Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Sweet As™ Softshell

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Sweet As™ Softshell

Armed with clean lines, a flattering silhouette and Omni-Shield® advanced repellency, this sleek softshell protects from showers and stains alike so you stay comfortable and protected during activities in cool, unpredictable weather.
Overall rating:
4.457 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
32 out of 35(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Review 1 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet as Paris in March

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The description of this jacket provided by Columbia is very accurate - it is stretchy, breathable, shaped to fit, stylish (at least in the States!), and water repellent. I enjoyed it (layered with fleece) while walking and bicycling around Paris on vacation - our weather was mostly damp, windy, and chilly. Perhaps I didn't look Parisian (they tend to wear black, mine was bright berry), but I was comfortable! It is new (bought in PDX as I left for Europe) so can't predict hardiness of the jacket but the price was good for the quality.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other, Vacation
Conditions: Rainy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is fantastic. I was looking for a jacket like this and finally found one. Perfect for rainy weather and love the hood.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedApril 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Vancouver, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I"m getting lots of compliments on this jacket. I bought the purple and gray one, and love the lime yellow stitching. Very comfortable, and adds just the right level of "warmth" on a spring day. Just wear it around town now, but will wear it bike riding.
Activities: Other
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

softshell

PostedApril 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Sandpoint, Idaho
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it ran a tad small, but it fits, I ordered a small, I wonder if a med would have fit better? I dont know. but Its form fitting & light weight, I like it alot!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great!

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fits great! Very sleek and slim fit. Not intended for warmth, is more of a good windbreaker. The ONLY issue with this is that the rim on the sleeve starts to unravel and pills with wear. Otherwise, I LOVE this jacket, I wear it all the time.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super flattering cut, zip pockets

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great little jacket. It's a nice lightweight soft-shell/windbreaker. It's semi-fitted and has a really nice cut. The hood is pretty fitted, it won't fall off easily if you're running in it on a windy day and you still have good peripheral vision. Love the Zip pockets, keeps all my items in place. I'm 5'9, size 6 and bought the medium. You can definitely wear a regular long-sleeve top underneath without it looking bulky. It you want it more fitted, probably okay to go down one size since it has a little stretch to it and the arms are a sufficient length.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product, but not right for shorter women.

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Fort Bragg, NC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the jacket, but I'm shorter ( around 5'1") and the cut is a little off. (the waist is quite low on me because I'm so short so the small part of the jacket falls right on my lower stomach). I would definitely recommend this to others, but it's definitely meant for taller women or women who don't have a short torso. I also got a size small and I usually wear a size 5-6, the size was just right, I like my things fitted.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this!

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fits very well, and gives extra room in the arms for better movability, and room for a sports watch to fit comfortably.
Love the colors and materials.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall a good choice!

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this jacket to use for a 4 week trip to Europe in the spring. Overall this is a good jacket. I did have to go up a size so I could layer under the coat. Also it says that it is it water resistant, but if you get caught in anything more than a "light sprinkle" the water will seep through in the shoulders (stayed dry everywhere else). Very comfortable and packs easy with no wrinkling! Easy to spot clean and does not hold smells. It was great for what I needed.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lightweight Jacket

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Stanwood, Washington
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My experience with this jacket has been great. I wear it everywhere. I live in Washington state and it is always raining. This jacket is great for a lightweight rain resistant and it is stain proof. I can hardly ever wear white, but with this jacket I can because it truly is stain resistant.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gorgeous

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i really love it
is perfect for running, it's lightweight and hood fits snuggly to the head and won't come loose while running
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LOVE THE COLORS AND THE HOOD

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Beaverton Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HAD SOME STICHES THAT DID NOT LINE UP. HAD TO RETURN THE PRODUCT AND RE ORDER.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: madison, wi
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is slightly fitted, but I LOVE that. Fitted w/o being tight....... great flexibility in facric and I like how the jacket is tailored. Very sharp for a jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful Jacket

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Baltimore, MD
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like everything about this jacket: the bright colors, the warmth (perfect for running outdoors on cold days), the style, etc. My only single complaint is that the back rides up ever so slightly, so that I keep wanting to pull it back down when I'm running, but overall it is only a very small issue. A great jacket!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect Spring Attire!

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was really excited about this product, so I went ahead and bought the compass blue softshell in a size small. The size was perfect, and fitted. I'm 5'4 and a size 4. The jacket wasn't as thick as I was hoping for, thus rating this product at 4 stars.
I live in MN, and we're going through the "defrosting" season right now, as we transition into Spring. I wore this jacket out once, with a fleece zip-up under and it kept me dry. I also received a lot of compliments on the color!
If you're looking for a light, spring time jacket, I would definitely suggest this! If you're looking for something that'll keep you warm and dry, I would probably either suggest getting a size larger than your normal size (so you can layer underneath, since it's fitted), or look for another jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome soft shell

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Albany, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So this jacket is great and functions exactly the way you want a soft shell to function - I sometimes find myself wanting to wear it as a sweatshirt, it is that comfortable.
The stitching on the left sleeve by the wrist isn't perfect ... It's not the first time I've seen that happen with columbia, so I'm not sure what's going on there, but not bad enough where I would return it, and besides that, the jacket is great. Totally recommend it 100%
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not to warm and breathable. Great fit.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved this Jacket!

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Albany, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this jacket. I chose the "Berry Jam" color, and absolutely love it! The purple is so fun and bright. The jacket is very comfortable. I actually would say that it runs a little big, I can comfortably fit a sweatshirt under it, which I do time to time when I'm outside. I would definitely recommend it!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok but not great, not what I wanted

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is just a plain jacket, not what I was expecting (I wanted some kind of soft, technical wetsuit-but-breathable material, this jacket is rather hard and nylon-ish).
I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light and Comfortable

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Maine
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very comfortable jacket, beautiful color scheme (india ink). I was bummed when in the first week my dog stamped me with a muddy paw, but the omnishield held up and wiped clean instantly.
perfect for 30-50 degrees, wind and light drizzle.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>