that it does run a little small. The XL fits me the way a L usually does, except the sleeves are too long. Overall though, I'd recommend this.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Emalee
Location: New York
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like this jacket!! xs fit perfectly (5'4 & 116 lbs)... though it is a little shorter in the front, it's not bad or noticeable at all. It's super warm & soft. I've gotten a lot of compliments & people asking where I got it, too. Really like this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Multi-Climate Jacket

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer avatar
firenurse634
Location: Houma, LA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket for the rainy months in Oregon last fall and was able to use it for the winter months in Louisiana. This jacket is amazing! Super comfortable to wear, non-bulky, easy to drive or do anything with it on, and super easy to clean. As for sizing: mine fits perfectly. I even checked the sizing chart and the measurements were on the dot for my size.
My only problem with it is that my draw-cord for my hood broke on the left side on its second use. Other than that, this is the perfect jacket for any cool or rainy weather!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

purple jacket

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
blainec
Location: corvallis, oregon
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love how warm this jacket keeps me, as well as dry from the rain!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Kylee16
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this jacket just in time, the past few weeks weather has been below 30 degrees all the time. I love throwing a layer or two underneath the jacket and I am warm and ready to go. I haven't spent a long period of time out in it yet, but am sure it will hold up pretty well. Definitely worth the price!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great all purpose light jacket

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Guera83
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this in xsmall. I am 5'4" and 112 pounds. The fit is perfect. This jacket is ideal for windy, cooler days. I use it all the time during the winter months in Mexico City where the temperature hits around 40 in the evenings and mornings. However, there is enough room for layering, so I was also able to use it in colder weather (in the 30s). The fleece lining is a great detail. I ordered it in the hibiscus red. The color is vibrant, orangey, slightly pinkish. Think of a red hibiscus flower.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Nlyons
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most jackets when they say fleeced lined, only the body is fleece lined. THIS jacket the fleece lining continues down the arms for full body warmth. The other plus is that its water proof. You can stay warm and dry on a chilly rainy day. I haven't tested it out n freezing temperatures, but its been great on the colder (mid 30's) days. The cut of the jacket hits right at the hips and covers my bottom. Its also slimming not bulky! Excellent jacket!!
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, great price

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
MrsD2014
Location: Illinois
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I bought this coat to replace a NF and I have to say, I wish I had gone with Columbia in the first place! I love the fact that this jacket has a hood. I also like the adjustable sleeves. This helps when wearing bulkier sweatshirts underneath. A small fits well (I'm 5'1) with plenty of room for hoodies underneath, while not being bulky without. Very warm and wind resistant as well. I'm just hoping the white stays white!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best jacket ever!

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
SarahJane42
Location: Portland, Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket has kept me warm, dry, and stylish. It fits perfectly (5'7, 130lbs, got a small) and I have used it every day since I got it. I have hiked, gone to work, and even ran in it during a cold snap. I absolutely love this jacket!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Runs Way too Small

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Donna86
Location: Redmond, WA
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Very Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Very Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have to return. Too small
I do not recommend this product.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Jacket is Great!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Annie11
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recieced the jacket right on time with shipping. I'm 5'7 and a size 6, The fit was very true to size (medium). It keeps me warm but it isn't too warm. I go to college in Mississippi but i'm from Illinois so I needed a functional jacket for both climates. It has a hard shell outside but its fury on the inside. Love the jacket!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sporty fall jacket

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
liz24
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable, lightweight, extremely warm. Perfect fall jacket and it really blocks the wind.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>