Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket

Columbia Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket

With an Omni-Wind® Block bonded softshell exterior and super-soft plush lining, the Phurtec II is ideal for staying warm on chilly days. An attached storm hood, drawcord hem and drop tail deliver extra protection from the elements.
Overall rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
37 out of 38(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most jackets when they say fleeced lined, only the body is fleece lined. THIS jacket the fleece lining continues down the arms for full body warmth. The other plus is that its water proof. You can stay warm and dry on a chilly rainy day. I haven't tested it out n freezing temperatures, but its been great on the colder (mid 30's) days. The cut of the jacket hits right at the hips and covers my bottom. Its also slimming not bulky! Excellent jacket!!
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this jacket just in time, the past few weeks weather has been below 30 degrees all the time. I love throwing a layer or two underneath the jacket and I am warm and ready to go. I haven't spent a long period of time out in it yet, but am sure it will hold up pretty well. Definitely worth the price!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This jacket was very well recieved and met daughters exectations.

PostedJanuary 5, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: North Carolina Mountians
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered for my daughter for Christmas b/c after looking for it in the stores I was unable to find anything comparable. She had found it on your site to show us what she wanted. The box was delivered very quickly and I was very pleased. However, I was a little upset when I got back on here and the price had gone from $120 to $89. Oh well tis the season I guess.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sporty fall jacket

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable, lightweight, extremely warm. Perfect fall jacket and it really blocks the wind.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent climate proof jacket

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is super warm, soft, stretchy, wind-proof and breathable. When whether changes quickly, I could just have this jacket on top of my short-sleeve tee and stay warm even in cold weather. With the adjustable pull-strap around the hood, I felt like my body inside the jacket is completely protected from the harsh weather conditions. If weather is below 40s, you can wear an extra layer inside to get more warmth. It perfectly blocks chilly winds and some light rain too. The soft plush lining is all the way through your back, arms, and hood. As a soft shell jacket, this one does not make any rustling sound and very easy to move around with. My usual size xs fits great for me, but you may like to order a size up if you like to wear some bulky clothes underneath (although I don't think you need to with this jacket).
I would recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I was looking for

PostedFebruary 15, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in Oregon, and I was looking for a thicker raincoat. This coat not only keeps me dry, but warm as well. I love that the wrists and hood have adjustable velcro, and that the pockets are deep enough for my phone and keys. I usually wear a small, but ordered a medium (after reading the reviews) and it fits just right. Would definitely recommend this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Runs a little small

PostedJanuary 1, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Calera, Oklahoma
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thankful I tried this on in the store. I tried on a small (my usual size) and it fit a little tight. I tried on a medium and it fit great, a little long on my arms though because I'm short (about 5'1-2), but it doesn't bother me much. Absolutely love this jacket!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice tailored styling but not too slim fittting. The weight is perfect for chilly to cold evenings/fall weather. The outside finish protects against wind and rain. Nice lined hood is adjustable. Big inside pockets! Zippered outside. Just a perfect all around jacket. Worth every penny.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warm and stylish

PostedFebruary 19, 2016
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome jacket! The color is great, it's very soft on the inside, and very warm. My only complaint is the sleeves are a tad long!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mrs Rosa

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Tacoma, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like the fabric, warmth and fit of this coat. I have worn it in temps (so far) of about 50F with little physical activity and while others around me were feeling the chill, I was not. I also really like the fleece lined interior.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Jacket is Great!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recieced the jacket right on time with shipping. I'm 5'7 and a size 6, The fit was very true to size (medium). It keeps me warm but it isn't too warm. I go to college in Mississippi but i'm from Illinois so I needed a functional jacket for both climates. It has a hard shell outside but its fury on the inside. Love the jacket!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, great price

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Illinois
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
I bought this coat to replace a NF and I have to say, I wish I had gone with Columbia in the first place! I love the fact that this jacket has a hood. I also like the adjustable sleeves. This helps when wearing bulkier sweatshirts underneath. A small fits well (I'm 5'1) with plenty of room for hoodies underneath, while not being bulky without. Very warm and wind resistant as well. I'm just hoping the white stays white!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Multi-Climate Jacket

