Customer reviews for Columbia Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket

Columbia Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket

Beautiful geometric baffling, flattering seam details and a long silhouette lend a feminine feeling to this hooded jacket while the Omni-Heat thermal reflective lining and insulation keep you warm when the wind-chill drops; two-way front zipper facilitates mobility.
Overall rating:
4.473 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(167 reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 167 reviews
5 Stars
114
4 Stars
33
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
7
1 Star
4
146 out of 159(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Review 1 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best coat

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Coldcarol
Location: Winchendon, ma
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in northern MA, also called the snow belt, wicked cold here! It's already been in the teens and low 20's here. That said I hoped that this coat would keep me warm because I'm always cold.
I was not disappointed, this coat keeps me so warm it's light weight. It's not bulky. I love this coat!!! I tell everyone how warm this keeps me. My daughter wants to borrow my coat all the time. Nope this coat is gold to me!
The best value, I bought a Under Amour last year and returned it because it did not keep me warm
I am so glad I bought this coat!!
Everyone said it runs small, I didn't think it did I bought a medium because I wear sweaters but I still have plenty. That being said I think it runs true to size.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Coat

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
winter123
Location: Michigan, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this coat! I'm never cold when I'm wearing this, and I do a lot of walking around campus. It's perfect for a Michigan winter. It's very good with the wind and its water-proof. It's super comfortable and runs very true to size. Even the pockets are really warm and good for keeping your hands warm.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome coat!!!

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Richye
Location: Cleveland, OH
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a really warm winter coat but wanted something that did not make me look like a giant marshmellow and most "puffy"coats do. This coat exceeded all of my expectations. It is slim and trim in appearance and the "omni" heat is incredible!! Hard to believe that a coat as light and comfortable as it is can also keep me so warm. I would highly recommend, in fact after getting mine, I ordered a second one for my daughter and she loves it as well!!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok if you're not a super cold person

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Nenamipa
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The jacket is ok for a person who is not super cold all the time. I am always cold. I live in Atlanta and when we hit those 30s or below I feel very uncomfortable. So, I tried this jacket on and I still felt cold. Maybe I had super high expectations.... other than that it was good. Nice fit, light. The hood doesn't stay put.. it kind of falls back so you'll need ear cuffs...
I am 5'2 and ordered an M. It fit fine.
I would recommend this product.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Lightweight, Really Warm

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Meb04
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read all the reviews about this coat before buying and I think they are all pretty accurate. The coat is lightweight, I was shocked when I took it out of the package. I was a little skeptical of how warm it would be, but I have been pretty happy with it! So far Indiana hasn't hit it's height of winter, but it has been in the 40s and with a light hoodie under my coat I have kept quite warm. I will say that layering is still needed with this coat, long sleeves or a jacket under it seem to improve the over-all warmth that the coat provides. Everyone says go up a size, I just followed the size chart provided and it fits perfectly. The zipper is easy to use -- unlike some long coats I've had in the past -- and I love that the sleeves are long with thumbholes in them to keep your hands warm! It's a great coat.
I would recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredibly Light. Incredibly Warm.

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
hjbruce
Location: Lynchburg, VA, USA
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this coat for a trip I was planning to take overseas. I needed a coat that would pack easily but also keep me warm, while still letting me be able to move freely. From the product description, this coat seemed like a winner. When I pulled it out of the box, I was very skeptical. This thing is SO LIGHT. I was sure there was no way it could keep me warm. When I wore it outside for the first time, I was shocked at how warm I was. In fact, I got hot quickly and unzipped the bottom and top to cool off a bit. This is the perfect coat for winter traveling.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight but High Heat!

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
RebeccaInChi
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The jacket was very light. Upon use, however, I found it to be quite warm.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Too Thin

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Jen00654
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I was super excited to receive this coat, when it came in the mail and i saw the thin (as thin as a college text book) box it came in I knew right away that it was not going to be what i wanted. I am from Chicago and take the train everyday and sometimes have to stand outside for long periods of time so I need a really warm coat. This one is way too thin and i know its not going to keep me warm when its really cold outside. Its good if you live somewhere where the temperature doesn't drop past 30 or so. I wanted to give it a try to see if the omni heat really works but at the price i paid and the way the weather will be it is not worth the risk. :(
I do not recommend this product.
-18points
10of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Color

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Tlegs
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This jacket fits me true to size. I do wish there was something to tighten the hood. On windy days it blows off easily. I love the color purple I got. i reccomend this jacket. I also love how you can unzip it from the top or bottom.
I would recommend this product.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY POOR QUALITY

