Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Zenith Vista Jacket

Columbia Women's Zenith Vista Jacket

Styled like a trench, built like a high-performance technical jacket with waterproof protection and our innovative thermal reflective lining.
Overall rating:
4.431 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
42 out of 48(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Classy jacket...

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: North Carolina
Very elegant looking. Not bulky...very lightweight and chic. Has all the bells and whistles but looks appropriate for outdoor weekend wear or in the city in dressier clothes. I expect it will be warm and comfy.....
I would recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sufficient Enough

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
The Zenith Vista jacket meets your basic trench standards--it's water proof, warm but not excessively, nor is it a substitute for you basic winter jacket. The removable hood is a great option and the pockets are all very practical options. I can’t exactly rave about the product, but no complaints either. Receive plenty of compliments though.
I would recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this jacket

PostedJanuary 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I absolutely love this jacket! It is very comfortable, great for everyday wear and has a sharp look making it suitable for work or night time. The arms are nice and long which is a must I am 6ft tall.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite jacket!

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love love love this jacket. It is stylish and very figure flattering. It is warm and not bulky. It is exactly the right length, I get compliments whenever I wear it. The sleeves have buttons at the cuffs and I used the tighter setting. It give the sleeves a nice shape and looks very tailored. Love love love.
Activities: Other, Vacation, Commuting
Conditions: City, Snowy, Rainy, Windy
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great coat ... but not as warm as I expected

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
First, the things I love about this coat: I do love it. The Zenith is comfortable, looks great, and it's my everyday coat during the cooler months. The versatile styling is perfect for me -- I can wear it in the field with my camera, photographing wildlife, and then it's dressy enough to wear out to dinner. I love the coverage for cold and rain (below the hip). I don't understand why more women's coats aren't made in the anorak style. They just keep you drier than waist-length jackets -- and when I'm out photographing, I don't have to worry about the coat riding up when I'm moving around for shots.
The removable hat is a useful feature, and it turns the coat into a more elegant trench if you remove it on dry days. The hat itself has adjustable elastic to keep it on your head during heavy winds. And it works. The zip pocket in the left sleeve is so useful to me. I often stash extra memory cards in this pocket when I'm out shooting.
The reason I can't give this coat a 5-star review is because the degree of warmth and waterproofness was a bit misrepresented by the employee at the Seattle store. I bought this as my primary winter coat (I wanted warmth + waterproofness) and was concerned about how warm the Omni-Heat reflective lining would be. I had the budget for one winter coat and was looking for a multi-purpose style. The salesman said I would swelter without any sort of layering underneath. So, I bought it to fit, without leaving a lot of extra room for a fleece or sweater. I guess I just don't reflect back enough body heat because there is no way I can stay warm in this coat without layering. I bought a thinsulate vest to wear underneath which helps. The degree of warmth might depend on how warm you tend to run. On warmer winter or spring days, the coat is a bit too warm for me. On cold days, it's not quite warm enough.
I was also told the coat was waterproof. I asked specifically if it was "water resistant" or "waterproof"? The salesman told me, waterproof. The first squall I got caught in without an umbrella, showed the coat to be quite water resistant for a length of time -- but not totally waterproof. After a walk in the downpour, the rain stopped beading and started soaking. To be fair, the lining stayed dry, so although the exterior was soaked through, my shirt wasn't soaked. It works in average rain you'd encounter, but doesn't repel water like a slicker would.
Activities: Trail, Hiking/Trekking, Other
Conditions: City, Rainy, Windy, Freezing
I would recommend this product.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byGibbs
Portland, OR
 
Please wait while more information about Gibbs is loaded.
Additional information about Gibbs could not be loaded.
Just a note on "Waterproof"
onJanuary 3, 2013
"Waterproof" isn't actually waterproof, it's just an apparel industry standard for a degree of exceptional water resistance, and indicates that something has sealed seams and resists water to a certain point. It might have been a good idea for the sales rep to explain that distinction, but a waterproof raincoat like this won't repel water in the same way a vinyl-coated fabric will. On the other hand, it will also keep you dryer when you're active because you haven't covered yourself in a plastic sheet/mobile steam room.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My dream coat!