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Houma, LA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this jacket for the rainy months in Oregon last fall and was able to use it for the winter months in Louisiana. This jacket is amazing! Super comfortable to wear, non-bulky, easy to drive or do anything with it on, and super easy to clean. As for sizing: mine fits perfectly. I even checked the sizing chart and the measurements were on the dot for my size.
My only problem with it is that my draw-cord for my hood broke on the left side on its second use. Other than that, this is the perfect jacket for any cool or rainy weather!!
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In Love

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Northern California
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this jacket just before the rainy season really kicked in where I live and I could not be happier with the purchase. This jacket has proven to be worth even more than I paid for it in my opinion. The soft lining runs all the way down the inside of the sleeve and the outer material keeps me completely dry even in the worst storms. It fits close to my body without being suffocating and I have the freedom to move freely without feeling restricted or too hot. I would by this jacket over and over again if I had to.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome for Florida winter nights!

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Florida, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a recent midwest-to-florida transplant, I was looking for a softshell that would keep me warm in the early mornings and evenings when the temperature would dip into the 40's and low 50's but would also protect me when it started raining, since wool peacoats were not cutting it, plus they were too bulky. I get cold easily (always the person with a sweater in the office) so the full fleece-lining is awesome, plus the wind-resistance is great, so you don't lose your warmth when the breeze kicks up. I haven't worn it in a full down-pour, but in moderate rain it performed really well, I stayed dry. The coat is lightweight, and the fleece lining only adds a small amount of bulk. The cut is really nice, not boxy, plus the length of the body and the sleeves is great, just long enough. I always need a hood on my coats, because you never know when you might need it! If I could change one thing about this coat, I would get rid of the velco fasteners at the wrists, since they are a little too bulky and not really that useful. But overall I LOVE this coat and would buy it over and over again.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byMFISHER
New York, NY
 
Please wait while more information about MFISHER is loaded.
Additional information about MFISHER could not be loaded.
Best jacket ever!
onJanuary 20, 2016
I love this jacket! I am always cold and this jacket is absolutely windproof and super warm. This is a welcome surprise given then it weighs almost nothing. It is stylish and flattering which are 2 things that you almost never find in conjunction with "warm and functional".
This jacket runs small so go up a size. The sleeves are also very long (maybe because I had to take a Large when I am usually a Medium).
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Work Jacket!

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: NOLA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this to replace a NF that didn't quite keep out the cold like it was supposed too. Living in Louisiana is tricky, 90 one day and 40/ raining the next; so I needed something that was functional since I am an outside sales rep and always in and out of my car. I am so grateful I found this jacket! It's perfect! Not only does it keep me warm, but it's amazing in the rain! The only snag I had was with the sizing, I'm 5'1 113 and the small fit perfect, but I did upgrade to a medium (arms are long, but expected) only because of the "active" fit of the jacket and I needed to be able to fit layers underneath if needed and also needed more range of motion when I'm in the car (I hate taking my jacket on and off in the car).
Overall this jacket gets an A+ in my book! I'll probably scoop up a Small for my personal use, since I got my company logo embroidered on the one I have now!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice jacket!

PostedFebruary 11, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the extra large because I had read previous reviews that said it ran small. I'm 5'6" 145 with broad shoulders. I usually wear a large but I'm taking this on a trip next fall, so I wanted to be able to wear sweaters and layers underneath. I think it will be perfect. It's comfortable and super soft on the inside.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Looking

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: NY
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm and comfortable Love It!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great jacket!

PostedFebruary 13, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Florida
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
I personally like the fit of the jacket! It may run small but it still allows for some room for other clothes underneath. It seems to fit pretty great!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Phurtec™ II Softshell Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This coat was great!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: North Vernon,IN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The fit was perfect. It's very warm. Easy to drive wearing this coat. I would recommend this coat.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 Next>>