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer avatar
xMel
Location: Boston
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Large
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Large
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this jacket around middle of September 2014 and writing this review on October 27, 2014
I'm 5ft, 120-125lb, size small top/ 2 jeans, 34c bust. My body type is between curvy and slim. The size small in Quill is a little big but I consider it a good thing if you're looking to be able to wear a decent fleece underneath. It kept me really warm in the 40-50 degrees windy fall weather in Boston. It stops right at the top of my knee.
The reason why I'm giving only 1 star is because its quality. I only had this jacket for about one month and iT ALREADY HAS A RIP!!! Its very small but its still a rip. I only worn this walking around town, didn't go in the woods, didn't catch on anything, didn't do anything strenuous.
Because of this, I don't recommend anyone buying the mighty lite. If your jacket lasts, then it's a really warm and "lite" jacket.
I do not recommend this product.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

runs smaller

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Olga78
Location: Minnesota, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this coat for fall, wasn't going to wear it in winter/ but even for fall it's cold for me. it's extremely thin, and I feel cold in it. Besides my size is x small, but I can wear this only on a light shirt, can't wear something warmer underneath. But size small is too big for me, so I will have to return this coat.
I would recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Warmest, yet lightest coat ever!

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer avatar
love2read
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When this coat arrived, I was skeptical of whether it would keep me warm in a Minnesota winter. It was so lightweight that I assumed it wouldn't be warm enough. To my delight, this coat is exactly as described: an extremely warm winter coat without the bulk! I love this coat and I would buy it again.
I would recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Parka

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Customer avatar
mrsolia
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a Skating Director near Chicago. I recently purchased 15 of these parkas for my staff to wear while teaching Learn-To-Skate classes on the ice. Not only are they stylish and professional looking, but my staff has reported that they are extremely warm and comfortable. Considering they are on the ice up to four hours at a time, I could not ask for a better parka for my staff!
I would recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect Solution to Winter Weather

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
UpNorthGirl
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs a Little Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs a Little Small
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a couple Columbia jackets with Omni Heat and they have performed very well. I have been wanting the Mighty Lite for a while and chose Abyss. It is everything I expected in a jacket. It runs small. I am a size 6-8 in most clothing lines and I needed a large to be comfortable so I recommend ordering up one size.
I would recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great jacket!

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Kathy13601
Location: Watertown, NY 13601, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
Runs Small
True to Size
Runs Very Large
Runs Small
On me this "jacket" is more of a coat and that is exactly what I wanted. I already have the jacket without the hood so I knew this was going to be warm. Sadly we had our first frost last night and I wore my mighty lite jacket/coat and was nice and warm, my tomatoes were not so lucky...
I would recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I liked it so much I bought another

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Momlady
Location: Troy, mi
Outdoor Experience:Professional Thrill Seeker (outdoors 53+ days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great coat! I had a black one last year and wore it almost every day. This year, I treated myself to a navy one. Surprisingly enough, my 15-year-old daughter liked my coat last year and got herself one this year and black also. I highly recommend it! It is lightweight, has a nice cut and keeps you warm. I love the Omni heat technology.
I would recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jacket!

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
kg2010
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Light weight and perfect long jacket for winter. I can't wait to try it out in our cold Wisconsin winters!
I would recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is wonderful

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
krobot
Location: North Dakota, USA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Upon receiving my coat, I thought that it might be a little to thin for my winters in North Dakota, but within a few minutes of putting it on, I was already warm. I love how light it feels but that I don't feel exposed. I also enjoy how much room I have with wearing jackets and sweatshirts. I would recommend this jacket to anyone.
I would recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great jacket

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
mamabear1223
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Outdoor Experience:Occasional Explorer (outdoors 0-19 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love this jacket. Light weight but very warm with the omni shield. The thumb holes are good when you haven't remembered your gloves. True to size. Water resient . will keep me warm in the Chicago winter . Love it for travel and it is light to carry. You can fold it and pack it in you bag,
I would recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Women’s Mighty Lite™ Hooded Jacket
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

True to size

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
jla326
Location: Boston, MA
Outdoor Experience:Everyday Adventurer (outdoors 20-52 days a year)
Employee:No
User Rated Sizing: 
Runs Very Small
True to Size
True to Size
Runs Very Large
True to Size
Quality
How would you grade this itemʼs materials, construction and workmanship?
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Function
How well this item performed in its intended use, and beyond.
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have not yet worn this coat outside since it's not winter yet, but hopefully this review will help someone in determining the correct size.
The website says the jacket "runs slightly small," but after buying several Columbia jackets I've learned to trust my gut and get my normal size. Many of the reviews say that it runs small as well, but you have to keep in mind that it's an athletic fit, which is more tailored to the body. Personally, I very much dislike a boxy fit (like most of LL Bean's merchandise) and prefer the athletic fit.
With my normal size, there is plenty of room to layer and wear a thick sweater or two. I am tall (5'9") and often struggle with sleeve length, but the sleeves are actually long enough on this coat. I typically wear a size 4 or S in Columbia clothing and this was no different. A medium definitely would have been too big.
As with all of my Columbia purchases, I'm sure I will be very satisfied with my new coat!
I would recommend this product.
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 Next>>