Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Sweet As™ Softshell

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Columbia.

Columbia Women's Sweet As™ Softshell

Armed with clean lines, a flattering silhouette and Omni-Shield® advanced repellency, this sleek softshell protects from showers and stains alike so you stay comfortable and protected during activities in cool, unpredictable weather.
Overall rating:
4.457 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
32 out of 35(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Review 1 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is fantastic. I was looking for a jacket like this and finally found one. Perfect for rainy weather and love the hood.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great!

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fits great! Very sleek and slim fit. Not intended for warmth, is more of a good windbreaker. The ONLY issue with this is that the rim on the sleeve starts to unravel and pills with wear. Otherwise, I LOVE this jacket, I wear it all the time.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: madison, wi
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket is slightly fitted, but I LOVE that. Fitted w/o being tight....... great flexibility in facric and I like how the jacket is tailored. Very sharp for a jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful Jacket

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Baltimore, MD
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like everything about this jacket: the bright colors, the warmth (perfect for running outdoors on cold days), the style, etc. My only single complaint is that the back rides up ever so slightly, so that I keep wanting to pull it back down when I'm running, but overall it is only a very small issue. A great jacket!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome soft shell

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Albany, NY
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So this jacket is great and functions exactly the way you want a soft shell to function - I sometimes find myself wanting to wear it as a sweatshirt, it is that comfortable.
The stitching on the left sleeve by the wrist isn't perfect ... It's not the first time I've seen that happen with columbia, so I'm not sure what's going on there, but not bad enough where I would return it, and besides that, the jacket is great. Totally recommend it 100%
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great jacket

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not to warm and breathable. Great fit.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet as Paris in March

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The description of this jacket provided by Columbia is very accurate - it is stretchy, breathable, shaped to fit, stylish (at least in the States!), and water repellent. I enjoyed it (layered with fleece) while walking and bicycling around Paris on vacation - our weather was mostly damp, windy, and chilly. Perhaps I didn't look Parisian (they tend to wear black, mine was bright berry), but I was comfortable! It is new (bought in PDX as I left for Europe) so can't predict hardiness of the jacket but the price was good for the quality.
Activities: Hiking/Trekking, Other, Vacation
Conditions: Rainy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great fall and spring jacket

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: SLC, UT
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great colors, princess seamed, long enough arms (I have34"). Not super warm, more of a layer piece or windbreaker. Used it for my High Angle Rescue class in Sept/Oct and it was the perfect weight. Plan to use it in the river this summer.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedApril 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Vancouver, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I"m getting lots of compliments on this jacket. I bought the purple and gray one, and love the lime yellow stitching. Very comfortable, and adds just the right level of "warmth" on a spring day. Just wear it around town now, but will wear it bike riding.
Activities: Other
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

softshell

PostedApril 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Sandpoint, Idaho
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it ran a tad small, but it fits, I ordered a small, I wonder if a med would have fit better? I dont know. but Its form fitting & light weight, I like it alot!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super flattering cut, zip pockets

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a great little jacket. It's a nice lightweight soft-shell/windbreaker. It's semi-fitted and has a really nice cut. The hood is pretty fitted, it won't fall off easily if you're running in it on a windy day and you still have good peripheral vision. Love the Zip pockets, keeps all my items in place. I'm 5'9, size 6 and bought the medium. You can definitely wear a regular long-sleeve top underneath without it looking bulky. It you want it more fitted, probably okay to go down one size since it has a little stretch to it and the arms are a sufficient length.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product, but not right for shorter women.

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Fort Bragg, NC
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the jacket, but I'm shorter ( around 5'1") and the cut is a little off. (the waist is quite low on me because I'm so short so the small part of the jacket falls right on my lower stomach). I would definitely recommend this to others, but it's definitely meant for taller women or women who don't have a short torso. I also got a size small and I usually wear a size 5-6, the size was just right, I like my things fitted.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Women's Sweet as Softshell Review

PostedJune 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this jacket online after seeing it in a size small at a local sporting goods store in my area. I needed a larger size and was told to go to the Columbia.com site directly.
I needed a summer jacket for cooler and rainy weather and I am very satisfied with this jacket.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this!

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fits very well, and gives extra room in the arms for better movability, and room for a sports watch to fit comfortably.
Love the colors and materials.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall a good choice!

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this jacket to use for a 4 week trip to Europe in the spring. Overall this is a good jacket. I did have to go up a size so I could layer under the coat. Also it says that it is it water resistant, but if you get caught in anything more than a "light sprinkle" the water will seep through in the shoulders (stayed dry everywhere else). Very comfortable and packs easy with no wrinkling! Easy to spot clean and does not hold smells. It was great for what I needed.
I would recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lightweight Jacket

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Stanwood, Washington
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My experience with this jacket has been great. I wear it everywhere. I live in Washington state and it is always raining. This jacket is great for a lightweight rain resistant and it is stain proof. I can hardly ever wear white, but with this jacket I can because it truly is stain resistant.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price for a quality jacket!

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Burlington, VT
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great jacket for the low price, compared to most Columbia jackets. The fit is a little on the snug side at the hips (my hips are slightly bigger than the Medium measurements in the sizing guide so that's probably why :-)), and a bit generous in the chest. The material quality is great, and the details are all there - a comfortable angle on the zippered pockets, reinforced stitching at the wrists, etc. And I love the bright colors! I bought the "Hyper Blue" one, which has a great slimming effect due to the light blue side & back pieces contrasted with the bright blue front. I've worn it on a rainy summer day so far, and it kept me dry and warm, but not *too* warm.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gorgeous

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer avatar
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i really love it
is perfect for running, it's lightweight and hood fits snuggly to the head and won't come loose while running
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LOVE THE COLORS AND THE HOOD

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Beaverton Oregon
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HAD SOME STICHES THAT DID NOT LINE UP. HAD TO RETURN THE PRODUCT AND RE ORDER.
I would recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Sweet As™ Softshell
Overall Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I'd love it except...

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Rockville, MD
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been wearing the jacket (which I love the fit, texture, weight, etc) for four days, and the hem is already coming out of the bottom. The jacket is not too small, i.e. is not pulling tight, so I can only assume that it wasn't made well. I'm really disappointed. And while it won't keep me from buying Columbia again, I'll certainly be thinking twice about it in the future. Sad! :(
I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next>>