PostedMay 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the coat I've always wanted but never could find til now - warm, waterproof, has a hood, looks good over both casual clothes and dressy outfits, pairs equally well with pants or a skirt. It's tremendously figure-flattering, and changes personality as easily as fastening the hood on or taking it off, wearing with the belt or without. I'm tall with long arms so the extra sleeve length is the final touch of perfection for me. I was almost tempted to buy two of these coats so I'd have a backup if the first one ever wears out - I never again want to be without it!
I would recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cute and functional

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Everett, WA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and waterproof, but nice and trendy! While the coat itself is pretty warm, it has enough room to layer underneath. The zipper hidden beneath the buttons is a great design. Love this coat!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Oregon Trench Coat

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Trench is the perfect blend of fashion and function. It looks good buttoned up or open over business attire. It is very waterproof, lightweight and warm. The best part is the hood. I had to order the XS vs. S for the length of the sleeves. My only concern is that it may be too warm with the omniheat lining.
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dry in Seattle

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just moving to Seattle I need a jacket that would keep me dry and wanted something that didn't look like I was out for a hike. I am sooo happy with the Zenith Vista Trench. The water beads up and rolls off and the reflective lining keeps me warm with out the bulk. The hood is large and has a a bill that keeps the rain off my face so I don't need an umbrella in most rain falls. love it
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Omni Heat Works

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted to wait a few weeks before I wrote this review, so it would hold a little more meaning. First off, its a very nice jacket, flattering and comfortable. Not bulky at all, and even with a Medium (my standard size) I can have a sweater or even suit jacket on underneath. Speaking of, it looks very professional.
I live in Seattle, and can tell you, it repels the water nicely and the hood has great coverage. I also just spent some considerable time in the midwest, where it was much colder, and where my body was covered, I was very warm! I was worried, esp when the wind chill dipped, but I did OK! You should def check out this jacket if you are looking for a more professional, yet warm, rain/cold jacket. Highly recommend!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for traveling

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: NJ
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
purchased this coat to wear in professional work environments.
Do a lot of air travel and car travel to see clients. Jacket performed excellently in snow, ice, wind and rain as well as light enough for the plane ride.
A little big even over suit jacket. Looks better in person.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Jacket for Pacific NW Winters

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket is just what I have been searching for to get me through the rainy cold months. I felt too warm walking the rainy streets of Portland in a ski jacket, but too cold in a waterproof shell. This jacket is the perfect mix of waterproof protection and light insulation and the mid-length a bonus.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

At Last I've Found It!

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Location: New York
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've been looking for a winter coat that is both slimming and warm. Usually I could only find one or the other. Columbia's Zenith Vista is my preferred winter coat. I found that the sleeves were a bit long (reaching my knuckles) and a little loose. It hinders when the cold wind shoots up my sleeve but that is solved with a thick sweater or gloves. It's perfectly warm and looks great!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northwest style, function, and fit to perfection!

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This fitted raincoat gives a more refined look for the pacific northwest weather. Columbia is focused on the details that make a difference. Pockets everywhere, with zippers too. Deep hoods and sleeve length that fully covers. Thank you for understanding our needs!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coat

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, Or
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this coat so I would have another jacket to wear to church with nicer clothes or an everyday jacket in wet weather.
I have worn this coat quite a bit & I've not had problems with it. It is comfortable & it keeps me warm though I have not worn it in weather colder then 40 F yet.
I bought a small it is a little big in the waist but it allows me to wear layers & it has a belt to cinch in if necessary.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So glad I bought this coat!

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional and super cute. I had bought a similar jacket from another outdoor brand (rhymes with ForthNace) and sent it back and kept this one. Not only does this one fit better and look more stylish, but the belt (rather than the tie on the other one) stayed cinched nice and tight and the Omni-Heat really does help keep you toasty warm. I do think it's just a tiny bit roomy - I think if I had known I might have gone with the x-small. But then again it allows you room for some layers.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cute but not warm

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I thought that this coat will be for the winter season. Unfortunately you can wear it and stay warm only when the temperature outside is in 50s and high 40s. The length of this coat is way above your knees.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this coat!

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Illinois
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This coat is great! I love how it looks, and the quality is great! I am surprised with how warm it is. I am defiantly happy with this purchase!
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Hard/Looks Good

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Portland, OR
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm tall and this jacket fits well. It looks better on than in the photos. I like to tie the belt behind. I do need to add a fleece liner below 45 degrees, but it has kept me dry for two seasons now. The pockets are excellent, there's even a handy wrist pocket for MAX tickets. This was well worth the investment.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women's Zenith Vista Jacket
Overall Rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Women's Zenith Vista

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Everything about this jacket is great. The rain rolls right off of it. I love that the hood has a lip on the end of it, because it helps to keep the rain off of my face. The little bungee cords to tighten the hood around your face are awesome, great feature. I was unsure if a medium was going to big enough because I usually take a large in jackets, but they did not have a large in stock, so I went with the medium. It fit perfectly. I can't wear anything too bulky underneath it, because it then becomes too tight. The only thing I wish was different, and that I am slightly displeased with is the length of the jacket. I thought it would be longer. It hits right above the knee which leaves a gap between where my rain boots end and the jacket starts. When it is raining that area becomes soaked. All and all I am pleased with the product, and I got express shipping, and received it right before a huge storm. I am so happy I did! Because of where I live, I am outside everyday walking, so this jacket is a perfect addition to my life!
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 Next>>